Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just how much funding can I get?

Options
  • 16-07-2007 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭

Hi. I'm 26 and I'm planning on heading to Trinity to do a Postgrad in Autumn 2008. I applied before and got offered a place but I decided to get some experience in the workplace first. I'm hoping I'll get offered a place again..

The thing is, I know absolutely nothing about what I'm entitled to as a mature student - I have had a look around, but nothing really explained the situation well enough. I don't live with my parents and I've been working for the past two years since I left college. The fees for the course I want to do are roughly €4,000 the last time I checked. Just how much funding would I be eligible for, if any..??

The other thing is, I think I'd like to do a further postgrad afterwards (I'm thinking Phd), does this change the situation at all..?

Comments

If you haven't done a postgrad before, you might be entitled to a grant. Max funding from this would be €6,600 per annum, with your fees paid for (up to a certain amount). The €6,600 includes the Top-up grant (now known as the grant for disadvantaged students) and the 'normal' mature student grant, which is set at around €3,400.