Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fri July 6th 19:00 Wesley College -v- Stab City Strikers - CUP GAME

• 03-07-2007 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

We play Stab City Strikers on Friday, in the Cup. They play in Division Six, where they have played twelve games. They won their first game, and have drawn two others, losing nine.

But we all know the form book goes out the window in Cup Competitions :D

I hope everyone can make it lads, it's be nice to put a cup run together I think.

Same drill as for the other matches.

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - unknown
    Geoff - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

by the way wesley college is between marlay park and sandyford

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - probably can't
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - unknown
    Geoff - unknown
    Others - none yet

I think I will be stuck out in punchestown at ******, working. Not as good as it may sound. Would really much prefer to play so we'll see what the story is closer to friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

Thanks for volunteering me:p but yeah I'll be there

LoBo wrote:
    Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - have to work
    Michael - unknown
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - unknown
    Geoff - unknown
    Others - none yet
    heh, dunno how I managed that but there ya go. I can't play tomorrow anyway, confirmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - unknown
    Geoff - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Quball15

hey guys, im in france for the next 5 weeks on holidays. apologies for not posting sooner but i didnt get near the internet until now.
    best of luck with the games.

ciao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 niallnow

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - unknown
    Geoff - unknown
    Others - none yet

I'll have my cousin (Mike) with me either way, so you can play him if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Others - none yet

I'll have my cousin (Mike) with me either way, so you can play him if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - Will be there
    John - unavailable

Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 42 mrgavo

Jules - Holidays
    Carl (keeper) - Will be There
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - Will be there
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - none yet

Cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I'm going to try make it out to this tomorrow straight from work. I couldn't make the last game we played at 6:45 so I don't want to say I'll be there when I've no idea if I'll make it or not.

It doesn't look like we'll mke the numbers, or we'll be stretched at the very best.

I'm sticking an appeal for players in the Soccer Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - none yet

Lovin' the pink Ste :D

Had to be different. :)

It's actually a very manly Magenta I'll have you know.

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Special Guest Appearance - Sav
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - still injured
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - none yet

should be ok to play on tuesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Wobbler

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - injured
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - still injured
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - none yet

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - injured
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - injured
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Michael

Only ten players lads :eek:

We need at least one more - anyone any mates that want to play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - Will be there.
    Colm Field - injured
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - injured
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Michael

Only ten players lads

Jules - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Will Be There
    Shay - Will be there
    John - Unavailable
    Mikie - Will Be There
    Colm Field - injured
    Niall - Will be there
    Ed - injured
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Holidays
    Geoff - Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Michael, Darren from last season, Niall's Friend Larry

And possibly one or two more...

Sorry des , only in the door now. Dont know how i mixed up the times. coild have sworn it was kicking off at 9, would have brought my gear to work otherwise. Counting above you should have had enough hopefully. Appologies again.

Yeah, no bother Ste.

Well lads, that's one of my proudest moments as manager of this team, well done to you all, great effort put in, and finally we got our rewards for that. Too many games have gone by when we've said 'We should've won that one' or 'We didn't deserve to lose'. Remember, that team play five divisions above us, and we matched them in every area of the pitch tonight. I can't fault anyone's performance or effort, we kept going for the full match. Well done.

Feck it, I'm doing a match report.

We were forced to start with nine players when new player Michael was told to leave because of having no shin pads, fair play to the other team for lending us a pair! Then the ref was going to put us a goal down for having no ball, when Mikie said he had one in the boot of his car, and ran off to get it. Anyway, the game started, and we were unlucky to go one down after about ten minutes. They made some slick passes and the final ball looked to be sneaking wide before a toe poke took it past Carl. Unlucky. The heads didn't drop though, and we kept going. Dogged defending from the new look back four, calm on the ball and always trying the easy, simple ball allowed us to string passes together and keep the ball.

Michael, our usual left back, swung in a couple of nice free kicks from around the half-way line, but no-one was able to get on the end of them. Indeed, he seemed to injure himself, so our threadbare squad was stretched even further when a re-shuffle in the back four at half time was needed. Geoff, who started at centre back, moved to left full, and new man Stuart went centre half beside Manchester Mike, and the first of the returning old boys, Darren, put in a sterling performance at right full.

Just in front of the back four, in the holding midfield role, with his usual never-say-die performance was Shay. Further up the field, in the attacking midfield/playmaker role was the other returning old boy Sav, full of his usual composure on the ball. Laying off the ball, and trying to create the chances.

On the flanks we had Niall and Larry, who both put in tireless effort. Both in coming to the aid of the full backs, and giving a dig out in the middle. All that with attacking and feeding the forwards too.

The versatile Joe and Mikie led the line, fought for every scrap and never gave up chasing.

Midway through the second half I felt we needed a little extra up front, so a bit of chopping and changing, I brought Michael back into the fray, moved Manchester Mike into the midfield and pushed Sav up front, Geoff went back to centre half and Michael back to left back. Mikie made way. Manchester Mike's composure on the ball was a great plus in the middle of the pitch, and the changes soon paid off as Sav finished off one of our attacks to make it 1-1 with about fifteen to go. We were attacking all second half, and the goal was inevitable. We deserved it.

We were starting to tire, so to add a bit of steel to the midfield swapped winger Niall with Joe. We could have won it when a couple of opportunities came our way from outside the box, it wasn't to be though.

The ref blew for full time, and the resulting penalties. We all came together in the middle, and I asked who'd take the penalties. The brave men were Manchester Mike, Sav, Michael, Joe and Niall. Captain for the day Shay won the coin toss, and elected to go second in the shoot out. The tension was unbelievable. I now hate penalty shoot outs because of it, all sympathy to all other managers in the world!

SCS scored their first. 1-0.

Up stepped Manchester Mike. He coolly slotted home. 1-1. Nice one.

SCS missed the next one. Hit the bar. Still 1-1.

Sav, with the pressure on to put us ahead, was calmness personified. 2-1.

The third SCS penalty was saved by the ever-reliable Carl.

The brave, injured, Michael went to the spot. Unfortunately his kick was saved. Still 2-1 to Boardeaux.

SCS up again. Hit the bar again. Still 2-1!

As Joe climbed into the pressure cooker, knowing his shot could send us through, he was unruffled.

The net bulged.

Boardeaux were through!! 3-1 on penalties!

A night to remember from those heroic Boys of Boardeaux!

Enough to bring a tear to the eye of even the coldest-hearted bastard!

Well done lads. I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

fair play lads,well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Nice one lads and thanks to those who helped out!

After lugging a gear bag half away across the city center twice on Friday, my effort was in vain. I didnt get outa work till 8 that evening.