Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamon O Hara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Thats not the important part of the post. Maybe it was a different game if your right on that. It was a championship game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

blackbelt wrote:
    Oh yes Eamon O Hara,an amateur sportsman and hero in Sligo and many people admire him until he comes out with that crap about another player who should have punched a man on tv and in front of a sold out Croke Park...what a role model.:rolleyes: Who asked him for his opinion anyway?

Yet,we have Lemlin the righteous man :rolleyes: saying that O Hara is not promoting violence by saying Rooney should have hit him but admires him for not doing so.I bet if somebody like Cluxton or Brogan said somebody should hit somebody else,all you anti-Dublin brigade members would be up in arms and swarming this forum complaining.A perfect example of double standards.

Also comparing the Dublin team in GAA to the England national soccer team is hilarious.Some of you need to get a grip.Two different sports with two completely different player profiles and characteristics.So who are we going to compare?Oh wait Shane Ryan is like Paul Scholes and Jason Sherlock is like Ryan Giggs.Keep up the antics lads because its very entertaining.

On a side note,some of you are taking this very personally by saying "he should have bloody well hit him"...absolutely comical.Win,lose or draw when a person has goaded me or shouted in my face or celebrated I simply laugh it off.Then they can't get back at you and they actually get frustrated.Vaughan was a bit ott but again he has the reputation of being a hot head right?Better to score a cracking goal and stick it than loaf your oppenent in the face after he's had a few words in your ear

You guys will try and make something out of nothing but the issue this thread is about is not me,its about O Haras comments which were disgraceful.Laois have only themselves to blame for the pushing and shoving when those actions were inconsequential to the result at the end.What I saw was Rooney et al trying to goad some Dublin players into getting sent off.The reaction from Brogan in particular was classic,point to the scoreboard and hurt them that way and celebrate.Trying to start a ruckus because you are losing is unsporting.

If the man wants to speak, let him speak. He has every right to and he's just saying what alot of other people are thinking.

And I bet if the Laois players acted like the Dubs did, you'd be giving out stink about them Blackbelt. That's the way you work, you give out hell about one player throwing three punches when one of your own heroes has given people broken noses and concussion.

Why are the English soccer team and the Dublin GAA team so different? I find the media circus that surrounds both the same. The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same. The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same. The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same. That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.

Ryan Giggs is Welsh by the way and Paul Scholes hasn't played for England for a few years either. Yet another one of your inaccuracies. You really do find it hard to get things right about anything.

Vaughan has a reputation for being a lot more than a hot head. And its not just around the country, it's in Dublin too. That's why he got a punch in Coppers and why his own fans roar abuse at him off the Hill. He is a player that is hated by alot of club men around Dublin for his pure cockiness.

Yes, the Laois players were wrong to start pushing and shoving, but the reaction from the Dublin players was shocking. To point to the scoreoard is totally wrong.

By the way, why ask for our opinions if you weren't going to pay any attention???

As you can see, the wide majority of people think the Dubs were wrong. Not Laois.

It seems that you're going to ignore that because you're not hearing what you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Why would they stepbar?

Ah well seeing bohsboy seems to believe that "O hara will be hounded left right and centre" by the dubs (should they meet).

Blackbelt, are you sure you know what you are talking about? If you think O'Hara's comments were disgraceful, then I think you're the comical one LOL.
    You can't really start rabbiting on about O'Hara when you have a nice chap called Ciaran Whelan. Very hyprocrital don't you think?

Lemlin wrote:
    I find the media circus that surrounds both the same.
    That makes the Teams the same? What has the press ect got to do with the team?
    Lemlin wrote:
    The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same.
    They both cause the same? Havent seen Dublin fans rioting around any city centre recently. Have you? No rioting in the stands either. Oh wait.....you mean that one incident with a few bottles being thrown at those poor angels in green and yellow?
    Lemlin wrote:
    The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same.
    Most Dublin fans havent thought we would win an All Ireland for quite a few years now.
    Lemlin wrote:
    The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same.
    Whelan has been the anchorman of the Dublin midfield for the past few years. How is that over-rating? If we thought he was the best midfielder in the country, that would be over-rating him, but we dont.
    Lemlin wrote:
    That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.
    Yea, quite a few that really are no comparison at all.

stepbar wrote:
    Ah well seeing bohsboy seems to believe that "O hara will be hounded left right and centre" by the dubs (should they meet).
    Ah right, so your wondering if Sligo fans would boo Whelan because Bohsman said something here? I dont think he has that much of an influence over them somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lemlin wrote:
    If the man wants to speak, let him speak. He has every right to and he's just saying what alot of other people are thinking.

