Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Erratic Garda Driving

• 08-06-2007 10:25am
    Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

Was driving down chapelizod by-pass lat night around 10pm. Speed limit there is 80. Went upto 100 for around 5 seconds, overtaking a car and dropped back down (Anyone who knows the road knows how it easy it is to go over the speed limit. Empty dual carriageway downhill). Around 5 seconds later a mondeo flew down behind me, and started drving around 2 foot from my bumper. I could see there was one driver, but couldnt see the roof to see if it was a garda (aerials). I assumed it wasnt seeing as he was in the car on his own.

Anyway, he then swung out beside me and maintained the same speed as me right beside the car. Swung right back behind me again. repeated this 2 or 3 times. Then He overtook and flew off, then I saw he was a garda(1 front, 1 rear, 1 bullet aerial). The way he was driving was so dangerous. I got the feeling he was doing it to get me to speed up so he could catch me for speeding. I then saw him a few minutes later weaving in and out of traffic around the lucan/palmerstown roundabout. I just couldnt believe the way he was acting and could have caused a severe accident if I wouldve had to jam on the breaks.

Has this ever happened to people before?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I see them driving like that frequently. They are above the law!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've yet to see a Garda car actually driving 50kph.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

There is a new forum for that....

http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Sick of saying this but..

Unless you are in a Garda car listening to what ever call is being given out on the radio you do not know what was going on.

maybe a car similiar to your had just been stolen,
    maybe somebody had just been dragged into a car similiar to yours
    maybe shots had just been fired at somebodys house by somebody in a car similiar to yours
    maybe the Gard thought he had seen Santa Claus sitting in the back seat of your car.

The Gardai do actually deal with more serious crime than trying to goad decent motorists into speeding :rolleyes:

Thats why all our prisons are full.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

antodeco wrote:
    Then He overtook and flew off, then I saw he was a garda(1 front, 1 rear, 1 bullet aerial).

Are you basing you opinion that he was a garda solely on the configuration of the cars aerials?

MrP

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭rowanh

Chief--- wrote:

Unless you are in a Garda car listening to what ever call is being given out on the radio you do not know what was going on.

maybe a car similiar to your had just been stolen,
    maybe somebody had just been dragged into a car similiar to yours
    maybe shots had just been fired at somebodys house by somebody in a car similiar to yours
    maybe the Gard thought he had seen Santa Claus sitting in the back seat of your car.

The Gardai do actually deal with more serious crime than trying to goad decent motorists into speeding :rolleyes:

Thats why all our prisons are full.

I dont see how any of those points would give the gard reason to do what the poster mentioned. Fact is many gards do think they can do whatever they want and think they are above the law. At the same time many dont. Tehy are not aloud break any traffic laws if they dont have their siren on, at least as far as i know that is the law.

Also id say are prisons are totally over crowded, not sue to the gards more due to the totally insufficient space in our prisons. Heard on the radio the other day that in several large areas of dublin the prosicution rate for rape, murder and arson is 0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

You should have reported him.Garda think they are above the law.They arent

• Registered Users Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

What about the guys who pretend they are guards. Was stuck on the M1 last night and this F****r in an opel vectra with a foney siren was weaving in and out of traffic, what made it worse was that everyone got out of his way.I don't have a problem with speeding kops, I do have a problem with sh*theads with clifford alarms that can go woo woo and not a real guard in sight to catch them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Chief--- wrote:

Unless you are in a Garda car listening to what ever call is being given out on the radio you do not know what was ordered:

A curried chips and a batterburger,
    smoked cod 'n chips,
    donor kebab with chips,

could be anything really.:D

The Gardai do actually deal with more serious crime than trying to goad decent motorists into speeding - unless their takaway is getting cold.

rowanh wrote:
    Tehy are not aloud break any traffic laws if they dont have their siren on, at least as far as i know that is the law.

Its not.

I can see it now.

