Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What a day

• 26-05-2007 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭

As the title suggests,

My worse fears came through today.My eldest daughter had her communion this morning at 11 and yes of course herself went into labour at 9.I just knew this would happen:D well at the time we didnt know if we where going to laugh or cry.

Of all the days,but thankfully we have an understanding daughter.She was brill about it"dont mind me mam,you just go and have another brother or sister for me" well talk about our hearts sinking.

So on the phone to the mother,the two sisters in law(one being the hair dresser,the other up to mind my other 2 childers) my mate out of work(dont ask me why i rang him:confused::D )
    It was pandomonium.In heavy labour at this time,herself stuck it out to see our daughter dressed for her communion(fair play i say) before i had to whisk her off to the rotunda in saturday traffic.sssshhh,down the bus lanes

Anyway in rotunda at 11:05 and baby boy was born at 1:01pm our fourth,2 boys and 2 girls.
    A healthy 8 pound 1 ounce and mam and baby are fine.
    Now heres the fun,left rotunda at 3,meal booked for 4:30 out in malahide,had to gather rest of family,stuck in a downpour,rushed home to put suit on and meet the clan in restaurant,ate meal,got indigestion,went more visiting,got heartburn,mother left her car keys in my house so had to collect her.
    Then sis in law said she have my lot for a sleepover:) Got beer put pc on and now im telling you lot:o
    Its amazing what one beer does to you after a month off it.:eek::o

So to summarise the whole day,it went well,the communion and the birth and thank god also for families:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Great news, congrats! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Nordie

What a day indeed, you must be Superwoman, lol.

Congrats on the newborn and I'll join you in a beer before I hit the sack:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Congrats! Some day alright! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Thanks all:) Seriously you couldnt write the script for today.We where only joking about it this time last night.Never tempt faith again.:D
    She would be a week overdue today.She was fantastic,midwife was fantastic,the whole day turned out fantastic in the end.Why i should be tucked up in bed fast asleep,too bloomin hyper for that.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Great news - congratulations and what a story to tell the new baba in the future :)

Thanks,
    Yep,26th of May 2007 will be remembered for an awful long time.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Obelisk29

Many congrats to all.

Reminds me of 1st Sept 1999 - five year old about to start primary school, 3:20 that morning partner goes in to labour.

Mad dash to Mt. Carmel, son delivered at 6:42, back home (small celebratory whiskey) and get daughter to school for 9am!

O29

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Congrats! What a day alright, throw in Larry David and you would have a great episode :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Congratulations.

Mother and baby now home today and delighted to get them here.
    Their fine and baby doing great.
    Cheers all.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

What a day indeed!

Congrats snowbie!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Snowbie, what did ye call your new wee fella?!

Well they say things come in 3s,well it sure did again this evening.My communion girl slipped running out of the house right down on her face and banged her knee on the ground.The howls and screams from her told us that it was serious.She couldnt bend her leg and knee swolled up something fierce.:(

An hour passed and things went from bad to worse,she was clearly in agony.No joy getting at all for her getting into the car so we had to ring for an ambulance as hospital was last on our mind but she is not one to con us.So off we went in a bee baw(which came 10 mins later after ringing them:) ) and paramedic said her knee dropped and looked dislocated:(

To cut a very long story short all she had was ligament damage,X ray showed up no breakages/fractures etc. ,thankfully.As always temple street staff where brill.:)

We have had a very strange weekend of bad timings and near heartbreak and joy all together.Such as life i suppose but hospital visits has had its fair share on my ticker of late but with happy endings.Im grateful for that.
    Soz for the essay,it wouldnt be something i would usually share but near relevant to to my OP but not looking for poor me poor,as all parents we all have our worries and concerns and misfortunes but what are the bloomin chances.
    Suppose it could have been much worse.:)
    Crazy last few days:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

What a week Snowbie! Really enjoyed reading all about it! Congrats on your new little boy. Can't wait for the next installment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 aria-bella

Hey congrats you snowbie !!

Never a dull moment for mammies and daddies eh !!

Hope your little girl recovers soon

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Snowbie wrote:
    before i had to whisk her off to the rotunda in saturday traffic.sssshhh,down the bus lanes
    ssssshhhhh nothing!!! If that was me I'd be beeping the horn like a mad thing. It's not often you get to do things like that and get away with it.

A brother of a friend of mine got to do that a few years back on the birth of his son, with a police escort too! Rock and Roll!! The kid was born in the back of the car.

Congrats on the new kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Congrats Snowbie. Hope your little one gets better soon.

Thanks everyone.All is aok now and been incident free over the last couple of days.
    Something to look back in a few years and smile about.

Mother and baby are well and he is a quiet little fellow.May it last.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

My goodness, Snowbie, your story souunds like it came out of a Patricia Scanlan book! Congratulations on your new son. Hope your communion girl gets better soon - thank goodness she didn't have the accident the morning of her communion, it would have added to the chaos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

How come I got stuck with 2 screamers and you get the quiet ones? After all I was a quiet baby and you were the horror:p

Must get round to seeing my new nephew soon - herself has me slaving in the house at the mo putting down floors. I'm getting good at doing wooden floors. Might be looking at a new occupation - beats doing nothing for a living, I mean working in the silly service:D