Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life as an Infantry officer

• 30-05-2007 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Can anyone give specifics as to what life is like as an infantry officer? Is there alot of exercises for instance, throughout the time you are not posted abroad. What are postings abroad like? When you finish at 430, can you go home? or is that only on weekends (I'd be easy either way, just wondering)? Is it a lonely position, given that your in charge of 30 others? These are just examples;i'm just looking for an overall picture of day to day life after commissioning. Your time is appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Depends on where you're posted... If your mammy lives round the corner, you can go home. If not, the army will provide you with one in the nearest Hotel Europa.

The army also has, at the time of writing, several other officers whom you may be able to chinwag with. Your NCO's will also talk to you every now and again, presuming you show no initiative. Initiative=bad. Very bad. Don't come to your unit thinking you're going to whip it into ship shape overnight, or you may find yourself with more paperwork than your more docile colleagues, for some reason.

You may, during the course of your army career, be required to run five miles. Don't worry though, they cover this in training.

It's a grand old life being an officer, all the same. :) In training, or just thinking about giving it a go?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

When you finish at 430, can you go home?

Do you still have soldiers working? (As opposed to routine shifts like guard duty). If you've got troops working maintainance on the Nissans and you go home, it's not going to look too kindly on yourself. You'd be better served picking up a spanner and giving 'em a hand if you've got nothing better to do yourself.
    Is it a lonely position, given that your in charge of 30 others?

Not as a lowly 2nd Lieutenant. You're not really in charge of anyone, the platoon sergeant is! You just get to borrow them from time to time for exercises and whatnot. (Though, of course, you are totally responsible for them, it is recommended that for administration purposes you're better off relying on your NCOs as they know a hell of a lot more than you do.). By the time 1/LT rank arrives on your shoulders, you'll be far more comfortable with your environment and your authority, the 'loneliness of command' is going to be less of an issue. Additionally, you will always have your fellow platoon commanders, company 2/IC and company commander to lean on for advice.
    These are just examples;i'm just looking for an overall picture of day to day life after commissioning. Your time is appreciated.

I can only speak in general terms as I'm not familiar with daily life as an officer in the Irish military. However, my experience is that life is divided into two: Field life, and garrison life. Oftentimes in garrison it is difficult to find a purpose for yourself. The sergeant will have the routine work down to, well, a routine. Make sure what needs doing is being done, but otherwise, you probably will be stuck doing paperwork and other duties such as orderly officer or battalion ball organising officer. However, in the field is where officers earn their money (and, frankly, have the most fun), sections will be responding directly to your command as opposed to the sergeant's, who will probably be busy on the platoon's logistical side. You will be specifically trained to make the tactical decisions required of the position, and frankly, everything is going to happen quickly anyway so there's no need to worry about the weight of responsibility on your shoulders in the tactical environment.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 homercleese

Thanks. In answer Judt, might be doing it; going for it this year. Yet to hear for the second interview mind you, think they're a bit slow this year though, cos a few people havent heard back yet. When i was saying about going home, i actually meant, can you go home in the evenings after your done for the day, and after commissioning, or is it only weekends up till sunday night? Again, not that theses things matter, just interested.Also meant to ask, whats the frequency of exercises? Would there be one a week, or a month?( In relation to breaking up garrison life that is, which i would imagine would be quite boring compared to being overseas).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

next stage of interviews is last week in june, letters have not gone out yet but imagine they should arrive mid june

Slow. That's something you'll want to get used to during the course of your military career, should it go ahead. We love paperwork, just not doing it. Not to worry, though.

As for getting to go home, depends on where you're posted. If you live in Dublin and you're posted within commuting distance, you can live at home after a period of time (basically when they've established that you know what time to start work at.) If you don't live near where you're posted, they'll put you up. Officers billets are quite nice, generally. They don't call it the Hotel Europa for no good reason.

