Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

the stupid irritating ocean spray ads where the two ugly birds are in the health centre/gym and usual sexual inneuendo at some male etc etc. When will the advertisers tire of these types of ads. They have been going on for last 20 yrs now....enuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

There's a stupid ad running on some of the UK channels at the moment for HSA.

Low budget sock-puppet talking to a family. Does my head in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

The ads for 3:

Older one has some little twat called 'Bill' wearing a top hat and doing stupid things.

The newer one has the geeky boy who 'will always be a talker'. Fuxake!

Also, the ad for a dishwasher cleaning agent where the young lad tries to fit his scooter in. Nothing wrong with the video part, but the change in words to the jingle to accommodate 'scooter' grates on me!

...and a +1 to the George Hook ads. He reminds me of the 'paedophile' priests as referred to by Brendan Grace in Father Ted (New Jack City). Clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

gscully wrote: »
    (snip)

...and a +1 to the George Hook ads. He reminds me of the 'paedophile' priests as referred to by Brendan Grace in Father Ted (New Jack City). Clown.

Watch out boys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

There is a new one now. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

The ad for It's Just Lunch dating service.
    SO BAD I don't even know where to begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

I'me sure this must have mentioned already but I'm not reading back 82 pages!

The AIB or BOI ad where yer one goes "I was born in Terenure,I grew up in Terenure, I met my husband in Terenure, he gave me a Peggys Leg, I live in.... Terenure!!! "

Time to move out of your cul de sac luv !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

I hate the fox's biscuits ad with the bear!

JIZZLORD wrote: »

I love that one, haha!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Seen a add this evening think it was for remmie gel or something them dressed up as spartans fighting a load of so-persians complete and utter rip and rubbish add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Ciaran B

I'm sure it's been mentioned but has anyone seen that ad that's currently showing in cinemas for that cold sore treatment? It's 2 lads in the toilets of a pub giving each other advice on how best to treat a cold sore. One says he has a cure that his granny told him which consists of rubbing salt and vinegar in your eye.

I can't decide if it's the worst ad I've seen this year or some kind of amazingness that's gone over my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,904 ✭✭✭✭Basq

That 4 Star Pizza ad with the father opening the doors and revealing the €19.95 deal to his family... only to have his wife nod approvingly and his kids get all excited!

Had that deal recently.. here's a couple of things I'd like to note:

1) The driver dropped our chicken dippers on the ground (they fell out of their box onto the ground) outside our house. he picked them, put them back in the box up and tried to convince us that "it was just really the box that fell"
    2) We got a 1.25 litre bottle of Coke, not a 2 litre
    3) Your pizza's taste like utter crap.. your base is thick and sickening and the toppings (especially chicken) taste cheap and rubbery.

They could learn a serious lesson from Dominos..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Those "Snack in the mouth" travesties really get on my tits...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'me sure this must have mentioned already but I'm not reading back 82 pages! The AIB or BOI ad where yer one goes "I was born in Terenure,I grew up in Terenure, I met my husband in Terenure, he gave me a Peggys Leg, I live in.... Terenure!!! " Time to move out of your cul de sac luv !!

Maybe I'm bad, but this ad annoys me soo much, I end up saying "I wish you'd ever go and die in Terenure ye annoying biatch". But I calm myself down by going on a shooting spree down the supermarket.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭colly10

basquille wrote: »
    They could learn a serious lesson from Dominos..

If they could learn anything from that crowd thats just scary bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

I know it's been mentioned, but that Volvic ad is truly repulsive: he has a "cheeky" sip?

It's not fcuking Jack Daniels you're sipping, you massive twat!

I'm never drinking water again, just in case it's Volvo!

Yes! I'm gonna forever mispronounce the brand name too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Volvic: The Volvic Challange.

"I have just got 5mins away from work, time for a cheeky volvic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 jane says

JIZZLORD wrote: »

Oh god this is fn awful and on heavy rotation too...could anyone explain wtf is the connection between the panda, fox's, and us mafia style gangster accents?

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭pauro 76

The BT adverts in the uk with yer man from My Family and his boring girlfriend. The most tedious couple ever to feature in adverts. Are we meant to care? I don't care if they break up, get married etc all because of a home hub. Stupid advert.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Bigal87

Does anyone else think that those new t-mobile ads are awful?
    You know with all those idiots singing to Hey Jude.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭pauro 76

Bigal87 wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that those new t-mobile ads are awful?
    You know with all those idiots singing to Hey Jude.

Really really hate those numbskulls. T-mobile ads in general suck. Hate the Phones4U adverts over here too, they actually seem to mock the afflicted.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Bigal87

What is up with that stupid new oasis ad too?
    The most random piece of crap ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

"We buy any car, dot com
    We buy any car, dot com
    Any, Any, Any, Any
    We buy any car, dot com
    Any make, Any model, Any age, Any Price
    From fifty quid to one hundred grand
    We buy any car, dot com
    We buy any car, dot com"

etc.

ARRRRRRRGGHHHHHHHH, Why is that stuck in my head

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    "We buy any car, dot com
    We buy any car, dot com
    Any, Any, Any, Any
    We buy any car, dot com
    Any make, Any model, Any age, Any Price
    From fifty quid to one hundred grand
    We buy any car, dot com
    We buy any car, dot com"

etc.

ARRRRRRRGGHHHHHHHH, Why is that stuck in my head

Yep, we have a new champion, alright.

Kill me now.

VODAFONE = "if i ruled the world" Lip Sync.

On some of the British channels at the moment ****ing stupid ad

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

I hate the ads that start off all grey and depressing, then come along to save your life with their crappy colours and s**t music, urg.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

HI, BARRY SCOTT HERE, AND I CAN'T HEAR A FECKIN' THING!

Also, the ads for scrotillium, and any pain relief or multivitamin tablets, my stomach doesn't look like that! a shopping bag? a balloon? no thanks.

and you can keep those little firemen too.

Barry Scott seems to have quietened down in recent ads I noticed.
    chompy wrote: »
    I hate the ads that start off all grey and depressing, then come along to save your life with their crappy colours and s**t music, urg.

Monday Million?

Have they changed Barry Scot?