Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 17,937 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

God how long has that beer ad been on at this stage and I still cant remember what company its for: "Its my brain, tell me what you gonna do, Im going to suck it right straight to you"... fcuking headwrecking.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,878 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Thargor wrote: »
    God how long has that beer ad been on at this stage and I still cant remember what company its for: "Its my brain, tell me what you gonna do, Im going to suck it right straight to you"... fcuking headwrecking.

Smithwicks. I was raised on that drink. I hate that ad. More hipster ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Sounds wrote: »

Name one business management, marketing, advertising course whatever, that says if you send out crap advertisements it will improve your business.
    The idea is to make viewers/listeners remember your service for something good, not something they hate or annoys them enough to never use your service.

Clueless

Would be genuinely curious to know what ads are so annoying, or bad, that they stop people from ever buying/using the product/service. I don't mean an ad that is so bad, it fails to convince you to buy something. I mean an ad for something that you were already a fan of, or you already bought, but once you saw the ad, you said "that's it, I am never buying that product ever again."

There are loads of ads that irritate me, but not to the extent that I make a conscious decision not to buy whatever it is they are flogging, as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

That ad where the wanker father is "haggling" over a price in some supermarket and his even bigger wanker son rubs his neck.

It really makes me think everyone is capable of murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Sounds
    EMar Sounds

I stopped drinking cola when I found out where the money is going, but not because the ads annoyed me.
    There are a few ads that pissed me off so much, when I pass a store I walk straight pass it when I think of the ad.
    But I guess not everyone things like me.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That one where your one is going on about 'the band' with some generic music playing in the background is back, don't think it's been shown since last Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Not technically a commercial advertisement I guess but the "hilarious" RTÉ stings for the 'Mrs. Browninz Boyiz Crimbo eggstravaganza' or whatever they're calling it is already making me want to throw a bowling ball at my tv....and I've only seen it once.

EMar Sounds

Remember when I was like 15, my friend was doin a rave, the first in our city,
    My mom wouldn't let me go unless her friend picked me up after wards, so i went.
    When I floated out the back door of the club at 3 am, there he was waiting for me.
    Made me listen to Brendan Grace the whole journey home, I haven't been the same since.

Kidding lol but I can't stand much Irish comedy, feels like a church on Sunday, dull.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That one where your one is going on about 'the band' with some generic music playing in the background is back, don't think it's been shown since last Christmas.

That's for painkillers or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Has anyone mentioned Smyth's yet? The backing track is infuriatingly nonsensical.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

We've got it good.
    I tried to watch Coming to America on the U.S. Comedy Channel last night/this morning.

:mad::(:(:(

Jesus. I would crack up trying to watch TV over there. The ad breaks are longer than the movie section between them. - Seriously.

And the ads were cráp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Imagine there are companies out there, teams of trained professionals? in a room and watching something they produced, that looks
    like trash to any sane person, could all agree that this is the best way to create advertisements for the company that's paying them.

I don't even want to think about the companies that pay them, I'd drive myself insane, maybe they have more money than brains
    And can afford to let crappy advertisements represent their business, many people avoid companies because of bad advertisements.

Name one business management, marketing, advertising course whatever, that says if you send out crap advertisements it will improve your business.
    The idea is to make viewers/listeners remember your service for something good, not something they hate or annoys them enough to never use your service.

Clueless

studied advertising but dont work in it, was only a part of my course. Statistically the most succesful ads are the funny ones followed by the ones that drive people mad.

The whole point is to make the product stick in your brain and sadly, it works and is a lot easier than coming up with a good one.

Anyway, I ****ing hate the ads that pretend to be a youtube self help video. the car ones not so bad but the vanish one,I turn the tv off when its on

EMar Sounds

Yea fairly ****e TV channels over here, I'm into Discovery channel and a bit of film4
    I should be able to pick the channels I want and only pay for those, they could provide that service if they wanted.

I just remember what I meant to post earlier.

Any ad on my Irish TV subscription that has contests between programs, informing me that I can't enter unless I'm in the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I wonder why the Budweiser ad has Bollywood style music, very confusing. I kept expecting Adil Ray (Citizen Khan) to appear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

If I'm watching tv on my own I only watch any of the 4 BBC channels just do I don't have to watch ads
    In particular the "tear jerking " Christmas ads
    So so contrived unimaginative and manipulative
    All the ads are way too noisy as well
    Bloody racket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

I agree about the sprouts, but jesus, I've never dressed well in my life but a pink cardigan, blue dress, yellow tights and converse runners!!