And I bet if the Laois players acted like the Dubs did, you'd be giving out stink about them Blackbelt. That's the way you work, you give out hell about one player throwing three punches when one of your own heroes has given people broken noses and concussion.

Why are the English soccer team and the Dublin GAA team so different? I find the media circus that surrounds both the same. The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same. The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same. The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same. That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.

Ryan Giggs is Welsh by the way and Paul Scholes hasn't played for England for a few years either. Yet another one of your inaccuracies. You really do find it hard to get things right about anything.

Vaughan has a reputation for being a lot more than a hot head. And its not just around the country, it's in Dublin too. That's why he got a punch in Coppers and why his own fans roar abuse at him off the Hill. He is a player that is hated by alot of club men around Dublin for his pure cockiness.

Yes, the Laois players were wrong to start pushing and shoving, but the reaction from the Dublin players was shocking. To point to the scoreoard is totally wrong.

By the way, why ask for our opinions if you weren't going to pay any attention???

As you can see, the wide majority of people think the Dubs were wrong. Not Laois.

It seems that you're going to ignore that because you're not hearing what you want.

Like clockwork Lemlin,I've said on numerous occasions that I am not a fan of what Whelan has done as far as those incidents are concerned so please put your brain in gear when you write about me and what I think or say about Whelan.I am perfectly entitled to criticise GG or O Hara,the Laois players or anybody regardless of what Whelan has done.I am a Dublin fan but I'm also a GAA fan from Dublin so there goes your argument about Whelan which you conveniently bring up everytime us Dubs make a comment or opinion about violence or tomfoolery.That record has been broken a long time Lemlin.I'm sure your Cavan heroes have done some dodgy tackles and punches over the years too but that does not lead us to tell you that you can't give your opinion on anybody else.

I've also been reading peoples comments on other forums comparing the Dublin team to England or Man Utd.So if you want me to be more specific and accurate on players,I'd guess somebody on would compare lets say Neville to Paul Griffin and Vaughan/Whelan to Rooney?

Also,you say the wide majority think the Dubs were wrong and not Laois.Its very rich coming from these people that they'd criticise a player for pushing,shoving,punching etc however when the Dubs responded in a non-violent manner,theres war.Still the Dubs can't do any right by responding this way.You are a total hypocrite to rise to something like that when it is far less terrible than the other course of action.This has been the double standards I have been talking about.

This thread is about O Hara and what he said specifically but yet the anti-Dublin brigade turn it into a Dublin thread instead of focusing on the man in question and what he said specifically.As what was said earlier,you're chomping at the bait but we're loving it.

Lemlin wrote:

Like clockwork Lemlin,I've said on numerous occasions that I am not a fan of what Whelan has done as far as those incidents are concerned so please put your brain in gear when you write about me and what I think or say about Whelan.I am perfectly entitled to criticise GG or O Hara,the Laois players or anybody regardless of what Whelan has done.I am a Dublin fan but I'm also a GAA fan from Dublin so there goes your argument about Whelan which you conveniently bring up everytime us Dubs make a comment or opinion about violence or tomfoolery.That record has been broken a long time Lemlin.I'm sure your Cavan heroes have done some dodgy tackles and punches over the years too but that does not lead us to tell you that you can't give your opinion on anybody else.

I've also been reading peoples comments on other forums comparing the Dublin team to England or Man Utd.So if you want me to be more specific and accurate on players,I'd guess somebody on would compare lets say Neville to Paul Griffin and Vaughan/Whelan to Rooney?

Also,you say the wide majority think the Dubs were wrong and not Laois.Its very rich coming from these people that they'd criticise a player for pushing,shoving,punching etc however when the Dubs responded in a non-violent manner,theres war.Still the Dubs can't do any right by responding this way.You are a total hypocrite to rise to something like that when it is far less terrible than the other course of action.This has been the double standards I have been talking about.

