Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IBB Routing

Options
  • 26-05-2007 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭

Hi I have a 3mb Irish Broadband connection. Over the past few days my Kerio firewall shows constant incoming traffic of 80-120 KB/s. This is with no programs accessing the internet on my machine.

At first I suspected a virus. I tried Ubuntu and the same situation was still happening. I used Wireshark to capture 30 seconds of traffic. From what I can tell, and I'm no expert, the traffic of 87.192.157.234 is being sent to my machine. This is not my IP address btw but it is an IBB address. I have attached a png of Wireshark running.

Has anyone any ideas? Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Looks like you had BitTorrent running at some stage and the tracker is still sending traffic your direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

Aidan, thanks for the quick reply. I had BitTyrant running several days ago. Why is the tracker still sending traffic to me? Can I stop it? Is the 87.192.157.234 machine the tracker? Apologies for the probably stupid questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Maybe fire up the same torrent as the one you had running a few days ago, let it go for 5 minutes, then click the stop button for that torrent in your client. This should send the tracker the message they you're finished with it, rather than just killing your client without stopping the torrent which might leave it thinking you're still there.