Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin team to play Laois announced [LSFC Final Game Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭mobby

deise59 wrote:
    Well if you want to dive into the archives I'm sure there are a few in the Dublin cabinet. Ciaran Whelan against Mayo last year anyone?

nah that was just a mistimed tackle :D anyway enough for me. some of us have to work tomorrow not like all ye rich country farmers :rolleyes: anyway deise59 I hope waterford win the all ireland (hurling that is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

BLUE AAAAAAARRRRRMMMMMMMYYYYYYYY!!!!!! 3 in a row :D

Great win for the dubs. Bit lazy getting to the man at stages though, hopefully they'll have the rectified before the next match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Kenny 5 wrote:
    BLUE AAAAAAARRRRRMMMMMMMYYYYYYYY!!!!!! 2 in a row :D

Great win for the dubs. Bit lazy getting to the man at stages though, hopefully they'll have the rectified before the next match.

Is it not 3 in a row.....:rolleyes:

I realy hope Dublin can manage to stumble through another match or two and meet us (Kerry), it will give the Dubs some perspective on where their game is really at !
    Doubt they will beat the next decent side they play, good teams will punish them more than Laois could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭robo

dcr22B wrote:
    Gentlemen,

I'm smelling the Meath/Kildare resentment a lot here in relation to the Dubs. When you finally get to our level, by all means come on here and have a pop at us but until then we'll let our winning do the talking.

I am from Kildare and not a gentleman...but I was looking for Dublin to beat Laois yesterday...they are the best team in Leinster, but I really don't know if they have enough skill to beat the other teams! If I was a Dub, I would be hoping that my team can go out and now have a good lash and get to the final...there is no reason why they shouldn't!!! They have won a lot of Leinsters and should have got to more All-Irelands than what they have gone to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Thought the Leinster Final was a poor game really. Dublin looked a lot more tough and physical than Laois, and out muscled them really. The amount of space players found themselves in was shocking, and won't happen in the latter knockout stages, when teams tighten up, as it'll be a win or your out situation.

Its hard to asses whether Dublin can win the AI based on what we've seen of them so far. I can't wait to see the Dubs play Tyrone, or Kerry. That'll be a truer test of how good they really area.

On Vaughans taunting: personally I thought it was disgraceful and I don't know how anybody can try and reconcile it really. The Dubs were miles better, and certainly there was no need for the pettiness showed by himself, Alan Brogan, and the sub that came on near the end. Theres such a thing as being bad winners too lads!!! Donaghy did something similar last year, and he got loads of gip from his team mates, and went on tv the next week apologising for his stupidity. Take note Mark Vaughan!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Vaughan is thick. He has a history of reacting to opponents who goad him or needle him. He seems to have cut out the reactions now, in the physical sense anyway. Rooney was at him from the first minute. The goal was an opportunity to vent. But Ronney was well up for it and gave as much back - no big deal, no need for any of the crying.

Byron and the two backs were trying to goad Brogan and Bonner into some handbags stuff at the end. Bonner started to push back, but then copped on, the game was over no need to get involved. Just step back and point to the scoreboard. Far better than getting involved in the fisticuffs the Laois lads were looking for. Again, you have plenty of idiots on this board who just want to have a go at the Dubs, and didnt post one word on the actual performance.

There's a helluva lot of counties who'd like to have someone as "useless" as Whelan on their team. :D:D:D What a majestic performance.

I think Laois are a good team. They are closer to the Dubs than the scoreboard suggested. No reason they can't beat Derry and have a good lash at whoever they're drawn against in the quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

three in a row now and I can barely talk as my voice is gone but the main issue in my mind now is when Plan B 2007 will be on youtube :D

The Dubs were great yesterday.I think they are actually farther ahead than Laois than most people think.The first Laois goal was gift wrapped by the referee.Should have been a free to Dublin.The Laois fans in the Hogan were taunting us on the Nally/Hill when Munnelly scored.

The second goal totally deflated Laois.Then those same Laois fans got what was coming to them...payback.:D

I thought Laois were the more attacking team and seemed to have a bit more possession of the ball in the second half.Paul Griffin played out of his skin and Paul Casey was a weak link in my opinion.He played mediocre.Ryan and Brogan were getting back at times.Laois were unlucky with that other goal chance hitting the bar.

