Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mario strikers smak talk thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭donkey 2002

Just played the tasks and have come to the conclusion that I had feck all knowledge on how to play the game thus I am just crap and not the game time to practise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

Yea the game has an awful lot more depth to it than at first appears. Try different combinations of Sidekicks and you'll be amazed how you can fine tune your team into goal scoring train.

Q_Ball: It was a good game alright. The Megastrikes can be devastating if a few of them roll in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Yeah, i'm trying to build a team around luigi. I like his balance of pace, shooting and passing.

I was thinking of positions, i like a slow runner at the back so that there's always at least one defending. I'm not scoring enough goals so i need to get an offensive-minded sidekick and then either a balanced or playmaker as my third. Altho luigi has playmaker/balanced stats so it might be an idea to put another good striker up there.

I can see myself getting hugely annoyed with some of the tactics employed online tho. Take Wario's farting or waluigi's wall. They both give you plenty of time to fire off a mega strike (run to wall, fart, make a little circular run around the place and shoot or waluigi boxing himself in), more so than DK or the princess wth the spikey special which give time for defenders after the special is used to make a tackle. you're really hoping for a pick up to get the tackle in.

I think a headset like the xbox version would be hilarious

Q_Ball wrote:
    I was thinking of positions, i like a slow runner at the back so that there's always at least one defending.

Personally I would disagree with this. I like to have a fast paced player with good tackling so you can get to someone quickly and make a saving tackle.

Although I use Wario I still think that he is very vulnerable to attack even when in his noxious gas. The Captains all really do have their pro's and cons. Brush up on saving megastrikes and then concentrate on scoring goals normal and you'll be elite in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

djkeogh wrote:
    Personally I would disagree with this. I like to have a fast paced player with good tackling so you can get to someone quickly and make a saving tackle.

Yeah i've tried that alright, but it was when i was using bowser and it didnt work too well. then again it was my first few games single player so i'll have another rethink tonight maybe

My general thinking is that if you have a slow captain (Wario, Bowser, DK) you need to have faster sidekicks to be able to make plays. The faster your captain then you can afford slower and more powerful sidekicks. The balance is different for everyone but experimenting and certainly seeing how others use sidekicks online is a great learning tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭p.u.d.z.e.r.

that was a thriller shred. that sudden death in the decider went on for ages, hard luck

shred, any time you invite me to play a game i get an error message on the screen.....are you gettin anythin like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Shred

that was a thriller shred. that sudden death in the decider went on for ages, hard luck

That was a fecking great match dude, well done!

shred, any time you invite me to play a game i get an error message on the screen.....are you gettin anythin like that?

I mentioned this elsewhere, anytime I invite someone it always comes back as declined. Yet I can accept invites without a problem. I don't know what the craic is tbh:confused: Anyways gonna hit the hay man, I'll have my revenge another time;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Yeah I was getting that too when I was playing you too Shred. Man I was really playing off the cuff with Warlugi seeing as you picked my beloved DK!

what happened with the mega strike there? Couldn't believe all 6 got past ya!

ur a jammy git with those mega strikes

looked like you had me in that round man. The Mega strikes let you down again. Am I right in thinking that Pudzer = Padzer?

aw man. 2-1 with 5 seconds to go then a 6 kick mega strike nets me 2 goals to steal it! great game. Your one of the more aggressive players I've played. Very hard to hold onto the ball.

More often than not my entire team is on the ground with stars around their heads

Thats me. I think i swapped ye zelda

ah yea. good man. Plain to see Wario is my only man ever since

looks like you were saving your best team til now. megastrikes still get ya badly. Great games tho

im well owed a win. i hate those farts.

annoying eh? you had me worried there a few times but i managed to scrape through with potent gas!

Yeah I was getting that too when I was playing you too Shred. Man I was really playing off the cuff with Warlugi seeing as you picked my beloved DK!

It's a pain in the ass, I don't know wtf I'm doing wrong, if anything at all. You played pretty well with waluigi all the same! What happened in the 2nd match though, did you disconnect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭donkey 2002

Well Done Padzer enjoyed that match can't wait fro the return maybe I might be better then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Antamojo

Hard luck padzer
    3 series in row, must be tough to take lol
    Ah only buzzin, how you like toad's goal