As for PT, well, if you're the officer you tell me kinda thing... But generally it depends on the unit. The 5th inf will run you harder than the 7th far and so on. Plus as an officer, if you're any good, you'll be leading the pack and setting the example. Just, as noted above, don't set too much of an example. That's bad. Very bad. But you'll figure it out.

As for garrison life, err, well, that's Irish Army life I'm afraid. Duties, broken up by training with the odd trip overseas, in that order of decent. The longer you're in, the more you'll become a glorified office worker or so, but it beats getting a real job. Overseas is great craic when you get it, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

Judt wrote:
    Slow. That's something you'll want to get used to during the course of your military career, should it go ahead. We love paperwork, just not doing it. Not to worry, though.

As for getting to go home, depends on where you're posted. If you live in Dublin and you're posted within commuting distance, you can live at home after a period of time (basically when they've established that you know what time to start work at.) If you don't live near where you're posted, they'll put you up. Officers billets are quite nice, generally. They don't call it the Hotel Europa for no good reason.

As for PT, well, if you're the officer you tell me kinda thing... But generally it depends on the unit. The 5th inf will run you harder than the 7th far and so on. Plus as an officer, if you're any good, you'll be leading the pack and setting the example. Just, as noted above, don't set too much of an example. That's bad. Very bad. But you'll figure it out.

As for garrison life, err, well, that's Irish Army life I'm afraid. Duties, broken up by training with the odd trip overseas, in that order of decent. The longer you're in, the more you'll become a glorified office worker or so, but it beats getting a real job. Overseas is great craic when you get it, though.

And your experience in this is??

Too much...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Judt wrote:
    Too much...;)

Are you sure?? because....
    Judt wrote:
    The 5th inf will run you harder than the 7th far and so on.

You are aware that 7FAR is / was an FCA unit? :rolleyes:

Well, the point would still stand then :D I'm sure I was thinking of the 2nd, so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Would ye recommend enlisting as a private or an officer, assuming one has the option? I'd be more interested in getting my boots dirty than worrying about paper work, to be honest. I've heard/read that you have less freedom as an officer - would that be the case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

My friend an Irish Army Officer is no more than a jumped up Civil Servant.

Why you might ask, they do not go on Escorts, they do not lead from the front, they cannot do a basic ordanance check each week, they are drawn from the jumped up D4 or similar backgrounds.

If you want to be a Real Officer goto a Real Army not Securior with Guns.

As for an enlisted soldier again you are a "Duty" Machine, For Example and for the Walter Mitty's here in the RDF listen up :

Monday : Escort (0500 up to 1900)
    Tuesday : Barrack Guard or BOS Dependant on Rank (24 Hours without Sleep)
    Wednesday : Resting off (Dependant on your unit and if your lucky)
    Thursday : Brigade Stand Too (24 Hours)
    Friday : Resting off (Dependant on your unit and if your lucky)
    Sat: Off if your not on Duty (Usually MSG (Mobile Security Group)
    Sun : Resting Off

You can average up to and over 80 hours a week and that is just in Ireland, when operational oversea's increase that to up to 100 hrs, just in case you thought all those ad's for the army was cool that is the harsh reality, in the Brits again it is harder and worse.

Judt wrote:

You sound like a person who has never served a day or got your hands dirty, there is people here who actually are doing it or have done it for a living it is a JOB not a Career

testicle wrote:
    Are you sure?? because....

You are aware that 7FAR is / was an FCA unit? :rolleyes:

Hmm. I took it as:

The 5th Inf will run you harder [i.e. speed] than the 7th far [i.e. distance].

In other words, six of one, half-dozen of the other.

NTM

Flying wrote:
    You sound like a person who has never served a day or got your hands dirty, there is people here who actually are doing it or have done it for a living it is a JOB not a Career

I'm curious as to which bit of his statement you have particular disagreement with, as he sounds pretty on-the-money to me.

