Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Monthly Deep Stack Saturday 2nd June @ the Sporting Emporium

• 30-05-2007 12:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭

Deep Stack

€200 + €20

Starting stack 8,000

Doors open from 6pm, cards in the air 6:30pm

"120 PLAYERS MAX"

Structure:

25…... 50………… 30
    50…... 100………… 30
    75…... 150………… 30
    100…. 200………… 30
    150…. 300…............. 30
    150…. 300….. 25….. 30
    200…. 400…. 25…. 30
    300…. 600…. 50…. 30
    400…. 800…. 50…. 30
    500…. 1000... 100… 30
    600…. 1200... 100… 30
    800…. 1600... 200…. 30
    1000... 2000... 200… 30
    1500... 3000... 300…. 30
    2000... 4000... 400…. 30
    3000... 6000... 500…. 30
    4000... 8000... 1000... 30
    6000... 12000. 1000... 30
    8000... 16000. 1000... 30
    10000. 20000. 2000... 30

Please note:
    This event is being run by the Sporting Emporium and all events at this location are commercial unless otherwise stated.
    All tournaments start at 9pm sharp unless otherwise stated.
    “”We ask all players as a courtesy to each other to arrive at least 30min before the event to ensure a prompt start time.””
    All players must be at least 21 and be a member of the club.
    All tournaments are No-Limit Texas Hold’em unless otherwise stated.
    Structures and starting stacks are set in relation to the size of the buy-in and may be amended or changed at the tournament director’s discretion. (We always make an effort to give maximum value for all our players.)
    All tables are dealt to the highest standard.
    Card room rules available on request (amended TDA rules in practice in the club)
    As normal practice the Tournament Director / Floor person’s decision is final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

no 45min levels anymore???? :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

mdwexford wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I won't personally bother if it is a 30 min clock all the way. And I was going to play and all. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Zippiebear

mdwexford wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Whilst 45mins would be preferrable, 30mins does provide sufficient amounts of play imo.

The attraction of this game has always been the great structure. Good structure equals time on clock. Having antes on a 30 min clock will now mean that this game loses it's great playibillity in the middle and end stages to a great extent. The competition have stepped up elsewhere and I just won't be bothering to turn up every month if the structure is adjusted to 30 mins the whole way.

My preferance mind - others can do what they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

The numbers might be down because of the Macau festival but i'll be there, although im serious dead money at the moment. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I personally wouldn't mind the changes too much if the antes were removed. In a game with a 30 minute clock and slow players it makes the game incredibly frustrating.

Having said that Lloyd is right there is plenty of competition and the punters can vote with their feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

smurph wrote:
    im serious dead money at the moment. :(

€500 last longest?

(BCB, you are barred from this ya luckbox)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Also, the APAT thing is on this weekend too, so numbers might be affected all round.

The only problem with the structure as it was is the way there was hand for hand play on a stopped clock on the FT bubble. I believe this should not be in place for a tournie this size, and just let it burst when it does. It really slows things up, and when events conspire as they did last month it can take aaaages to burst.

I regret the move down to 30 min levels though, and if this is being done then I think the deepstack title should be removed from this tournie, especially with Antes in play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

5starpool wrote:
    Also, the APAT thing is on this weekend too, so numbers might be affected all round.

Ah fook. Mustnt have got in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

ianmc38 wrote:
    Ah fook. Mustnt have got in.

Well those who are well known in the Fitz may still have a chance.....:rolleyes:

ollyk1 wrote:
    Well those who are well known in the Fitz may still have a chance.....:rolleyes:

Tell me more. Seriously - I need a place in this as I havn't been contacted off the reserve list. PM me details please.

5starpool wrote:

The only problem with the structure as it was is the way there was hand for hand play on a stopped clock on the FT bubble. I believe this should not be in place for a tournie this size, and just let it burst when it does. It really slows things up, and when events conspire as they did last month it can take aaaages to burst.

I regret the move down to 30 min levels though, and if this is being done then I think the deepstack title should be removed from this tournie, especially with Antes in play.

