Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you leave a toddler asleep in a car?

• 11-07-2007 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    I just wanted to ask this question as of a recent event that happened.
    anyway about two weeks ago myself and my mam took my little girl to our local retail pk. When we finished shopping I had started putting my little one into her car seat I noticed a little girl about 1 1/2 fast asleep in the car beside us. I said it to my mam and we decided to wait till some returned to the car. after about ten mins nobody came my mam at this stage was paniking thinking that the parent my have forgotten the child so she decided to ring the guards. it was about 15mins after that that the lady returned to her car with another child with her. my mam confronted the lady and said to her that she really shouldn't leave the child unattended. the women was really smart and commented 'should i not?' in a really smart tone. my mam tried to explain to her especially with recent events (madeline) that anything chould happen but the lady really couldn't see what she did wrong and was annoyed with my mam for calling the guards. she ask my mam to ring the guards and tell them that everything was ok but my mam decided to wait and spoke to the guards when they came. she gave them the reg and they said they'd follow it up. I really hope they do, might teach this lady a valuble lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

:mad: Absolutely disgraceful.

Not just the recent events, there are the physical and mental health aspects.

Was one of the windows partially down to allow air in? Imagine how distraught the child would be if the woke up alone in a car park with no one around.

Shocking …..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭G&T

Something similar happened in a car park near me.
    I passed a car,with a sleeping child alone on my way into pick up a few thing's,took me 10min's.
    When I came out the child was still asleep and alone.
    I waited 10 more min's watching the child but then I had to go,
    I was very tempted to leave a note on the car but didn't,
    It was a warm day and the window's were all up and the car could not be seen from the shop.
    I didn't know what to do!
    I wonder what the guard's will do in this case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

no all windows were up. We weren't sure to leave or not but i just couldn't go, we rang the guards because i wouldn't have been able to wait much longer and if we did go we'd never forgive ourselves if we heard later that day that something did happen and we did nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

No way on earth.

Now this may be an urban legend, but i am almost certain i heard of a case where a man left his newborn in the car, forgot about the baby in the back and went to work, and the baby died. ??

Someone in after hours posted similar last year where a mother regularly left her kids in the car and went to the gym or sunbeds in the gym or something.

WOuld love to know what happened there too as the OP called the guards as well i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭undecided

The same happened me about a year ago a child around eight months was left sleeping in the car. was only waking as I returned to mine the child cried and cried window was closed and was quite hot. waited about 20 mins trying to distract the child to no avail then called security who went through the same proceedure for a further 30mins with the child still frantically crying! Then called the gaurds I got sick of waiting and broke the passenger window and opened the back door and took the child out & gave the child a bottle of my own child.

around 15 min later the mother arrived soon after ther gaurds arrived and the bitch tried to prosecute me for breaking her window! Gaurds said there would be futher action against her took my name but never heard anymore of it !

undecided wrote:
    The same happened me about a year ago a child around eight months was left sleeping in the car. was only waking as I returned to mine the child cried and cried window was closed and was quite hot. waited about 20 mins trying to distract the child to no avail then called security who went through the same proceedure for a further 30mins with the child still frantically crying! Then called the gaurds I got sick of waiting and broke the passenger window and opened the back door and took the child out & gave the child a bottle of my own child.

around 15 min later the mother arrived soon after ther gaurds arrived and the bitch tried to prosecute me for breaking her window! Gaurds said there would be futher action against her took my name but never heard anymore of it !

that makes me sick to be honest, no wonder society is in such a state with this type of neglect and example been shown by parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭RIRI

These are shocking stories lads, surely this is neglect? There have been plenty of occasions where my little lad falls alseep in the car when we're going somewhere, I don't like to wake him so I stay in the car with him so he can have his nap safely. It's disgraceful carry on to leave them alone like that. I wonder what the guards can do though?

Its sickening. There are people crying out for children who cannot have them.

Mothers lose children everyday to illness. Our kids are not safe from sick paedos etc. If we dont protect them who will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I'm gobsmacked! Awful stories. Wasn't a man prosecuted recently for leaving his baby alone somewhere (?) while he went off drinking (can't remember the details:o ). Surely the same would apply in these cases?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,937 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Trinity1 wrote:

Mothers lose children everyday to illness. Our kids are not safe from sick paedos etc. If we dont protect them who will.

eh? in reality kids are not in any major danger from sick paedos.

But there's still no excuse for leaving a kid alone in a car like that - I've seen it a few times myself though, so theres obviously a fair amount of parent who see no problem with it.

loyatemu wrote:
    eh? in reality kids are not in any major danger from sick paedos.

But there's still no excuse for leaving a kid alone in a car like that - I've seen it a few times myself though, so theres obviously a fair amount of parent who see no problem with it.

