Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Ecuador - RTE, 1am

• 23-05-2007 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

Might aswell open a match thread if people are staying up to watch this after the big match.

Team announced:
    Colin Doyle
    Stephen Kelly--Alex Bruce--Alan Bennett--Stephen O'Halloran
    Daryl Murphy--Kevin Kilbane--Darren Potter---Stephen Hunt
    Kevin Doyle--Andy Keogh

Replacements: Nick Colgan, Wayne Henderson, Joseph O’Cearuill, Peter Murphy, Alan O’Brien, Stephen Gleeson, Joe Gamble, Shane Long, Anthony Stokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I may watch this one to check out how these new caps do.

Joe Gamble must get on the pitch tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Great chance for hunt to make left wing his own now that duff is out for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Alan Bennett was a consistant regular performer for Cork City, never once got a look in for the Irish team.

He then moves to Reading and makes a grand total of 0 appearances, now he's starting in the Irish team.

Absolute, crusty ballcocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I'm definitely staying up.

Anyone else fancy the overs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

ill be up for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Alan Bennett was a consistant regular performer for Cork City, never once got a look in for the Irish team.

He then moves to Reading and makes a grand total of 0 appearances, now he's starting in the Irish team.

Absolute, crusty ballcocks.
    I have to defend Stan here. Dunne, McShane, O'Shea, St Ledger, O'Dea and McCarthy would all be in the squad if available. Graham Gartland also got the call before Bennett. Bruce and O’Cearuill were already in the squad. That's 9 centre halves ahead of him in the ranks. If so many players pulled out of a squad 6 months ago he'd have probably got a call up then.
    Bateman wrote:

Yeah definitely. I decided to go with overs instead of Ecuador as I really wouldn't be able to enjoy the match if my head was up for Ecuador but my heart up for Ireland. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Bateman wrote:

What does overs mean?

Do you mean over 2.5 goals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

After the liverpool milan final tonight i think i might stay up and hope i see something that cheers me up :(

eirebhoy wrote:
    I have to defend Stan here. Dunne, McShane, O'Shea, St Ledger, O'Dea and McCarthy would all be in the squad if available. Graham Gartland also got the call before Bennett. Bruce and O’Cearuill were already in the squad. That's 9 centre halves ahead of him in the ranks. If so many players pulled out of a squad 6 months ago he'd have probably got a call up then.

Well from my point of view Bennett was lucky to get any recognition when he was playing for City. He was constantly overlooked by the Dublin media when any team of the season was picked. So its amazing that he's got into the Ireland senior squad having played no first team football since November.

I'm interested to see how he'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

wheres the yank who was gonna get a chance to play? Stan talking ****e yet again then. I cant wait to see that new young player called Kilbane, he meant to be new Zidane.

wheres the yank who was gonna get a chance to play? Stan talking ****e yet again then.
    Stan invited 4 American based players to train with the squad. Only 1 of them accepted the invitation. I don't even think he has an Irish passport.

What does overs mean?

Do you mean over 2.5 goals?

Aye. Over 2.5 goals. I can see it being a bit of a free-for-all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Kilbane's last game?

One can hope ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

jesus the quility of the picture is terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

its like watching iit on youtube...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

When was this match played? 1972?

Jesus, both teams going like the proverbial clappers so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Great play by O'Halloran there, Doyle hits post

Doyle hits the post.

How is the commentary keeping up with the video? It's seems like it's flying along.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

nice by O'halleran (sp) good to see a young Villan coming through

Unlucky by Doyle, great build up play. Captain Caveman is playing well on the left so far.

bizmark wrote:
    jesus the quility of the picture is terrible
    I thought that was my TV :o the pitch is shocking.

Ah crap!

o well, could be a lot of goals from the lookof things

0-1
    Benitez (El Nacional) 14'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus I should go to bed, but its like watching a car crash in slow mo!!

Balls. Poor defending there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭radiospan

The pace was unreal before the goal. O'Halloran had a great run for Doyle's chance, but got caught out bad in defence a few minutes later.

The picture is awful, it's like RTE haven't gotten a new NTSC converter since the eighties. :(

Yeah terrible defending. Making for a good match though. :)

plazzTT wrote:
    The picture is awful, it's like RTE haven't gotten a new NTSC converter since the eighties. :(
    I wouldn't say that RTE are at fault for the quality of the VT. I'd imagine that Ecuadorian TV have the rights and that they'd sold the feed onto RTE hence the poor quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,371 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Jeez this game is end to end stuff,mighty :D
    Does this count towards Fifa rankings ?

gotta assume so, though i wish it didnt

What type of defender was Bennett at Cork? The leader of the line or the "follower"? Alex Bruce shouldn't be leading the line, he has no experience. Well unless you're a genius like Paul McShane. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,371 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

They only laid the pitch yesterday !!!!:eek:

should have been 2

Yeah should have. At least there'll be one Benitez that'll remember the 23rd of May 2007 for good reasons!!! :D

Kevin Doyle 1-1

Great Goal!

YEeeeaaahhh. great goal

Where did that passage of play come from? Absolute quality goal.

diving header, doyle 44'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah feck it there goes the watch the 1st half and head to bed plan. Going to be sleeping in work tomorrow..........

What a chance for keogh

gandalf wrote:
    Ah feck it there goes the watch the 1st half and head to bed plan. Going to be sleeping in work tomorrow..........
    Thats what i had planned too. I still think i'll go to bed in a few minutes though!!!

gandalf wrote:
    Haha. I had the same plan too!

think most of us had the same plan, but its one hell of an entertaining messy match

Potter has been the most impressive player imo.

As for going to bed, 3 or 4 hours is enough for me. :)

Doyle and Murphy look dangerous with a big of ball.

Nothing much happening in midfield and look very shaky at the back. Alex Bruce and Benno should have a talk at half time cause they are not on the same wavelength.

I like the half-time entertainment too!!

Potter is running the show out there.