Its our year again in Leinster.Up the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

An Citeog wrote:
    If you actually look closely at the incident, you'll see that Vaughan didn't make any kind of 'obscene gesture'. It was his index finger and little finger. Strange, but not exactly obscene :p

Get over it, players all over the country react and do stupid things on the pitch all the time. It's not just a Dublin thing ;)

Vaughans behaviour was disgracefull. 3 of the commentators mentioned it and got good digs at hime. hes a fantastic talent but after yesterdays behaviour i couldnt give a toss. At the end of the day, they Dubs were far from impressive, they steam rolled a few goals, but for all their position, laois took their points better. If Laois had more luck they would have taken them. The dubs went asleep again in second half. It was dublins better performance by far. But still not impressed by the,. I suppose the only thing for them is, no one has really being impressive so far. Even Tyrone went to sleep yesterday, so they could still win an all ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

I was at the game yesterday and it was a good win by Dublin after a shakey and less than impressive start. There are still a lot of weaknesses in the team that need to be ironed out.

The defense needs to thighten up on their men. For me the full back line were too far off their men and this was giving time for the Laois players to turn and pick their scores or a pass. Ross McConnell was guilty of this at the start of the game but got better as the game went on. The defense as whole got better as the game went on but I still feel they were not tight enough and another team on another day would have destroyed us.

In midfield we need to able to compete for the full 70 minutes. Whelan had a good game yesterday but was missing for the last 10 - 15 minutes of the second half. For me Whelan always seems to go missing for the 10 - 15 mintues in each half. Ryan as usual worked himself into the ground but I think he started to suffer at the end.

The forwards need to start playing as a team rather than a bunch of individuals. Dublin should have got at least one more goal and few more points in the second half except for the forwards not passing the ball and trying to do it themselves.

In general the Dubs need to improve big time if we are in with a realistic chance of winning Sam. Unless improvements are made in the decision making of the forwards and Dubs actually playing for 70 minutes I cant see us winning Sam.

As for the match itself Laois came out at the start and tried to intimidate the Dubs, I dont if anyone else say the Kick the Laois number 10 landed on Moran when he was on the ground after they both dragged each other the ground. The incidents at the end of the match were just frustration on the part of the Laois players. It happens in a lot of games from club level right up. I know I have played at Senior level in Dublin and have played down the country and it happens there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Ha Ha, I knew I'd come on here this morning and read the same old rubbish about the gloating scumbag Dubs. Nothing probably would have been made of it either it it wasn't that myopic commentator on RTE going on about how he didn't like to see it. Of course he seemed to have missed the provocation the Dublin players in these incidents were given.

What would people prefer, the players to lash back out or engage in a bit of pushing and barging or just walk away and let the score speak for itself, which they did.

There's a picture in todays Times taken just after Vaughan scored and the Laois player was raising a clenched fist to him, but that's ok isn't it ? There was also no obscene gestures made. Tom Humphries also commented on this and said that the Dublin players just walked away from everything, he didn't seem to think they were inglorious in their victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

The reaction to Dublin's childish actions is amazing, you'd swear they were the only team to ever engage in something like this. Laois are a team often portrayed as angels, but I have noticed unsavoury behaviour from them on numerous occassions myself! This type of thing happens in football and should be frowned upon but not blown out of proportion-the important thing is the actual football.

Dublin are better than they have been in recent years, but I'm not convinced that they will show the same promise when put against a team like Kerry. Does anyone know who they're up against next?

I have to admit that Laois looked dangerous at times yesterday.I feared in the first 20 minutes that Laois could run away with it but this is Dublin,a team you can never count out.

This whole argument about Vaughn is ridiculous.I've read it on other forums too.I just think its a scapegoat,grasping at straws effort by anti-Dubliners to put a shadow on our victory.Well they can try but they can't hide from the fact that Dublin were the stronger team even if our marking was a bit lacksadaisical at times.We fully deserved the win and those two goals really poured the water on Laois fire.