I also disagree with the concept of the military life being a job. I think it's more of a vocation. A job is something you do to earn money. If you happen to like it, great. One doesn't join the military solely for the sake of earning a few quid, there are easier ways to make the same amount of money. You have to want to do it. In my case, the day it stops being fun is the day I'll resign my commission.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

"Walter Mitty's here in the RDF" - you have no idea how much I resent that comment ... I can honestly count myself as one of the few who joined up as a stepping stone to a career in the PDF, not for a free uniform and cheap booze.

I'm curious as to which bit of his statement you have particular disagreement with, as he sounds pretty on-the-money to me.

I also disagree with the concept of the military life being a job. I think it's more of a vocation. A job is something you do to earn money. If you happen to like it, great. One doesn't join the military solely for the sake of earning a few quid; there are easier ways to make the same amount of money. You have to want to do it. In my case, the day it stops being fun is the day I'll resign my commission.

NTM

Would you do the job if you didn’t get paid, even members of the SAS some of who were in my unit, regard the army as a job, vocation no, career maybe a way of life not anymore in this era.

Today's Irish Army no Longer has any real Espirit de corps, loyalty or comradeship, it is riddled with the Bullsh1t that is A7 and it is so politically correct a Private or Recruit cannot be constructively shouted at.

Now some parts of the Brits is getting like that but the Irish Army is a total shambles and as for Officers, well again I will make the point that they are glorified Civil Servants and no more, I could easily say 1% of them are real soldiers the rest idiots.

My Father is also a Senior NCO having done 37 years here and he himself would be of the same opinion about Officers here and the RDF (which in recruit training had to be deprogrammed from "I know it all mode" to "what it is like to do this as a living mode"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Jesus H Christ dude you sound like you're in bad need of a transfer.

No Espirit de Corps? no comradeship? loyalty?

I see these things everyday (albeit without recognition from superiors)

A7 isn't a bogeyman to be feared. I've never seen or heard of anyone getting discharged from the DF due to it...sure people have been warned or repremanded but it hasn't affected their promotion prospects or the like.

As for it being a shambles...sure I'd agree with ya there a lot of stuff is just for show or for PR (Propaganda Relations) we may have new helicopters and MOWAGS with fancy turrets but I challenge anyone to try find some jax roll when ya really need it.

But armies amd defence forces all over the world have these problems.

I know a lot of people who have the same attitude as ya mate and thankfully when times got tough overseas the furthest thing from their mind was A7 and why we can't get jax roll in barracks. Thats when the espirit de corps and comradeship came to the forefront.

The 'life less ordinary' thing is a crock of sh1t 99% of the time...but its that 1% where you earn your pay is what its all about...well it is for me anyway....plus the Overseas money :D

HI, i originally posted this topic, and in the interim, i've received the big two fingers from the Army, didnt even make it to the second interview. Had the degree, fit as a fiddle, modicum of intelligence, big schlong etc. etc. I think i gesticulated once, but had proper examples of all the competency based questions.

Initially, i was a bit depressed. Now, not so much. Having read FLYING's comments, i realise, thats not what i want in life. I still want in a military, im so bored in life, and im looking at the Legion, or even trying the Brits, but Jees, our army sounds like it sucks. (Granted, im a bit partial, now that they didnt even give me a chance to do my pushups).

Im disgusted i didnt get a chance mind you, and i sorta knew a certain little runt on the interview board, and i knew he didnt like me, and id go along with the officers definitely being from a certain 'set' (bar one sound man that i know well), and it being tough to get in unless your a member of said socio-economic grouping.....

Anyway, im ranting slightly...Lads, what would your opinions be of the Legion and Brits as an alternative?? Ive read the books and all, just wondering from first hand relationships or experiences, what anyone has to say. And FLYING, whats A7, and is it really that bad as an officer in the Irish Army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

HI, i originally posted this topic, and in the interim, i've received the big two fingers from the Army, didnt even make it to the second interview. Had the degree, fit as a fiddle, modicum of intelligence, big schlong etc. etc. I think i gesticulated once, but had proper examples of all the competency based questions.

