Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dad's terror after taking son's name from bonfire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭BANZAI_RUNNER

they are nothing but a bunch of in-bred l*ng*rs, i think i might burn some union jacks and film it then upload it to youtube, see how long it takes for the sh1t to hit the fan then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

One thing I've always found hilarious about the whole flag burning scenario, on both sides, is that the tricolour has orange on it representing the loyalist tradition whilst the english flag has a catholic cross on it. So it just boils down to a bunch of uneducated w*****s burning their own symbols.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Frelance

farohar wrote:
    Once again I restate my wish that we could just disconnect NI from the ROI and let them drift out to sea to rule/anahilate themselves, have nothing more to do with the whole mess that the north seems to be.

Because that would solve every problem wouldn't it? christ sakes while were at it lets massacre all muslims because they're all terrorists.:rolleyes:

These people are the MINORITY. Don't forget that we are all on the same island. This isn't just our problem. Believe me nobody here likes these w*ankers either. Yesterday the 12th celebrations were held in my area Enniskillen. There was actually riots planned on the internet for areas around the town. This didnt happen as the PSNI were out in force( Dumbasse's posted this all on the net)
    90% of these dickheads aren't even from Fermanagh, Belfast, Newry, Derry all contributed some gob****es for a good old flag flying time.
    Every year their behaviour gets less and less acceptable.
    Common sense will prevail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

pljudge321 wrote:
    One thing I've always found hilarious about the whole flag burning scenario, on both sides, is that the tricolour has orange on it representing the loyalist tradition whilst the english flag has a catholic cross on it. So it just boils down to a bunch of uneducated w*****s burning their own symbols.

There's nothing wrong with flying an English flag, although it's silly to fly the flag of England when you're in Ireland and not English.

People have a problem with flying the Union Jack because it's a symbol of imperialism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

biko wrote:
    Now how the the peelers find that out?

Informants no doubt..

This sorta **** pretty re-affirms my opinion that the country should just be nuked and forgot about. Shower of ****ing cretans on both sides.

It isn't just loyalist communities commiting these sort of acts you know. It isn't about the poor republicans afraid of the big bad loyalists either. Both sides are just as retarded and hate filled as the other.

You used to see some of this sorta **** along the border about 15/20 years ago. While the North is able to dwell on its past and economic development lags behind the Republic and the UK, nothing much can change until the current generation die off. As the north starts to become increasingly wealthy though, people will slowly stop hanging onto petty **** and move on with their own lives. The same happened here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Frelance wrote:
    These people are the MINORITY.

no they aren't they are the majority, who do you think voted Paisley in

MooseJam wrote:
    no they aren't they are the majority, who do you think voted Paisley in

Well you could say the same for the republicans that voted sinn féin as well.

Don't forget that there is a "power vacuum" in the middle, moderate unionist & republican parties were almost wiped out in recent elections.
    Ironicaly it was these moderates that did most of the running in the peace process.
    It isn't just loyalist communities commiting these sort of acts you know. It isn't about the poor republicans afraid of the big bad loyalists either. Both sides are just as retarded and hate filled as the other.

unfortunately that is the face northern Ireland shows to the rest of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

that shouldn't be forgotten, the republican side of it can be just as bad.

I lived around Colraine for 5 years and nothing has changed, with all the peace talk and politicians trying to make a difference, its still a hate filled hole, fueled by the younger generation, who will in turn teach it to their kids. i really can't see anything changing in my lifetime or even longer.

One thing i could never get over is the unwillingness to change. I had a very good friend who was a Catholic, she was very well educated, upper class (?) and hated the state that northern Ireland was in. We were talking about how all children either go to a Protestant school or a Catholic school, and i said would she send her children to a mixed school, her answer was no F**KING way. I tried saying that mixing children from a very young age would probably be the only way forward for the North, but she was adamant.

Its this state of mind that will ensure the tensions in the North will remain.