Great post Dom. If it's a 30 min clock just call it a freezeout.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Tell me more. Seriously - I need a place in this as I havn't been contacted off the reserve list. PM me details please.
    Don't derail the thread please lads. I am about to create a new thread about this anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

to be fair I always felt this should have been a 30 minute clock with no antes and maybe a 45 minute clock for the final table. Its to long currently as a 2 day event for the amount of the buy-in plus the drop in numbers.

Would love to see a 500 buy-in 3 or 4 times a year with 1 hour clock and good ante structure, with online qualifiers on GJP or PP or both...lol. This could be a 2 day event starting on the Saturday at 6:30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

Bring Back 45 Mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

this was the only regular game i used to look forward to every month, if its 30min levels i wont be bothered anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

why does this always happen? the SE set up a great game... and then changed it changed it changed it until the punters went away... i was gonna play... now i think i might play JP's game in the red cow, much more dead money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

Did anyone find out whether this is a permanent change to the structure/ Its pretty much the only live tournament I make a point of playing regularly because of the fantastic structure. Maybe its just a summer thing, as numbers will be down and it seems to take much longer to run the smaller the field?
    I dont know if i'll play saturday.

I think John should come on here and explain the change tbf. I will not play Saturday with a 30 min clock the whole way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

Hi All,

Sorry for the late reply to your questions and complaints regarding the €200 Tournament on Saturday 2nd June.

Unfortunately we are not able to make the Monthly €200 Tournament a 2 day event which is of course a shame as the last 6 Deepstacks have seen a 6am finish and the players being forced to do a deal. Most Tournaments that are €200 or over normally end with a deal being struck these days but we would like for the players playing in our event to at least have the option.

I have changed the structure that John posted but it has not completely gone back to the original one. The Tournament will have 5 x 30 min levels switching to 40 min levels from the repeated 150-300 level.
    8,000 Starting Stack.

Level S/B B/B Ante Total per round Clock Time
    1 25 50 - 75 30 min 6.30-7.00pm
    2 50 100 - 150 30 7.00-7.30
    3 75 150 - 225 30 7.30-8.00
    4 100 200 - 300 30 8.00-8.30
    5 150 300 - 450 30 8.30-9.00
    20 Minute Food Break
    6 150 300 25 675 40 9.20-10.00
    7 200 400 25 825 40 10.00-10.40
    8 300 600 50 1,350 40 10.40-11.20
    9 400 800 50 1,650 40 11.20-00.00
    10 Minute Break
    10 500 1,000 75 2,175 40 00.10-00.50
    11 600 1,200 75 2,475 40 00.50-01.30
    Chip Race
    12 800 1,600 100 3,300 40 01.30-02.10
    13 1,000 2,000 100 3,900 40 02.10-02.50
    14 1,500 3,000 200 6,300 40 02.50-03.30
    10 Minute Break when Final Table is reached.
    15 2,000 4,000 200 7,800 40 03.40-04.20
    16 3,000 6,000 300 11,700 40 04.20-05.00
    17 4,000 8,000 300 14,700 40 05.00-End.

We are obviously trying to host a Tournament with a great structure that allows plenty of play but can also finish in 1 day.

Thanks for all your feed back and i hope to see you on Saturday.

Alex.

Double post

There will also be One handed Blind Omaha Satellites from 6pm on Saturday for the Deepstack Tournament.

Alex.

Fair play Alex. That's what I call a compromise. Hopefully see you tomorrow.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Fair play Alex. That's what I call a compromise. Hopefully see you tomorrow.

I'll be there too

am available for last longer bets, prop bets, swapping percentages and generally acting like a real poker player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

S.Emporium wrote:

Unfortunately we are not able to make the Monthly €200 Tournament a 2 day event which is of course a shame as the last 6 Deepstacks have seen a 6am finish and the players being forced to do a deal. Most Tournaments that are €200 or over normally end with a deal being struck these days but we would like for the players playing in our event to at least have the option.

Alex.

