Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No go areas you wouldnt go into in cities or towns?

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Dargle Wood is in Knocklyon, heard loads of gards coming down from Tallaght today. I wouldnt go west of the Square, as in Killinarden, Jobstown, etc.

Ah yes it is, always thought Knocklyon was a quiet area?...It ain't looking good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Indeed. Life was tough growing up on the mean streets of Belgard. There was one time when one of my homies got taken out in a drive-by shooting. Although, when I say shooting, I mean water-bombing. Come to think of it, it was more a cycle-by than a drive-by. All the same, homie took five hits, it's how it is in the hood.

Still, you gotta take life day-by-day in the hood, another day lived is another day survived.

I always thought Belgard sounded a bit like Baghdad. Now I know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Knocklyon rough? Heh, I've had rougher ****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Stillorgan
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfqlgbgbey/

wonder whats the craic with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Knocklyon rough? Heh, I've had rougher ****es.

But there was a handful of violent incidents in one specific corner of it so the entire place is now a no-go area. Wake up, super_furry!

A bit like Clontarf with shootings, murders, drug seizures, robbery, assaults..its out of control!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055075979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Its been 18 years since I lived in Dublin, but the dodgy places I remember from then were Darndale, Neilstown, Oldbawn ... My brother lived near the centre of Clondalkin vollage but my bus home passed by Neilstown and I have never seen as many burnt out houses and cars. What surprised me about Darndale were the gangs hanging around on corners, some of the guys were definitely in their 30's...

My brother left the area after a stolen truck was joyridden around his estate and they knocked down half the garden walls in the estate, destroyed a load of cars as well ... the guards didnt come until the next day.

I lived up near Dolphins Barn, I remember someone telling me that the knackers stoned (i.e. threw stones) the fire brigade when they turned up to put out the fire at the ice rink. Lots of little alleys that I wouldn't walk down at night (was one going from Rathmines passing a barracks - badly lit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

I have lived in inchicore, dolphins barn and Black Pits and would walk down any street in Dublin city centre day or night.

That said I have only visted Jobstown and Fettercairn once becuase I have no interest in going back. Fettercairn has really been the only place in Dublin where I have thought I was in a very dangerous place (Im sure any Fettercairn residents reading this are laughing their bollocks off).

Im not a hardman nor a wimp my attitude has allways been of the view that if you have scumbags coming up to you giving you hassel you must show no fear you would be amazed the amount of times "ah here I was only messing with you" when they realise that you are not a easy mark.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

darkman2 wrote:
    I was just listening about a 16 year old boy who literally got the sh*t kicked out of him by a few 20+ year old gougers at 1 in the afternoon on that street for no reason all

What are you on about?

Those inner-city folk are the 'salt of the earth'. Genuine Dubs.

Won't hear a word said against them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Tis shockin the amount of fear and paranoia that exists amongst Boardsies, that said tho thereare a few areas around that produce the majority of the Scumbags, its just political History that they live in the same areas, whada ya expect 100000 people to do when all they have one Pub and a stupid pointy shoppin centre*.

if anyone wants to experience actual 'in fear for your life' Terror PM me, I'm going back to the south end of Bougainville in a few weeks to extract some machinery. I can prety much guarantee that you will be at least shot AT.

you think Scummers are bad ( well allright they are ) but they aint starvin heavily armed militia men still fighting a civil war, and whatever about walkin/runnin try drivin a CAT6 Dozer out with no cab at 15mph.

* may have been exagerated for effect

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Pfft! Marlborough st?! I hear its full of fags... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Puzzler28

Corduff is a no go area after dark and Blakestown ain't pretty either. The buses get shot at with air rifles as they speed through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Ballymun, and I don't mind Tallaght, been there a few times!

Went to Ballymun once to view an apartment cause it was cheap, never again!
    The stink of the place, smells like garbage and the locals looked like they had just recently crawled from a rather shallow gene pool! *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭poker_face

It sounds like there's alot of pussies posting here. If someone believed every poster on this forum then they'd conclude that there's no safe area in dublin. I've lived in Ringsend and Inchicore and I never once felt unsafe in either area's during the day or night. In fact myself and my mate used to play football on the basketball courts near St Michaels estate with some of the young fella's. The worst I've ever seen in Inchicore was drunken ignorent travellers shouting abuse at foreigners. Even the foreigners seemed unphased with this, they just shrugged their shoulders and continued on.