In reality sexual abuse is rampant. In reality sick paedosn are fathers, uncles, family members, not your typical put it up on the internet or join a cult type of paedo.

In reality there are people on this board that were abused. By family members, trusted people in society.

In reality the police just broke up an international paedo ring with Irish people amongst them.

In reality an Irish scout leader was in the front of the herald yesterday, a married man about to be charged with child abuse or similar. In reality, if we open our eyes we can see exactly what goes on around the world.

It may not knock on your door and hopefully we may never encounter it but its out there. Sometimes closer than we think.

I was talking about the dangers these days, and referring to deliberately putting your own child in danger when you do your best to protect them from strangers or in some sad cases someone we know!

There is no point being too paranoid but there is nothing wrong with being vigilant or careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

Trinity,
    I agree nothing wrong with being too careful. A lot of accidents with kids usually happen when they are not being watched properly. Things like kids fallin over balconies or gettin run over by cars. when i here stories like that i think to myself... well who was watching them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

This may be urban myth but I once heard that you are leagally aloud to break a car window if an animal has been enclosed in the car without any air being let in. I cant find any links relating to this though so it is probably false.

If this is true though surely the same must be allowed for babies.

abi2007 wrote:
    Trinity,
    I agree nothing wrong with being too careful. A lot of accidents with kids usually happen when they are not being watched properly. Things like kids fallin over balconies or gettin run over by cars. when i here stories like that i think to myself... well who was watching them?

I am of course talking worst case scenario and being dramatic but it does happen unfortunately just look at Madeliene McCann. Probably are good parents, but who knows. But I bet in their wildest dreams they wouldnt have imagined that what happened would happen when they made the decision to leave her unattended. And they have to live with that decision for the rest of their lives.

Hopefully none of us will ever have to deal with anything like that.

What would you say to the parent of the child when they returned,
    I hate confrontation,is there anything that can be said to encourage them not to do it again but not have them scream at you?

Trinity1 wrote:

Horrible though it is Trinity is right. I've had an incident where my daughter, then aged 3, was the subject of attention of man who, unknown to me, was a convicted paedophile. Thankfully someone who knew his history spotted what was going on and "escorted him from the premises" with a warning not to come back and never to look at our child again. I know that's off the original topic but the point is that you just cannot leave little kids alone and unprotected.

G&T wrote:
    What would you say to the parent of the child when they returned,
    I hate confrontation,is there anything that can be said to encourage them not to do it again but not have them scream at you?

To be honest I wouldn't give a rats if they screamed at me if just maybe they'd have the cop on not to do it again and put their child in danger of injury, death, accident, kidnap etc etc....

littlebug wrote:
    To be honest I wouldn't give a rats if they screamed at me if just maybe they'd have the cop on not to do it again and put their child in danger of injury, death, accident, kidnap etc etc....

I alway's have at least one of my kid's with me when im out so I wouldn't want to get involved on a screaming match because it would upset them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 esmeralda

Quote:
    Originally Posted by littlebug

I alway's have at least one of my kid's with me when im out so I wouldn't want to get involved on a screaming match because it would upset them.[/
    You're both right, but there is something else to take into account. The kind of person who thinks it's perfectly OK to leave a toddler alone in a car is also the kind of person who will berate/scream at anyone who tries to point out the wrongs, dangers of that or any other inane action they perform (probably plenty). Not only will they scream at you it will not occur to them in their wildest dreams that they have done something terrible - you may as well try to explain the finer points of rocket science to them... in short you have had a very nasty experience for nothing, and for them it's like water off a duck's back - screaming matches and nasty retorts are a way of life for them. I think the OP did the best thing in calling the guards - even if they didn't arrive as promptly as they should have -but I think that I would call the guards and then go or observe from a distance just in case, - it's the guards' responsibility and you had done your bit by calling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

I came across an even more disturbing situation earlier this year. I was going into the local post office and was a bit suspicious that there was a Mercedes parked outside with the engine left running, as I got closer I noticed a young child/toddler in a seat in the back, with nobody else in the car.

As I entered the post office, a woman passed me in the doorway and got into the car and drove off.

I was amazed, leaving a young kid like that in the car alone was bad enough, but leaving the engine running :eek:

Sometimes you wonder whether the wrong people have children !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

heyjude wrote:
    I came across an even more disturbing situation earlier this year. I was going into the local post office and was a bit suspicious that there was a Mercedes parked outside with the engine left running, as I got closer I noticed a young child/toddler in a seat in the back, with nobody else in the car.

As I entered the post office, a woman passed me in the doorway and got into the car and drove off.

I was amazed, leaving a young kid like that in the car alone was bad enough, but leaving the engine running :eek:

Sometimes you wonder whether the wrong people have children !

