Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Same here. I just hate that ad, the guy with the hostile angry face on him, EM-MAW...EM-MAW...I couldn't buy that product, I hate the ad so much.

It is a toss between the 'Emma Emma' ad and any of the No Nonsense ads for me. They are embarrassingly bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,882 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Billy86 wrote: »
    PrepayPower.ie finally changed that f***ing ad! :D

The new one is equally crap but not nearly as hyper dramatic and rage-inducing. There's a new jingle bit at the end though, which is even tackier sounding than the last one!

Thank God they changed it, the old one was a real nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Thank God they changed it, the old one was a real nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnightmare!!!!!!!
    That's more like it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭uggybear

ivytwine wrote: »
    I thought that was the point?

what was the point? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

I'm not going to be the person I'm expected to be anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Any advert to do with Brennans bread :mad:

d'rare auld times me arse . . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

uggybear wrote: »
    what was the point? :confused:

That the guy saying 'Listen MATT' and reeling off all his insurance advice was supposed to come across as an arrogant twat, and we were supposed to be happy when he gets smashed to a million pieces by the No Nonsense brick??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭uggybear

ivytwine wrote: »
    That the guy saying 'Listen MATT' and reeling off all his insurance advice was supposed to come across as an arrogant twat, and we were supposed to be happy when he gets smashed to a million pieces by the No Nonsense brick??

sorry, get your point now :o

uggybear wrote: »
    sorry, get your point now :o

Just my interpretation!

I did like those ads at the beginning but it's been two years at this stage!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

right price tiles have a Bruce Forsyth type impressionist doing their ads at the moment - why any company would think that THAT ad would make me want to buy tiles is a mystery

• Registered Users Posts: 19,415 ✭✭✭✭road_high

That tesco ad at Xmas with the Rod Stewart song was particularly horrific in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Allyall wrote: »
    The Yellow Brick Road one is by far the most axe-in-the-head like.

I just saw the "Follow the Yellow Brick Road" one, With a kid (Girl) doing it..

That's not the one i meant :D. I meant the Granny making the squeaky voice and doing some line from the Wizard of Oz.. Head wrecking.

And the advert "Thisss is a Baabysitter.." :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

The ads for some gym, I think it's 'energie', annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Just saw an ad for GPnow on tv3. Ad is ok but the music is all kinds of wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Ad for city bins

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

Elmo wrote: »
    Ad for city bins

i was coming in all to post it. feel like firing something at my tv

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Ad for city bins

I think their whole approach is gas, 'we leave your bin back where we got it' 'we don't block the road', I can just see a load of grizzled aul binmen sitting in a PowerPoint presentation listening to some young gimp from the marketing dept outlining this revolutionary new PR strategy. City bin, ye are cheap, that'll do

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

"we don't block the road" how are they actually going to manage that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

mr lee wrote: »
    the big cheesy head on "amy" in the new amazon ad

Amy with her "bobbley" head saying to the thicko who couldn't be bothered to find out how his new gadget worked "just beam it to the tv"
    Beam?..Ok this isn't Star Trek.
    Oh and then to be too personnel at the end " now get back to your friends"

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

The SMA ads. You're doing great Mum

Feck off - patronising twats!

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

The one with James Nesbit on holidays with the family
    He just seems to be a trouble maker in every advert.
    Normally someone who causes fights, ends up in someone else's room and seems at some point to have flashed at the poolside, would be kicked out. Pretty sure he would be the holiday reps worse nightmare.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

highly1111 wrote: »
    The SMA ads. You're doing great Mum

Feck off - patronising twats!
    The fact that there's no mention of dads (and the fact that the site is called SMA Mums) really annoys me.

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    "we don't block the road" how are they actually going to manage that one?

I wondered the same thing, what does that mean..??

marketty wrote: »
    I think their whole approach is gas, 'we leave your bin back where we got it' 'we don't block the road', I can just see a load of grizzled aul binmen sitting in a PowerPoint presentation listening to some young gimp from the marketing dept outlining this revolutionary new PR strategy. City bin, ye are cheap, that'll do

:D True! I will think of this now when I see the ad!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Ad for city bins

AAagghh! Was going to post that earlier. His accent is headwrecking too.
    It must be an in-house advert, There's no way a marketing company were paid for that shít.

"Ehm, we used all the budget on a gorillla costume and a sign."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,540 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

bodhi085 wrote: »
    Amy with her "bobbley" head saying to the thicko who couldn't be bothered to find out how his new gadget worked "just beam it to the tv"
    Beam?..Ok this isn't Star Trek.
    Oh and then to be too personnel at the end " now get back to your friends"

Swi-swu I think Amy is flirting with yer man

I know this isn't something I can do anything about nor is it aimed at any advertiser in particular, but I really hate when an advertiser uses a popular song (or a song with personal memories) in their ad and just ruins it.

Case in point- UPC with One Republic's 'Good Life'. Now I know it's hardly Bach but it was a song that brought back good college memories for me. Now it just makes me think of flippin' UPC!

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAllianz

My remote's mute button is nearly banjaxed from pressing it in a fit over that pile of manure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Emmmaaaa....
    Oh, god. Patronizing **** with an Ipad. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭George White

That Tesco ad with the badly-made up "mum and dad" with mum clearly thirty with grey highlights shown over Christmas....