Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsuccessful - post here

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

19 marks including 2 sets of 4. First time but I'll get it next time. Got cut off by an arsehole right at the start and it completely threw me and I slipped into bad habits. Ah well.

Hard luck!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Went for it for the first time today....

How'd it go?

giphy.gif

Pulling out of the centre, (churchtown) a Jeep tried pulling in, and it completely threw me. and it just shook me for the rest of it. Made stupid mistakes and just felt misrable the rest of the test.

ah well. To Rebook!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Went for it for the first time today....

How'd it go?

giphy.gif

Pulling out of the centre, (churchtown) a Jeep tried pulling in, and it completely threw me. and it just shook me for the rest of it. Made stupid mistakes and just felt misrable the rest of the test.

ah well. To Rebook!

Wouldn't worry to much, you where over thinking things i'm guessing and as your doing rebook and you'll be fine.

ah well. To Rebook!

I read this as reebok and thought good for you, some retail therapy! :o
    But yep good for you re booking, like the previous poster said, first time nerves got the better of you with that jeep turning, next time you'll be more confident. Just like pancakes, count the first one as a practice one :p

neonsofa wrote: »
    I read this as reebok and thought good for you, some retail therapy! :o
    But yep good for you re booking, like the previous poster said, first time nerves got the better of you with that jeep turning, next time you'll be more confident. Just like pancakes, count the first one as a practice one :p

I do need some new sneekers....

• Registered Users Posts: 5 ch2010

Failed first time in Finglas this morning. 17 grade two and 1 grade 3 for observation turning left. I felt that was fair because I knew I really wasn't up to the standard to pass. All my manoeuvres went well but I picked up a lot of marks for turning left and also for braking too harshly. I got the grade three for not seeing a car coming towards me as I turned left until after I had started to turn.

Anyway, I'm just looking at this one as a practice and I have to say the tester was really nice and I felt like she marked very fairly. She said I had probably taken a test too soon and she was completely right. I'm going to go away and practice and try again during the summer.

ch2010 wrote: »
    Failed first time in Finglas this morning. 17 grade two and 1 grade 3 for observation turning left. I felt that was fair because I knew I really wasn't up to the standard to pass. All my manoeuvres went well but I picked up a lot of marks for turning left and also for braking too harshly. I got the grade three for not seeing a car coming towards me as I turned left until after I had started to turn.

Anyway, I'm just looking at this one as a practice and I have to say the tester was really nice and I felt like she marked very fairly. She said I had probably taken a test too soon and she was completely right. I'm going to go away and practice and try again during the summer.

Now you won't be as nervous for second one, fear of the unknown is gone!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 ch2010

Exactly. I'm delighted to have time now to practice my driving without all that worrying about hand signals and under the bonnet and road signs hanging over me!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Just failed my fourth one. Third time out of the four that I've been done for progress, for being too cautious. Nerves definitely played into it, as did a previous accident which has left me always concious of making double sure its safe at junctions etc. Apparently too much so! 11 grade 2s.

Just sick of this now. Thinking a different test centre (I was in Cork Wilton for all 4) might be in order....

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭MissElle

Just failed my fourth one. Third time out of the four that I've been done for progress, for being too cautious. Nerves definitely played into it, as did a previous accident which has left me always concious of making double sure its safe at junctions etc. Apparently too much so! 11 grade 2s.

Just sick of this now. Thinking a different test centre (I was in Cork Wilton for all 4) might be in order....

Hard luck! I failed twice in the same test centre and then tried a new one (plus got a different instructor for a couple of pre tests) and passed then. I found rescue remedy good too on the day to try to help settle the nerves. Don't give up, you'll get there in the end! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Ninjavampire

If you failed on progression three times in one centre, that centre (or the instructor) must have a thing about progression. You just need a change of scenery and an instructor who is more lenient to slow/ overly careful drivers. Every instructor has something they are know for being harsh on, you might have gotten unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

If you failed on progression three times in one centre, that centre (or the instructor) must have a thing about progression. You just need a change of scenery and an instructor who is more lenient to slow/ overly careful drivers. Every instructor has something they are know for being harsh on, you might have gotten unlucky.

Failed my third test on progression, Despite the fact the previous gear, observation and position faults incurred from other tests were ironed out, worked on and did not appear as grade 2 . Was so bummed after the last time as I felt the driving tester could have got me easily at the same time on Observation as I was driving in an area fulled of parked cars, lack of visibility and children playing around. But instead it was progression. Sometimes you just can't win but go with how you can drive safely.

After 3 fails in one centre and the previous progression fail which, to a point I could understand but felt it was a cheap shot and an unfair fail, I have gone for another centre in Dublin and I feel it is perfect for me. I feel, whatever progression means, I am coming into it a lot easier on my new test route, with dual carriage ways and wider roads. I am also coming across new elements of driving I had never dealt with previously.

For what it is worth, I felt getting a new driver instructor helps. New eyes to look at your driving helps. Unfortunately, especially if you feel I am full of conspiracy theories regarding the driving test, there are a lot of chancers out there who say they are driving test specialists and have x number of passes. Sometimes the cheaper and quieter instructor are better to work that these more expensive,chain type driving instructor who blag how great they are, will tell you you are ready after x number of lessons, all to tempt you into paying more for their "services".

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭ParalysedBeaver

I failed my test this morning in Gorey. I got a grade 3 for observation during the reverse around the corner manouver.

The tester had an assessor with him so I might have been marked a bit more strict than normal or I could be making excuses to try make myself feel better about it.

I failed my test this morning in Gorey. I got a grade 3 for observation during the reverse around the corner manouver.

The tester had an assessor with him so I might have been marked a bit more strict than normal or I could be making excuses to try make myself feel better about it.