This thread is about O Hara and what he said specifically but yet the anti-Dublin brigade turn it into a Dublin thread instead of focusing on the man in question and what he said specifically.As what was said earlier,you're chomping at the bait but we're loving it.

"The verbals are part of the contest. It is something i love.Once i can stay focused, i love talking back to a guy who`s had a go at me. If you score 6 or 7 points you can look back at him and laugh" - Mark Vaughan, May 2006

Nalced_irl wrote:
    "The verbals are part of the contest. It is something i love.Once i can stay focused, i love talking back to a guy who`s had a go at me. If you score 6 or 7 points you can look back at him and laugh" - Mark Vaughan, May 2006

Now before the anti-Dublin brigade decide to come here and go menopausal on us again,I'd like to point out that there is a lot of truth in this quote.Verbals are always going to be part of the game.A quiet word in the ear or shouting abuse or whatever is always going to happen.Its not a new concept.

When you score 6-7 points in a match and the man who marks you has goaded you previously,that man is going to have egg on his face by getting his just desserts when you best him.

Mulligan got in the face of the Hill when he killed off the Dublin comeback in 2005 but yet no mention of unsporting behaviour,sanctions or scumbaggery.All part of the game to be honest.Its violence thats the problem.No rules were broken 8 days ago and no public outcry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

Hey Mr. Blackbelt, for a man who claimed (not too long ago in your hilarious autobiographical post)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53529449&postcount=1

to be a bit of a boxer you seem to be very accepting of showboating and gloating in the sporting arena. If you've ever been to an amateur boxing contest you'll know the disdain shown for any form of showboating. I'd imagine that that disdain should follow though to other sporting arenas.

I believe Vaughan was extremely lucky not to have been smacked. (I'm not saying that it would have been the right thing to do, I'm just saying that it would not have been surprising if it happened). If I got a few digs some night in the city then people would say that was terrible but if I got a few digs because I was walking through a rough area calling the locals knackers then people would say it was my own fault and I was stupid.

Roddy Collins , a real Dub you'll agree, was writing in the paper over the weekend and said that if he was Rooney he would have laid out Vaughan. He said that it was a fine line away from spitting on him. Mr. Blackbelt, would you justify a player spitting on another as ok if the player had been niggling him? Would you justify it by saying that it was better than reacting with a smack in the same way that you justify gloating and showboating.

The truth is that a lot of neutrals would have liked to see Vaughan being put in his place. O'Hara was just telling the truth on what he thought and not being too PC. If Rooney had hit Vaughan without provocation, then the vast majority of neutrals would have said he was a thug for doing so , but if he had hit him after that provocation a lot of people would have thought something along the lines of "good enough for him" and had sympathy for Rooney if he'd been sent off.

At the end of the day, those players are setting themselves up for having their own noses rubbed in it the next time they are beaten.

P.S I don't want to be getting off topic, or in trouble for bringing up an old post but I can't figure out this post at all

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53532203&postcount=16

Specifically the bit about "mud stained dungarees and eating his corn on the cob" . And as for "the second part of his name suggests it all to me" , I don't know what sort of information you can glean from the letter "g" . I'm not trying to start a slagging match with you. I genuinely haven't got a clue what that post was about and it intrigued me. Maybe it's some sort of boards.ie in-joke/reference that I'm not aware of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

These threads are largely pointless and I made a promise to myself to avoid them, but I do have one thing I want to say. I think most of the Dubs here are not particularly delighted to see the actions of the Dublin players against Laois. However, I felt the Laois players were trying to provoke the Dubs from the first whistle, and were giving the Dubs plenty of verbals during play. I think what most of the Dubs fans are saying is that they would rather see the retorts that Vaughn et al gave, rather than see fisticuffs breakout, which would also be a likely outcome of that scenario. I think the Dublin players showed a bit of maturity in not retaliating physically, and I also think if it had been any other county, we would not have heard about any of this crap.