Initially, i was a bit depressed. Now, not so much. Having read FLYING's comments, i realise, thats not what i want in life. I still want in a military, im so bored in life, and im looking at the Legion, or even trying the Brits, but Jees, our army sounds like it sucks. (Granted, im a bit partial, now that they didnt even give me a chance to do my pushups).

Im disgusted i didnt get a chance mind you, and i sorta knew a certain little runt on the interview board, and i knew he didnt like me, and id go along with the officers definitely being from a certain 'set' (bar one sound man that i know well), and it being tough to get in unless your a member of said socio-economic grouping.....

Anyway, im ranting slightly...Lads, what would your opinions be of the Legion and Brits as an alternative?? Ive read the books and all, just wondering from first hand relationships or experiences, what anyone has to say. And FLYING, whats A7, and is it really that bad as an officer in the Irish Army?

Sounds like a huge bunch of sour grapes to me. If thats the way you deal with rejection you are not the sort of person the army wants as an officer

lord above, i was waiting for that one. i admitted i was slightly partial mule, didnt i?? i was merely stating facts is all, and agreeing with what someone said earlier, that you have to know be/or know certain people in a lot of cases to get in. and if you want to say im not the type of person the army wants pal, then you better get cracking on the hundreds of posts that have similar sentiment shot through them. i dealt with the rejection as stated- a bit depressed, followed by a 'well, if they dont want me, **** them attutude'. Pretty understandable really, especially if youve been intending on doing this for as long as i have, and not being given a chance to even do competency and physical tests. Does the army want people who shut up, and dont speak up about perceived injustices????? (no smart answers please :rolleyes: )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 G.O.B.

I'm in the same boat, for the third time, so I'm starting to come around to the possibility that they just don't want me in the club. Got to the 3rd interview last year which is why getting knocked out this early is a fair oul' shock.

Apart from applying before I'm pretty much in the same situation as homercleese there, although I've got an idea that I gave a worse interview than in previous years by trying to come at it from a slightly different angle in order to impress more.

I've done a stint in the FCA couple years back when it was a real joke, before the recent reorganisation (I hear now it's as close a view of the real thing as you can get) and from that (the parts that weren't rubbish) I know I like the whole military approach. Again like Homercleese, I'm a bit jaded with run-of-the-mill life, don't fancy installing servers for the rest of my working life. I want to do something different that I like and that has some importance.

But from what you lads have been saying the PDF ain't really gonna fulfill much of that. ? I'd been under no illusions about it being mainly a man management job with alot of paper work, but not being able to find anything to do on base? Surprised by that. Dunno if I'd go so far as to go to a foreign army, hadn't really given that much thought.

Would age be a big factor? I went to college and got my degree (maybe a mistake) before ever applying so I'm 26 in the next few days and was 23 when I sent off my first application. Could that reflect badly on me?

AFAIK, the A7 is the human rights, political correctness, don't-shout-I-might-break crap. Would I be right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

QUOTE]

MM's point about vocation is vital, if soldiering is absolutely what you want to do then you would be well advised to think about joining the BA - assuming you've gone off the IA completely.

if you join the BA you'll very rarely be bored and you'll never have to do a CIT and pretend to yourself that 'this is real soldiering'.

OTH you may well be vilified by your family and friends for your decision, for an Irishman joining the BA there are potential downsides, they may not happen, but they may, and you won't have control of them.

i would advise you to surf ARRSE for a while, read lots of threads and try to get an idea of the culture and get to know some of the personalities - including some of the Irish ones - and decide for yourself if you think that community is for you.

should you then choose to join the BA - and that they accept you - i can promise you that you'll get more operational experience in five years than you would in twenty with the IA, however the BA go places where people shoot, bomb and hate them, so its very much not a risk free 'aggressive camping' vocation.

you will probably have problems joining as an officer, i think that current rules are that you must be a UK resident for two years prior to applicvation, though i stand to be corrected.

Sorry to hear about your interview...sounds like the "runt" on the board was your downfall.

A few previous posts seem to be giving an extremely negative worse case scenario of the Irish Army.

