Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Debs

• 22-07-2007 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

So how are yiz all feeling about the debs?? ...I cant wait for mine, its gonna be sum laugh..anybodys head still recked tryin to get everything sorted?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

No not really...debs tickets bought last week, bag and shoes from last year..getting the dress today from the interwebz- http://formalgownsdirect.co.uk/Prom%2006201.htm

Not going in for that hair, make-up really expensive getting someone to the house crap, and not going in a limo either- the bus is so fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 martymusic

Ur gettin a bus!??..Id well prefer to be gettin a bus down wit all me mates aswell instead of all dis limo s**t...id say d atmosphere on the bus will be deadly...alot less expensive aswell!!..haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Kidd-o

Oh God, my debs is on next month (yeah we have it early) i still need a date, but i do have the dress!
    I am not lookin forward to this at all!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Still need to buy a ticket. They went on sale late enough. €50 for a single and already paid desposit.

The venue is only down the road -- I mean walking distance. There will be no splashing out on a limousine here! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭*belle*

mine is on really soon too.still have no date or dress.. not really into the limo idea either.. sure all this debs stuff cant be that hard.can it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I have no date, and right now that much prospect of getting one...

Feckin rip off too, €85 per ticket...

Sigh....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭cson

Uh the debs..... we had ours on thursday, my recollection is a tad hazy but I can say for a fact that the Auburn Lodge Hotel are a shower of bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭fionated7

mine is next month, got my tix n dress but thats it.. my lesser half will be in america wiv his mates so off i go to find a date...

not bothered wiv a limo, save the money for alcohol

• Registered Users Posts: 21,391 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Have only paid for the tickets, but AFAIK, there has been no contact from the people organising it. Its most likely to end up being cancelled. Boo hoo says I</sarcasm>. Ah its all just a load of crap, if it does happen, I'll just bring a friend, then got horribly drunk and never have to remember it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Bought tickets months ago, don't really have a date at the moment but there are a few people I can bring. Gotta order dress from online cos all the other dresses are too common (says the girl from Leixlip...) I'm sure I'll find nice shoes, since I work in a shoe shop, hair? Curl it. Make up? Sister will do it. Limo? If people keep nagging me I'll cave.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

You work in a shoe shop that doesn't DO high heels. Just get ones from Barratts or something, there are sales on. If you get a limo, you suck, c'mon..bus is just FUN.

We do high heels, especially around Debs season!! And I'm more of a Cinders gal than a Barrats gal. I'll probably get the limo though.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

We only got the date for ours there a few weeks ago, and even so its not 'official'-its just that a parent rang up the place where it was rumoured to be on and found this out. We'll only be finding out probably on results day how much the tickets are, when we can buy them etc so its a mess but none the less its still a debs!

Thats said, I'll have a tux, maybe a limo.Who knows.

the debs vet that I am i'm gonna warn you all, especially the girls, for all the trouble that goes into the debs, dresses and all that, you are fortunately/unfortunately never likely to remember what actually happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Yeah, once the formalitites of photos and chocolates and meeting auld pairs ****e is over, it's just like another session except with a meal thrown in. Still one of the best nights out I've had though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

JC 2K3 wrote:

Sigh....

society-pwnt

:P

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭kisaragi

Mine are 85 euro too... Cept we paid them in installments throughout the year so it wasn't so bad!

Have a date, just need to rent a tux, buy a corsage etc... not much effort required I think ;)

I went to the debs last year too and it was awesome!! One of the best nights I've had. For anyone worried about getting a date... Just go with your friends! It's so much less hassle! After the first few songs everyone was dancing with everyone else anyway.

So yeah, looking forward to it... Was sooo annoyed though.. My friend asked me to his debs, but then ours were both on at the same time... Grrrr...

So yeah, it's an expensive night out sure! But a brilliant one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

One tip-If you don't have a bf/gf, ask a friend. Way better fun & you won't have to be minding them all night! It is NOT the night to try to get with someone! Enjoy it!

I was going to take the ex but that'd just be too much hassle now, my friends are all too short to take!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭DtotheK

85 euro is bad... but 100 is worse!

I really should work on gettin a date soon!!
    (but have til early september..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

One tip-If you don't have a bf/gf, ask a friend. Way better fun & you won't have to be minding them all night! It is NOT the night to try to get with someone! Enjoy it!
    Problem I have there is that most of my friends who are girls are in the same school as me, which means if I go with one of them they'll already have a debs ticket and I'll have wasted €85 on an extra one(and chances are they'll have also).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭KarmaCreep

JC 2K3 wrote:

Sigh....

We're in the exact same boat. Tickets for mine were €85 a pop as well and at the moment i'm goin stag. Luckily i have until october to find/kidnap a date.:D

Post up lonely hearts boards.ie ads.

I picked my date today, and the guy rocks. hooray! Now I need a dress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Kidd-o

Our tickets were only like €35 but our entire debs commitee (ie. my friends and i) got tickets for free...

so yeah, i still need a date!! AAGGHH

/me points.

IT'S A NEWBIEEEEEEEEEE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Rozabeez wrote:
    /me points.

IT'S A NEWBIEEEEEEEEEE!

Don't you will scare them away. lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Bad Roz. Stay back for the newb

But I want to be his friend :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭KarmaCreep

Rozabeez wrote:
    Post up lonely hearts boards.ie ads.

I'm not that desperate......yet:(

Hire out some 'escort' for the nite. Not only will you show everyone else up - "This is Kriciew, my date" but she'll be class for the pictures. And other stuff.