I am annoyed to hear this...a typical selfish lazy yummy mummy in her merc not giving a sh*t about her child. Any fool can have a child but it takes a bit of work and common sense to be a decent parent. I would love to confront these people and I wouldn't care if they got snotty with me. They would be the first to start an all out scene if their kid was snatched or anything. The poor kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭deisemum

I may have posted similar here or else on another site about 1-2 years ago. I went to a supermarket 10 miles from me and parked in the carpark. I was listening to something funny on the radio so took my time getting out of my car and putting the 2 toddlers that I mind into the seats in the shopping trolley.

All this time (about 10 - 15 mins) I noticed a baby, I reckon 8 - 10 months old asleep in the car beside me. It was a sunny day with the sun shining in on top of the baby.

I went into the supermarket to the customer service desk but had to wait about 5 mins for my turn. All this time I was keeping an eye on the car to see if the parent had returned. I raised my concerns with the woman who called for a security guard. She got him to go out and wait by the car and the customer service woman called out the registration number and for the owner to come to customer service.

I was coming through the check out about 45 mins later. The customer service woman came over to me to let me know that the parents never came to the customer service desk but had continued shopping. When they went to their car the customer service woman joined the security guard and said they knew the baby had been left alone in the car for at least an hour and pointed out the dangers.

THe two parents were together. Once they put the shopping in the boot they left the baby and went to the local coffee shop. Talk about brass necks. At this the customer service woman called the Gardai, the Garda station is alongside the car park. The customer service woman told me the gardai had a look in the car window at the baby and then went to speak with the parents who said the baby was ok. The gardai did absolutely nothing and condoned it. I've looked after the children of a garda in the past and I don't think I'd get away with abandoning their children.

I took my time putting my shopping in the boot, strapping in the two children and then waited until the parents came back 15 minutes later.

I was very upset by the whole thing, so were some of the supermarket staff. I was there for 1 hour and 40 mins approx and that baby was left sleeping unattended by it's parents for the whole time. When I got home I phoned my local social worker (someone I know) for advice. She was appalled but said that they couldn't do anything unless the Gardai contacted them. I told her I had the car registration number so she advised me to phone the Gardai and report what I witnessed.

I phoned the Garda station and the garda that answered tried to fob me off and that 2 of her colleagues had looked into it and that the baby was ok. I asked her if she thought it would be ok for me as a childminder to abandon any child I was minding for at least 1 hour 40 mins in a car. In the end she took the car registration number but I didn't hear anymore so don't know what happened. I very much doubt the gardai did anything because I had to practically force her to take the registration number.

When I was speaking to the social worker she told me that only the day before this incident the gardai from my local station (different from the one above) reported a woman to them, she'd left her baby in it's buggy outside a small shop while she nipped in to get something. That woman wasn't more than 2 minutes gone but it just so happened that a garda was passing and spotted the baby unattended so the gardai reported the mother to social services.

I was absolutely disgusted by those parents and it played on my mind for a few days. You need a licence for a dog yet some parents are so neglectful of their children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭maryjane1

wow i hadnt realised how common this was. i was in a supermarket once and there was a toddler about 2- 3 years old strapped into the front seat of a car fast asleep. i informed the security guard and he went to wait by the car. how can these people do this!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

I would, & I wouldn't tbh.

In a car park, or somewhere public like that, not a chance.
    1st of all, what if someone crashed into the car.
    What if someone broke into the car.
    What if the child wakened up screeching
    I'm not close by to keep a close eye.
    Can't keep doors windows open etc, for good ventilation.
    In that circumstance, absolutely NOT!!!!

But, say you're driving home from town, the baby falls asleep on the journey.
    You arrive home & park the car at the kitchen window.
    In that instance, I'd have no problem leaving the child in the car.
    I'd put the windows down a bit & peak at the child every few minutes to see if they've wakened.
    Better that than move them & waken them, thus disrupting their sleep.
    But that's the ONLY time I'd do it. & still wouldn't if I lived in a housing estate or somewhere like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

95% of women wouldn't leave a handbag in a car. Is this question for real?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

95% of women wouldn't leave a handbag in a car. Is this question for real?

Haven't you walked passed parked cars & seen toddlers sleeping in them before?
    If not, I don't know where you've been!!!
    It's an all to often sighting unfortunately.
    I think it should be a child neglection offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

BoozyBabe wrote:

No. I haven't seen it, EVER.

never seen it either,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

That is disgraceful. And I'm pretty sure illegal too. There is no way a baby should be left unattended for any period of time. You did right to call the guards - at the very least they will have to get social services involved - not that I've great faith in them either but the shock might prevent these parents from doing it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭deisemum

BoozyBabe wrote:

I've seen numerous babies and toddlers left on their own asleep in cars and it is a fairly common occurance. I know of one woman who used to meet her friends at a local leisure centre for a swim etc and leave her twins asleep in her van instead of putting them in the creche provided.