Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Election Reults Analysis and Fall Out

• 27-05-2007 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭

So results are in, seats have been taken....what does everyone think?

Trevor Sargent....low in 1st votes but with 2 greens running for the first time it was always going to be diluted. Just a building block for Corr for the next time. Still thought he was going to come in number one.

O'Reilly...really glad with this one. I think he has some good policies and he's based in Rush which is a good point for me. He must be happy with himself.

Two FF seats taken with Kennedy and O'Brien....really didn't think this was going to happen...I even thought Kennedy might have found it tough to take the third or fourth seat...but there you go.

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Can this please be the last election thread in the forum? This really could have gone in with the "results - as they come in" thread. A new one was unnecessary but I'll leave it.

Oh and it's James Reilly, not O'Reilly.

Personally I'm sick that FF got two seats, just like I'm sick that Bertie is still in power, however I am glad that O'Leary ("vote for me, I used to play for Dublin!!") didn't get in. Glad to see Dr. Reilly got in. Not surprised that Trevor got in. Felt bad for Daly as she's a hard worker and seems to actually give a shít.

This guy sums up how I feel :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

A few thoughts on the whole shebang:

1. They say that "the people get the government they deserve". What in the name of Jaysus did I do to deserve a third term of FF in government? :confused:

2. Hands up the 496 people who gave first preferences to CS & ICP in North Dublin. You should be ashamed of yourselves. :mad:

3. McDowell. Nah, nah, nah-nah, NAH! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Ghupta Yahd

There were certainly some surprises. I expected Clair Daly to be elected. I thought FF would just about get Kennedy in but expected Brendan Ryan to be really close. It just goes to show that the only poll you can thrust is the one on election day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

Chinafoot wrote:
    Can this please be the last election thread in the forum? This really could have gone in with the "results - as they come in" thread. A new one was unnecessary but I'll leave it.

Sorry...my bad.
    Hill Billy wrote:
    Hands up the 496 people who gave first preferences to CS & ICP in North Dublin. You should be ashamed of yourselves.

Friends and family would be my guess. Also a lot of uninformed voters who saw the word 'Catholic' and ticked the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Was disappointed that two FF got in, thought that Labour would hold or Clare Daly would get in, at least. I've heard from people in the health service that Reilly is not particularly well-liked or thought-of, so my estimation of and hopes for him have gone down. As for Trevor, well, maybe he'll do something this term, but I won't hold my breath.

This may be answered in the results thread, as I have read it yet, but I was wondering why the Socialist Party were refused a recount on the standoff with Ryan?

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭keithrus

Chinafoot wrote:

Oh and it's James Reilly, not O'Reilly.

Personally I'm sick that FF got two seats, just like I'm sick that Bertie is still in power, however I am glad that O'Leary ("vote for me, I used to play for Dublin!!") didn't get in. Glad to see Dr. Reilly got in. Not surprised that Trevor got in. Felt bad for Daly as she's a hard worker and seems to actually give a shít.

This guy sums up how I feel :p

<snip>

keithrus wrote:
    <snip>

Hmmm... Thanks for the incisive political analysis. :rolleyes:

Those are some fairly cutting remarks. Do you have specifics that you'd care to share with us to back them up or are you just having a little rant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

keithrus, baseless comments like that will earn you a ban and could potentially cause trouble for boards. As such I have removed them.

I suggest you read the charter and stickies at the top of this forum before posting again.

Consider this your first and only warning.

Back on topic now folks. :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I was suprised Clare Daly got close to getting in,and Trevor didn't get in on the first round.

Moonbeam wrote:
    I was suprised Clare Daly got close to getting in,and Trevor didn't get in on the first round.

I'm surprised she didn't do much better! I really thought she was going to poll well this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I see the good doctor has resorted to placing "Thank You" stickers on his election posters instead of removing them altogether.

O'Brien, O'Leary, Ryan, Morrissey, Reilly, Kenny, Rabbitte - it's time you removed the posters from Whitestown Road Rush, Main Street, Rush and Turvey Avenue, Donabate.

