Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai Mirror Theft Scandal!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Since when has that stopped them? They can invent it.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

It's another clear case of a vain schizophrenic Garda

Mirror Mirror in the boot, which of us wears the smartest suit?
    Not you ya stinkin copper, Now tell me why did you stop her?

Gardai never accept this kind of lip...but on reflection decided to let the car driver go and took the mirror away for analysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jaycewheeley

The blue car is registered as a 07 Ford Mondeo - 1998 CC . More information on cartell.ie
    Undercover cars also have blue flashing LED lights in the front and rear pillars , in the rear break light, rear light clusters, front and side indicators. You can often see the while plastic attachements for the LED sticking up in the rear break light because the idiots don't know how to fit them properly.
    I'm surprised they have hoodcaps on though you can normally spot a cop car a mile away because the roll on steelies. Cops also have a tendency to hug the white line becuase of their defensive driving tuition. They have a habit of leaving their lights on during the day beacuse they're used to having them on when they were in patrol cars. The cars also have brighter front bulbs and sit at a different ride hight to the standard mondeo.
    If the cops do pull you over ask them for their badge number if they ask you for your name, they hate that. If they start giving you attitude tell them you'll be complaining to your local TD, throw in the garda comissioner as well. Say something like " I hope you enjoyed your career".
    If you get nicked and they say you have to answer all questions under the new "no comment" law, tell them your waiting for your solisitor, that you have a right under EU law of human rights to fair representation, cops know **** all bout EU law!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭bo-bo

The blue car is registered as a 07 Ford Mondeo - 1998 CC . More information on cartell.ie
    Undercover cars also have blue flashing LED lights in the front and rear pillars , in the rear break light, rear light clusters, front and side indicators. You can often see the while plastic attachements for the LED sticking up in the rear break light because the idiots don't know how to fit them properly.
    I'm surprised they have hoodcaps on though you can normally spot a cop car a mile away because the roll on steelies. Cops also have a tendency to hug the white line becuase of their defensive driving tuition. They have a habit of leaving their lights on during the day beacuse they're used to having them on when they were in patrol cars. The cars also have brighter front bulbs and sit at a different ride hight to the standard mondeo.
    If the cops do pull you over ask them for their badge number if they ask you for your name, they hate that. If they start giving you attitude tell them you'll be complaining to your local TD, throw in the garda comissioner as well. Say something like " I hope you enjoyed your career".
    If you get nicked and they say you have to answer all questions under the new "no comment" law, tell them your waiting for your solisitor, that you have a right under EU law of human rights to fair representation, cops know **** all bout EU law!!

spoken like a true pro.

no offence but you sound like someone who wants to be a criminal rather than someone who is. you also display a distinct lack of knowledge in relation to criminal justice proceedures.

and just for your own benefit you are not entitled to take a gardas badge number, its their name and shoulder number, although you are entitled to inspect their identification within reason

What is this "no comment" law?

i think the poor chap was refering to inferences being drawn from a person refusing to comment when interviewed

bo-bo wrote:
    i think the poor chap was refering to inferences being drawn from a person refusing to comment when interviewed
    Which can only happen under the Offences against the state act. Is our misguided poster a member of a proscribed organisation?

Bond-007 wrote:
    Is our misguided poster a member of a proscribed organisation?

oh no, never thought of that - gulp! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭meathmannn

It's another clear case of a vain schizophrenic Garda

Mirror Mirror in the boot, which of us wears the smartest suit?
    Not you ya stinkin copper, Now tell me why did you stop her?

Gardai never accept this kind of lip...but on reflection decided to let the car driver go and took the mirror away for analysis

HARDCORE MAN!!! You Fiachra and the boys can come down Oliver Bond and hang out with d lads!

My sympathy for the Gardai if thats the type of public they have to deal with. Mupit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

If you get nicked and they say you have to answer all questions under the new "no comment" law, tell them your waiting for your solisitor, that you
    have a right under EU law of human rights to fair representation, cops know **** all bout EU law!!

Ha Ha, very funny post :D
    Their badge number is on their shoulder for a start so no need to ask. And I'm sure they'll find the "hope you enjoyed your career" as equally hillarious as I have.
    And if you tell them you're waiting for a "solisitor" you'll be waiting a long time for such a thing to exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Chief--- wrote:
    Its a cop car, they are detectives, its a stop and search.

Every good detective would do this about 10 times in a shift.
    Surely if they do it 10 times in a shift, some of them is to build up numbers. Doesn't sound like a good detective to me. I'd prefer them to do it when they suspect something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Chief--- wrote:
    Its a cop car, they are detectives, its a stop and search.
    Every good detective would do this about 10 times in a shift.

well that would explain quite a lot, that must take up quite a bit of their time.

girls with vanity mirrors is a huge problem in this country, huge... and now we are complaining when the lads in the force, for once decide to stamp this crime out...

well done boys is what i say... don't let a mirror go unfound

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

Maybe, the woman is the wife/partner of one of the guards, and the grey car is their personal car.

He called her cause he lost his house keys. They rummage through the car to try and find them. Then as the guards are going, she says to her husband/partner, "will you drop that mirror to me Ma's cause I'll never get all de shoppin in de boot wit dat dere"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

prospect wrote:
    Maybe, the woman is the wife/partner of one of the guards, and the grey car is their personal car.

He called her cause he lost his house keys. They rummage through the car to try and find them. Then as the guards are going, she says to her husband/partner, "will you drop that mirror to me Ma's cause I'll never get all de shoppin in de boot wit dat dere"

you may have hit the nail on the head there..

Nobody knows what was going on. They could have been plain clothes ERU, SDU targetting known provo's, detectives searching for stolen property, NBCI detectives looking for information on an international child porn ring, a random detective stop and search.

OR

it could have been yer mans wife with him picking up the mirror to drop to his mother in laws.

Chief--- wrote:
    you may have hit the nail on the head there..
    OR
    it could have been yer mans wife with him picking up the mirror to drop to his mother in laws.

perfect, spot on... not a bit believable, but then again it doesn't have to be, they are the guards after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Maybe the girl was a cop !!!

They were just exchanging evidence because the other two were a bit short for some in another case !! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

could have been anything! what i find hilarious is the way any thread that comes up here to do with the gardai turns into a bashing session! grow up ffs!

MercMad wrote:
    Maybe the girl was a cop !!!

They were just exchanging evidence because the other two were a bit short for some in another case !! :p

that happens every day