Ballysally, (called Ballybosnia by locals) mensioned in the OP is really one of the biggest hell holes, each week there would be stabbing, shootings, cars burned out, houses burned, petrol bombs and all the trouble would be in one area, with less than 60 houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

No way this would ever happen in a civilised state like the 26 Counties.
    Been to Limerick lately?
    smashey wrote:
    But it has been tradition for four hundred years to burn names. :rolleyes:
    So is killing loyalists.
    I am surprised that people are surprised at this. It has been going on with impunity for decades
    It's hitting the headlines, as someone has gotten it into the headlines, along with the "sure we're at peace" line...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

The loyalists from what i can see are the scum of the earth. No respect for anyone, hate-mongers. No way this would ever happen in a civilised state like the 26 Counties.

Exactly, the 26 counties have always made sure to export their terrorism elsewhere, usually to the highest bidder. [/sarcasm]

Replace "loyalists" with "norn Irish people" and you're closer to the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

are we all out of ideas on how to float the north out to sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

DarkJager wrote:
    But the problem is they won't be ashamed of their actions. If it was the reverse, as Mushy said, they'd go on about predjudice and the usual ****. I'd go as far to say that if somebody offered me a button that would wipe every single loyalist off the face of the earth, I'd push it without a second thought.

Seriously, if you wish to continue posting on here tone it down. Advocating violence is one of those no-no's.

And, some of you seem to need reminding there's plenty of blood on both sides. Take off the blinkers and look at the larger picture.

nesf wrote:
    And, some of you seem to need reminding there's plenty of blood on both sides. Take off the blinkers and look at the larger picture.

Yes! that point DOES need to be driven home from time to time.

Especially as we are now rapidly approaching the fortieth anniversary of the "troubles" starting, the majority of people currently involved in sectarian violence weren't even born when this all started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

What needs to be done is to take the blinkers off the people of northern Ireland.
    While visiting up there a few years ago I decided to buy a local newspaper. Visited a newsagent and found 2 local newspapers??? I decided to buy both. The girl at the checkout looked at me as if I had 2 heads. It seamed as if nobody had ever bought both papers before.
    Back in the hotel I compared both papers, almost the same topics in each paper but reported on from different sides.
    My conclusion there are 2 groups of people up there, that are so unwilling to see the other sides point of view that they won't even read the same newspaper.

2 stroke wrote:
    My conclusion there are 2 groups of people up there, that are so unwilling to see the other sides point of view that they won't even read the same newspaper.

The middle ground is a lonely place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Just one thing -

Is there a link for this story ? All I'm getting on google is

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/article2763600.ece

Meanwhile, the Catholic father of a teenage boy who died recently from heart disease, has been left devastated after his son's name was placed on top of a bonfire in Coleraine.

Peter Neil's son Aaron Neil (16) died two weeks ago. His name and the name of another local youth, also a Catholic who died last year, were daubed on some carpet alongside a slogan stating "Who's next?"

I can't find an article for the bit about threats recieved from loyalists or about the safehouses.

I want to use the article for an argument with a loyalist & he doesn't believe me.

Thank you.

Here is a comment from the bbc news site fixed link :o

edit: the irishnews web site also carries the article, can't see the details as a subscription is required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Just one thing -

Is there a link for this story ? All I'm getting on google is

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/article2763600.ece

I can't find an article for the bit about threats recieved from loyalists or about the safehouses.

I want to use the article for an argument with a loyalist & he doesn't believe me.

Thank you.

http://www.irishnews.com/

Search for peter neil on there, you'll find the article. But you have to sign up to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

DarkJager wrote:
    If loyalists (regardless of how many of them cause the trouble) want to act like this, then why should we welcome any of their parades or other crap that they want to bring to the republic? Maybe we should play them at their own game and start burning the names of dead loyalists and the union jack on bonfires down here?
    and that is pretty much how 30 years of trouble up north started!

A bit of bedtime reading for those interested in History
    When did the conflict begin?
    Even with almost 40 years of hindsight there is no absolute agreement on the date of the start of the recent violent conflict in Northern Ireland. A number of dates have been used by different writers: the Civil Rights March in Derry - 5 October 1968; the beginning of the 'Battle of the Bogside' - 12 August 1969; the Deployment of British Troops - 14 August 1969; or the re-emergence of the UVF in 1966. (Non-violent conflict - political conflict, economic conflict, cultural conflict, etc., - has been a feature of society in the region since the early part of the 17th century. On numerous occasions this conflict has resulted in periods of serious and sustained violence.)