Dublin were very guilty of kicking balls to the Laois defence and half back line.Laois were also guilty of this.Some kick passing was going astray and some of the lads were not jumping up for balls due to the interesting prospect of the bounce.You'd swear we had a drought and the ground was so dry.

Anyway,let us celebrate our Leinster victory.We know tougher opposition awaits but for now we are on a high and nothing can bring us down.From the remaining teams you'd swear its a four horse race with Tyrone,Kerry,Dublin and Cork but Monaghan and Derry are two teams that could serve up more surprises.Louth got the hard draw and yes coming from me,I think they deserved to draw either Meath,Derry or Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,864 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Jip wrote:
    Tom Humphries also commented on this and said that the Dublin players just walked away from everything, he didn't seem to think they were inglorious in their victory.

Sure Tom would say that. He's as big a Dublin fan as most of those standing on the hill. Probably more so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

Laois players were in the dubs ears from before throw in yesterday, you could clearly see this if you were at the game, mouthing off in their faces before a ball had been kicked so I believe the over celebration was a reaction to this.

The Brogan/Bonner incident towards the end, Laois players were trying to provoke a fight from the players in an effort to get them sent off, they almost had them too, luckily the players had the sense to realise that there was no point in possibly missing the next game by lashing out at the already beaten Laois team

Dublin 3-14 Laois 1-14

I think that scoreline is the only thing that matters don't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Nah, not really. Better team won alright but there were some incidents in the game that need a little attention. Did they highlight the Brogan incident last night and harp on about it for 10 minutes like they did with Geraghty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

One post reads above that the ref gift wrapped Laois a goal. No such mention of Dublins gift wrapped goal. Cullen took at least 8 steps with the ball before he was ever fouled.

The antics of Brogan and Bonner were nothing short of disgraceful. Any player who resorts to that showboating doesn't deserve the respect of his fellow players. How some of you Dubs are justifying it is beyond comprehension. There is absolutely no place for it in the game of GAA from any team.

In general I actually like the Dubs but when things like that happen it's hard to stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

clg23 wrote:
    Laois players were in the dubs ears from before throw in yesterday, you could clearly see this if you were at the game, mouthing off in their faces before a ball had been kicked so I believe the over celebration was a reaction to this.

That's the way I saw it too. It was a bit childish alright and I've no doubt that it will come back to haunt them but ffs people get a grip. It was only a bit of showboating by a few young lads, no harm done except to their own reputation as sportsmen.

Fair play to Dublin they made it look handy enough. It was a more mature performance and i think Dublin are starting to realise that they have to play for 70 mins to win a game. They went quiet for 15/20 mins in the second half and nearly paid the price but all in all, a good performance. I thought Laois would give them a better game but they have not performed to their best yet this season.

You don't have to like the Dubs, you just have to beat them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Don't worry about us, we're doing fine thank you very much. Hardly nit-picking is it? Quite an obvious full punch. As for Clancy, it was more two quick flicks of the wrist than a punch in fairness. You cannot say the two were the same.

And finally getting to the Dubs level? :D We'll never stoop that low in all honesty. Should see us contending for an All-Ireland in three or four years time I feel.
    Here we go again. Its kinda like being stuck on a roundabout with this. Cant compare it to Clancys as his was only 1 punch extra, that certain meath player was 2 closed fist punches more but of course Brogans was worse, dont know why....possibly the colour of his jersey or something. As for the gloating, very unsporting but they were being constantly nudged and pushed around by the Laoismen off the ball towards the end. Choices, start pushing back and risk a banning for the next game or gloat back at them, hurting them more than any shove or slap could and risk nothing. Not condoning it but not condoning the abuse they were getting from the Laois players and are getting on here now either.

Anyway, great result for a rather poor game. Looked early on as tho it could be a cracker but it faded drastically. If an AI is gonna be on the cards we will have to sort that defence out. Apart from Griffin they were awful. Still, a break now till the next one and some time to work on our weaknesses so hopefully we will see a more complete bunch of scumbags the next day out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

to be honest, im just discusted at some of the comments made by dublin fans on here - it says a lot about your own lives and personalities if you condone what went on yesterday. The actions of some of the dublin players yesterday were a complete discrace. Dublin were by far the best footballing team - nobody is denying that. However the actions of some of their players cannot be accepted in sport - what they were at was 1 step away from spitting in a beaten opponents face..... if i was one laois players i would have completely lost it and took the heads of them....... it dosnt really matter what i say because all the dub fans will just say im anti - dublin and a bitter meath fan.

