Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity workers on the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I'm working on setting up arms deals for rival chugger groups, meself, so when the turf wars for the best spots get bloody, I'll be the one making the commission.

Bwaahahaha!!

Wasn't there a film about this with Rutgar Haeur in it ? "Salute of the Chugger" or somthin' like that ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Wasn't there a film about this with Rutgar Haeur in it ? "Salute of the Chuggers " or somthin' like that ! :D

I think my sig of Rutger Hauer in The HItcher below makes me wanna take the inititive on the bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Usually I find the blocker system works the best.

Once you spot them, try putting 1/2 people between you and them but make sure its a short enough distance between you and the blocker you're using so they're still bugging them instead of you while you're in the "attack" zone.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Duggy747 wrote:
    I think my sig of Rutger Hauer in The HItcher below makes me wanna take the inititive on the bastards!

Churring b@stard: Excuse me sir can you spare a few minutes?
    Duggy: No, but I can spare this *cocks gun and pulls trigger*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Churring b@stard: Excuse me sir can you spare a few minutes?
    Duggy: No, but I can spare this *cocks gun and pulls trigger*
    SimpleSam06: Cha-ching!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

SimpleSam06: Cha-ching!

It's always the bottom line with you.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

Give to Charity? I buy scratch cards don't I? ;)

Try this one

Chugger: Have you got five minutes to talk about ***?
    You: Yes if you've five minutes to talk about Jesus!

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Walking through O'Connell Street in Sligo an hour ago. I was holding hands with my two kids and some girl tries to hand me a pro-life leaflet, I told her she should be ashamed of herself. They have a stand set up with graphic pictures of aborted feotus's. There was a squad car with 3 or 4 Guards hanging around. Imagine the questions the kids asked me afterwards. Hope somebody had a good old rant at them, I would have loved to if I didn't have the kids with me.

I have no problem with chuggers, just keep walking and say a firm no. They know when its hopeless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

"Excuse me sir, have you got a minute"
    "I'll tell you what, I'll donate to the charity if you let me take you out on a date"
    "giggle"
    *smile* "well..."

Try it with the cute foreigners. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

"Can I have a moment of your time?"

to which i say

"No those are my moments! and u aint getting them!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

once i gave a fake name, address, baank sort code and account details just to get rid of this really persistent ba**ard. but i felt guilty afterwards thinking of someone trying to process the details. so now i dont make eye contact with them, just put the head down and walk past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 modalcommand

Best thing is to give them your correct bank details. Let them process it and a few days later cancel it. The charity loses money, and eventually they will give up on employing chuggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Here we go again... well done on bringing this back up Duggy!

It's a **** job. The only ones who earn commission, as far as I know, are ticket sellers. Clipboarders don't. There's a huge turnover in staff. Now, before anyone starts sh!t!ing on about how they're horrific people for taking money from the charity, charities earn a profit from it. If you think charities are run completely voluntarily, you're barking. It's a source of income charities otherwise wouldn't have, and (with the standing order thingy) it allows charities to borrow based on projected earnings, which bucket collections don't allow you to.

There's nothing you could pay me to make me do that job. There's no way it could be done on a voluntary basis, because you wouldn't get enough people to give up their entire working lives to collect money for charity, and the constant changing of staff if it was done on an hour by hour basis would mean more time spent debriefing than actually working for the charity. In addition, you'd need a group of people who would commit to the same hours every week, regardless of illness/other commitments, in order to keep it going.

Whatev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

The only ones who earn commission, as far as I know, are ticket sellers. Clipboarders don't.

I know people who have worked the clipboard, "can-I -have-a-moment-of-your-time-and-your-bank-details" yoke and made commission, so I'd assume that it varies from charity to charity.

Eh, they're annoying bastards, but if you completely blank them or give a point-blank "No" when they talk at you they generally stop pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

I fudgin hate chuggers but I did stop for one a while back. I just stood there completely still, saying absolutely nothing with a wry knowing smile on my face. After about 5 minutes of my silent treatment he just walked away!

Try it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

Just quickly say " I'm seventeen" and they'll immediately leave you alone to try sniff out another victim. Course you have to actually look 17.

Best thing is to give them your correct bank details. Let them process it and a few days later cancel it. The charity loses money, and eventually they will give up on employing chuggers.

My bank told me that with direct debit BOTH parties must agree to cancel. I like the "human shield" method but I find large numbers of people crossing the road to avoid them nowadays.

Well your bank wasn't telling you the full story. And its not a charity contract with a fixed term and can be cancelled at any time.

I went into my Ulster Bank to cancel a charity direct debit and they got all stern and harsh faced and told me a direct debit was different from a standing order and needed consent from both parties to cancel. The reason I canceled was that I was under the impression it was only for a year and then they would contact me again......but a year passed and there was no contact. They didn't even bother sending me out any bit of info on how the charity was doing...nothing.

You're telling me the trained staff in O'Connell St Limerick are wrong but you're right regarding DD?

Yep. Its your account and its your say what happens with your money. You have to tell the bank that you have alerted the other party. That is all. I've done it many times before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Had a guy approach me even with my headphones on! I was disgusted! I didn't spend money on headphones to have people talk to me :(

That said, he was nice when I said No Thanks, but me and my friend were rushing for a bus when a guy tried to catch us. We said sorry, we're in a rush, and kept going (not running though). He yelled 'Yeah, I can see that from the way you're f*cking strolling along there!! What an absolute asshole. I have worked selling stuff (not scratchcards) and it is really horrible work, but if you're going to do it you have to be aware that 90% of people will despise you for it, and not act the twat when people ignore you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

I was on the phone and one asked me to hang it up, I'm still shocked at that

sueme wrote:
    Walking through O'Connell Street in Sligo an hour ago.

It's the worst for things like that now it's been pedestrianised(sp?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Blush_01 wrote:
    Here we go again... well done on bringing this back up Duggy!

It's a **** job. The only ones who earn commission, as far as I know, are ticket sellers. Clipboarders don't. There's a huge turnover in staff. Now, before anyone starts sh!t!ing on about how they're horrific people for taking money from the charity, charities earn a profit from it. If you think charities are run completely voluntarily, you're barking. It's a source of income charities otherwise wouldn't have, and (with the standing order thingy) it allows charities to borrow based on projected earnings, which bucket collections don't allow you to.

There's nothing you could pay me to make me do that job. There's no way it could be done on a voluntary basis, because you wouldn't get enough people to give up their entire working lives to collect money for charity, and the constant changing of staff if it was done on an hour by hour basis would mean more time spent debriefing than actually working for the charity. In addition, you'd need a group of people who would commit to the same hours every week, regardless of illness/other commitments, in order to keep it going.

Whatev.

So?? doesn't mean people like giving money to charity if the person that signs them up is making money off it like its a sale of a product.

If people don't like then they are entitled to not give money. Also its an annoying thing for charities to do. There are plenty of other ways to ask people for money that are much more appropriate/polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

"Excuse me sir can I have a moment of your time ?"

"You just did !" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

I did stop for one once and signed up (the charity was a decent one), but once I did that I reckon my work is done! Since then I would say "it's cool, I donate to ye already"....I thought this was fair enough, until one muppet started asking me for proof!!!

So now my tactics for dodging these suckers normally consists of one of the following:

Headphones on and stare at the ground.
    Headphones on and when they approach me start "singing" like a total lunatic.
    Speak in tongues e.g."Squibbly-bibbly-bobbly-boo" and keep walking.
    Leg it!