With hatrid and distrust this deeprooted, there may never be true peace.
    Just look at Sectarianism in Glasgow at Celtic - Rangers football matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

With hatrid and distrust this deeprooted, there may never be true peace.
    Just look at Sectarianism in Glasgow at Celtic - Rangers football matches

Ah yeah, but soccer louts are a breed of their own. Sure look at the typical "Bohemians vs Rovers" debates on Irish soccer forums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Police last night said they were dismayed that anyone would use Aaron’s death to raise community tensions.

A spokesman said police checked the Harpur’s Hill site but nothing was found.

However, officers later removed “similar items” bearing Aaron’s name from bonfires at Harpur’s Hill and Ballysally

This is the best news I've seen: the cops, originally being lazy in the way of cops around the world, actually did take action in the end.

Putting the kid's name on the banner was bullying. Not a lot to do with politics, just thuggery, from the sound of it - though the thugs used their local resentment as an excuse for their nastiness.

But isn't it great that the PSNI, once so sectarian a force, actually did go and take down these banners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

luckat wrote:
    Putting the kid's name on the banner was bullying. Not a lot to do with politics, just thuggery, from the sound of it - though the thugs used their local resentment as an excuse for their nastiness.
    Its a bit more than bullying when its a dead catholic's name put on a bonfire to be burnt by unionists/loyalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Not just the Nordies who are into bigoted thuggery:

http://www.examiner.ie/story/?jp=MHQLCWIDAU&cat=Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

the_syco wrote:
    Been to Limerick lately?

[\QUOTE]
    Yep, I'm from there as it happens. We don't burn flags i can assure you. Most of the drug scum in the city have been put away, but everywhere has some social problems. Not even remotely comparable to the hate and troubles in the North.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Bullying is bullying, whatever the target. It's basically exactly the same to bully someone because they're freckled, Catholic, glasses-wearing, Jewish, black, Protestant, lisping, oil-owning Arab, female, capitalist American, etc, etc.

It's just what inadequate, violent people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

luckat wrote:
    Bullying is bullying, whatever the target. It's basically exactly the same to bully someone because they're freckled, Catholic, glasses-wearing, Jewish, black, Protestant, lisping, oil-owning Arab, female, capitalist American, etc, etc.

It's just what inadequate, violent people do.

QFT. It makes me pretty sad to see that sh*te happening. Forget about "British pysche's"-whoever mentioned that above needs to take a look at what Irish people can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

the_syco wrote:
    Been to Limerick lately?

Seems that we have some dumb ignorant bigotry down in the south as well eh? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

This is the usual ****e I have come to expect from Loyalist gougers that think its funny to burn the name of poor kid who died tragically; and well done to his Dad who had the mettle to take it down.

I dont care what these inbreds do, but the silence from the 'respectful orange community' says it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

Here comes the giant tar brush......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Forget about "British pysche's"-whoever mentioned that above needs to take a look at what Irish people can do.

I did and I stand over it. There is a streak of arrogance that can be found in the people of colonial powers. It is a disdain for weaker nations, a contempt for the conquered and a hatred for those who refuse to be conquered. You can see it in the Americans, you can see it in the British, or should I say more correctly the English, as the Scots and Welsh are long since conquered nations. The English barely conceal their scorn for their fellow Britons.

But that's only my opinion.
    Please feel free to ignore it.
    It's a free country after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Hagar wrote:
    I did and I stand over it. There is a streak of arrogance that can be found in the people of colonial powers. It is a disdain for weaker nations, a contempt for the conquered and a hatred for those who refuse to be conquered. You can see it in the Americans, you can see it in the British, or should I say more correctly the English, as the Scots and Welsh are long since conquered nations. The English barely conceal their scorn for their fellow Britons.

Everyone? All...whatever-40 million English? Or the governments of such countries? Or Nationalism full stop?

Hagar wrote:
    The English barely conceal their scorn for their fellow Britons.

There is an element of truth in that, but then again what about Dubliners opinion of culchies :rolleyes: .

As for Norm Iron, most English (almost all) would love to lose it as it is such a drain on the economy, as well as right royal PITA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Tchocky wrote:
    Here comes the giant tar brush......

and the loyalists with the feathers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

These bonfires should be banned really. Among other things they always contain banners as such or pictures of Micky-Bo who was murdered because of his religion. These bonfire events turn into a mad binge drink, and always results in a UVF display among other things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

One thing I find about these organised burnings of the Tri colour.