Well youse can say what youse want. I just think it went to far yesterday - unsurprisingly the dublin based gaa media have not said a word about it today. Bernard Flynn said it was a discrace what happened in the mirror - but sure youse will just say hes a bitter meath fan as well......

to be honest, im just discusted at some of the comments made by dublin fans on here - it says a lot about your own lives and personalities if you condone what went on yesterday. The actions of some of the dublin players yesterday were a complete discrace. Dublin were by far the best footballing team - nobody is denying that. However the actions of some of their players cannot be accepted in sport - what they were at was 1 step away from spitting in a beaten opponents face..... if i was one laois players i would have completely lost it and took the heads of them....... it dosnt really matter what i say because all the dub fans will just say im anti - dublin and a bitter meath fan.

Well youse can say what youse want. I just think it went to far yesterday - unsurprisingly the dublin based gaa media have not said a word about it today. Bernard Flynn said it was a discrace what happened in the mirror - but sure youse will just say hes a bitter meath fan as well......

Meathman

Any criticism of Dublin no matter how valid = anti-Dublin propaganda spread by bitter culchies.

Once you come to accept this things will be a lot easier.:D

blackbelt wrote:
    The Laois fans in the Hogan were taunting us on the Nally/Hill when Munnelly scored.

Cumon BB, stop lying. We all know its only the Dubs that go for this kind of unsportsmanlike scumbaggery. ;) As i was saying yesterday, where is the Dublin v Louth thread?? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Lads lads lads, for those going on about how disgraceful the Dubs where, WTF about the off the ball nonsense such as the sly digs and shoves from the Laois players that provoked the response ? Seeing as none of you mentioned it can I take it that you all think that's perfectly acceptable, i.e. it's perfectly fine to hit a player off the ball, in fact when the ball is at the other end of the pitch, but do not DARE respond with the pointing of a finger to a scoreboards.
    Hypocrites the lot of you.

When it comes down to it the showboating whatever you want to call it was a better reaction than if brogan or bonner had of lashed back at some of laois players who were provoking a reaction. If a fight had of started you can be sure it would have spiralled with many more players becoming involved and I would prefer to see a bit of celebrating over a mass brawl any day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

A paragraph of pure unadulterated nonsense. Well done.

Meathman

Any criticism of Dublin no matter how valid = anti-Dublin propaganda spread by bitter culchies.

Not at all. But comments like this speak for themselves. How many people on this thread have criticised the performance of Dublin or any part of the game? Seems to be all about one incident where players decided not to start getting involved in pushing ect. Criticise our performance if you like, i did! Say that what Brogan did was unsporting if you like, but calling the entire Dublin team scumbags for one little incident is plain anti Dublin. If you cant see that.....well, im not gonna say as i could be banned for personal abuse

Meathman

youve made my day with that response - so if you criticise anything in life it makes you anti - it. lol youre a funny man

In fairness, the last sentance isnt nonsense. What he says doesnt matter to us. Its a broken record and really doesnt concern us.

fair enough, so you condone what went on yesterday? - if you do. it says everything that needs to be known about your morals.....

youve made my day with that response - so if you criticise anything in life it makes you anti - it. lol youre a funny man
    Holy god, was he not being sarcastic?? Either you completely missed that meathman or i dreamt it up. I dont know which!

Lads I'd say most of ye have never set foot on a Gaelic football pitch in your lives judging by some of the replies.

Basic footballing etiquette 101: You never do anything to try and humiliate or belittle your opponents on the field of play (apart from on the scoreboard that is). The showboating by messers Brogan and Bonner did exactly that.

If you get some verbals or get a shove on the field of play you either ignore them or you give back some verbals of your own and push back. This is accepted.

What is frowned upon is trying to belittle your opponents by pointing at scoreboards, gesturing to the crowd, roaring and yelling into their faces and jumping up and down in front of them like a chimp.