From what I've heard and seen the worst area's in dublin seems to be Neilstown, Jobstown, Crumlin and Finglas.

I'm from Galway and I don't know of any area in which I wouldn't feel safe walking in. Admittedly, I don't know much about castle park as I'm from the other end of the city. Westside used to be pretty bad back in the day but I'd still feel safe walking through it. Obviously I would have avoided walking through the flats in the middle of the night for a short cut but even if I did I reckon I'd be okay.

For the most part if you go about your own business confidently you'll be okay, alot of scumbags can sense fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭poker_face

It sounds like there's alot of pussies posting here. If someone believed every poster on this forum then they'd conclude that there's no safe area in dublin. I've lived in Ringsend and Inchicore and I never once felt unsafe in either area's during the day or night. In fact myself and my mate used to play football on the basketball courts near St Michaels estate with some of the young fella's. The worst I've ever seen in Inchicore was drunken ignorent travellers shouting abuse at foreigners. Even the foreigners seemed unphased with this, they just shrugged their shoulders and continued on.

From what I've heard and seen the worst area's in dublin seems to be Neilstown, Jobstown, Crumlin and Finglas.

I'm from Galway and I don't know of any area in which I wouldn't feel safe walking in. Admittedly, I don't know much about castle park as I'm from the other end of the city. Westside used to be pretty bad back in the day but I'd still feel safe walking through it. Obviously I would have avoided walking through the flats in the middle of the night for a short cut but even if I did I reckon I'd be okay.

For the most part if you go about your own business confidently you'll be okay, alot of scumbags can sense fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Puzzler28 wrote:
    Corduff is a no go area after dark and Blakestown ain't pretty either. The buses get shot at with air rifles as they speed through

Walked through both places many times at night and never been shot at !
    There are some dodgy people but not as bad as made out !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭hanni1234

Yeah funny i looked at that post and i had just been talking about Malborough st the other day to the lad beside me in work. We work in Talbot st and every day on the way to and from work i have to walk through Malborough St constantly expecting to be spat on for wearing a suit or worse. Ive never seen such scum in my whole life. Felt a little sorry for a group of spanish students this morning who got off their bus there only to be greeted by the heads coming out of the Metadone clinic. Maybe they deserved it actually for shouting on the bus:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭hanni1234

Talbot St is also a kip by the way with scum bags with all kinds of growths and limps banging into you. Its like a scene from Thriller til but then there's the Polish women there to cheer you up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i remember a few years ago, when i lived in London, heading to a party in Brixton with a freind of mine , who was black . We headed to the Brixton flats after closing time , to get some accessories (better value) , he told me to stay outside a particluar block (unsafe for whities) , while waiting this crew of ghetto blasting home boys ariived .. i then realised why weed was illegal ... stopped smoking awhile later :) -- certainly during my weed smoking phase , i went to a few dodgy areas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

darkman2 wrote:
    I have a mate who makes it his buisness not to walk down Talbot st from Connolly station under any circumstances because what he says is the amount of scum around that area at all times of the day never mind at night.

nonsense.

been walking down Talbot every day for many years.

marlborough is ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Haven't walked down it but that liffey board walk seems to house quite a few undesirables

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

cson wrote:
    Haven't walked down it but that liffey board walk seems to house quite a few undesirables

I was heading into work at 8 one morning and a scumbag asked me "anything about?" like i was one of them..i was incandescent with rage at the time but on mature reflection it would explain a lot!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

Yore Ma's house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a regular in the pub i work in was telling me earlier this evening that there is near full-on gang warfare in kingswood/tymon north and killinarden in tallaght, so 'maybe' they are areas to be avoided, although i have always said killarden is the roughest area in dublin. it makes me laugh when southsiders slag the northside for being a 'knacker' area when all sorts of sh*t happen all over the southside, and im a southsider myself. bad stuff happens everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

After living in finglas for most of my life, finglas at night is a no go area IMO

After being stabbed by a junkie beside the LUAS stop behind ST. James's I generally try to avoid it at night if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I think it's only non-dubs that are afraid of Dublin
    I go all over the place all the time

maybe not at night, but that's because my mam wants me home at 10 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

there is near full-on gang warfare in kingswood/tymon north and killinarden in tallaght, so 'maybe' they are areas to be avoided, although i have always said killarden is the roughest area in dublin.

