Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No go areas you wouldnt go into in cities or towns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

biko wrote:
    Rather than an area in Galway it's a spot - outside Supermac's after the pubs/clubs close. I walked up and down Dominic street drunk sooo many times, never a bother, but then I look fierce ;)

That's the spot alright. Bloody bunch O'Germans got me there at 5 in the morning one night.

Used to live on Dominick Street - never had any trouble (although the young lads from the Claddagh would wander up and try to be hard but they never convinced anyone!)

I wouldn't walk through Castlepark at night though - it's too far from Galway city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

so have you ever been to dublin?

Lived there, dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Kenny 5 wrote:
    As for the whole Tallaght side of things, nice places there but not so nice places also. Generalising and saying Tallaght is silly as it's a massive area.
    Again with the sensible commentry. Will this madness never end?

I know people from Tallaght who

havent.
    even.
    been.
    to.
    college.

By the way, Id just like to say that if I was not currently banned from PI I would be posting in that fat chicks thread over there, most likely getting banned from PI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Tazzle wrote:
    With regards to Barracks Street, I kind of like the lighting there, it's cozy! It'd probably look like a **** hole (more so?) if it was well lit.
    I remember someone rightly pointing out that it looks like Jack the Ripper country (well, the way it's depicted on film).
    the nice scenic areas of Ballincollig
    I'm not familiar with these areas - where might I find them? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

xabi wrote:
    Lived there, dump.

you lived in every single part of Dublin????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

QUIET!

(he must be a tinker, lock away your valuables)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Dudess wrote:
    I'm not familiar with these areas - where might I find them? ;)

Taking quotes out of context is bad m'kay :(

xabi is actually the dog from 'The Littlest Hobo', living out his retirement in a little house in Kenmare with his common-law wife Snuffalufagus from Sesame St, whom he married after a whirlwind 1980s romance.

As such, he has lived everywhere and is all-knowing.

There's a voice that keeps on calling me
    Down the road is where I'll always be
    Every stop I make, I'll make a new friend
    Can't stay for long, just turn around and I'm gone again.

Ah, the memories. Thanks xabi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

darkman2 wrote:

Just wondering - after listening to the radio just now about Marlborough street in Dublin being a no go area - what areas in your town or city have you decided never again to enter or to stay away from out of fear that something would happen to you? I was just listening about a 16 year old boy who literally got the sh*t kicked out of him by a few 20+ year old gougers at 1 in the afternoon on that street for no reason and how even the gaurds dont police it anymore - refering to it as 'murder mile'. Bare in mind this street is literally in the shadow of the GPO right in the center of Dublin. I have a mate who makes it his buisness not to walk down Talbot st from Connolly station under any circumstances because what he says is the amount of scum around that area at all times of the day never mind at night. So in your town or city what area would you do your best to avoid?

What a load of bollocks. I've walked down Marlborough St nearly every day since I was 11 in 1990 and I've never had any trouble. There are about 15 winos who hang around near the back of Clery's and that's it-I'm sure there are far more in Stephen's Green.
    What liar said the police don't go there anymore? More police pass by the junction with Talbot St than probably any other in the city as they walk from Store St on their beat. This is a street which contains Dublin's main catholic cathedral, a major government department, a branch of DIT, and large Eircom office block amongst many other shops, bars and offices. Does that sound like a no-go area? What murders have happened there to give it this famous 'murder-mile' nickname? (Funnily enough I've never heard that before.) Google reveals just 1 murder there in 2002.
    Going by this standard, Burlington Rd, Waterloo Rd, Donnybrook and Blackrock are all also 'murder-miles'.
    You and your friend are braindead reactionary little snobs.

xabi wrote:
    Lived there, dump.

Excellent answer. Argument over :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

I wouldn't go anywhere near the canal late at night (the path behind Roisins - scary! also the one up along the Corrib leading to the bridge near the Cathedral) - hm, living in Galway 5 years and still don't know the street names - great...

Dominick Street is grand, and most of the backroads around that area, too. I would not want to be walking up along Bohermore late at night, or those terraces around that area (Cooke's Tce, St Finbar's Tce etc).

And then there's the bleedin' obvious - Ballybrit, Ballybaan, and some aprts of Rahoon/Knocknacarra.

Oh, and Eyre Square.

