Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RealBASIC is the best soloution for VB6 junkies ever

Options
  • 25-05-2007 11:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭

SO I was a long time vb programmer, 5 years , then microsoft changed to this vb.net s***, its horrible, so I moved to the mac platform, hoping to develop with applescript, i failed in learning it :( too complicated, then I found realbasic, its reasonably cheap, and theres very little porting required. And it developps for windows, mac and linux to stand alone royalty free app's, its great, vb junkies switch, im serious

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Clik

What have u against vb.net. I recently moved from Visual FoxPro and finding it quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

SO I was a long time vb programmer, 5 years , then microsoft changed to this vb.net s***, its horrible, so I moved to the mac platform, hoping to develop with applescript, i failed in learning it :( too complicated, then I found realbasic, its reasonably cheap, and theres very little porting required. And it developps for windows, mac and linux to stand alone royalty free app's, its great, vb junkies switch, im serious
    Move on. Seriously.

I used to develop in VB also (and still will for the odd thing like DLL's and COM objects), but the reality is that it's going down the same route as languages like COBOL. This means that there will be well-paid legacy work out there for VB developers for years if not decades, but this will eventually all but dry up.