I was brought up in Killinarden and my parents still live there. I haven't noticed any boys-in-the-hood type bloodbaths there recently and I visit 1-2 times a week.

As Super Furry has pointed out, the homies are instead dropping like flies in Belgard. :D

The idea that you are instantly in danger by walking through Killinarden seems ridiculous to me.

Growing up nobody believed me that there was no-go areas in Monkstown , in the heart of south County Dublin .
    Although derelict now , heres the proof

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/737847770/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/737847816/

Jayzus, i've passed thru Monkstown maybe twice in my lifetime, that place in the photos must be well hidden.

Now Monkstown is defo on the list of no-go areas!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

those flats are part of the lovely monkstown farm, great area;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

After being stabbed by a junkie beside the LUAS stop behind ST. James's I generally try to avoid it at night if I can.
    Impressive... Correct use of the apostrophe.... a very rare sight.

those flats are part of the lovely monkstown farm, great area;)

The Farm is grand, i used to live nearby , although the Farm House used to be a bit intimadating -- the council basically created a ghetto behind McCormacks pub, hiden away from the public eye -- its been all renovated now into luxiourous apartments , some social , but mainly private -- so the Farm will become quite posh soon !

10 years ago , i went into those flats , and it was scary , like a scene from the living dead , all adults appeared stoned , with that heroin vacant look. I left pretty smartly !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

My original estimation that AH users are pussies has gone up from 30 per cent to around 60 per cent. Somebody give me an example of an area they have spent time in before they call it a hole or fúck off back to Bel Air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

a regular in the pub i work in was telling me earlier this evening that there is near full-on gang warfare in kingswood/tymon north and killinarden in tallaght

I spent my years aged 4-9 in Tymon North. I wouldn't live there now though. Even back then there were "families" known in the neighbourhood but it's probably massively escalated since then.

Kenny 5 wrote:
    I spent my years aged 4-9 in Tymon North. I wouldn't live there now though. Even back then there were "families" known in the neighbourhood but it's probably massively escalated since then.

Nah, it hasn't. I used to live close by there, never a bother.
    I see more grief in Smithfield now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

stovelid wrote:
    I was brought up in Killinarden and my parents still live there. I haven't noticed any boys-in-the-hood type bloodbaths there recently and I visit 1-2 times a week.

As Super Furry has pointed out, the homies are instead dropping like flies in Belgard. :D

The idea that you are instantly in danger by walking through Killinarden seems ridiculous to me.
    I second this, I dont live there but I dont live that far from Killinarden, and I work with someone who lives and socialises around that area, I haven't heard any stories of that nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Shanegggg

Used to help out in a homework placement thing in the flats in monkstown.Was a transition year component!

We always used to sh1t ourselves coming out of there cos there was loads of scoobies around. Once r twice we got chased with pelets guns. Wouldn't have minded that much but the homework place was at the very back to the right!! :o

Never realised the place existed untill we had go there!!

Shanegggg wrote:
    Used to help out in a homework placement thing in the flats in monkstown.Was a transition year component!

We always used to sh1t ourselves coming out of there cos there was loads of scoobies around. Once r twice we got chased with pelets guns. Wouldn't have minded that much but the homework place was at the very back to the right!! :o

Never realised the place existed untill we had go there!!

We had a couple of scrapes outside "the lee" shop , luckily no guns , pen knives and head buts -- but no one believed us this this could happen in "plush" Monkstown :)

For me, the south quays out towards Heuston. Had a bit of an incident outside the Statoil garage back in March, I'd take the 79 or the Luas out to Heuston now rather than walk it.

Not sure if anyone mentioned Ballyfermot, where I used live all those years ago. My no-go area there is Colepark Road/Avenue/Drive, all those roads behind the shops.