Life for an Infantry/Artillery Officer outside of the Military College (i.e. after the Cadetship) is what he she makes of it.

Artillery officers will be sent to the DFTC to the Artillery School for a long stint.

As soon as your posted to your Unit and you realise that everyone you meet thinks you're the lowest form of life thats where your career as an officer begins. Basically in an Infantry unit as the new blood you'll be given an orientation of the barracks you get posted to (not neccessarily the one nearest to your home mind) and then you'll meet and greet the NCO's and Pte's employed in the unit (and who run the unit, never forget that)
    If you've already got your degree then you'll hit the ground running...you'll spend a bit of time with the troops in your unit (going along with the troops for PT, being on hand to overview weapons training, maybe even the odd cash escort) its all just to get you familiar with the day to day running of things.

Sooner than later you'll find yourself in command of training a recruit platoon or on an instructors course of some kind for the best part of year.

With your new found instructoral abilities you'll end up as a course commander or in charge of a platoon in a tactical exercise when you return to your unit.

After about 2 to 3 years you'll be promoted to a 2nd Lieutenant and be on the rocky road to Overseas.

All your prior training culminates with your first trip overseas. This is where you'll earn your pay.

As an officer you'll always have NCOs near by who have been doing the job 10 times longer and know a hundred times more than you...they won't need you to tell them what or how to do their jobs they'll just need you to say yes or no to their suggestions...say no at your peril...but remember the buck always stops with you.

Expect to be on a 24 hour duty up to and over 4 times a month as a junior officer in an isolated barracks...anything less is a bonus...the more junior officers in your barracks the less duties you will do. All the duties will be garrison duties...once in a blue moon a big CIT will come along tht you might be used for.

Depending on how close you are to home you could be home everynight...if you're based in Dublin and living in the country you'll be how most weekends...there are lots of pubs and clubs to keep you amused in the Big Smoke.

Those junior officers without a degree can expect to head to college in Galway and RTU every summer and xmas.

All Armies are boring.

The only time its not boring in when someone is shooting at you or threatening to shoot at you.

Its what you do and learn in the time between people shooting at you is what makes the difference.

A7 is as GOB said at the end of his post.

As for the Irish Army doing CITs and pretending its soldiering...
    the Irish Army does not want to do CIT, the Irish Army does not need to do CITs....but what makes it soldiering is that the Irish Army is TOLD to do CITs ;)

Hard Larry wrote:
    Sorry to hear about your interview...sounds like the "runt" on the board was your downfall.

A few previous posts seem to be giving an extremely negative worse case scenario of the Irish Army.

Life for an Infantry/Artillery Officer outside of the Military College (i.e. after the Cadetship) is what he she makes of it.

Artillery officers will be sent to the DFTC to the Artillery School for a long stint.

As soon as your posted to your Unit and you realise that everyone you meet thinks you're the lowest form of life thats where your career as an officer begins. Basically in an Infantry unit as the new blood you'll be given an orientation of the barracks you get posted to (not neccessarily the one nearest to your home mind) and then you'll meet and greet the NCO's and Pte's employed in the unit (and who run the unit, never forget that)
    If you've already got your degree then you'll hit the ground running...you'll spend a bit of time with the troops in your unit (going along with the troops for PT, being on hand to overview weapons training, maybe even the odd cash escort) its all just to get you familiar with the day to day running of things.

Sooner than later you'll find yourself in command of training a recruit platoon or on an instructors course of some kind for the best part of year.

With your new found instructoral abilities you'll end up as a course commander or in charge of a platoon in a tactical exercise when you return to your unit.

After about 2 to 3 years you'll be promoted to a 2nd Lieutenant and be on the rocky road to Overseas.

All your prior training culminates with your first trip overseas. This is where you'll earn your pay.

As an officer you'll always have NCOs near by who have been doing the job 10 times longer and know a hundred times more than you...they won't need you to tell them what or how to do their jobs they'll just need you to say yes or no to their suggestions...say no at your peril...but remember the buck always stops with you.