"Yes sir I thought i saw the car your wife was just dragged into but unfortunatley i was in a 50km/ph zone so couldnt catch up to the car who was travelling at 60km/ph. Also he went through a red light which im not allowed to do so i let him off!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

rowanh wrote:
    Tehy are not aloud break any traffic laws if they dont have their siren on, at least as far as i know that is the law

the gardai are exempt from prosecution while in the course of their duties,

as said, any type of incident could have occured, the detective could have been trying to see if it was you they were looking for or a different car, if he had just tryed to pull you over, you could have speeded up and it would have been a pursuit, and pulling you over would take so much longer,

say,for example, if someone was missing, the first hour is the most important, so they would try to look at as many cars as is possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

timmywex, I understand what youre saying but from what the OP is saying this seems to just be a case of abusing their powers. You will often see gardai turn on their sirens in heavy traffic when they get close to the station to avoid tailbacks. Many times i have seen this and there is never anyone in the back of the car.

I also know a few gardai who openly admit they carry on like this during rush hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,746 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Chief--- wrote:
    Its not.

I can see it now.

"Yes sir I thought i saw the car your wife was just dragged into but unfortunatley i was in a 50km/ph zone so couldnt catch up to the car who was travelling at 60km/ph. Also he went through a red light which im not allowed to do so i let him off!
    so...they see someone getting dragged into a car and don't put on the siren....hmmmmmmmm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Tauren wrote:
    so...they see someone getting dragged into a car and don't put on the siren....hmmmmmmmm.

thats the idea of a unmarked car, if they had have been bombing around with lights and sirens, anyone would have gotten suspicious and would have speeded up or pulled onto a small road

colonel sanders, im not going to deney that happens but how do you know something didnt happen requiring immediate attention??it does happen but a lot of the time, it can be genuine

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Whilst I agree that he may be baseing his acts on grounds of a radio command, the fact he continued to drive dangerously further up the road was where my main concern lay. If he wanted to pull me over, I wouldnt have. As rightly mentioned. there are lots of "fake" gardai out there, so I wouldve pulled into the garage further up the road.

Regarding assuming he was a garda based on the aerials, that is correct. There was also a unit mid dash, which admittingly couldve been a GPS system, but if it looks like a garda car, Im going to assume it is! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

ned78 wrote:
    I've yet to see a Garda car actually driving 50kph.

Regularly see it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Yeah - I regularly see the Gardaí driving at the speed limit too....

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

I'm disappointed now.... i read the thread title as "Erotic Garda Driving".

Not that such a thread would have turned me on in any way - i was just curious as to what constituted erotic garda driving.

Im sure helicopter pilots looks at the Garda helicopter in flight and say "that fella is flying like a flippin lunatic. Hovering for ages, then flying again then hovering, the feckin madman"

But then again they dont know whats goin on at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,347 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Chief--- wrote:

Good point, Chief---

We don't know what's going on, so who are we to judge?

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭daedalus2097

Absolutely! There could well be a guy on the other end ofthe radio shouting "swerve left!! No, no, swerve right!!" ;)

In fairness, without sirens on it's dangerous for them to drive unpredictably. If they didn't have the sirens on for reasons of remaining inconspicuous, they could do a lot better than swerving all over the place - kinda defeats the purpose of not having the sirens on in the first place don't you think?? Also, in the example given there earlier - if they break a red light to follow someone they think has pulled someone into a car, they're gonna stick out like a sore thumb to anyone watching their tail anyway, so why not use the siren and make the whole thing a bit safer to fellow motorists and pedestrians alike?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,860 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah you gotta love Boards really..

Someone highlights an incident where there is clearly no legitimate excuse for a Garda's behaviour, and the usual suspects jump in to explain that (in this latest case) the Garda was weaving all over the place because he was probably responding to a call??

Even if that was true, are they not trained in advanced driving techniques that would allow them to drive at speed without putting other road users at (potential) risk - oh wait, I forgot all they need to get behind the wheel of a squad car is "dispensation" from the chief super! Or maybe the OP is just paranoid/has an axe to grind/made it all up? :rolleyes:

I regularly see them illegally parked outside the chipper at 6pm while one of them is inside ordering dinner beside me. No doubt that's a "legitimate" case too, or am I making it up as well?