Ah that's tough. Better luck next time round!

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Ninjavampire

While he definitely might have been on his best behaviour with yer man in the back seat, a grade three means you did something potentially dangerous so you might have missed a person or car during the reserve. You probably know yourself what happened but just be on the look out for next time!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Failed for the first time on Tuesday, meant to post and then forgot (first post in around 2 years here btw!).

Did it in Wilton, and literally failed on the first bend. The gate to exit is onto a side road in an industrial estate, and having stopped at the stop line at the gate initially, as I went to pull out this pr**k in a Land Rover shot around the corner, I should have stopped but I was halfway across the road and didn't want to maroon myself so slightly shot off to get over and around him. Assessor even said straight afterwards 'should have let him past' so I knew then I was goosed!

Got automatically failed on a failure to yield to traffic coming from the right, was just a panicked decision.

Other than a few minor things that was my only fault, scored perfect on all the key things, and he told me to book a cancellation and keep ringing and get work to put in a letter to get one soon because apart from yer man making me panic I'd have passed. Apart from that the assessor was very good, I understand why I failed, and was good of him to give me that advice afterwards.

Still though, absolutely reeking the car is sitting there again, had a few things I had planned to do and getting the bus into work these last few days has been seriously depressing!

Failed for the first time on Tuesday, meant to post and then forgot (first post in around 2 years here btw!).

Aw it seems though without that idiot bombing towards you, you would've been ok. Next time that won't happen :) Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

I have my test next week, and I'm fully prepared to fail it. I've already cancelled it twice so said I'd just bite the bullet and try it at least. I've a week anyway to try and improve and not make a total hames of it, I'm just an incredibly nervous driver.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,196 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Siobhnk wrote: »
    I have my test next week, and I'm fully prepared to fail it. I've already cancelled it twice so said I'd just bite the bullet and try it at least. I've a week anyway to try and improve and not make a total hames of it, I'm just an incredibly nervous driver.

You never know what might happen.
    Worst case, you fail, but you will then be familiar with what happens during the test.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Monaco1989

Siobhnk wrote: »

Passed my test last week but the way you are describing yourself as a nervous driver rings so many bells.

I initially booked my test for March 2016, had an injury that meant having to postpone it and left it on the long finger. Every time it approached, I'd postpone due to nerves. I finally said to myself I was just going to sit it, my problem is nerves die to going in to the 'unknown'. I said to myself if I fail at least I'll have the experience.

I had booked the day before off work for some pretests and my instructor brought me in to the test centre the day before and told me exactly where to park, where to walk, where I'll be sitting and what would happen. I could not recommend this more, helped with my nerves big time.

I had resigned myself to failing due to nerves but the test couldn't have gone better. Tester was friendly, and immediately put me at ease.

You're going to be nervous but try not let it overwhelm you. I went from my first booking in March 2016 to not sitting my test for the first time till June 2017 due to nerves.

Best of luck and just do your best and try prepare as best you can!

Thanks for the advice guys! Had a lesson today with someone new, my driving instructor organised it. It was good to get advice from someone else. Just a few bits are slipping me up, she said I'd be silly not to take it Friday. Sure we'll see how it goes, not expecting much but at least I'll be able to see on a sheet what I need to improve on! I'm a country buck so more used to driving on country roads, the town is very different, so I just need to get into it this week for a good few hours.

My prediction was right 😂 the frustrating thing was I failed on progress. I had taken the exact test route with my instructor the hour before the test, however traffic was far heavier. Which killed me as being overly cautious. My instructor said if it went like the test run I'd pass. Feck it anyway. At least I know what to work on. Just incredibly frustrating!

Did it this morning in churchtown.
    11 Grade 2 faults.

I was going grand (tester even said after) untill My turn about, Where i stalled the car, thne went into a panic an gained 3 faults (gears, Observation, Clutch)

He was lovely in fairness, and Advised me to go for it again Straight away!

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Galbin

I was going grand (tester even said after) untill My turn about, Where i stalled the car, thne went into a panic an gained 3 faults (gears, Observation, Clutch)

He was lovely in fairness, and Advised me to go for it again Straight away!

I don't understand. Do you mean he gave you multiple grade 2 faults for each of those (gears, observation, clutch) during the one manoeuvre ? That seems pretty harsh and far from lovely.

Galbin wrote: »
    I don't understand. Do you mean he gave you multiple grade 2 faults for each of those (gears, observation, clutch) during the one manoeuvre ? That seems pretty harsh and far from lovely.

Not multiple ones, But it was just enough to tip me over :(

Have it booked again next month, so fingers crossed!

Not multiple ones, But it was just enough to tip me over :(

Have it booked again next month, so fingers crossed!

Oh, that sucks. :( The driving test system here really is a bit of a joke when someone is penalised for such mistakes, despite their tester saying they can clearly drive safely!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

Oh, that sucks. :( The driving test system here really is a bit of a joke when someone is penalised for such mistakes, despite their tester saying they can clearly drive safely!

Or, you know, they could drive with those faults ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The tester is there to endorse him. I've failed twice. The first time was because I was too soft on the clutch. He was happy with every thing else I did, but had to call it out on that as he'd have to be concerned with that potentially happening while out and about based on what he witnessed.

Yes, but the tester said he thought Agent Smith was a great and safe driver otherwise. That's the bit I don't get. It's like they don't realise the effect taking the test has on one's driving. It's not real world driving at all. When I am driving along normally, my mouth is not as dry as the Sahara desert, and I don't have an unfriendly robot sitting beside me.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭caldew

Have I missed something?

The tester said Agent Smith "was grand". How does that translate to Agent Smith "can clearly drive safely!" and " a great and safe driver"