As for Roddy Collins, he doesnt know what he is talking about in soccer (which is his sport supposedly), as anyone who watched any of the Rod Squad will know, so should probably keep his GAA opinions to himself.

Well Mr Johnog,

Amateur boxing should not contain gloating or showboating etc and neither should pro boxing but the reality of pro boxing is that to promote the sport to Americans (for box office purposes) who are also into pro wrestling,they have to have their promos and make it appear to be a real fight with emotions behind it.This is also true with MMA,UFC etc.Tito Ortiz v Ken Shamrock springs to mind.However Ring Of Honour rules make sure there is a sporting hand-shake before a bout.Sadly the odd time you will see an amateur jump around like a lunatic when theres a knock-out etc.

I think if you do some digging around the threads you will find that I said Vaughan went a bit ott in his reaction.Also we will never know exactly what Rooney said to him before the game or when Munnelly scored the goal.Its far better to showboat than to lash out.Given the circumstances at the end with the Laois players trying to start a ruckus,the antics of Brogan and Bonner were justified instead of the reaction Laois were looking for.

Now,you went as far as to say Google search was my answer for GAA.Johnnog you may be right there.Sometimes I do use it to search for past articles and post-match reports ie Dublin winning the AI with the 12 apostles against Galway,also on other matches such as Dublin hockeying Meath in 1995 by 10 points.So theres your answer,do you get my drift?

You also claimed that I promote violence in the game by saying I am like the fans you encountered at a match.I do not shout "break his leg" etc.You clearly did this to p1ss me off as we all know I hate violence in the game.

As far as the corn on the cob-Dungaree comments are concerned,that was having a laugh.I wouldn't expect you to get it but hey we all have our problems.You didn't do foundation Irish by any chance John?Is that John Og or just a typo by you forgetting to press the space key?

Anyway,I'm really looking forward to your next post.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

blackbelt wrote:

When you score 6-7 points in a match and the man who marks you has goaded you previously,that man is going to have egg on his face by getting his just desserts when you best him.

Mulligan got in the face of the Hill when he killed off the Dublin comeback in 2005 but yet no mention of unsporting behaviour,sanctions or scumbaggery.All part of the game to be honest.Its violence thats the problem.No rules were broken 8 days ago and no public outcry.

Yeah Muuligan actually used the Hill as an incentive and inspiration for him to return to form and fair play to him.

He was having a crap season until "that goal"

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

blackbelt wrote:
    You also claimed that I promote violence in the game by saying I am like the fans you encountered at a match.I do not shout "break his leg" etc.You clearly did this to p1ss me off as we all know I hate violence in the game.

Sorry there man. You got the wrong end of the stick. I wasn't saying that you were promoting violence, or that the eejits roaring that beside me were promoting violence. I doubt the players are any more or less likely to do something because of voices from the crowd. The comparison I was making was the apparent dichotomy between being highly principled and outraged against a certain type of action one minute and then baying for blood the next.
    And also, I'd probably hazard a guess, that contrary to your apparent inflated opinion of yourself, we don't all know what you hate. I personally don't know you from Adam. I've only been here a while. I wasn't attracted here by "the legend of Blackbelt". I came across this GAA section by accident.

Personally I think if someone gets a dig, the best way to deal with it is to stand up to your opponent to show him you're not afraid, like Shane Ryan did against Laois. I've no real problem with retaliation on a one for one basis (because it's understandable) but what I really dislike is third and subsequent men in that you always get or bad off-the-ball stuff. Whatever happens though happens and the players have their chance to deal with it if they like there and then or else they forget about it and move on. What goes around comes around eventually for most people anyway .

In fairness to all the talk of knackers or scumbags on the hill or whatever, they are not the same as the vast amount of supporters and I don't think anybody would think that the type of person who'd be up roaring abuse and taking coke would be the type of person who'd bother posting regularly on a message board. There were soccer style chants audiable from Portlaoise on Sunday and I was disappointed that it seems to be a phenomenon that may be spreading. I hope it dies out in the near future.

I wasn't asking for the generic explanation of amateur vs pro boxing above. That's for other sections on this site. I'm well aware of the difference and that is why you'll notice I explicitly said amateur in my post. I was just pointing out that most amateur boxers detest showboating and assumed that if you were a boxer, then that dislike would transfer to other sports. I assumed wrong it seems.