Expect to be on a 24 hour duty up to and over 4 times a month as a junior officer in an isolated barracks...anything less is a bonus...the more junior officers in your barracks the less duties you will do. All the duties will be garrison duties...once in a blue moon a big CIT will come along tht you might be used for.

Depending on how close you are to home you could be home everynight...if you're based in Dublin and living in the country you'll be how most weekends...there are lots of pubs and clubs to keep you amused in the Big Smoke.

Those junior officers without a degree can expect to head to college in Galway and RTU every summer and xmas.

All Armies are boring.

The only time its not boring in when someone is shooting at you or threatening to shoot at you.

Its what you do and learn in the time between people shooting at you is what makes the difference.

A7 is as GOB said at the end of his post.

As for the Irish Army doing CITs and pretending its soldiering...
    the Irish Army does not want to do CIT, the Irish Army does not need to do CITs....but what makes it soldiering is that the Irish Army is TOLD to do CITs ;)

After two years you will be promoted to Lieutenant

After 2 years in the Cadet School you'll be promoted to 1st lieutenant...2 to 3 years later you'll be promoted to 2nd lieutenant along with the rest of your graduating class.

Hard Larry wrote:
    After 2 years in the Cadet School you'll be promoted to 1st lieutenant...2 to 3 years later you'll be promoted to 2nd lieutenant along with the rest of your graduating class.

After 15 months in the Cadet School you will be promoted to 2nd Lieutenant. After 2 years you will be promoted to Lieutenant.

Go check it out

meh it'll feel like two years :)

He's pointing out the sequence, not the time.

2nd LT is junior to LT.

NTM

what would your opinions be of the Legion and Brits as an alternative??

The French Foreign Legion???? Dunno about that from what Ive read. Have a browse on www.arrse.co.uk register and ask some questions. They suprisingly welcoming to Irish lads. Of course the problem with joining the Brits is peoples views here on it .. .. .
    But on the upside the opportunities for learning different trades and specialising is much more than in the Irish army. http://www.armyjobs.mod.uk/

I also have to point out that I take exception when people comment on the Irish army as "pretend" soldiering. Many have been killed abroad down through years nothing pretend about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Legion Officers are French, and are educated at St Cyr like the rest of their brethern, so if you want to be an Officer, that's not the place for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

I also have to point out that I take exception when people comment on the Irish army as "pretend" soldiering. Many have been killed abroad down through years nothing pretend about that

i wouldn't - and neither would anyone with a brain - describe a number of the overseas PSO missions the IA has completed as 'pretend' soldiering, my suggestion was that one of the major home duties, that of CIT, isn't soldiering, its policing on the cheap.

the simple mathmatics of 'how much operational experience will you get in the IA as opposed to the BA' is simple. by law no more than 800 IDF personel may be deployed overseas (including multi-national training) at anyone time - out a strength of some 8,500 thats just under 10%, whereas currently - and for the last 5 years - some 25 to 30% of the BA is on an operational deployment overseas at any one time, not including those units on overseas training in Canada, Kenya, Oman.....

Ahh, you came back from a decent holiday to find the weather is nice, but there's always something to spoil the milk... Sorry to hear about the rejection my friend, but such is life. We could possibly talk about the cadetship process, whether or not it's skewed and so on, but it's wasteful of our time and efforts to do so. It is what it is.

You could join the Brits as an officer - I'm not sure if you'd have to live there for two years, though. I do know that technically they say you should have been resident in Britain for two years to join the ranks, but they don't enforce it really. May well be the case with the officers.

If not, then the BA beats the legion by miles, unless you come from a particularly stanch family of republicans. The FFL pay is crap, the career is crap and the people you'll be working with are, largely, crap. The BA offers real pay, real career progression, you get to work with real people who probably don't have an outstanding conviction or two for rape, murder and thievery (the final one being your biggest worry, funny enough).

If worst came to worst you could try for the American's. We laugh at them often enough, but at least they get to go and get their bit, if that's what you're after.