Do these lads not realise that each poster is subject to a €125 fine under the Litter Pollution Act 1997. :eek:

Maybe we should start a "Name and Shame" Thread.:D

I see the good doctor has resorted to placing "Thank You" stickers on his election posters instead of removing them altogether.

O'Brien, O'Leary, Ryan, Morrissey, Reilly, Kenny, Rabbitte - it's time you removed the posters from Whitestown Road Rush, Main Street, Rush and Turvey Avenue, Donabate.

Do these lads not realise that each poster is subject to a €125 fine under the Litter Pollution Act 1997. :eek:

The last day for posters is today folks....so keep you eyes peeled!

I was driving through the five lamps/north wall area last night from work and it looks like NONE of Mary Lou's posters are down....they are all over the place!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Q102 were out counting them this morning:) and working it out in monetary value

Politicians have until midnight tonight to remove their election posters from all public spaces.

Anyone whose election material is still up tomorrow morning is liable for fines of €125 per poster.

However some local authorities have hinted that candidates will have a few days leeway to remove their images without fear of fines.

Pat Cronin of Dublin City Council says they'll be giving any candidates whose election material is still on display a warning call after the Bank Holiday Weekend.

Looks like they'll get away with it! Gits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

Such an 'Oirish' solution ... Basically the council don't want to deal with it before the Bank Holiday.

After the weekend they'll say "Ah come on lads, would yis be getting them down". Whereas if they fined them straight off, they sure as heck wouldn't do it for the next election, would they.

(OK, there may be some short leniency if only one or two posters are forgotten - but the amount of May Lou ones around, among others, is crazy).

Or the new thing is to put up a "Thank You" sticker if you got elected. So technically it's not an election poster ... but is still rubbish and should be taken down.

Yeah, all very Irish alright! They should be fined for every single one of them left after midnight. No exceptions. We had to put up with their mugs for so long it's the very least they deserve.

In the time being....we'll treat them as we see fit:

http://ricksbreakfastblog.blogspot.com/2007/05/create-mate.html

:D:D

On another point;

Anyone have any thoughts about the possibility of the Greens in government. If it happens we should be seeing Sargent in a very prominent position in the cabinet such as Taniste.

I wonder if Bertie would go as far as having him as Taniste. The political ideologies of the PDs were much closer for FF than those of the Greens. Maybe Minister for Education is as far as he'd go for Trev?

Hill Billy wrote:
    I wonder if Bertie would go as far as having him as Taniste. The political ideologies of the PDs were much closer for FF than those of the Greens. Maybe Minister for Education is as far as he'd go for Trev?

I suppose it will just go down to how hard Trev negotiates the deal! Either way a prominent minister for North Dublin!!

When I posted that yesterday, I had thought the deadline was midnight on Wednesday! :o
    new thing is to put up a "Thank You" sticker if you got elected. So technically it's not an election poster
    ....but if it's not an election poster it would then require planning permission (AFAIK)! :D

Still a few PD/Morrissey posters around Donabate!

Still some Morrisey and Kennedy posters around!

Really? Where abouts?

catch--22 wrote:
    Really? Where abouts?
    Kennedy poster near the Waterside Hotel in Donabate and a Morrissey one beside the Post Office in Donabate on the way down to the train station.

(Bearing in mind that I originally posted on the 8th June and things may have changed since then!)

I can't imagine any of them getting a fine though!

So, we eventually get a party leader in north Dublin into government....and he steps down the NIGHT before the new government is sworn in? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭keithrus

Only one decent politician *man of his word* out of the whole bunch. He would not go into government with fianna fail as party leader. Those were his words. And he stood by it. Have to give him credit. It shows that the greens are people of their word. Best of luck to them. Did anyone see trevor rip into enda kenny re : FG signing a deal with SF?? Classic TV...

Q. If you were an election candidate for an established political party and you only polled a miniscule number of votes in a general election (barely doing better than Immigartion Control Platform or Christian Soludatiry), would you have the balls to put yourself forward for leadership of that party?

A. Probably not.*

* Unless of course you have a sense of humour like Tom Morrissey.