All good players get targeted/niggled/taunted off the ball. Not just Dublin ones. It's a bigger man who can ignore it and not be risen at all. Coaches tell their players to "retaliate" on the scoreboard. Not by pointing to the scoreboard or trying to goad them in public. At least most coaches do. I hope it doesn't become a part of the game.

You still haven't explained your rant about the corn on the cob bit. I don't expect you to do it now either because you tried to gloss over it in your last post. So I can guess you are just embarassed at whatever it is supposed to mean. I won't mention it again.

As for my level of Irish, that's irrelevant. Suffice to say though that there's a good chance that when you do your Leaving you can let us all know how you get on. There are other levels than foundation level though. Your school may not have them as options but they do exist.

And as for my username, although I should have no need to explain it. The username "johnno" was already taken. Can you figure the rest out? it's not "Johnn Óg" . I don't know of anyone who spells the name John with two "n"s .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Personally I think if someone gets a dig, the best way to deal with it is to stand up to your opponent to show him you're not afraid, like Shane Ryan did against Laois.
    Good point. This has hardly been mentioned how Shane Ryan remained calm and didnt give into the Laois player smacking him on the face twice, he just remained calm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

Seanies32 wrote:
    Yeah Muuligan actually used the Hill as an incentive and inspiration for him to return to form and fair play to him.

He was having a crap season until "that goal"

Didn't he also go over to the Hill at the end of the replayed game and throw his jersey into the crowd, so it's not like there was any malice, i.e. Mulligan had respect for the Hill.

blackbelt wrote:

Yes but you are attacking Geraghty as if he was the first and only man to throw a punch on the GAA pitch. I am pointing out that I'm sick of the hypocritical nature of people from Dublin complaining about Geragthy when his actions were far less than Whelan's. I think its a just and fair point.

As far as Cavan players go, I am well aware there are a few that throw punches. There was a disgraceful incident involving a Westmeath and a Cavan player years ago. Cavan have also had their fair share of players sent off in recent times. The difference between me and you Blackbelt is that I'm willing to admit to the failings of my team.

That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs. Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.

I fail to get the chomping at the bit part but I think that's because you don't know what you're speaking about and are just repeating the neanderthal comment above tbh.

The bottom line is that you asked us for our opinion and now that you aren't hearing what you want, you are disregarding what we are saying. Asking someone for their opinion doesn't work like that. You have to take on board what they say and you have to take on board now that the wide majority of people on here think your blessed heroes were wrong.

Waylander wrote:
    These threads are largely pointless and I made a promise to myself to avoid them, but I do have one thing I want to say. I think most of the Dubs here are not particularly delighted to see the actions of the Dublin players against Laois. However, I felt the Laois players were trying to provoke the Dubs from the first whistle, and were giving the Dubs plenty of verbals during play. I think what most of the Dubs fans are saying is that they would rather see the retorts that Vaughn et al gave, rather than see fisticuffs breakout, which would also be a likely outcome of that scenario. I think the Dublin players showed a bit of maturity in not retaliating physically, and I also think if it had been any other county, we would not have heard about any of this crap.

As for Roddy Collins, he doesnt know what he is talking about in soccer (which is his sport supposedly), as anyone who watched any of the Rod Squad will know, so should probably keep his GAA opinions to himself.

No other county would have acted like that Waylander. That's the problem. You wouldn't see the like of Kerry or Cork acting like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Lemlin wrote:
    Yes but you are attacking Geraghty as if he was the first and only man to throw a punch on the GAA pitch. I am pointing out that I'm sick of the hypocritical nature of people from Dublin complaining about Geragthy when his actions were far less than Whelan's. I think its a just and fair point.

As far as Cavan players go, I am well aware there are a few that throw punches. There was a disgraceful incident involving a Westmeath and a Cavan player years ago. Cavan have also had their fair share of players sent off in recent times. The difference between me and you Blackbelt is that I'm willing to admit to the failings of my team.

That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs. Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.

I fail to get the chomping at the bit part but I think that's because you don't know what you're speaking about and are just repeating the neanderthal comment above tbh.

