Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Length of cable's from Modem to Comp??

Options
  • 28-05-2007 1:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭

Cheres Amis,

I'm planning on getting Broadband in my house. I would like to get Wired Broadband and was wondering...how long are the cables provided by the ISP's?...Are they sufficiently long for most people?

My main phone socket is in the kitchen, and i'll want to have the cable move from there through the hall, into the living room to my PC (a distance of about 10 metres). Is that an unreasonable distance?

p.s. I'm not technically minded so appoligies if this seems like a stupid question.

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

whats another 10 metres when you are 3000m from the exchange :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭dub45

Shinto wrote:
    Cheres Amis,

I'm planning on getting Broadband in my house. I would like to get Wired Broadband and was wondering...how long are the cables provided by the ISP's?...Are they sufficiently long for most people?

My main phone socket is in the kitchen, and i'll want to have the cable move from there through the hall, into the living room to my PC (a distance of about 10 metres). Is that an unreasonable distance?

p.s. I'm not technically minded so appoligies if this seems like a stupid question.