Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating !!

• 07-06-2007 7:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

Ok does anyone else it is easy 2 cheat in the leaving Cert !. I Thought it be alot stricter !!. Now i didnt cheat and never would unless REALLY REALLY desperate!!! but i went 2 the bathroom yday and english books on the lockers , Nobody Else there !!! Loads of my friends hav notes in their pockets but its too risky for my liking !!! Is this the same case ur anyone elses school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭______

Ok does anyone else it is easy 2 cheat in the leaving Cert !. I Thought it be alot stricter !!. Now i didnt cheat and never would unless REALLY REALLY desperate!!! but i went 2 the bathroom yday and english books on the lockers , Nobody Else there !!! Loads of my friends hav notes in their pockets but its too risky for my liking !!! Is this the same case ur anyone elses school

i dont think so.

but couldn't you just put it all onto your phone and look at it in the bathroom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

So easy but I would feel totally guilty. I would rather fail like a man than cheat like a woman. I got an email, www.howtocheatinyourleavingcert.com, did anyone else get this email?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭xha1r

Why the !!!!!! and REALLY?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

I wouldn't do it personally, and I haven't seen anybody either. However quite a few people are using concentration aids like pills and tablets, which I don't consider cheating.

OP, you realise the consequences of getting caught?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Speaking of pills some ppl looked absolutley wrecked today. It was if the life was being slowly drained from them. Some ppl were studying late. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

For once I haven't cheated at all. Though I reckon the examiners're getting suspicious of me at this stage cause I'd to go to the jacks three times today. Though with all the bloody heat, I'm drinking an awful lot (e.g. I drank two bottles of water and a pint of milk today).

Tbh, good luck to anyone who wants to cheat. They just have to be prepared to accept the consequences should they be caught.

i considering learning off an answer beforehand cheating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭artnotort

______ wrote:
    the leaving cert is a memory test.

learning perfect answers off is probably the smartest thing you could do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

______ wrote:

Ha, how so. Seems nonsensical given the nature of the leaving cert, which is to learn off as much as possible are write it all out as quickly as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭justbringit89

artnotort wrote:
    the leaving cert is a memory test.

learning perfect answers off is probably the smartest thing you could do.

Totally agree !! i learned of a Bgrade short story and found a way to link it into the pictures !! Sorted!!

yes but i disagree with it because there is no way in hell that i'd bother learning anything.

i'll regret it come august i suppose, but if i repeat i'll just do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Lucas10101

It's not a memory test if you want to learn the work piece by piece in school hours saving hours and hours of memory work that might seem daunting and pressurising.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

One guy in my year had English quotes on his thigh. Went to the jax and memorised what he neede. Risky if you ask me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭justbringit89

Ya know this will prob make sum of ye mad But in honours irish (which im not part of , i will fail ord irish) there is only like 6 students who are doing honours out of 50 students and the examiner was helping them asking them did they want to know any irish words???? Lucky Cu*nts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Spank

Why is it risky? No examiner is going to follow you to the toilet.

I am actually quite peed off with the lack of supervision in my exam center. We are in a huge hall with just two supervisors who wouldn't notice a tornado hitting. We are let into the hall when we please and were given our answer books and tables while we were sitting there with our notes revising. Who's to say we wouldn't sketch in a few formulas etc? People pop in and out of the toilets constantly, with teachers etc out in the hall.

It's well laid back.

Btw when you go to the toilet what is written on your booklet and does it have any effect on things?

