Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisy Neigbors... Too Damn Noisy.

• 28-05-2007 1:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hi.
    I got a real problem here. I got a d**n crazy neighbor downstairs:
    I moved to this apartment 2 months ago (I'm living in 2nd floor),

and my neighbor downstairs... they play their guitar, sing aloud, some kind of
    Hip-hop music(same song everytime! and the bass sound penetrates through the ceiling so I can feel that uncomfortable vibration) usually after 11 pm until 3-4 o'clock in the morning..
    (I really cannot understand why they are doing this. Plus why I see 'different
    new faces' every time I peer out thorogh the terrace to see what the hell
    is going on downstairs.)

If I were in France, I would have called the police, but this is Dublin... so
    I don't think that will work. I searched the keyword "noisy neighbor" thread
    and found out that GARDA here don't have any permission to stop my
    crazy neighbor down stairs...

Now I really (seriously) thinking about moving out from this apartment,
    because of the problem I described.

I'm planning to meet the landlord and have a talk about this problem tomorrow.

And if this problem keeps continuing, then I will move out from this place.
    But in case of my moving out from this house for the reason of "noise,"
    what exactly happens with my deposit?

Anybody know what can I do at this point?

Please help me :(

and they are doing their little party sh*t again now...
    it's 1:12 am already.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

A friend of mine had a similar problem in his apartment. Loud cinema night after night in the apartment next door. His neighbours all had the same complaints, but the guy wouldn't relent and said that watching movies was his right.

So, my buddy borrowed the PA system I have the garage, and put 2x1000 watt Bass Bins near the wall facing this guy, and each time he attempted to watch a movie for the following week, turned them on and disrupted his movie watching pleasure. The guy obviously getting annoyed with this knocked on his door one night to come to some sort of an agreement, and I think they get on well now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ElectricSheep

Oopsy;
    I posted same article twice by some reason (my bad. how can I delete another article right below this article?)

Thanks for your advice.

But I'm not that kind of person who has a bravery of borrowing PA system... so your advice will work only in my imagination :(

I just have a small CD player and a monitor headphone for my works...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

If you are unfortunate enough to be in the situation where they won't compromise, play 'em at their own game asap or move out. You won't win otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ElectricSheep

Thank you.

Would it be possible for me to get my deposit back
    if the landlord knows well of this situation-?

Does anybody know?

Thank you.

Does anybody know?
    Check your contract. It may have a clause saying you are entitled to "reasonable enjoyment" or something similar to the same effect. Some idiot neighbour playing music till all hours would clearly break any such sentiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭talkingclock

My neighbours weew running down the wooden stairs like a herd of elephants so that my wall are shaking. the usual shoebox semit-detached carboard wall situation...

Everytime they were running down the stairs i was slamming doors and trampling on the stairs too.

They've learned the lesson.

Beat your enemies with their own wepaons...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭me87_ie

Are we all living in the same house. I have people playing music till 3 or 4 in the a.m. and people trampling up and down the stairs till these hours... the worst was when i woke up this morning and could actually here the people upstairs having a conversation and walking around!

Who needs to walk that heavily or talk that loud!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

Have you called in to the neighbours to ask them to keep the noise down? That should be your starting point.

After that you can call the guards - Ireland does have noise pollution laws.
    See here:

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/environment/environmental-protection/noise_regulations

• Registered Users Posts: 78,399 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Speak to them. Speak to your / their landlord. If you don't get a result, talk to the noise pollution section of your local council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If you own the apt speak to the neighbour. If you are renting speak to your landlord and let him talk to your neighbour. Withholding rent is acceptable in this circumstance if the landlord is advised and it is demonstrated to him that you are not getting what you pay rent for.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I've rented for half my life, one thing i've learned is sound pollution = move place.

The gardai dont give a crap, if they even come out it will be turn the music down lads and back to the same next night.

I'm sorry to say it, but just move, it saves months of fighting and frustration, you live in Ireland, renters have fúck all rights.

Maybe if you are paying huge rent in a good area, your landlord will care, otherwise they wont .

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Longfield wrote:
    I've rented for half my life, one thing i've learned is sound pollution = move place.

The gardai dont give a crap, if they even come out it will be turn the music down lads and back to the same next night.

I'm sorry to say it, but just move, it saves months of fighting and frustration, you live in Ireland, renters have fúck all rights.

Maybe if you are paying huge rent in a good area, your landlord will care, otherwise they wont .
    I agree with all but one point (and i've been renting for quite a few years too..) - whether you pay a big rent or not won't matter...big rent = high demand = plenty of others lining up to take your place.

