Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Macau Update

• 03-06-2007 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭

Not down myself but was just on phone to Nicky power

There is 13 left at the moment 15 got paid ..

paul lecky still in also

Nicky lost a race yesterday with 16 left for 1/4 of the chips in play with A/K Suited against Q/Q , He hit the two diamonds on the flop to become favourite off the flop but could not hit a diamond ace or king ....But he is still average stack and playin g well from what i can gather

Best of luck all

I have a day off tm so ill be down for the €250 F/O monday

Neill K

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Went out of this in 14th...my QQ no match for Ken Doherty's AA. When there were 15 left I suggested that 15 and 14 get their money back. I had 75k in chips and with 5/6 players with lower chips...(much lower)...never thought I'd be one of the beneficiary's of this deal....SICK....ARGHH......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Unlucky Chris. Any players of note left in bar Nicky and Ken?

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Thanks Tony...Paul Lecky still in ...... Sylvester Geoghan..he owns a club in Mullingar...played a couple of Poker Events tourney's .....not sure of the rest...also a couple of Betfair qualifiers still in..

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Sylvester has lasted a bit longer than his 1st hand exit from GJP then when he successfully bluffed all his chips away to Jay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

play started at three and I was on the cork/waterford road at 3.15 having made what I consider to be the worst play I ever made in a decent buy in event. I'm numb after it, having grafted from 2.5k in level two to get there today and butcher a near average stack is inexcusable :(.

I pushed over the top of a button raise with pocket two's which in it's self isn't that bad but the fact that the client just wasn't a light raiser or a person capable of putting down a hand makes it just pure shocking.

nicnicnic wrote:
    play started at three and I was on the cork/waterford road at 3.15 having made what I consider to be the worst play I ever made in a decent buy in event. I'm numb after it, having grafted from 2.5k in level two to get there today and butcher a near average stack is inexcusable :(.

I pushed over the top of a button raise with pocket two's which in it's self isn't that bad but the fact that the client just wasn't a light raiser or a person capable of putting down a hand makes it just pure shocking.

Nicky, next time you get 22, just put them in the muck! Either way i'm sure it was a race so if they hold up, you're in good shape. From what i gather, you gave another good showing and its only 1 or 2 decisions meaning the difference in being a nearly man and a champ. GL next time around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

unlucky nicky .them poc twos haunting u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

nicnicnic wrote:

UL Nicky. My donation obviously didn't enhance your chances :)

PiperT wrote:
    UL Nicky. My donation obviously didn't enhance your chances :)

it was anything but unlucky Tim, just a shocking brain fart got €2000 for 13th so it helped a little:) I'll return the favour someday;)

Flushdraw wrote:
    Nicky, next time you get 22, just put them in the muck! Either way i'm sure it was a race so if they hold up, you're in good shape. From what i gather, you gave another good showing and its only 1 or 2 decisions meaning the difference in being a nearly man and a champ. GL next time around

Tony and Taliban I looked at the two's and decided i was folding even if it was folded round to me not even a limp i said to myself then the button raises and i got possessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Ken Doherty is chip leader now with 240k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

still another decent showing Nic, its coming together nicely for the WSOP hopefully

mdwexford wrote:
    still another decent showing Nic, its coming together nicely for the WSOP hopefully

doesn't feel like that atm but cheers Mick will you ever ask that other spacer to ring me if you see him. I must of rang him six times in the last two weeks and he wont answer his phone to me:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

nicnicnic wrote:
    doesn't feel like that atm but cheers Mick will you ever ask that other spacer to ring me if you see him. I must of rang him six times in the last two weeks and he wont answer his phone to me:confused:

i havent been talking to him in about a week either but if i see him ill tell him your looking for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

how many players start this event and any idea of 1st prize?

Ken as really improved in the last year as a poker play, fair play to him and really nice guy

Ollieboy wrote:
    how many players start this event and any idea of 1st prize?

Ken as really improved in the last year as a poker play, fair play to him and really nice guy

122 runners 60k 1st 33k 2nd 19k 3rd I think oh yeh 2k 13th:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

nicnicnic wrote:

are you ever happy, there you go cribbing again after getting a free weekend in Cork :eek: :eek:

unlucky by the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

nicnicnic wrote:

thats a good turnout, wp Nicky. good year so far, getting closer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

nicnicnic wrote:

nic i passed on that message to fishwitchips last week and he sed he wud ring u...

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Unlucky nic, Cant believe Sylvestor Geoghan is still in... Has nobody got the balls to call his bluff... The 1st hand in the GJP festival was the biggest donk of chips i ve witnessed ever. He s a bluffer go after him somone please..

Hard luck nicky & Tim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭pumpdaddy

any idea who is still left in it lads with chip counts etc cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

nicnicnic wrote:
    Tony and Taliban I looked at the two's and decided i was folding even if it was folded round to me not even a limp i said to myself then the button raises and i got possessed

LOL - Nic had the same trouble with them blasted 22's in Waterford..... UL man....

[DUCE me baby DUCE me]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Honey !!
    Normally duces never loses..... EVERYONE knows this!!

just bloody unlucky, nothing else

Wish you where here i buy you a drink!

Anna panna banana..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

just got a text sylvester won it

nice one vesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

Jebus, n1 vesty you lag bastid.. o.o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

C4Queen wrote:
    Honey !!
    Normally duces never loses..... EVERYONE knows this!!

just bloody unlucky, nothing else

Wish you where here i buy you a drink!

Anna panna banana..

This makes me feel much better...... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well played Slvester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

great tourney, sylvester won it, doherty was 5th, leckey 6th.

greco won the omaha beating brindley heads up.

flipper won the opening 350 event.

im close to chip lead heading back today for final table of 500 game.
    (63k, with CL on 67k and avg 48k)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Nice one Rob. Take it down !

