Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Screeching / smoking tires - serious damage?

Options
  • 07-07-2007 8:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

OK, here goes!

I'm still learning to drive and am quite confident in most cars i've been in - but i'd to drive a Opel Corsa for a friend today, and i was told the clutch was tricky (i didn't like the car - as the gearstick wasn't set into a base, it was very loose which i found difficult and also the handbrake was level when it was up, and sunk into the base when it was down - all a bit different for me, and confusing!). Was grand driving it until i'd to stop at lights and for some reason, it'd conk out when i'd start.

So i may have applied to much gas and the tires screeches a couple of times - first time it's h appened so was a bit scary to say the least. And when i got out, some smoke was coming from the tires was a minute or two. i realised the handbrake may have down for a short time. But i drove it fine after that.

Should i bring it to be checked? I'd feel extremely guilty if something happened him or the car because of this. I know very little about the internals of cars so any explanation as to why this would have happened would be appreciated.

PS - i'd presume here is more suitable than learning to drive