As for A7, that's what happens when you combine a few dumb training NCO's with an overly politically correct world.

In reality the Irish Army is duties, some decent overseas and a lot of good craic, depending on what you make of it. You can be one of the pissy types we've seen in recent years who join up for lack of a better idea and moan all the way through, or you can enjoy your time, go on courses, have a positive outlook and maybe even make a career out of it, if they'll have you. That positive attitude, plus a natural shield for BS, is conducive to a successful career.

If you want to go and kill a lot of Taleban and Al Qaeda types, the BA or American's are what you're looking for. If you want to get beaten and poorly paid as well as a bit of action, the FFL is the place to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

ThatGuy wrote:
    "Walter Mitty's here in the RDF" - you have no idea how much I resent that comment ... I can honestly count myself as one of the few who joined up as a stepping stone to a career in the PDF, not for a free uniform and cheap booze.

I am serving RDF ! I have been on exercise with PDF. They forgot we were there and referred to RDF as "sandbags", you know the s...t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

I haven't been in it long enough to have the chance to train with PDF, but I've heard much the same of others ... just grin and bear it is the best policy.
    It could change in the years to come - well, maybe.

Aim to get the most out of every training night/weekend etc in terms of learning new things, getting better at things you already knew. You'll be better for it than the few who feck off until the following Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

ThatGuy wrote:
    I haven't been in it long enough to have the chance to train with PDF, but I've heard much the same of others ... just grin and bear it is the best policy.
    It could change in the years to come - well, maybe.

Aim to get the most out of every training night/weekend etc in terms of learning new things, getting better at things you already knew. You'll be better for it than the few who feck off until the following Summer.

served 11 years in 1 x week' time. I am a cpl for last nine years. PDF recruits in the barracks we train in have been told not to talk to us by their NCO's ! lads that served with us joined pdf and now can't be seen to know us or else they get bottled........integration.......they can keep it..........we give up our spare time to train to do their jobs, but could they do ours, or would they give up thier spare time ? no. be too busy working other jobs for cash in hand ! my camp money is now. no incentive for me to go to camp now taxed..........and the government want me to commit to 4 weeks camp........thats my annual leave used up...........and then to be taxed on money...........looked down upon by 'regulars'...........morale pretty poor !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Flying wrote:
    My friend an Irish Army Officer is no more than a jumped up Civil Servant.

Why you might ask, they do not go on Escorts, they do not lead from the front, they cannot do a basic ordanance check each week, they are drawn from the jumped up D4 or similar backgrounds.

If you want to be a Real Officer goto a Real Army not Securior with Guns.

As for an enlisted soldier again you are a "Duty" Machine, For Example and for the Walter Mitty's here in the RDF listen up :

You can average up to and over 80 hours a week and that is just in Ireland, when operational oversea's increase that to up to 100 hrs, just in case you thought all those ad's for the army was cool that is the harsh reality, in the Brits again it is harder and worse.

You get the following 24 hours off after a 24 hour duty so that if your lucky is bull****!!

80 hours a week is also bull****..so you haven't a clue what your talking about.

In all my time in the DF(I'm still serving)I think I've gone through one week where I'm doing Duty, rest Cash and then maybe another duty...its by no means the general routine..

You get the following 24 hours off after a 24 hour duty so that if your lucky is bull****!!

80 hours a week is also bull****..so you haven't a clue what your talking about.

In all my time in the DF(I'm still serving)I think I've gone through one week where I'm doing Duty, rest Cash and then maybe another duty...its by no means the general routine..
    Can you give us an outline of your weekly routine? It'd be interesting and helpful for those of us considering enlisting!

Cheers

DaveMcG wrote:
    Can you give us an outline of your weekly routine? It'd be interesting and helpful for those of us considering enlisting!

Cheers

you could be on general Duties around the Barracks,ie cleaning details /cleaning Kit..and some PT during the day.

You do an amount of regimental Duties during the month but thats part of the job. but nothing like the 80 hour week the other lad said..

