Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Galway Racing Poker Festival

• 16-07-2007 11:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Hi There,

We are currently in the process of opening a new casino / cardroom in Galway which we are now glad to announce will open on the 25th July. To mark our opening we are holding a festival of poker which will run from the 25th July to the 3rd of August.

The events will be as follows:
    Main event 27th July €300 + 0 Freezeout
    28th July €150 + 0 F/O
    25th July & 29th July to 3rd Aug €100 +€15 F/O
    (26TH WILL BE A SATTELITE TO 27TH)

In addition to the above events we will spreading cash games both Texas (NL & Pot) and Omaha. There will be other events such as a ladies freeroll and also private poker rooms for hire (please see our website in about a week for these as we are flat out at the moment getting ready and havent finalised everything www.theeglinton.com)

Main Event Friday 27th July

1. Run By The Eglinton
    2. Run for commercial reasons
    3. Friday 27th July
    4. Reg at 7pm cards in the air 8pm
    5. Max Number is 130 Tickets can be bought beforehand or on the day
    6. The game is NL Hold Em
    7. Only prerequisite is joining the eglinton (no charge can be done on day)
    8. €300 Entry Fee , no rebuy no top up
    9. Registration Fee Nil
    10. 100% of entry fee is paid in prize pool
    11. No Guaranteed prize pool
    12. N/A
    13. 10,000 starting stack
    14. N/A
    15. Blinds structure
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    8000-15000
    10000-20000
    15000-30000 Frozen

16. Levels 30 Mins
    17. Professional dealers at all tables
    18. 10% of field will be paid
    19. documented list of rules available
    20. TD Decision is final

Saturday 28th July

1. Run By The Eglinton
    3. Saturday 28th July
    4. Reg at 7pm cards in the air 8pm
    8. €150 Entry Fee , no rebuy no top up
    9. Registration Fee Nil
    12. N/A
    13. 7,000 starting stack
    14. N/A
    15. Blinds structure
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    8000-15000
    10000-20000
    15000-30000 Frozen

16. Levels 30 Mins
    20. TD Decision is final

25th July & 29th July to Aug 3rd

1. Run By The Eglinton
    3. On dates as above
    4. Reg at 7pm cards in the air 8pm on the 25th , 29th July Aug 1st 2nd
    9pm 10pm 30th 31st July Aug 3rd (evening race meetings)

8. €100 Entry Fee , no rebuy no top up
    9. Registration Fee €15
    12. N/A
    13. 6,000 starting stack
    14. N/A
    15. Blinds structure
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    8000-15000
    10000-20000
    15000-30000 Frozen

16. Levels 20 Mins
    20. TD Decision is final

Hopefully we will see you over the week in what we hope will be a most enjoyable festival of poker. Any queries can be answered on this thread or from the end of the week on our website (I will post phone numbers once there installed!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Best of luck in this venture.

I like the zero reg fee on the €300 freezeout.....Nice welcome to the club.

Would you mind if I send you on some posters and flyers for the IPO?

Can't get onto your website there so would you mind sending on the address to me, cheers..... stephen@pokerireland.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 The Eglington

Cheers Stephen,

No problem with the flyers I'll PM you the address

carfax wrote:
    Best of luck in this venture.

I like the zero reg fee on the €300 freezeout.....Nice welcome to the club.

Would you mind if I send you on some posters and flyers for the IPO?

Can't get onto your website there so would you mind sending on the address to me, cheers..... stephen@pokerireland.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Won't be able to make this Wednesday at the Westwood but will see you at the festival. Good luck with it all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The satellite is what 30e in? How much are your cash blinds going to be thee glinton? :)

Only the front page of your site works hehe.

The satellite is what 30e in? How much are your cash blinds going to be thee glinton? :)

Only the front page of your site works hehe.