Oh look I've gone off on a tangent, bit like my english exam.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 oasisfan

I wouldnt cheat as its like a 10 year ban from state exams not worth it for a few extra %, but i no of one guy who recorded all his macbeth quotes nd plath quotes on his ipod and had one of the ear pieces going up his sleave to the palm of his hand! very clever!!

obl wrote:
    One guy in my year had English quotes on his thigh. Went to the jax and memorised what he neede. Risky if you ask me...

that seems pretty foolproof if you ask me.

should do some accounting study, to guarentee the A, but i know i wont:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Spank

oasisfan wrote:
    I wouldnt cheat as its like a 10 year ban from state exams not worth it for a few extra %, but i no of one guy who recorded all his macbeth quotes nd plath quotes on his ipod and had one of the ear pieces going up his sleave to the palm of his hand! very clever!!
    Now that's risky. However, popping off to the toilets and reading off your body is pretty much foolproof.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

it's written on your paper when you left and came back. if your exam seems suspicious they check the time.

It's really lax in my exam centre. People were opening the paper as soon as she handed it out (like 5 mins before we were told to turn it over..) and she's been late in to start the exams a few times....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I was thinking more along the lines of sweating...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

im not doing the leaving atm, but im supervising (ie im the monkey that escorts you to the bathroom) and ive kinda suspected one or two guys of cheatin but they frighten me so nothings gonna happen in that respect (no way of proving it too) but i was in the toilets upstairs in my school (next to one of the other exam centres) AND there was a complete folder of irish notes sitting on the window. Needles to say i was shocked

• Registered Users Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭david

Fad wrote:
    im not doing the leaving atm, but im supervising (ie im the monkey that escorts you to the bathroom) and ive kinda suspected one or two guys of cheatin but they frighten me so nothings gonna happen in that respect (no way of proving it too) but i was in the toilets upstairs in my school (next to one of the other exam centres) AND there was a complete folder of irish notes sitting on the window. Needles to say i was shocked
    Just take the folder and hide it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭kieranmcg1

Fad wrote:

But could you imagine telling on someone and ending up causing someone to fail their leaving cert and have to do it again and would be doing it along with you next year . and ud end up getin a name for yourself as the person who caused fellow student to end up doing another year or even two in school .

Id cheat but only on math paper 2 i am very bad at maths and thats the only one id cheat on . Our examiner is unreal today in maths paper 1 I hd my hand in the air for 15 mins and i wasnt the only one there were about 6 ppl with their hands in the air and she didnt even see us you could cheat no problem at all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

kieranmcg1 wrote:
    But could you imagine telling on someone and ending up causing someone to fail their leaving cert and have to do it again and would be doing it along with you next year . and ud end up getin a name for yourself as the person who caused fellow student to end up doing another year or even two in school .

yes, I could live with making someone pay for trying to do better than their fellow students unfairly...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,390 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

kieranmcg1 wrote:
    But could you imagine telling on someone and ending up causing someone to fail their leaving cert and have to do it again and would be doing it along with you next year . and ud end up getin a name for yourself as the person who caused fellow student to end up doing another year or even two in school.

Could very much so live with myself if that happened. Their own fault. Plus, isnt there like a 7 year gap if your caught cheating?

I know a fella that put formulas in his sock, why tatoo yourself with formulas when you can use your sock. Ipod up your sleeve is some idea fair dues there LOL. What you think of this website? I feel like buying into it for a nosey..

http://www.howtocheatintheleavingcert.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

i could quite easily live with myself IF i did it, it wouldnt be worth living it was found out i was the ''informant'' not only does the guy himself frighten me but he has a very loud mouthed brother in my year so the consequences would be a little severe for my liking, oh well

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Why the hell would you write them on your thigh?I just write things on the inside of my palms.I did it with the ''king becoming qualities'' Malcolm listed in Macbeth, and I did it with some of the formulas in maths today.

Thats worse. It would take a 3 second investigation to determine whether you were cheating or not. Cosine rule written on me balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Thats worse. It would take a 3 second investigation to determine whether you were cheating or not. Cosine rule written on me balls.
    ...What kind of freak would check the palm of your hand?Anyways we could probably cheat and our examiner wouldn't care.She'd probably just go ''come on now you can do well without cheating.....Now if you don't put those notes away in the next 5 minutes, I may have to give you another warning''.Shes so nice!