On a more national note - I try and avoid Dublin at all costs, no matter what time of day or night...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Darndale....wouldn't go there alone....even the dogs walk around in pairs in that place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

on the southside of Dublin, theres parts of Ballybrack that would be rough eneogh at night, most parts are fine , in fact it seams to be merging into Killiney by the estate agents ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

micmclo wrote:

I challenge anyone to beat Dunsink Lane, Finglas :eek:

I walked and cycled down that road many times before and Ive only ever had a slight bit of bother once. The general Finlgas area isnt as bad as its made out to be, of course theres going to be one or two bad streets but not all of that area. Same goes for ballymun, walked through there many many times before at all hours of the morning and havnt been bothered yet. Could be just luck, or bad luck if you do get trouble.

latenia wrote:
    Flame alert! Seriously, go easy on the personal abuse. The OP was simply citing what he/she heard on the radio. I see loads of dodgy scumbags around that particular network of streets, so I agree with their friend - although I disagree with the friend's policy of refusing to walk in the area. But it's not snobbish to have a problem with skangers - it's nothing to do with the fact that they're poor, uneducated and not from upmarket addresses. It's because they're scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Ah Darndale's not too bad... all the streets are named after pretty flowers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Dudess wrote:
    The OP was simply citing what he/she heard on the radio.

QED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

micmclo wrote:

Grew up in a private estste not 500 yards from dunsink lane and never had any hassle in my life there. Someone mentioned Darndale, probably would be the only place i would never go near.

I'm pretty sure the guards leave it alone too.

latenia wrote:

QED

Could you elaborate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

latenia wrote:
    What murders have happened there to give it this famous 'murder-mile' nickname?

I dont know - 'Jeeeeeeeeeeooooooooo Duuuuuuuuuffffffffyyy' said it:rolleyes: If he says it it must be true of course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

God i walked down the street every single night on my own ..... there is a side road if you walk past the fas building as if your heading up to UCC past the quay co-op, where you come to a set of traffic lights (they were doing roads works there for ages) there is a bridge for cars to the right and a pub on the left hand corner... well if you turn left at the pub instead of crossing the road there is a great big hill - i know i know a hill in cork what a shocker - that road has no street lights and its a fairly dodgey area - i wandered onto it walking home from a friend's house one night and i was terrified never ever again

Barracks Street itself is actually fine. It's weird to walk down at night, especially on your own, because of the lack of lights etc but it's not that bad. If you happen to wander off it into one of the estates nearby at night you might have a bit of trouble if you're unlucky but the area in general isn't too bad.

With respect to the whole night thing, any place where either drunk people gather or pass on their way home can be a bit dodgy. Generally if you mind your own business you'll be fine in most places in Cork, or so is my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nowhere.

You can get battered anywhere, it's as much a factor of random bad luck as related to a particular place.

Flashing wallets/going to bank links in the middle of town, walking home alone when out of it are more dangerous than just strolling down Talbot, Marlborough street, Tallaght or wherever.
    micmclo wrote:

++

At least town doesn't have semi feral dogs roaming around. :)
    i wouldnt be afraid to walk around most areas but the area around the lower deck and portobello at the canal is rough, i have been warned about that area many times

CiaranC wrote:
    If you go around with that sort of attitude, its no wonder you got a hiding.

Better tune up your ninja skillz, Id say theres more coming.

Cop on a bit would you? You seem to take any criticism of Tallaght very personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I work on Marlborough St and I don't find it that bad.

Wouldn't be afraid of anywhere except maybe Dunsink Lane

This time stamp lark is crazy. Its like a glitch in the time space continuim, cept in a SQL database.

Oh, and consider me copped-on-a-bit. Ive rowed back from tomfoolery to a more sober jocularity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Talbot Street, really? The 27 terminus is there so I'm there everyday going to college and at night when I'm in town, basically all the feckin time and I've never had a spot of bother.

I am from Coolock though, maybe I just don't notice anymore. I cycle through Darndale to get to work and thats grand too, except for the odd subaru impreza almost running me over.

Man maybe I am just blind to it now.

EDIT: Eh? Stupid timestamps how did i get this far up the page?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

xzanti wrote:
    Tallaght.

Wins. Seriously...Tallaght is a dump...a dangerous dump at that. I was attacked just in the park near the square. 14 kicks to the head recorded. yeah...stay out of Tallaght.

I was attacked just in the park near the square. 14 kicks to the head recorded.

Is your name a reference to this? :)

At least they didn't take a sword out to you eh?

I'm not laughing.

That was a horrible experience - hope you're ok now - but surely you don't think that you could get attacked like that in every single nook and cranny of Tallaght by the majority of Tallaght people. Tallaght is a big place with a big population - it's unfair to lump all of Tallaght in with those scumbags.
    And a guy from Fairview was stabbed to death by a guy on his native Waterloo Road (super upmarket Dublin 4 street) but Waterloo Road isn't going to be tarred forever because of that incident.

