Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork insults

• 02-07-2007 8:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭

I was just wondering if anyone had any distinctly Cork insults (harmless ones, like "you muppet" that kind of thing) that they use regularly. I like

spanner
    goul (sp?)

Not sure "muppet" is a distinctly Cork one...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I always thought goul was a uniquely Limerick thing, apparently not :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

g'wan away ya langer :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

gwan ya plank!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

oh yeah, forgot about

langer

and of course

langball

and

sham (kinda)

What about spanner, that gets a lot of usage round my gaff.
    Crap was already posted and I didnt see it, oops.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Gobsh1te
    Gob sheen
    Norriee (sp) (north side)
    (south side) ?
    Go way ya pooka... is one i hear regularly ( don't know what it means though)

Ive never heard pooka myself, whats it mean.

Just did a Google and found this........

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pooka

• Registered Users Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭radiospan

"Claim ya..."

thrill wrote:
    Just did a Google and found this........

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pooka
    Jaysus theres a lot there.

plazzTT wrote:
    "Claim ya..."

Feen and beo (sp)

"Hey, look at the feen with the ugly beo"

It went something like that anyway I think. Not really insults but rather a coded way of speaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

Yorema was a shawlie.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

plazzTT wrote:
    "Claim ya..."

Yawouldwouldya??
    I'll break yer face, boi !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭MLM

corblimey wrote:
    I was just wondering if anyone had any distinctly Cork insults (harmless ones, like "you muppet" that kind of thing) that they use regularly. I like

spanner
    goul (sp?)

Not sure "muppet" is a distinctly Cork one...
    Shut up or I'll Flah Ye!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

goul - definitely, my mum's been using that one for years

gibber - might be more localised though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

MLM wrote:
    Shut up or I'll Flah Ye!

?

Arses to the wall lads.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭radiospan

Yawouldwouldya??
    I'll break yer face, boi !

C'mere feen, i'll laminate ya!

(I hear that's a new one...) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You're some tool ...

• Registered Users Posts: 78,410 ✭✭✭✭Victor

thrill wrote:
    beo
    Beor

And its ghoul.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Victor wrote:
    Beor

And its ghoul.
    I'm pretty sure it's goul. http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=goul (although that puts it as a Limerick thing, so maybe the lovely Cork folk posh it up with an extra 'h' :)) plus a whole host of uses on peoplesrepublicofcork forums.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You're septic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

ned78 wrote:
    You're septic!

:D Haven't heard that in a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭JSK 252

I'll flake ya bi.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭corkimp

Ya know now loike!
    Dowtcha Boy!
    like your bazzer