It changes from week to week depending on the Unit and it commitments.

Could ya gimme an example of say the week just gone? Like Flying did in his post.

Thanks!

DaveMcG wrote:
    Could ya gimme an example of say the week just gone? Like Flying did in his post.

Thanks!

Sorry Dude,I can't nor won't go into specifics....My advice is join your local RDF unit....

Alright thanks..........

I'll tell ya Dave...genaral routine is no state secret

The average week for a 3 star Private in an Infantry unit (who has finished his recruit training and 3 star training) would be as follows

Monday: Parade, Cleaning Detail, PTs, Parade, Weapons Training. Clock off at half four.
    Tuesday: As Above
    Wednesday: Barrack Guard 24 hour shift
    Thursday; Resting Off (24 hrs)
    Friday; as Monday and Tuesday
    Sat; Off
    Sun; Off

Thats a pretty standard week right there for a Private not on a course or training for Overseas/ Tactical Exercise

Move that 24hr duty around as necessary on any of the days.

Sure there are weeks were you might do a CIT as well as a Guard but it beats hanging around the barracks for the day.

Most privates would get a weekend 24 duty on average 1 every month but sometimes duties get heavy when troops are away on courses, overseas training etc. etc.

I have only ever seen one guy do duties back to back for 2 weeks and he asked to do it cause he needed the money.

That week is fairly average for a Private Soldier who keeps his/her nose clean.
    Other things are introduced from time to time...wednesdays are usually ORT (Organised Recreational Training) that means a game of footie or a trip to the local pool.

Hillwalks and the like are usually introduced when more NCOs are available (Corporals and drivers are flaa'd for duties)

The majority of a week is barrack orientated though...but then you got 30 days annual leave to take too...so the odd half day isn't frowned upon too heavily (as long as you have a good excuse)...but be warned there is always someone willing to ruin your day with bad news.

Hard Larry wrote:
    I'll tell ya Dave...genaral routine is no state secret

The average week for a 3 star Private in an Infantry unit (who has finished his recruit training and 3 star training) would be as follows

Monday: Parade, Cleaning Detail, PTs, Parade, Weapons Training. Clock off at half four.
    Tuesday: As Above
    Wednesday: Barrack Guard 24 hour shift
    Thursday; Resting Off (24 hrs)
    Friday; as Monday and Tuesday
    Sat; Off
    Sun; Off

Thats a pretty standard week right there for a Private not on a course or training for Overseas/ Tactical Exercise

Move that 24hr duty around as necessary on any of the days.

Sure there are weeks were you might do a CIT as well as a Guard but it beats hanging around the barracks for the day.

Most privates would get a weekend 24 duty on average 1 every month but sometimes duties get heavy when troops are away on courses, overseas training etc. etc.

I have only ever seen one guy do duties back to back for 2 weeks and he asked to do it cause he needed the money.

That week is fairly average for a Private Soldier who keeps his/her nose clean.
    Other things are introduced from time to time...wednesdays are usually ORT (Organised Recreational Training) that means a game of footie or a trip to the local pool.

Hillwalks and the like are usually introduced when more NCOs are available (Corporals and drivers are flaa'd for duties)

The majority of a week is barrack orientated though...but then you got 30 days annual leave to take too...so the odd half day isn't frowned upon too heavily (as long as you have a good excuse)...but be warned there is always someone willing to ruin your day with bad news.

I didn't want to put him off joining...lol

buts thats the long and short of it....

I didn't want to put him off joining...lol

buts thats the long and short of it....

Ha Ha good one :D

Nah but they're the general weeks the ones you wish you were having when you're getting pissed on in a midge infested forest in the back arse of wicklow somewhere...but even that is worth it when ya get back to civilisation and have a beer.

No two weeks are the same tbh...always something to look foward to and always something to dread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

has anyone received their letters with dates for army final interview yet? i havent got mine yet but rang up competitions section and they told me i was through but still havent got letter confirming this