Lesson concluded.:D

Lads I'd say most of ye have never set foot on a Gaelic football pitch in your lives judging by some of the replies.

Basic footballing etiquette 101: You never do anything to try and humiliate or belittle your opponents on the field of play (apart from on the scoreboard that is). The showboating by messers Brogan and Bonner did exactly that.

If you get some verbals or get a shove on the field of play you either ignore them or you give back some verbals of your own and push back. This is accepted.

What is frowned upon is trying to belittle your opponents by pointing at scoreboards, gesturing to the crowd, roaring and yelling into their faces and jumping up and down in front of them like a chimp.

Lesson concluded.:D

Funny you should say chimp - it kind of reminded me of martin 'the chimp' keown yesterday - how van nistillrooy and the laois players didnt lash out is beyond me....

I seem to remember Clancy (i think it was) a few years back laughing in the face of an opponent after getting a free in a game they were winning. How is it that things like this dont get the same frowns? Im not saying what brogan did was right but you guys really need to chill out a bit. Its not something that never happens in GAA, if you think this is the first time its happened, well, you really dont have a clue then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭niallo32

Not to mention the booing of the Laois minors.

The Laois Minors were getting clapped by the Hill until they decided to start giving the fingers to the Dublin fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

clg23 When it comes down to it the showboating whatever you want to call it was a better reaction than if brogan or bonner had of lashed back at some of laois players who were provoking a reaction. If a fight had of started you can be sure it would have spiralled with many more players becoming involved and I would prefer to see a bit of celebrating over a mass brawl any day...

Without a shadow of a doubt.......what i saw were 2 lads not lowering themselves to gettin into a fight with 3 laois fella who understandably were pissed off and frustrated!!!!!!!

lets face it the laois minors tried to get a response from the hill when they ran by with their cup....all teams do and to be honest i dont think it a deal nor do i think its unsporting

My main grievence at the moment is abd's. even though we are a leinster team not one single county from leinster will support us when we play a team from outside the provence. GET OFF THE ANTI DUB BANDWAGON

not all people from limerick carry knifes and stab
    not all people from wexford are travellers or sell strawberries
    not all people peope from cork say "langer"
    and not all dubs are scumbags

i said donaghy was an idiot for what he did last year, ive said the same about what the dublin players did yesterday - if people could just admit it was wrong what happened - this whole debate would be over....

etiqutte my arse, if i'm in my opponents ear for the whole game telling them there sh1te etc and they skin me a few times so I decide to start punching them off the ball I wont be too surprised if in the end they point it out to me that I was very wrong.. As I have said it is better tham a brawk at a point in the game where its pretty much over

No meathman, you said Donaghy was an idiot, you said the Dublin players are scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Bonner and Brogan should have walked away. They could as easily just muttered it into the ears of the Laois lads as opposed to what they did. I for one hope that Piller tore strips off them in the dressing room about it. All that it has resulted in is supporters and players for the remaining teams getting an insight into their psychology and how to wind them up. A lad on the Res Dubs Board put it simple - to win an AI you have to be almost robotic.

Now, that said, why did their keeper come out to the 21 yard line to get involved? Perhaps he was just coming out to say "well done " to Bonner. Maybe what happened next was actually the Laois players giving him a big hug. I guess it all depends on your perspective.

To my mind the real stories of this match were:

1. After the 50th min it was apparent that Dublin had decided not to go for many scores and to hold onto possession. Twice I saw them just passing back when there were options available.

2. If Laois had gone for points instead of goals they might have got the doubts going in the Dublin team. As it was, they almost scored two. The ease in which they were simply throwing one-twos around the Dublin half back line in the second half was worrying.

3. Dublin had plenty of appalling wides in the second half. Somebody pointed out that there was 15 mins without a score in the second half from the Dubs, again that may be a part of the tactics but the point remains that it was another dozy spell.

4. Speaking of dozy spells, the atmosphere were we were (upstairs in the Cusask on the half way line) was appalling. However, the noise from the Hill was genuinely overwhelming.

