Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 11,795 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

I get it, but it would have been more believable if she'd aimed a little lower than books and brain surgery for a 6 year old. If the kid was 15 it would make perfect sense!

maybe its a 'pop' with all these 'middle class' who have child prodigies :) (you know the 5 year olds that can play vivaldi on a piano at that age - whereas I can only play chopsticks! :) )

It is of course, but it's ridiculous, if they'd said stuff like "Plying the concert hall" and "trials for Man U" it would have made sense. Here's me, trying to make sense of Aldi ads. I need something to live for other than Fair City, ads and Pokemon Go, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Wisely the MSM's advert featuring a man strutting down a street in hotpants and high heels received the most complaints in the UK for 2015, the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) has revealed. The Moneysupermarket.com ad attracted 1,513 complaints, with many viewers citing its "overtly distasteful sexual" content.

With a revenue of 281.7 million GBP (2015) the MSN' needs to try harder or hire a new Ad Agency.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭squonk

Wisely the MSM's advert featuring a man strutting down a street in hotpants and high heels received the most complaints in the UK for 2015, the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) has revealed. The Moneysupermarket.com ad attracted 1,513 complaints, with many viewers citing its "overtly distasteful sexual" content.

With a revenue of 281.7 million GBP (2015) the MSN' needs to try harder or hire a new Ad Agency.

Agreed! The ad was cack but they're a payday loans company likely charging extortionate rates of interest. I don't think the average punter is their target demographic. I'm disappointed that Patrick Stewart decided to collect a paycheck for doing their V-O work :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Volkswagen Ads on the radio, "GmbH no less"- **** *&^ you g$%£. That Billy Elliot the musical ad also seriously pisses me off.

The standard of Beer ads in Ireland is also appalling, nothing about them would entice me to buy Heineken or Bud or Coors etc.

Also the Supermacs ads with Pet ( as he would call himself) McDonagh advertising his Chicken Sangwich with Sean O'Brien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Dickie10 wrote: »
    anyone heard the tesco mobile ad with the girl in the office? anyone hear her say "friend request"? good lord i dunno what the heck she sounds like, a boy or girl, or child! very odd sound

I think thats actually my favourite ad on the telly at the minute.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,940 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

squonk wrote: »
    Agreed! The ad was cack but they're a payday loans company likely charging extortionate rates of interest. I don't think the average punter is their target demographic. I'm disappointed that Patrick Stewart decided to collect a paycheck for doing their V-O work :(

MoneySupermarket aren't loan sharks/Shylocks/a payday loan company, they're a price comparison site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

MoneySupermarket aren't loan sharks/Shylocks/a payday loan company, they're a price comparison site.

While you are probably correct I would never visit the website on principle after seeing the appalling ads they have.

Wisely the MSM's advert featuring a man strutting down a street in hotpants and high heels received the most complaints in the UK for 2015, the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) has revealed. The Moneysupermarket.com ad attracted 1,513 complaints, with many viewers citing its "overtly distasteful sexual" content. .....

plus it had sharon osbourne at the end and that was distasteful and a cause for complaint in itself haha :D

Volkswagen Ads on the radio, "GmbH no less"- **** *&^ you g$%£. That Billy Elliot the musical ad also seriously pisses me off.

The standard of Beer ads in Ireland is also appalling, nothing about them would entice me to buy Heineken or Bud or Coors etc.

Also the Supermacs ads with Pet ( as he would call himself) McDonagh advertising his Chicken Sangwich with Sean O'Brien.

i like Karl Mort - the new face of heiniken lite ... I'll give you a call! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

There's an ad currently on Newstalk for the Make a Wish Foundation; a guy telling a story about how a load of princesses turned up at his house to surprise his sister. Its very manipulative but the most annoying part is the fake Dublin accent.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=100652953&postcount=7107

Check out the Radio forum, I'm in agreement though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

The RTE ads about the TV licenses, especially the TV one with the girl enthusing about RTE in a "rindabite" accent...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Dickie10

why are all RTE Junior ads peformed by children with heavy Monaghan accents

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

No one speaks like that in real-life, not even in their head
    Dickie10 wrote: »
    anyone heard the tesco mobile ad with the girl in the office? anyone hear her say "friend request"? good lord i dunno what the heck she sounds like, a boy or girl, or child! very odd sound

I knew a girl who would say things in a similar enough voice as the very start of the ad. I took it to be imitating/taking the piss out of an american frat boy, a "USA, USA, I fcukin ROCK" type of eejit, who gets excited over the smallest thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Awake&Unafraid

That boots ad about the mothers and their babies...

"He's a little bit of eggzeemeeya on his chest"

Ugh!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

McDonald's ad trying to cash in on the famous Fenton dog in Park viral video from few years back. So cringe

And then the bloody voice of guy doing voiceover.

I hate it I hate it I hate it!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Shown at least 3 times every single ******* night on Discovery/Quest/DMAX etc since 2005

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

jcd5971 wrote: »
    McDonald's ad trying to cash in on the famous Fenton dog in Park viral video from few years back. So cringe

And then the bloody voice of guy doing voiceover.

I hate it I hate it I hate it!!!!!!!!

Oh is that what that's about? I've never seen the video you mention, so it just seems like a really stupid pointless ad. All the more so if someone who gets the reference cringes watching it!

I don't know the voiceover either, but that's because I always mute the ads! A great habit that I picked up from my extremely wise father-in-law! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

That fella that does the voiceover for 3 football... Headwecking

I want increase the advertising by naming the product but the one with the car convoy and all the green lights is getting to be annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Road advertising this time, this is Cavan.ie. **** off Cavan your only a pass through place.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Awake&Unafraid

That Apache pizza ad is absolutely abysmal..literally so much cringe.

I also hate that katie Taylor and Jack Whitehall ad annoys the hell out of me.

I'm also getting a bit pissed off with the littering advert where everyone tears up their bill and throws it in the street. Who is clearing up the mess?

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

The latest in the increasingly appalling Kevin Bacon ads for some UK mobile provider. I honestly don't care how much money they're paying you Kevin, what price do you put on your dignity? You've now dressed up in the pleather one piece jump suit Britney wore in the "oops I did it again" video. Seriously? Wtf?

.....I also hate that katie Taylor and Jack Whitehall ad annoys the hell out of me.

whats the "oosh - oosh - oosh" noise all about? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The ads I call the "nanny state" ads. Road safety, farm safety, food safety, Breastcheck. All very worthy, but I feel like I'm being treated like a halfwit.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Strong believer in natural selection?

OK just seen the New Heinz baked Bean advert where they want to teach you a new Baked Bean song ... hate it, bloody hate it already, triple hate it already!! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭blueser

madmaggie wrote: »
    The ads I call the "nanny state" ads. Road safety, farm safety, food safety, Breastcheck. All very worthy, but I feel like I'm being treated like a halfwit.
    The RSA ads in particular. They're on nearly every ad break on Sky Sports. Yes; they're getting across a very important message re. texting while driving, being distracted by the rugrats in the back seats etc etc. But we don't need reminding every 15 or so minutes.

Another one that does my head in is that Maltesers ad, the one where the girl is dumping her boyfriend after seeing him kissing another girl. Her voice is like nails down a blackboard to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Those Lidl and Aldi "look how much we saved" ads are all tiresome but the one that fries my brain at the moment is the mammy prattling on at the freezer when three young lads appear stage right as if shoved there with a pointy stick and one says "ah, pizza" in the most unconvincing tone ever.