Hi Tar,

The satellite is €30 buyin and starts at 8pm on the Thursday

And your right on the website only front page working will be fully up and running by friday (actually the link to the tournys was put up today and is wrong so ignore that :rolleyes: it as outlined above)

The standard cash blind will be 1/2 when were up and running , obviously we would be hoping to spread higher levels during race week but there will always be a nl 1/2 game running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Got Flyers in The Post Today ill pop em into the Clubs for ya .. Ill try get up sometime over race week lads

Best of luck with this ...Alot of comp in Galway now ....all good for the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭chahop

Nice to see the Zero reg should be down for the €150 fo, but arent the regular reg's on the high side or is that just for the race week?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Thanks for the info, I'll be down for cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TOURTHELANCE

Just wondering what kind of numbers ye are expecting for the tournaments? Hopeing to get down and play one or two;)

We would be hoping for circa 100 on Friday and Saturday night.

The €100 f/o from Sunday hard to put a figure on , there will be exstenive advertising at the race course and around the cities pubs so we would be hopeful of getting good numbers. Wednesday will probably be the busiest as the currrent Westwood game (gets 50 runners on a normal week) is being moved to the Eglinton from next Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭yopnailbrush

The Structures are up on their website. €100 games each night during raceweek. I thought they would be much more expensive with all the money about town.

Anyone else heading down to Galway for the races?

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Heading down to Races on Saturday for the week...I was really looking forward to a decent tourney that week in Galway (If I remember correctly there was a 400 and 300 game last year during race week which were pretty good)..

A bit disappointed the 300 game is on before the Races start off..thought it might be later in the week(bigger crowd etc.) I suppose with the week thats in it the emphasis will be more on the cash games....

Anyway looking forward to great week as always....(what's the story with the water over there?)

Hi Russh,

The schedule is as advertised at the moment, however if the numbers are large for the tournys we will look at running a bigger entry fee on the thursday , we will be flexible and obviously run whatever games/ tournys are in demand but there will at least be a €100 one every night.

ps same old story with the water :( just have to stay on the beer:)

Russh wrote:
    Heading down to Races on Saturday for the week...I was really looking forward to a decent tourney that week in Galway (If I remember correctly there was a 400 and 300 game last year during race week which were pretty good)..

A bit disappointed the 300 game is on before the Races start off..thought it might be later in the week(bigger crowd etc.) I suppose with the week thats in it the emphasis will be more on the cash games....

Anyway looking forward to great week as always....(what's the story with the water over there?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Padraig06

any chance you could make the tourneys crapshoots? seems a man could waste a large chunk of valuable time before getting ****ed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

sorry if I missed it in the initial post but is Fridays €300 a one day event

• Registered Users Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭Hoki

it is yea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Saturday 28th July

16. Levels 30 Mins
    20. TD Decision is final

On web site its says levels are 25 min. Which one is correct?

Its 30 minutes , will get that changed on the website (thank you)

the €300 event is a one day event, however if it runs very late and all players are agreeable we will run the final table the next day. As of now though a one day event this was requested by a number of travelling players who have to leave on saturday.

Wombatman wrote:
    Saturday 28th July

16. Levels 30 Mins
    20. TD Decision is final

On web site its says levels are 25 min. Which one is correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

anyone going from lkenny/donegal and want to give me a lift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 yesindeed

I missed last night I'm afraid due to a prior commitmentm the website says tonight is a 30 buy in, is this a rebuy and topup or freezeout? Many runners expected? good luck with the new club
    Its 30 minutes , will get that changed on the website (thank you)

the €300 event is a one day event, however if it runs very late and all players are agreeable we will run the final table the next day. As of now though a one day event this was requested by a number of travelling players who have to leave on saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

It says on the website that the club opens at 3pm. What games if any will be running from this time? It would be good to have a game before the races start.

Cash at 3pm, I'm there!
    Hate that it starts annoyingly late in most places since I have work at 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭Hoki

Must say its a very nice casino , best in galway by far , huge turnout last nit for the opening , plenty of money to be made in the cash games , only niggles i have is the fact you have to pay for soft drinks which im sure will be changed because a lot of people complained about it & the air conditioning needs to be on, got a bit stuffy in there last night , all in all i liked it a lot & will definitely be in there for most of race week !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Two lads up from Waterford there at the Moment said the place is fantastic and the poker tables are spectacular , I think ye should have the Ipc there by the sounds of it .. Congrats to Fintan and the Crew and best of luck with it ..Ill see ye there eventually

Neill

cheers Hoki & Neil,

really delighted with the first night 75 runners and some good cash games afterwards.