Fact 1: A lot of Gardai (no, not all) think they are above the law.

Fact 2: Pretending it doesn't happen will not solve the problem!

Far too many people on this website are apologists for the Gardai when the evidence is there to show there are a lot of individuals in the force that are corrupt, incompetent and abuse their authority. Don't believe me? Ask the victims of that abuse, or the (all too few) Gardai that have been prosecuted for it!

True Kaiser, alot are not trained to drive and are forced to drive in situations of high speed pursuits and defensive driving without any training at all. They are not happy about that at all and the GRA is trying to get more driver training facilites.

Believe me every Garda wished he was trained to the standard of UK police but the facilities just are not there to train them all.

As for parking on double yellows, Its quite clear that any garda on duty has to have quick access to his car. I dont think any reasonably minded person would have a problem with that.

"Yes i was on my luch break and the only garda car in the area but i couldnt provide an escort for your heavilly pregnant wife to hospital because i had to park my car 500m away from where i was having my break, sorry"

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭daedalus2097

Chief--- wrote:
    True Kaiser, alot are not trained to drive and are forced to drive in situations of high speed pursuits and defensive driving without any training at all. They are not happy about that at all and the GRA is trying to get more driver training facilites.

Does the OP make it sound like this was a high speed pursuit? Not to me... The unmarked squad car that knocked a friend over several years ago while speeding in a bus lane without sirens wasn't in a high speed pursuit either. She got the pins out of her legs last month.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Chief--- wrote:
    Im sure helicopter pilots looks at the Garda helicopter in flight and say "that fella is flying like a flippin lunatic. Hovering for ages, then flying again then hovering, the feckin madman"

Yeah, it's hard to fly a helicopter and eat garlic chips at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    I regularly see them illegally parked outside the chipper at 6pm while one of them is inside ordering dinner beside me. No doubt that's a "legitimate" case too, or am I making it up as well?

Did you this point this out to the Guard when he was beside you that he was parked illegally. Bet yer fecking arse ye didn't, but you come this onto the forum and bitch about it like a 16 year old girl.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

dubtom wrote:
    What about the guys who pretend they are guards. Was stuck on the M1 last night and this F****r in an opel vectra with a foney siren was weaving in and out of traffic, what made it worse was that everyone got out of his way.I don't have a problem with speeding kops, I do have a problem with sh*theads with clifford alarms that can go woo woo and not a real guard in sight to catch them.
    I saw two guys bombing past my house in hot hatches (maybe Astras) the other day with sirens on. They didn't look like typical Garda cars do I thought it looked strange. Do people actually do this?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,860 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

DonJose wrote:
    Did you this point this out to the Guard when he was beside you that he was parked illegally. Bet yer fecking arse ye didn't, but you come this onto the forum and bitch about it like a 16 year old girl.
    I'm guessing you're a cop yourself then?

For the record I have made numerous complaints to the Gardai about the Gardai but it's like an "old boys club" for the most part where they all look after each other.

Anyway, how does your post address (either way) any of the points raised so far other than abusing me? Reported.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

You can buy sirens on Ebay, as well as the device that makes the headlights flash left/right/left/etc

I saw something similar in Lisburn recently - unmarked sh!tbox driving like mad through a major car park with old-fashioned nee-naws.

Called the local copshop later with the reg and they checked it there and then - said the guy was a part-time fireman, and must've been called into the fire station there.

Think I might get a set for my Omega - would help me down the "fast lane" on the M50 in the morning :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    I'm guessing you're a cop yourself then?

For the record I have made numerous complaints to the Gardai about the Gardai but it's like an "old boys club" for the most part where they all look after each other.

No I'm not a Guard but if I found a Guard doing something illegal I wouldn't shiver away.
    Kaiser2000 wrote:
    Anyway, how does your post address (either way) any of the points raised so far other than abusing me? Reported.
    It addresses the point that theres a lot of spineless people out who have nothing better to do than bitch about Guards (who have a tough job) on private forums instead of confronting them about the issues at hand.