I've got dressed in the dark before and looked almost as good as that!

She can't be more than 11. Are kids expected be fashionable now?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭blueser

That Club Zero ad with the "fruit whisperer" (or whatever he's called). I can't believe some marketing whizzkid dreamed that up, got the ad made, saw the finished version and thought "Wow, that's turned out brilliantly". A truly dreadful ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

All the current Christmas market CGI infested soft porn perfume ads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Theyve brought back that lottery ad with the fat sideburned weirdo pretending to a baby in a maternity hospital :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,768 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

darkdubh wrote: »
    Theyve brought back that lottery ad with the fat sideburned weirdo pretending to a baby in a maternity hospital :mad:

That ad is PUKE

ivytwine wrote: »
    She can't be more than 11. Are kids expected be fashionable now?

You think kids in adverts choose what to wear? It's not real, you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,058 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

if the Christmas limited advert has not made the list here ( i am sure it has ) .....well it has now meteor could never get there christmas averts right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

if the Christmas limited advert has not made the list here ( i am sure it has ) .....well it has now meteor could never get there christmas averts right

"¿Mamacita, dónde está Santa Claus?"

That one certainly didn't catch on, anyway... :o:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Imagine there are companies out there, teams of trained professionals? in a room and watching something they produced, that looks
    like trash to any sane person, could all agree that this is the best way to create advertisements for the company that's paying them.

I don't even want to think about the companies that pay them, I'd drive myself insane, maybe they have more money than brains
    And can afford to let crappy advertisements represent their business, many people avoid companies because of bad advertisements.

Clueless

+1.

There have been many awful ads over the last few years with notables being almost all insurance ads, a lot of these new mortgage ads and especially that stupid Orchard Thieves ad. Who dreams up these things I do not know. You are right, they do turn people off and lose the product customers.

I cannot see how people with knowledge of marketing can stand over rubbish like the Orchard Thieves ad. These are annoying and create a poor image of the product. But there is no such thing as bad publicity and these poor ads get the product known. Maybe some will follow through and buy it?

Aglomerado wrote: »
    That ad is PUKE

Its only about 7 or 8 years since they last showed it.I'd love to know what bright spark decided "D,ya know what,its high time we revived that ad cos the public just loved that obese,smirking,pervey creep who for reasons best known to himself is tucked into a cot while being fussed over by a bunch of nurses who have way too much time on their hands to this headwrecking C & W song"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Its only about 7 or 8 years since they last showed it.I'd love to know what bright spark decided "D,ya know what,its high time we revived that ad cos the public just loved that obese,smirking,pervey creep who for reasons best known to himself is tucked into a cot while being fussed over by a bunch of nurses who have way too much time on their hands to this headwrecking C & W song"

Can't be any worse than the AIG ads with the elephants, the Vegas show girls and two creeps who think its ok to go around obsessively sniffing other peoples clothes. As a big Dub fan - no kidding sez ye? :p - I cringe every time I see it. :mad:

Mind you, as much as I hate to admit it, it got the job done last year. Was shopping around for travel insurance when their ad came on. Realized I never called AIG for a quote. When I did, they had the best and the cheapest policy, so I bought it. Job done, as far as AIG are concerned, despite their two "personalities" making me want to kick my cat very hard, every time their ad comes on. :rolleyes:

In the most recent Orchard Thieves ad there is an old man smiling and loving how noisy and annoying the group of hip young people are in the back of the bus. Yeah, I always smile so much when people are noisy and looking at their phones on the bus. Everyone loves it so much! It makes our bus journeys the best ever.

"It brings me right back to when I were a young hipster,Ooh Arr!"

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

+1.

There have been many awful ads over the last few years with notables being almost all insurance ads, a lot of these new mortgage ads and especially that stupid Orchard Thieves ad. Who dreams up these things I do not know. You are right, they do turn people off and lose the product customers.

I cannot see how people with knowledge of marketing can stand over rubbish like the Orchard Thieves ad. These are annoying and create a poor image of the product. But there is no such thing as bad publicity and these poor ads get the product known. Maybe some will follow through and buy it?

Whats the orchard thieves one?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I never really watched that ad properly, missed the start and end

So its supposed "we are expecting new millionaires, due august 26th".

But the newer ads show people blowing money on fantasys, like the guy with a full film crew doing a cowboy film, and girls with a huge fish tank or sharks or dolphines. So if you saw this ad midway through it might appear to be saying "hey perverts, your fantasy can come true, win the lottery and you will be able to pay a load of pozzies to dress like nurses and dote over you"