On the minerals Hoki , apologies for this open night mix up with the vouchers new staff etc. Sorted now and all minerals will be free for people playing. Air conditioning should be good from now on

looking forward to our €300 event tomorrow and hope to see as many people as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

cheers Hoki & Neil,

really delighted with the first night 75 runners and some good cash games afterwards.

On the minerals Hoki , apologies for this open night mix up with the vouchers new staff etc. Sorted now and all minerals will be free for people playing. Air conditioning should be good from now on

looking forward to our €300 event tomorrow and hope to see as many people as possible.

stick myself and Pat Storen down for the €300 please

done nicky see you tomorrow night;)

SO what happens when the club opens at three?

Will this be all cash or might it include tickets to other events?

You gonna play cash in there Mr Wombat?

Can't resist 150 free reg. on Sat. night. Never play cash. You?

Cash, even though that 150 is tempting. I think I'll wait for the International Poker Open before I play a fo for that amount of money again though.
    If you want flyers or posters for that, I have loads. :P

Wombatman wrote:

Will this be all cash or might it include tickets to other events?

Bump question. Fintin? Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

where in salthill is the eglinton? heading over there later for the main event.

It's not in Salthill, it is in the city. On Eglington St near Eyre Sq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

you playing cash tonight paul?

I don't know what county I will be in yet, and also, went out with the company for a free meal and drinks at the dog tracks, gambooool. So I'm wrecked. Sat night in the eglington maybe(If I'm up here)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Ok that's fair enough, I don't think I'll be going to GLan now, it's too much bother. If you're in Galway tonight I'll be up for some cash, if not I'll be multitabling. Otherwise I'd be up for cash tomorrow night as well.

yep 100% cash payout no tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

very good tourney this was last night. Who won it in the end? I busted out in 12th so did'nt hang around?

yep 100% cash payout no tickets
    Are you taking the piss? Why cant you tell us what happens when the club opens at 3? This is my 3rd time asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭TheBlackThing

very good tourney this was last night. Who won it in the end? I busted out in 12th so did'nt hang around?

I think his name was Benny, a boy from Galway. Brendan McHugh 2nd, Rory Liffey 3rd, Padraig Parkinson 4th.

eoghan104 wrote:
    Are you taking the piss? Why cant you tell us what happens when the club opens at 3? This is my 3rd time asking.

eoghan,

we would hope that a cash game will be running from 4, to help encourage getting the game going it will be rake free for the first hour. I will post tomorrow on if a game did get going, all other gaming will be available as well.

From four eh, great.

sorry lads ,

just onto the club and the cash game from last night has only just finished up and a few palying were lined up for the early cash game so thye wont be there. I think realistically it will be wednesday before we get an aftrenoon cash game going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Camone

Just wondering are ye gonna be running any sit and gos during the week and if so what times and buyin are they gonna be run at?
    also, how many runners did ye get friday nite and how much did first take home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭TheBlackThing

Camone wrote:
    Just wondering are ye gonna be running any sit and gos during the week and if so what times and buyin are they gonna be run at?
    also, how many runners did ye get friday nite and how much did first take home?

As far as I can remember there was 59 runners. 1st was approx 6,500 and 2nd approx 4,500. Good tournie, well run, nice place, will deffo go back again.

sorry lads ,

just onto the club and the cash game from last night has only just finished up and a few palying were lined up for the early cash game so thye wont be there. I think realistically it will be wednesday before we get an aftrenoon cash game going.
    Thats great thanks im not down until friday anyway so will see you then!

Played the 150 freeze on Sat night.
    30 runners.
    Nice structure. Well run. Knockout decor and tables. Good staff.
    A dinner and two drink (wine, beer, tea coffee, soft drinks etc) vouchers with reg.

Recommended. Keep it up Fintan.

One downer on the night. It broke my little heart to see Jacques go out first ;)

Hah, looking his usual self. :D

How you end up?