5. It was a pity there were relatively few Laois supporters there. I know there have been problems with tickets but the DCB didn't get 60,000 tickets and so the vast majority to tickets were as available to Laoise as to Dublin - Ticketmaster and Leinster Council.

We now have four weeks to the next match. I'm sure that the progress curve will have to rapidly improve to overcome Cork, Kerry and Tyrone. I think that ll the matches from now on will be great entertainment. Also, the number of tickets will start to be greatly reduced and hopefully the likes of the four morons behind me (Dubs) will never darken the place again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Hmmm, some interesting posts. I found the game itself enthralling, swings and roundabouts. Dublin performed quite well, without being phemoninal. Laois didn't quite play to their potential, and if they'd converted more of their scores in the second half it could have been a lot tighter. They definiately were going for goals, when there was easy points for the taking. Worrying for Dublin that they were able to come through the midfield and half backs at times and get to the 14yd line with ease. Again asleep for 15 mins of the second half, but they did get it together. I thought Casey was very weak, could be the end of his campaign, Thierry and Griff were amazing in the corners and they had to be. Great game by Whelo. Solid return from Jayo (but poor shooting), great games from Bernard and Vaughan. Didn't think Alan was great, even though he got a few scores.
    One comment I will on Vaughans goal, I watched the replay closely on the Sunday Game. Cullen definately took 7/8 steps, however, it's very clear that after about 4/5 steps he pulls the leg back to have a shot, at this point a Laois lad (unfairly in my opinion) jump on his and drags him to the ground (after about 2/3 more steps). For this reason I feel it was valid. Someone said earlier that the Laois goal was a bad decision, but it was perfectly legit IMO. Just awful defending from Ross.
    I don't want to get involved in the debate on the whole gloating thing. I feel it's being unneseccarily being blown out of all proportion. Yes it was a bit unsporting, but it wasn't unprovoked. I feel if the shoe was on the other foot, that wouldn't be half as many people on here giving out about it.

Anyway hard luck to Laois, I think ye can give it a good run in the qualifiers, ye still have a big game in you. And Up the Dubs!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Only 1 team in the game yesterday, again though Dublin disappeared for the last 10, the should/could have been pegged back in the period but Laois disappered.

After now seeing Tyrone/Dublin/Kerry in action I see it down between those 3, saying that no one will like Cork or Monaghan. I still think that Kerry are still the favorites, I cannot see Dublin living with either Tyrone or Kerry.

As for the carry on by the Dublin players it just nails the dislike that the other 31 counties now have for Dublin and the now England like arrogance, media hype and under achievement they replicate.
    Yes Dublin can win the All-Ireland but they need to be more clinical and get on with the game.

Also, the number of tickets will start to be greatly reduced and hopefully the likes of the four morons behind me (Dubs) will never darken the place again.
    You think there were morons behind you?? You should have heard the 3 lads behind us on the Hill. I heard alot of their stupid comments and managerial suggestions but missed this one. Thankfully my brother heard it tho...Aparently about 3 times in the game they suggested taking off Keaney and replacing him with Cluxton?!?!? They did aparently correct themselves a good bit later and said Keaney for Cosgrove but jesus christ, why do people like this go to games???

yop wrote:

As for the carry on by the Dublin players it just nails the dislike that the other 31 counties now have for Dublin and the now England like arrogance, media hype and under achievement they replicate.

well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Nah, not really. Better team won alright but there were some incidents in the game that need a little attention. Did they highlight the Brogan incident last night and harp on about it for 10 minutes like they did with Geraghty?

Brogan didn't blatently punch anyone in the head 3 times!

