Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New cop cars...

• 21-06-2007 10:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭

Check out what the cops are drivnig now... nice

copsdb8.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

:rolleyes: Can I be the first to jump on a high horse and say he should have been talking to you for using your mobile while driving.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

:rolleyes: Can I be the first to jump on a high horse and say he should have been talking to you for using your mobile while driving.....:rolleyes:
    You'll have to prove the pic was taken with a phone and not a camera first.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

What is nice about it? its a 318, not exactly rare, unique or special?

I think the cops should move away from having fleets of similar vehicles, unmarked cop cars are often easily spotted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Anan1 wrote:
    You'll have to prove the pic was taken with a phone and not a camera first.
    Dam, your horse is higher than mine....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

/me notes down the reg of the pig's car so I know not to speed if I see it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭sesswhat

Maybe someone should be talking to the Guard about being stopped on a dangerous bend forcing people to cross a continuous white line to get past him, even though there is a lay by right beside him. He's even driving like a BMW driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

yes I was stopped while I took the pic... the car overtaking just pulled off there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

prospect wrote:
    What is nice about it? its a 318, not exactly rare, unique or special?

exactly.. waste of a thread this. Now the lancer evos that the cops in the uk have for pursuits, thats worth a picture.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Kali wrote:
    exactly.. waste of a thread this. Now the lancer evos that the cops in the uk have for pursuits, thats worth a picture.
    The purpose of the thread is to illustrate that the Gardaí are now using BMWs. This may not be of interest to you, but it is very useful information to some of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Without his cap on the Garda would look like the average photocopier salesman (junior exec) behind the wheel. Till word gets round not the type of car you would expect to get a pull from. Much less noticeable than a battered Vectra/Mondeo with numerous roof aeriels and no hubcaps.:D

TomMc wrote:
    Without his cap on the Garda would look like the average photocopier salesman (junior exec) behind the wheel. Till word gets round not the type of car you would expect to get a pull from. Much less noticeable than a battered Vectra/Mondeo with numerous roof aeriels and no hubcaps.:D

exactly, the point of the thread is that you wouldn't expect a guard to pull you in, in a bmw...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

They also have 530D's in the Traffic Corps.

Ill just remind you what that can do.

0-60 in 6.8 seconds.

Top speed 156mph.

Nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

They also have an unmarked Black Land-Cruiser Commercial.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I saw one of those 530d's on Bertie-duty on the news the other night. What a waste!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Jomcc wrote:
    They also have an unmarked Black Land-Cruiser Commercial.

That'll be the ERU..
    Stephen wrote:
    I saw one of those 530d's on Bertie-duty on the news the other night. What a waste!

Nearly as bad as presidential duty (unmarked E60's x 2) after the first Ireland game in Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Is the one above an Irish road tax friendly 316i poverty spec? Can't make out the badge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

They also have about 15 07 E60 525i's as well.
    218 bhp. 154 mph vmax. 0-62 mph in 7.1 seconds.

ciarsd wrote:
    Is the one above an Irish road tax friendly 316i poverty spec? Can't make out the badge!
    318i (2L)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭alias no.9

A 4 cylinder BMW, how "celtic tiger" they've become.

Chief--- wrote:
    They also have 530D's in the Traffic Corps.

Ill just remind you what that can do.

0-60 in 6.8 seconds.

Top speed 156mph.

Nice.
    The 535d will have to be the getaway motor of choice now !:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

I've seen a couple of unmarked 07 Avensis also (that light cream colour).
    NO aerials whatsoever, with plain clothes Gardai driving.
    Very difficult to tell they are Gardai at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I'm glad to see things like this ,they needed a refresh to be honest. Especially if they are looking for new members.

Don't see any blue lights on that bmw though ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

_Brian_ wrote:
    Don't see any blue lights on that bmw though ?
    Most likely integrated into the reversing lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

Kenny 5 wrote:
    /me notes down the reg of the pig's car so I know not to speed if I see it :D
    me too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

I also seen a 07 peugot (hope the spelling is right :) ) guard car flying down the m50 at the blachardstown exit on wednesday night.

well I can't wait till the Garda auctions next year in merlin... 318 for about 5-6k....

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

I don't think it's ERU. It has camera on dash same as Unmarked Traffic Corps & strobes built into bumper.

ciarsd wrote:
    That'll be the ERU..

Nearly as bad as presidential duty (unmarked E60's x 2) after the first Ireland game in Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

no, its just an unmarked car, the guards are moving into higher class cars for some vehicles now. Anyone see the bmw 5 series garda car escorting the taoiseach to aras last thursday, you could see it on rte coverage

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Do the new Gardai BMWs come with Bellendtronic?
    I would actaully seem to me that all their vehicles have been fitted with it.

http://www.sniffpetrol.com/issue059.html

• Registered Users Posts: 65,347 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

el tel wrote:
    Do the new Gardai BMWs come with Bellendtronic?
    I would actaully seem to me that all their vehicles have been fitted with it

Where have you been? All BMWs have been fitted with Bellendtronic since 1973 iirc