Nice one flipper. Good luck today Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

GL rob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Go on Rob. Three profitable festival weekends in a row in the offing.

3rd for 4k

3rd for 4k

Nice one Rob. Are you happy with that?

Flushdraw wrote:
    Nice one Rob. Are you happy with that?

happy in the sense that i played some excellent poker in this tourney.
    happy in the sense its my 3rd final table , and 2nd 3rd place in 3 500 buy in games in 3 straight weeks.
    happy that im in form just before vegas.

dissapointed i lost a crucial race with TT vs AQ
    dissapointed that i didnt finally get a title and trophy, and close out one of these yokes.

nackered cause i got literally no sleep and when i got in last night there was about 15 lads and 200 drinks in the room.

Thats a great run youre on Rob and looking top notch for Vegas. I reckon the title is only around the corner so it wont be long coming. Bracelet anyone :p

I can imagine the room when you got back! A good nights kip tonight will recharge the batteries. WD again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭StraddleFor6

Duff Man Jr gets 45k in a 3 way deal in the main event. Get in there Shane.
    Again, savage result. Heard you played a stormer too.

fair play n1 was very impressed with this young gentleman's game

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

Excellent news Shane!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭john@thenewvic

Get in there Shane, great result. JR kept us all informed. Nearly drove down last night but got distracted:D . Will talk to you in the club...well done again.

likewise to say played with shane a little bit and very impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Cheers for the comments guys, delighted with the result. Cant say anything bad about the weekend, Ken and Donal ran a very good ship. Atmosphere was great, food was very good, all in all a great weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭mormank

course u would have no complaints shane!! well done m8..must play it next time, if u can win it... hehe

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Didn't realise Shane is Duff Man Jnr or I would have said hello (well, a second time :) )

Savage play on the final table, he was terrifying most of the players there for a lot of the time.

For those that didnt hear, Shane made a savage call with second pair on an AQxxx straighting, flushing board (afaicr... it could have been paired). And was good. When players (including myself when I heard the story) questioned the sanity of the call, Shane explained exactly his thinking (which was spot on) that the guy had to be bluffing. Noone reraised him for about 4 hours lol...

Rob said: nackered cause i got literally no sleep and when i got in last night there was about 15 lads and 200 drinks in the room.

200 became 400 when Cooney told the staff to bring the same round every 2 hours and tipped them a bunch of cash.

btw, tell your useless room mate that somehow he managed to take his pants off and put mine on before collapsing unconscious. Why, is completely beyond me though if he'd had another vodka I think he would have morphed into a terminator-2-like being of PURE ALCOHOL. I'd say he's fair rough right about now ... :)

DeV.

ps: I made valiant attempts to get everyone out of your room, scuppered by you moaning "no no, its ok" from under a pillow. You are faaaaaar to nice Mr Taylor!

DeVore wrote:
    For those that didnt hear, Shane made a savage call with second pair on an AQxxx straighting, flushing board (afaicr... it could have been paired). And was good. When players (including myself when I heard the story) questioned the sanity of the call, Shane explained exactly his thinking (which was spot on) that the guy had to be bluffing. Noone reraised him for about 4 hours lol...

Ya called with QJ on a AsQx4sKx9s, I wont go into it but playing with him for a few hours and the way the hand played out all he could have was air. It could have been a massive **** up but if i was wrong so be it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

well done vesty, 3 people around me have won 5 figure amount tournies in a few weeks, gwan you good things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Ya called with QJ on a AsQx4sKx9s, I wont go into it but playing with him for a few hours and the way the hand played out all he could have was air. It could have been a massive **** up but if i was wrong so be it.

Well done. Please do go into it as im sure it will make interesting reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Well done to Sylvester; I was talking to him last night and he's obviously delighted with the win. I know he has a crazy LAG style at times, but when it works for him, it works really well. And he plays with a lot of heart, so fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

Well done to Sylvester; I was talking to him last night and he's obviously delighted with the win. I know he has a crazy LAG style at times, but when it works for him, it works really well. And he plays with a lot of heart, so fair play to him.
    I second that. Vesty is the best LAG player I know. It may look wreckless but be assured that he knows what he's doing. I hope to congratulate him personally on Thursday or Friday in the only good casino in Galway (Corrib Casino). There's an Omaha rebuy tourney on Friday and I know he cannot resist that. ;)

jacQues
    (100% hamster)

Well done. Please do go into it as im sure it will make interesting reading.
    Well firstly I had been playing with the guy for a few hours previous, and maniac isn't the word for him. At two tables left he pushed every single time when it was folded to him in the sb, and showed his muck every time. The bb had about 15 bb's and was a good player, but just couldnt get a break. If it was checked to him on the flop he was open pushing, and showing after. One hand the sb limped into his bb, he pushed with K10, sb called with JJ and lost but "K10 is a good hand anyway".

At the final table before the hand I just about have him covered, folded to him in the sb and he raises my bb, I call with QJ, I'm folding here to anyone else. The flop is AQ4 with 2 spades he bets close to the pot and i call quickly, pretty sure im ahead here.
    Turn is a K, he thinks for a few mins ands bet about half the pot, I call but am worried he hit the king, but given his range, image and my read on him i call.
    River is 9 of spades compleating the flush, and has to be one of the worst cards in the deck from his point of view. He thinks for about 5 mins, obvisouly in agony. I dont think any of the 2 million tells he's giving off are fake. He finally pushes for about 100k into a 200k ish pot.
    I call after about 30s, my thinking for was even is he flopped top set how could he bet that river, the only way i could see if i was beat was if he bet a fd twice and sent a load of false tells my way when it hit, and if he did well done and good luck to him.