The bottom line is that you asked us for our opinion and now that you aren't hearing what you want, you are disregarding what we are saying. Asking someone for their opinion doesn't work like that. You have to take on board what they say and you have to take on board now that the wide majority of people on here think your blessed heroes were wrong.

Myself and yourself have repeated this over and over, however Blackbelt doesn't seem to understand. Anybody who can condemm O'Hara / Geraghty / whoever and not the antics of the boys in blue needs to have a reality check. Seriously.

So let me get this straight....
    Lemlin wrote:
    Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.
    Ok, disrespectful and basically just not cricket
    Lemlin wrote:
    That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs.
    Respectful?????

Lemlin wrote:
    No other county would have acted like that Waylander. That's the problem. You wouldn't see the like of Kerry or Cork acting like that.
    Oh jesus!!!!

TYRONE.....KEEPER....HILL 16....KISSING CREST.....DANCING AROUND CELEBRATING!!!!

Can you stop drifting over and ignoring that other players do it too now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Lemlin wrote:

That's quite the statement. Have you ever seen the Cork hurlers? Niall McCarthy (the Cork centre-forward) seems to regularly scream in his opponents face while waving his arms around like a lunatic. Same with Setanta O'Hailpín in the All-Ireland final he played. There's plenty more players that do it aswell. The difference is that these lads are commended for showing passion and how much their county means to them.

I also agree with Blackbelt and most other Dublin fans that Vaughan went a bit OTT but it's just getting stupid now. Wow, it happened! It wasn't the first time and it wont be the last time either. There are far more important things to be worrying about in the game than the over-exuberance of a 21/22 year old.

An Citeog wrote:
    That's quite the statement. Have you ever seen the Cork hurlers? Niall McCarthy (the Cork centre-forward) seems to regularly scream in his opponents face while waving his arms around like a lunatic. Same with Setanta O'Hailpín in the All-Ireland final he played. There's plenty more players that do it aswell. The difference is that these lads are commended for showing passion and how much their county means to them.

I also agree with Blackbelt and most other Dublin fans that Vaughan went a bit OTT but it's just getting stupid now. Wow, it happened! It wasn't the first time and it wont be the last time either. There are far more important things to be worrying about in the game than the over-exuberance of a 21/22 year old.
    Spot on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

An Citeog wrote:

i agree other counties and players have do the same..... but the problem a lot of people on here have is that a lot of dubs have basically played it all down saying it was not that big of a deal - the fact is, it was a big deal and should never happen again in the gaa..... i think if the dubs on here admitted it was wrong from the start, the whole thing would be forgetton......... some of youse have taken a siege mentality and everytime someone says something against the dubs, we are called biased and anti dubs..... which couldnt be further from the truth....

Meathman, its as big a deal as every other time it has happened. If back then it didnt warrant much discussion, why does it now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Meathman, its as big a deal as every other time it has happened. If back then it didnt warrant much discussion, why does it now?
    i remember saying to a friend of mine what an idiot donaghy was last year for what he did - if i was a member of this forum back then i would have brought it up....

again i point out that you called the Dubs Scumbags, not Idiots for what they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Nalced_irl wrote:
    again i point out that you called the Dubs Scumbags, not Idiots for what they did.

That's true and that's pretty much how this started. What kind of mentality do you expect Meathman when you come out calling all Dubs scum? It was a bit ott, from Vaughan, Bonner and Brogan but violence in the game is a much bigger problem and one that needs to be stamped out within the whole organisation.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Oh jesus!!!!

TYRONE.....KEEPER....HILL 16....KISSING CREST.....DANCING AROUND CELEBRATING!!!!

Can you stop drifting over and ignoring that other players do it too now??

Have you any evidence of this? Earlier you said it was in a game where someone later pointed out that the Tyrone keeper was at the Canal End in the second half!!!

I'd love to see a video or online reference to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Didn't he also go over to the Hill at the end of the replayed game and throw his jersey into the crowd, so it's not like there was any malice, i.e. Mulligan had respect for the Hill.

I think so. He used the Hill as motivation. Joe Brolly was alot more annoying at the show boating but then I'm from Donegal.:D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.