Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silencer

• 13-06-2007 5:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭

hey just wondering what the craic is with silencers over here im looking to get one for the old lamping foxes. do you need a separate licence for them and if you get one fitted does the performance of the rifle get screwed up?

cheers for the help

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Kramer

You technically need a letter from your local super to own/use a moderator.

Performance shouldn't be affected but POI will change when fitted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

and how do i go about this letter cause i dont really wanna go to the fire arms sgt he is a bollox. what conditions do you need to use one?

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

no conditions as such. Give him a letter and tell him you need it to 1. protect your own hearing and 2. prevent scaring livestock whilst controling vermin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

its just a matter of going into your dealer and buying one. i didnt need a letter, i think technically silencers are illegal, but i think you can just purchase them if you call them a suppreser

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

The above post is a clear lesson in why you should take everything you see on a web forum with a serious dose of salt. It is both incorrect and illegal, following that course of action could get you in a lot of trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

stevoman wrote:
    its just a matter of going into your dealer and buying one. i didnt need a letter, i think technically silencers are illegal, but i think you can just purchase them if you call them a suppreser

yup you can purchase one but I am afraid to tell you, that you are breaking the law and running the risk of the local garda making an example of you.

Be careful with it

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

no conditions as such. Give him a letter and tell him you need it to 1. protect your own hearing and 2. prevent scaring livestock whilst controling vermin.

Sorry. should have added "in order to get authorisation"

thanks for that guys if i get one it will defo be under the right conditions and legally

• Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I got a letter from my Shooting Club saying they had no issues with
    me using a moderator on my rifle for health and safety purposes.

I sent a letter requesting a letter of permission to my Local FO a few weeks
    ago with the ranges letter and giving my reasons for needing one.
    I also used the word moderator and explained that it did not silence but
    meerly reduced the sound to an acceptable level. In the case of the .17HMR
    I reckon it reduces it to about the sound of a .22 through
    different mods may vary. I also stated in my letter that I did
    not require a licence for one but wanted to get permission from
    the local station or Super.

Never heard back from them. I also tried ringing the station and could
    not get through most of the time and I also left messages.
    But not a Peep frrom them.

I'm in no rush its just annoying that on a windy day where I may not
    want to fire at 100m due to the wind knocking the 17 about the guys
    in Midlands dont want me fireing at the 50m un-moderated as
    it so bloody noisey.

Got two weeks off work coming up so may decide to use that to
    park my backside at the station and refuse to leave tactic!!!

~B

i get simmilar im in a shooting club and all they ahve is 50 m target for the rifle everyone else fires 22lr and i come in with the 22 hornet and put them all off their game im not very popular there:D :D

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭tikkamark

Do you have to go near the local station to apply or can you just send a letter to the superintendant asking for permission is it really that simple?

il try sending a letter to him cause the FA sgt is a bollox tried everything to stop me getting the rifle!!!:mad: :mad:

Will let ye know how I get on whenever I get a response.
    I am guessing I will get some cock and bull story about the
    super does not issue permission for them etc etc so I got to
    prepare myself to be patient.

When I "borrowed" a moderator from one of the lads here (A SAK)
    it was utter bliss!!! It did change the point of impact on my rifle
    and it made everything goto the right. And when I took the Mod off
    everything went back by the same amount to the left!!! So Pretty cool.
    Rifle was still Loud but not deafning.

Quite a lot of the time I goto the range the buddy will want to fire
    at 50m with his .22 so when I am there with the HMR its horrible
    as they only allow me to fire if nobody else is about or stick me in a corner
    with barriers about me (box me in!) Last time I had to goto the 100m to
    fire at the 50m as they are side by side but there is a door that blocks
    a lot of the sound between the 100m and the 50m.

I dont have a problem with the sound much but its the effect that
    it causes at the range and the restrictions that it caused which annoys me.
    (would not swap the 17 for 22 though as I love it!!!)

~B

bullets we are like distant twins i have the exact same problem can only fire when none of the target shooters are there with there target rifles its crap is the 17 that loud the hornet must be about 10 times louder than the 22lr but i wounldnt change it its a proper rifle (rim fire):D

Got a Letter today from my super saying that in order to process
    my application for a moderator that he would need specific details
    of the moderator for their records.

This sounds positive as at least they gave me a written reply!
    to work with.

Only thing..what details can I give them other than the brand or make ????
    Which I dont know yet as I dont know what dealer will be able to get
    me what mod!

Its a step in the right direction though.
    will give him a ring Monday to see what kind of
    details they want.

~B

deadly let me know what he is looking for bullets,

what dealers around dublin can fit them?

and how much does it cost to get done?

My Barrel is factory threaded so its just a matter of screwing the mod on!
    For a Parker Hale which is ok for a .22 but useless for a .17 the local
    dealer is telling me about 50 Euro for the mod itself.

Dunno what brands are available to me for the HMR other than SAK or
    the T8 which is overkill and over expensive.

~B

cheers bulletts not as bad as i thought where is that dealer?

Limerick, But most dealers do the el cheapo Parker Hales.
    The ones I am talking about are the tiny tiny almost like a cigar tube type ones.
    (I think there may be other versions that are bigger but
    I have not seen them) Duuno if they are any good or not as the mods
    I have seen fitted on the range appear to look bigger.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

O Halloran in Tip does the SAK/Vaime units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

bullets wrote:
    The ones I am talking about are the tiny tiny almost like a cigar tube type ones.

I got one for about €30 in Jeffers in Bandon. They are called Sound Byters, I think from memory. A lot lighter & shorter than the Parker Hales as they are plastic. Very happy with mine...

My previous .22 was not threaded and cost me €80 to have it threaded.

Hope that helps...

TJ911...

yeah trojan thats great thought it would be a lot more than that cheers for the help

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

emal the amnifactures and ask for a guide in db reduction levels if you can get a comparision going it will show you have researched the topic

here is an extract from my letter

I wish to apply for permission to fit a sound moderator to my rifle. I am a member of the X Rifle Club. I have recently upgraded my rifle to a Cz (Brno). The primary reason for the upgrade was the improved accuracy offered by this riffle. The change has also afforded me the opportunity to fit a sound moderator as this rifle is designed to accept one. I regularly practice and am aware that the sound produced from a shot of a .22 rifle can be in the range of 130-140db. Repeated exposure to this level of noise and the manner in which it is produced from a rifle may have a severe detrimental effect on my hearing. Fitting of a sound moderator will reduce the sound signature by up to 40-45db.

From a performance perspective attaching a sound moderator can also offer a slight increase in accuracy due to reduced barrel vibration, reduced recoil, and a stiffening of the barrel. I would like to exploit this benefit.

also you could give a guide to what the different db levels are , jet, traffic, shouting, etc
    and explain that it is far more detrimental to have loud repeadted bursts of noise than a high sustained volume

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

SAK mods are the way to go paid 50 for mine not sure where i got it wont get anything better until you start paying double that.

cheers mag lite thats brilliant thats helped me out alot!

appreciate it!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

Wait a sec is this for the hornett?? if it is its a completely different ball game it will take something bigger to silence well moderate as you'll always have the crack.

The SAK will take away some of it but i wouldnt get anything smaller want to be looking at reflex, pes, and ase utra mods to get any sort of noticable reduction

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

be careful lads a SAK mod is not designed for center fire ammo, think it goes up to .22wmr but thats it. putting it on a centerfire could be a recipe for disaster and just plain dangerous