Guards are a waste of time. Courts aren't worth the hassle.

Two options, and two options only:
    1. Play 'em at their own game to convince 'em to change;
    2. Move.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭ChewyLuey

Thank you.

Does anybody know?

I would have thought all deposits are refunadable once you provide the landlord with adequate notice of vacating the property (presumably 1-2 months). Anyone have any knowledge on this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Under Irish law, you are entitled to bring complaints about specific neighbourhood noise to the District Court.

Types of noise covered
    Noise such as that coming from other homes, workshops or local businesses that is continuous, repeated, loud and occurring at such times and of such duration that it affects the quality of life of the person is covered in Irish law.

The law in Ireland governing this area is (Section 108) of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act (Noise) Regulations 1994 (SI No. 179 of 1994). While the law does not specifically mention an exact level or standard of noise that is illegal, it is clear that if neighbourhood noise is affecting the quality of life of a citizen, then you have a right to complain. Your local authority has the power to investigate complaints about neighbourhood noise and also has specialist equipment that measures levels of sound.

A European standard for external intruder alarms replaced all current national standards in September, 2003. The new standard incorporates stricter controls regarding minimum and maximum duration for the sounding of alarms. The new limits are 90 seconds minimum and 15 minutes maximum. However, the new controls only apply to alarms fitted from September, 2003.

Rules
    Making a complaint
    You should approach the person or business causing the noise and explain that it is a nuisance and try to come to a mutually acceptable solution. If this does not work, your local authority has the same power as individuals to bring noise complaints to the District Court. In addition, local authorities have similar powers to the Environmental Protection Agency in relation to premises, processes and works other than those that require licensing under the Environmental Protection Agency Act. The Environmental Protection Agency can require the person or body to take specific measures to prevent or limit noise. Anyone required to take such specific measures by the Environmental Protection Agency must do so or face prosecution.

If you wish to make a complaint to the District Court, you are not required to be represented by a solicitor, however, you may engage the assistance of a solicitor to help prepare your noise complaint and present this in court. You should consult with the Clerk of your local District Court about an appointment for the hearing of your case and refer precisely to the law relating to your case (Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 (Noise) Regulations 1994 (SI No. 179 of 1994).

The appointment for the hearing of your case must be at least 7 days later than the date on which you inform the person responsible for the noise nuisance that you will be taking your case to court. You must use a Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 - noise form of notice to inform the person or business that you will be taking them to court. It is important that you use this form of notice only and that you complete it fully and accurately.

The District Court will call both parties together and listens to both sides of the case. If the court finds in your favour, it can order the person or body to limit the noise, reduce the level of noise or stop the noise completely. Any Orders made by the court must be complied with.

Penalties for breach of law
    The maximum fine for conviction on breach of noise regulations is 3,000 euro or 12 months in prison or both.

How to apply
    Approach the person or business responsible for the noise and try to reach a mutually acceptable solution. You may find that they were not aware of the nuisance and in most cases, this will resolve the problem.

If you have tried to resolve the problem amicably and this has not worked, you may then refer your complaint to your local authority, or you can take your complaint directly to your local District Court or the Environmental Protection Authority.

Complaints regarding aircraft noise should be made directly to the Irish Aviation Authority.

Where to apply
    Environmental Protection Agency
    P.O. Box 3000,
    Johnstown Castle Estate
    Co. Wexford.
    Tel: (053) 60600
    Fax: (053) 60699
    E-mail: info@epa.ie

Irish Aviation Authority
    Aviation House,
    Hawkins Street,
    Dublin 2.
    Tel: (01) 671 8655
    Lo-call: 1850 77 55 88
    Fax: (01) 679 2934
    E-mail: info@iaa.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

We're having the same problem in our flat. It's in a big victorian house that the landlord has converted into flats. Unfortunately, he's a skinflint and didn't insulate the ceilings and put stud walls throughout. So I can actually hear the guy who's room is above mine YAWNING.

Needless to say we're going to be moving out. Landlord doesn't give a crap.
    There should really be a law brought in about sound insulation in flats.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,787 ✭✭✭antoinolachtnai

cast_iron wrote:
    Check your contract. It may have a clause saying you are entitled to "reasonable enjoyment" or something similar to the same effect. Some idiot neighbour playing music till all hours would clearly break any such sentiment.

You are thinking of 'quiet enjoyment'. Quiet enjoyment doesn't mean there won't be any noise.

I think myself that you should be able to get the deposit back, but you have to give the landlord some sort of opportunity to remedy the situation.