I'm not laughing.

Why on earth would you?

Well, all remember that little kid being burned to death? That was around the corner of my house. I have no fond memories of this heap of crap...and no...I wouldn't give it any good word...at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

I stayed in an apartment on Marlborough St for a month. It was diagonally across from the Pro Cathedral. I never had any problems while I was there. And I walked home alone many times late at night. The only thing that happened was that two teenage boys through their sleeping bags over the fence outside the apartment window. But when they saw me look out they came back and took them away.

The only place in Dublin that I ever felt a bit wary was walking through Stoneybatter toward Smithfield late at night. Once I hit the quays I was fine.

Well, all remember that little kid being burned to death? That was around the corner of my house. I have no fond memories of this heap of crap...and no...I wouldn't give it any good word...at all.

Was that the young lad beside the shop in Killinarden RN? I was brought up out there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

St. Michaels estate in Inchicore was/is pretty much no go --- think its been redeveloped , but theres still a few die hards left -- don't think the cops go in

latenia wrote:

Quit flaming people.

Dudess wrote:
    I avoid the very ironically named Sober Lane in Cork. Two lads have been beaten into comas in that area. There are always scobes hanging around there. My cousin lived near it for a while. Several houses in her neighbourhood got their windows smashed. Her flatmate was mugged. If you're not familiar with Cork and you pay it a visit, the area I'm talking about is just over a little foot-bridge from where Grand Parade meets South Mall. It's also near the Fás office and Instinct gay bar. Avoid when you're on your own at night - the side street nearby that is, not the gay bar :)

It's a lot better than it used to be since the Goat broke loose closed. I still wouldn't suggest people using it at night though. But then walking down any narrow pitch-black alley that's sandwiched between pubs at night isn't a very bright idea.

I have no fond memories of this heap of crap...and no...I wouldn't give it any good word...at all.
    If you go around with that sort of attitude, its no wonder you got a hiding.

Better tune up your ninja skillz, Id say theres more coming.

Due to boards messing up time stamps at the moment my reply to you CiaranC is a few posts up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Dudess wrote:
    My mate used to work in Bank of Ireland near Talbot Street. Often she was afraid of her life - in broad daylight. F*cking scum :mad:.

I'd well believe her. I've heard all the stories of druggies trying to rob the place on numerous occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Moyross, Ballananty, Southill and weston probably. Everywhere else is pretty ok. city centre is pretty grand too...(limerick)

On a side note, in dublin if you stick to walking along main roads in Dublin, would you be more 'safer' from getting mugged. i.e O'connell street at night?
    Ill probably end up at DCU next year, so this thread is of good interest to me!

I used to take a short cut to James Hospital, starting from Christchurch Cathedral through The Coombe / Pimlico / Back of Guinness cutting out at the Basin St flats. There's no way in hell I'd take the same journey at night. That whole route is dodgeville. Even the kids take offence to you walking through their patch.

nesf wrote:
    Cop on a bit would you? You seem to take any criticism of Tallaght very personally.

sure sign of being from the posher parts of it, I'd say :D

stepbar wrote:
    I used to take a short cut to James Hospital, starting from Christchurch Cathedral through The Coombe / Pimlico / Back of Guinness cutting out at the Basin St flats. There's no way in hell I'd take the same journey at night. That whole route is dodgeville. Even the kids take offence to you walking through their patch.

is that at the back of Guinness, halting site near it, and you come out near Donore street. Dunno how rough it is but it's spooky round there at night? Used to cycle through years ago and it always seemed deserted and scary. :(

stovelid wrote:
    is that at the back of Guinness, halting site near it, and you come out near Donore street. Dunno how rough it is but it's spooky round there at night? Used to cycle through years ago and it always seemed deserted and scary. :(

I dunno but this map will roughly tell you the route. Cork St is another dodgy hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

The North Side of Dublin. I don't even speak to Northsiders any more.

stepbar wrote:
    I dunno but this map will roughly tell you the route. Cork St is another dodgy hole.

the end of your route is the general area I'm thinking of alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,060 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Outside the Burlington.

You could be kicked to death there any time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

The area around St James Hospital after dark, and Thomas Street, down as far as College Green. Back the other way from St James/ Guinness brewery to Portobello area always struck me as a bit dodgy too.

Edit: Just noticed thats been posted quite a bit, not just me then.

In general I'd feel very comfortable walking around the suburbs alone though, and regularly do even at night time.

Many's a night I've walked alone full to the gills from Tramco & town to Ranelagh and......

walked from Coppers too :D