(relax, I'm only trying to get a rise out of you!)

yop, there is nothing any fan can do about the media hype. Thats what they print to sell papers and doesnt represent the views of the majority of fans. I think your mixing up arrogance with county pride. Fair enough, Dublin fans expectations of the team may sometimes be a little optimistic but whos arent? Better to be over-optimistic and show faith in your county team than to be constantly pessimistic. Despite popular opinion, we dont think we are always gonna win the AI. Quite the opposite id say. We think we can win it but know too well that alot of improvement is needed first. As i was saying to Blackbelt and Flukey after the game, if we played like we did yesterday against any stronger team, we would have been truley shown up. At least 2 of our goals were lucky enough, the backs were sloppy and would have been punished alot more severely by stronger opposition. While Dublin have a habit of falling asleep in matches, i dont think i would call them underachievers. 3 Leinsters in a row and a habit of reaching All Ireland quarter and semi finals is not a bad record. I think thats where we are now but lacking the finishing touches that could see Sam come back to Dublin. With a bit of improvement in key areas an AI could become a reality but i dont think it will be this year. Having said that, i certainly wouldnt count us out just yet.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

well said

I say it as a from the "outside" view and from talking to other counties and not a dig at the Dublin fans here.

I have family and friends who are mental Dublin fans and I would be delighted for them to win the All-Ireland as they have as much passion as I have for Mayo football.

Last years All-Ireland semi & final changed my the impression I had about the Dublin fans, we had great crack with them on both days and after spending 4 hours looking for a ticket I ended up in a pub with about 20 Dubs, who gave us great support and keep our spirits up.

All I can say to the Dubs here, I can understand ye are seeing this as a total ABD, but mirror yer impression of Engerlands soccer team and pick out the similarities, unfortunately for ye, there are very similar.

Gluck in the rest of the Championship. Up Mayo (women ;) )

well said
    meathman, why is it that you keep focusing on this incident. Did you bother reading any of his post about the game itself?? Did you even see any of the game apart from this one incident? Have you made one comment about any part of the play? In fact, have you ever commented about a Dublin match but made a reference to the game itself?? Move on with your life and let it go.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    yop, there is nothing any fan can do about the media hype. Thats what they print to sell papers and doesnt represent the views of the majority of fans. I think your mixing up arrogance with county pride. Fair enough, Dublin fans expectations of the team may sometimes be a little optimistic but whos arent? Better to be over-optimistic and show faith in your county team than to be constantly pessimistic. Despite popular opinion, we dont think we are always gonna win the AI. Quite the opposite id say. We think we can win it but know too well that alot of improvement is needed first. As i was saying to Blackbelt and Flukey after the game, if we played like we did yesterday against any stronger team, we would have been truley shown up. At least 2 of our goals were lucky enough, the backs were sloppy and would have been punished alot more severely by stronger opposition. While Dublin have a habit of falling asleep in matches, i dont think i would call them underachievers. 3 Leinsters in a row and a habit of reaching All Ireland quarter and semi finals is not a bad record. I think thats where we are now but lacking the finishing touches that could see Sam come back to Dublin. With a bit of improvement in key areas an AI could become a reality but i dont think it will be this year. Having said that, i certainly wouldnt count us out just yet.

I wouldn't blame Dublin for the media but I don't think those outside the pale take it too well when they open their national papers to see 3 or 4 full pages devoted to the Dubs while their own team might warrant a half page report hidden away somewhere.

Things like that tend to irritate people. Not that the Dubs can do anything about it.

I wouldn't blame Dublin for the media but I don't think those outside the pale take it too well when they open their national papers to see 3 or 4 full pages devoted to the Dubs while their own team might warrant a half page report hidden away somewhere.

Things like that tend to irritate people. Not that the Dubs can do anything about it.
    fully understand that. It used to be just the tabloids that gave so much coverage to Dublin but it seems to have spread to broadsheets nowadays. But maybe, and this isnt at all directed at you btw, writing to the papers about it and making a complaint is better than spouting a load of crap against the Dubs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

yop wrote:
    Yes Dublin can win the All-Ireland but they need to be more clinical and get on with the game.

And what carry on would this be exactly?

English like arrogance? How so?

From where I was sitting it seemed to be the Laois team that initiated the majority of the antagonising and provocative behaviour, and yes, in some instances the Dublin team retaliated physically, in others they merely relied on the cheers of the fans, as opposed to exchanging blows in retaliation.

As for the media hype, well the Dublin team can't really do anything about that. The media will print or broadcast whatever makes them the most money and it would seem that Dublin coverage generates the most cash.

However, I can't understand why either of the above would lead to a growth in dislike of Dublin from the other 31 counties in Ireland. Such a uniformed dislike hardly seems justified.