This is the flag of a sovereign European state and those Unionists in the north in government actively support and encourage this type of thing on 'the 12th'.......which makes me wonder if Switzerland actively encourage its citizens to burn French flags under the auspicious of 'tradition' and had a special date for it every year - I wonder what would happen?

As for NI being un-civilised - Its a fact of life unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

ejmaztec wrote:
    I think that they are making up their "traditions" as they go along. I heard a couple of nights ago that it has been a long-standing "tradition" to burn tyres. Not only are they morons. they're also out to destroy the environment.

Anyone who wears a bowler hat and has a long-dead non-English speaking Dutch hero - must be certifiable.
    Don't forget to remind them that he was bisexual.
    Nothing against bisexual people myself but I think plenty of his followers would. I look forward to gay pride taking place on the 12th next July!

I'm actually just back from the north. The marches are over but the flags are still out. Fairly intimidating stuff so we only stopped in flag-free towns. Giant's Causeway and the rest of the coast is great. Ballintoy harbour is a gem of a place.

All the flags along the way up are brand spanking new. Seen the odd UVF flag but not as many.

Can anyone confirm when the tire was invented? Did Dunlop or Bridgestone have contact with King William?

All the flags along the way up are brand spanking new. ?

Last years are in the fire (extra smoke) ;)
    Can anyone confirm when the tire was invented? Did Dunlop or Bridgestone have contact with King William?

Part of the answer here

Q, Why tyres?
    A, the dutch word for tyre is BAND :D

So they have bands plating and band(en) in the fire!

Anyway they have to pay to dispose of old tyres, let the orangemen dispose of them for free.

Expect Loyalists to be oppressed if the Green Party ever get into government in the six counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Hagar wrote:
    The English barely conceal their scorn for their fellow Britons.
    I think it might be more to do with their local popularity than a scorn for other Brits; who likes the English:
    French - hate them
    Scots - dislike them
    Welsh - dislike them
    Irish - dislike them

Not a well liked nation even in their own neck of the woods, go further abroad and you have many former colonial countries who hate them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭johnplayerblue

F u c k the nort of Ireland and the people that live there. Who in there right mind would want any thing to do with such a piss poor ****e hole anyways.

C.u.n.ts that want a united Ireland should all be sent to live in the **** hole that is the north and perhaps if we spent more time trying to find a way of floating the north away into the irish sea and give them all plenty of guns and let that be the end of it.

Sick of the north and sick of the c.u.n.ts up there. The rest of us have done very well without them and will continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Hagar wrote:

You're right, those english people are always looking down their noses at us Irish, thinking we're all a bunch of sad, ill-educated, alcohol obsessed provincials who go into wide-mouthed wonder at the opening of a starbucks. How wrong they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I remember going to Galway for a weekend and one of my friend's managed to meet two incredibly english girls on the way (The "innit?" type) The 1st thing one of them said was how us Irish are years behind them (English) in fashion :confused: Well, I never!! I kept my cool and took it lightly but as the beer rolled in and they got more ballsy about us Irish being light years behind England in terms of, well, everything I eventually fell off the wagon and was reduced down to their level. Though me being a funny guy I kept the seriousness shrouded in a cloud of humour along the lines of imitating them and cockney Brits ("Ere wik'ed!! Clean yar chimney for ya, gaffa? Is it St. Swivens day yet m'lud? Phwoar, check ou' the la'est issue of Beano!! Cor Blimey wiv some bangers an' mashers!!!")

Ahem, anywho back on topic I'm sick of hearing all about the loyalist bollox up north, the burning of the tricolour, etc, and then those dirty fúcks think they deserve the time of day by marching in OUR capital!?! If the families of the victims were to march over their deaths then let them off, nobody would mind. But it's the fact that the orangatans are coming down using that as an excuse to wave THEIR flags is what pisses me off, and probably most the nation. The Irish "highbrows" (probably broadsheet hacks), of course, would look down on the rest of us calling us primitive, ignorant people. Exactly what the bastards up north would say and love to watch about us. GRRRRR!!