Withholding rent in this situation is not really an acceptable thing to do though.

Would be worth asking threshold and the PRTB.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Does 'quiet enjoyment' apply if the ceiling is so thin that you can hear every word your neighbours say, and if their phone is on vibrate on the floor it sounds like a drill?

Great advice there by Anto.
    eth0_ wrote:
    Does 'quiet enjoyment' apply if the ceiling is so thin that you can hear every word your neighbours say, and if their phone is on vibrate on the floor it sounds like a drill?
    Arguable, but I doubt it. Like said above, 'quiet enjoyment' doesn't mean it will be quiet all the time, or at all. I would say it's more a provision for excess noise at unreasonable times from the surroundings.

The person at fault in your case seems to be....the builder! There's nothing unreasonable from your neighbour by leaving their phone on their floor and speaking at normal levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,787 ✭✭✭antoinolachtnai

No, it doesn't mean that at all! It mainly means that the landlord won't evict you or come and interfere with you in your property. It has nothing, or very little to do with noise.

At the end of the day, if the design of the building means it's always noisy, you're just going to have to live with it or move out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Morrigan

eth0_ wrote:

I wish...

My downstairs neighbours are a 4 person family living in a one-bedroom apartment. The father is often screaming at his kids (both about 7 years old, I reckon), this causes the kids to cry, and sometimes the mother joins in. I am glad they are not shouting in English, because then I would be forced to understand whatever idiotic arguement they keep having.

All this noise would probably not be so bad, except that there must be holes somewhere under the floorboards or vents leading between the two apartments, because I can even hear them brushing their teeth when I am in the bathroom. I hear EVERYTHING that is happening in their bathroom from my bathroom. :(:(
    Luckily, the noise dies down at about 9 or 10, when the kids are put to sleep, no doubt.

The only good thing about it is that I don't feel guilty about playing my music on full blast, having the TV up loud or screaming...

But does anyone know if there is law against 4 people sharing a one bed apartment? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Morrigan wrote:
    But does anyone know if there is law against 4 people sharing a one bed apartment? :P

Theres a non-national community living across the road from me, at least 12 living in a 3 bedroom. I swear more and more move in every month. LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 18,987 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Hi.
    I got a real problem here. I got a d**n crazy neighbor downstairs:
    I moved to this apartment 2 months ago (I'm living in 2nd floor),

and my neighbor downstairs... they play their guitar, sing aloud, some kind of
    Hip-hop music(same song everytime! and the bass sound penetrates through the ceiling so I can feel that uncomfortable vibration) usually after 11 pm until 3-4 o'clock in the morning..
    (I really cannot understand why they are doing this. Plus why I see 'different
    new faces' every time I peer out thorogh the terrace to see what the hell
    is going on downstairs.)

If I were in France, I would have called the police, but this is Dublin... so
    I don't think that will work. I searched the keyword "noisy neighbor" thread
    and found out that GARDA here don't have any permission to stop my
    crazy neighbor down stairs...

Now I really (seriously) thinking about moving out from this apartment,
    because of the problem I described.

I'm planning to meet the landlord and have a talk about this problem tomorrow.

And if this problem keeps continuing, then I will move out from this place.
    But in case of my moving out from this house for the reason of "noise,"
    what exactly happens with my deposit?

Anybody know what can I do at this point?

Please help me :(

and they are doing their little party sh*t again now...
    it's 1:12 am already.

Get onto your landlord to get onto the management company. I know my place has house rules that load noise can't be made after 11pm. A few nasty letters from the management company may do the trick

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

We had an issue last night with a garden party (ya I know what you're thinking...in this weather :rolleyes: - it was pi$$ing down) going on until the early hours. I would say there was about 15 kids all under the age of 10 running around screaming their heads off.

I rand the gardai about half 11 and they said they would call around. I rang them back this morning to see what happened but the garda on duty said to call back after 10pm tonight to talk to the garda in question.

Also put in a call to the landlord that said she would also have words.

Hopefully it had some affect....

I dont know how some people can live in apts....the noise must be unbearable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Living a house split into flats. It's fairly modern and the first landlord I ever had that didn't go mad when I asked for their PPS number.

AFAIK, the water tank for the flat below me is directly above my ceiling.
    So if they flush the toilet, use the immersion and just use water in general, I hear a realy loud gushing/bubbling sound. Feckin loud and it's almost like standing beside a boiling kettle :mad:

One of these days I'm going to disconnect their water tank-a bad idea but I'm being driven to it.

The place is very quiet apart from that. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 78,399 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Talk to your landlord and have it fixed.