Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

The DID Electrical ads make me want to shoot myself.

I don't know who came up with the idea, but I'm certainly not going to buy a tv from someone who looks like he's steal my credit card details and use them to buy his own tv, and then use my address to steal my tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

This has getting on my nerves lately-there are loads of ads on Irish television with English accents on them yet whenever an ad is put on English stations that was already on Irish TV they dub it over with English accents. Like that colour catcher ad you know the one Im on about? Recently there has been an ad for "Feel Great Ireland" yet its an English person doing the voiceover-whats so horrible about Irish accents? Are advertisers afraid of them?
    You hit the nail on the head there. . . It bugs me ...think they're better then us.....the dastards!
    janeybabe wrote: »
    The DID Electrical ads make me want to shoot myself.

I don't know who came up with the idea, but I'm certainly not going to buy a tv from someone who looks like he's steal my credit card details and use them to buy his own tv, and then use my address to steal my tv.
    I hate the adds that come up (mostly on radios) about Erectile dysfunction and menapause and all that sh!te.Are those gobsh!tes trying to create awkward situations . . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭lt_cmdr_worf

The Discover Ireland "All These Highs and Lows" ads

"actual weather may not match ad"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

GA361 wrote: »
    You hit the nail on the head there. . . It bugs me ...think they're better then us.....the dastards!

I hate the adds that come up (mostly on radios) about Erectile dysfunction and menapause and all that sh!te.Are those gobsh!tes trying to create awkward situations . . . .

The ones about thrush on the TV-WTF? If you have that go to your doctor why would you want to find out about it on TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

That ad for, I think, Viralief. Has to be the worst ad *ever* I cringe every time it comes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

GA361 wrote: »

Try Watching CNN In america.

"VIVA VIAGRA"
    Or, The Subtler Alternitive:
    "Cialis"

(Seriously. They advertise viagra on National TV when 9 year olds are watching)

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Ryaller

The Discover Ireland "All These Highs and Lows" ads

"actual weather may not match ad"

"I'm reddy fowah..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Have ye seen the new ads for Natural Confectionary?
    "I'm sorry, I don't speak pineapple"
    "BRING ON THE TRUMPETS"

I'm conflicted: I don't know yet if I love them or hate them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Vodafone roaming. Aaagh! I hate it. It wrecks Jamming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

This classic has been doing the rounds in the US-not very popular I can tell you...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

The new Right Price Tiles advery really grinds my gears ... the one with the muppet from Naked Camera acting as a reporter to an attempted Trappatoni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What ad is woeful. After paying everyone they still had change out of €50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

those mobile ringtone ads with the annoying/stupid ringtones are the worst, especially the ones with the ringtones of babies singing songs

the people who actually buy these ringtones should be taken around the back and shot

those mobile ringtone ads with the annoying/stupid ringtones are the worst, especially the ones with the ringtones of babies singing songs

the people who actually buy these ringtones should be taken around the back and shot

They're even worse on German TV, sometimes the break has nothing but these ads and often show the same one two or three times in the same break!

Karsini wrote: »
    They're even worse on German TV, sometimes the break has nothing but these ads and often show the same one two or three times in the same break!

wow thats really bad. i bet thats what the ad breaks in hell are like. that would definitly motivate me to live a sin free life:D

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭interlocked

Scene around a table in ad companys production office

So lads, how do we get wimmin that have a bit of heartburn to try Gaviscon?

Silence.........

"I know boss, let's have a scene of a guy in uniform say a fireman going down her throat and spraying it with a white liquid which makes her forget all about her hearburn"

Prolonged silence.............

"Murphy. that is ****ing, brilliant . You'll go far with this subliminal craic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Stupid irritating Budweiser ad - Oh baiba baiba, oh baiba baiba... I want to ram that bands heads in to their drum, all at the same time.

Oh yeah, the Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreugh ad aswell. In fact, most alcohol ads are total bolix. Except for some of the Carlsburg ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Diarmey

I hate the cadburys snaxs ad :mad:
    Something don't smell right about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

firstly those stupid ads for the new whopper burger - the dark knight. The young secretary who forgot to tell her boss something :rolleyes: although I'd forgive her - hah you know hah .. hah?;)

and the prat who looks like he has piles and wont let the poor granny sit down. I 'd give him a good kicking in the piles for that anyhow. He'd have enough cracked peppercorn ketchup afterwords on his trousers without visiting BK when I'd finish with him.

also the stupid road safety ad with the t-rex track "get it on". Lads getting into a taxi trying to get there evil ways with slutty girls in short skirts. Oh sorry the ad is about road safety - I forgot?:confused:

and that flaming flash with flash guard ad where the supposed english father and son go "never mind that lets watch the footy" " i made a tactical substitution" - Oh F88k off - Why are these bloody ads on rte ... "I think its all over - it is now" I have changed channel!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The one for oats n' more.

"Ooh that looks nice, it has almonds and all"
    "well it isn't, now watch as I eat it"

why doesn't he just tell her to f*ck off away from his cereal?
    and the girl is unbelieveably annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

Confused.com has to be the worst ad ever, did you see that idiot on the laptop, it drives me mad. Feel like killing someone after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

phasers wrote: »
    The one for oats n' more.

"Ooh that looks nice, it has almonds and all"
    "well it isn't, now watch as I eat it"

why doesn't he just tell her to f*ck off away from his cereal?
    and the girl is unbelieveably annoying
    Also the Oatabix one is stupid.

What's it about oats that make bad ads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I think this thread would be shorter if it was "Adverts you dont despise". Infact it would be 5 pages of people saying "Carlsberg".

oatibix - They should have called it "they should ahve called it - SHUT UP B!tCH"

Budweiser - What ever happened to the lizards? They were great!! Now its... what is it? I can't actually remember, but it did not wave my flag.

The one where their in white bodysuits to fight bacteria off teeth. WTF??

When oh when will they learn, that hot girls, and good comedy is a winner for an advert. If it is not funny, or is not clever, or does not have a bikini clad babe in it, it will fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

I hate all the Halifax ads. What a load of rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

The BT Broadband one where the gimp from My Family craps on about losing his wireless connection when he goes outside - "oh no, what's this?" ...my thoughts exactly when that crap ad begins

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

that horrible baby one.."I promise not to complain if your beautiful neck smells of baby sick" or something like that

Mi Wadi ads are pretty irritating too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I hate all ads that have children talking in them or narrating them, or worse....talking and acting like adults in them :mad:

WindSock wrote: »
    I hate all ads that have children talking in them or narrating them, or worse....talking and acting like adults in them :mad:

like that one with the 4 kids going on about how they are going to have healthy lifestyles. that one infuriates me cos its just incredibly annoying. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 43,869 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Gonna coin in with an advert I actually like, and giggled at today:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

That feckin Quinn Direct health insurance ad done in slow motion, the ugly pregnant one with the curly hair have to look at her twice and puts me right off ever getting insurance with them.