I hear what you are saying Alex, but IMO this just wasn't set up to be a two day event.
    If you were serious about playing it over two days would it not have been much better to stop playing at 1 or 2 AM and bring back two or three tables on the Sunday?
    I can see obvious benefits for the SE in taking that approach.
    What I would vote for (if it was a voting matter and not something that is completly your choice to do your job the way you think is best ;) ) is stretching it to 1 hour levels and finishing up early enough to play a bit of cash or get a nights sleep before coming back at whatever time on Sunday
    What happens in the real world is that by 6AM you are inevitably going to be half way through the FT with the line in sight a deal is inevitable even though there is plenty of play left.
    I didn't get to it as often as I would have liked to but it is the one tournament I set up a reminder for, now... Meh! its just another freezout with slightly better than normal structures. If I'm around next month I might give it a spin but I'm disappointed that the best value tournament in Dublin is gone.

Meh! its just another freezout with slightly better than normal structures. If I'm around next month I might give it a spin but I'm disappointed that the best value tournament in Dublin is gone.

Most enjoyable - yes. Best value? Not at all. If you know what I mean...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Most enjoyable - yes. Best value? Not at all. If you know what I mean...:D
    Spot on :cool:
    And from my POV all the more reason to regret this move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

well done Alex, but just want to point out there will be no pleasing some people. fair play for responding..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

Yeah fair play alex, fair compromise. I think stretching this event consistently to 2 days would affect numbers due to the buy in. I like ollieboys idea of maybe 2-4 times a year bumping the buy in up to 400/500 with 1 hour levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

58o wrote:
    Yeah fair play alex, fair compromise. I think stretching this event consistently to 2 days would affect numbers due to the buy in. I like ollieboys idea of maybe 2-4 times a year bumping the buy in up to 400/500 with 1 hour levels.

If you bump this up its a totally different tournament with different players with different skill sets. The reason this is successful is because the structure is good and the buy in accomodates players that can only afford 250 and those that can afford 500+.

Dont change a good thing. If there is demand for a bigger buy in deep stack tourney then create a separate tournament to facilitate the demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

58o wrote:

Shane i have to agree with you, i also think a 500 event with one hour levels maybe 3 -4 times a year would be excellent, however i'd still leave the monthly 200 event as is - no need to change the structure here as its great value for money and the standard is also very good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Folks I made suggestions on boards last month regarding the structure of this tourny and the fact that we had to do a deal with 3 left at 6am sunday morning during the last event.

If it is a 2 day event then it should finish earlier on the saturday night to come back for some sunday play.

This is an event that I really look forward to playing and the SE maybe had to change the structure to avoid the fact that deals needed to be done at the end of day 1.

We have all played the EOM €270 event in the fitz which eventually becomes a crap shoot and fair play to ALex for the compromise in trying to keep people happy.

How much play do people expect for their €200. This is a 1 day event and not a festival weekend i.e the buy in... I agree with Bottomfeeder and agree you cant please everyone all the time. Where else in Dublin is there a monthly event with this structure. I posted last month that a new structure should be considered due to play needind to finish and deals needing to be done.

My only complaints are two fold....

1) I cant bloody play this month

2) Sort out the food. Sort out the food... Sort out the fkn food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

This finished about 3.30am, only 35 runners. They took out the antes to increase the play. Levels were fine, 30 mins then 40 after the break.

1st - 2,300 + wsop sat ticket
    2nd - 1900
    3rd - 1300
    4th - 850
    5th - 455

I split it heads up with Henry from full tilt. I had 2/1 chip lead so we took 2100 each and i got the ticket. Enjoyable game, wasnt as many agressive players there obviously due to other events affecting the numbers.

eggie wrote:
    This finished about 3.30am, only 35 runners. They took out the antes to increase the play. Levels were fine, 30 mins then 40 after the break.

2nd - 1900
    3rd - 1300
    4th - 850
    5th - 455

I split it heads up with Henry from full tilt. I had 2/1 chip lead so we took 2100 each and i got the ticket. Enjoyable game, wasnt as many agressive players there obviously due to other events affecting the numbers.

Well done Paul. Good result mate.

eggie wrote:

2nd - 1900
    3rd - 1300
    4th - 850
    5th - 455

nice one eggie, you were loking good in the (short) period I was at your table