Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tues July 24th 19:45 Three Rock -v- Morriscastle experience

• 23-07-2007 2:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭

Ok Guys it's time to get a win.
    I am back able to play after my 2 weeks out with injury, it was hard watching from the sidelines and not being able to dig in on the pitch.

Jules – unknown
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - Will be there
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Retired
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will be there
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Retired
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will be there
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - Retired
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Injured
    Ed - Will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Darren, Sav, Larry, Manchester Mike

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Ill be there

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Ste - Retired
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Injured
    Ed - Will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Darren, Sav, Larry, Manchester Mike

That's 13 so far, still waiting to hear from the others?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ill see if i can get a keeper unless anybody else wants to volunteer?!!

Ed if you know a keeper that's available we should defo go for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Apologies but can't make this game lads. Hopefeully see yiz nxt week.

OK fair enough Sav, thanks for letting us know.

Jules – will be there
    Carl (keeper) - Holidays
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Ste - Retired
    Shay - Will be there
    Mikie - unknown
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - Injured
    Ed - Will be there
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Will be there
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – Will be there
    Gav - Will be there
    Others - Darren, Larry, Manchester Mike, Martin

The two lads that posted in the sticky up there about joining up, I think they'll be there too. Anto McC and Martin (LeixlipRed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I'll definitely be there Des. Hopefully you won't be too short of players as I don't fancy playing a full 60 minutes after last night's game. But I'm willing and able

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Jules – unknown
    Carl (keeper) - unknown
    Colm Larkin - unknown
    Michael - Will be there
    Darragh - unknown
    Ste - unknown
    Shay - unknown
    John - unknown
    Mikie - Injury won't be there.
    Colm Field - unknown
    Niall - unknown
    Ed - unknown
    Keith - unknown
    Joe - Unknown
    Enda - Unknown
    Geoff – unknown
    Gav - unknown
    Others - none yet

Good victory tonight lads. Was well off the pace myself but I can see from that one game you have the "honesty of effort" that Mr Giles goes on about so much. :D The opposition were technically much better but their heart wasn't in it and we took advantage of that. Cheers guys and looking forward to playing with you all in the next season

OK lads, nice win last night.

All I have to say is this, we didn't really play any differently last night to the way we've been playing in the past couple of months.

Plenty of spirit and fight, we kept going until the final whistle, only this time WE got the luck. We held out under some decent pressure from them in the last fifteen minutes.

Once again, fair play to the lads who came to give us a dig out with the numbers, Art the 'keeper and Martin and Anto.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

final score?

Boards 1 Morriscastle 0

Scorer Jules

Its a good feeling to come on ere today and for a change, not feeling sorry for ourselves, contemplating a defeat that should have been a better result. Last night, was a tight game, with little chances, but we finally got a thing that we were missing so far this season, luck. when i say luck, I mean that its the first time in about 2 months that we did not have the major share of posssession that came our way, yet we still won. We took the one clear chance that came our way and it was a class goal, fair play to Joe who made it from nothing. They only had 2 clear chances, both of them were brilliant saved by Art, who did us a big favour last night, fair play to him.

They were a good team, but as we have been doing for a while now, we defended brilliantly, midfield also played a part in this. we have cut out defensive mistakes and with a bit of organisation, which i expect to stay, we are not conceeding silly goals (only 3 conceded in 3 games is pretty good considering no sliding tackles, and no offsides(i.e. plenty of goalhanging!)

Everybody played well last night, with a few outstanding performances. As des has already said, thanks to the 3 new lads that came down and helped us, we would have only had 10 were it not for them.

btw team was

Art
    Darran _ Ed _ Geoff _Michael
    Gav _ Shay _ Anto _ Lar
    Jules _ Joe

Darragh
    Martin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

'shtuff lads.

Yep, that was a very good win lads. Sometimes its nice to win when you know its sheer grit and determination that won it for you, as opposed to simply being the better team. They were good footballers in all areas of the park but we wanted the win more and it showed. We moaned at ref, they moaned about our moaning. We generally cut it out, then they just kept on at the ref for the rest of the game while we just focused on shutting them out. Always better to win and then say ‘the ref didn’t help’ then use it as an excuse when you lose. And he is a poor ref no doubt – as demonstrated by the handball he let go in the game after ours. But moaning at him simply makes things worse so we need to just ignore him next week.

We took the goal well in a textbook counter attack, and Joe did very well to keep it in and get it across to me, but we didn’t create many more chances, though somehow we should’ve still been 2 up at half-time. 2nd half we actually had very little of the ball and in truth made very little threat, but it felt good mucking in and getting stuck in and the more frustrated they seemed to get the better it felt. Their number 10 saying ‘that’s it I’ve had enough of this’ and walking off the pitch after I’d cleanly taken the ball off him and clipped his knee with the follow through was hilarious and at that point I knew for sure it was our night. :) Fair play to the defence for the shut-out and midfield for providing good cover, and would’ve been nice to see Shay’s net buster sneak into the top corner as a reward.

If they’re 2nd in the league it really shows that there’s only possibly one team in the league that is better than us, but we need to keep up that level of fight to keep the wins coming in.

Fair play to the new lads, and Art was quality in goal. If he's a better striker than he is a keeper he'll be a great addition...though what will we do now we have the 2 best keepers in the league???

the more frustrated they seemed to get the better it felt.
    Ha, yeah. It was great winding them up alright. My personal favourite was the 'nettles' incident and yer man just screaming at Anto "Ya sh!thead!".:D

If we were to put it bluntly, they were a bunch of pussies. That tackle Anto made totally messed them up. Totally fair tackle, never lifted his feet and they cried about it like a bunch of girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Well done lads.

Cheers,

Mikie.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

seansouth wrote:
    Ha, yeah. It was great winding them up alright. My personal favourite was the 'nettles' incident and yer man just screaming at Anto "Ya sh!thead!".:D

I got stung right up my arms :D

Between that and the fair tackle LeixlipRed talks about above,i don't think they like me very much :D

The funniest bit was straight after that tackle,your mans team mate runs over and shouts:

Him - "he has work in the morning"
    Me - "thats well for him"

And he is a poor ref no doubt – as demonstrated by the handball he let go in the game after ours.

that was something else alright.

picture the suituation - a long ball up to the striker and as it landed to him, jules said "lads, refs dont really matter in these games". the striker then proceeds to catch, yes catch, not handle the ball, totally oblivious to the ref. the ball ends up in net.

that was something else alright.

picture the suituation - a long ball up to the striker and as it landed to him, jules said "lads, refs dont really matter in these games". the striker then proceeds to catch, yes catch, not handle the ball, totally oblivious to the ref. the ball ends up in net.

Yep, he’s a bad ref, but you either spend the game worrying about him (like they did), or you just get on with it knowing that it’s just plain futile to keep arguing with him: the next 50-50 decision is gonna go against you if you keep arguing. Last season and early this season I was getting involved with the refs cos I was used to a better standard of reffing (seriously, they are very poor and I do question how ‘qualified’ they are)....but as more of our team started doing the same it became clear the refs didn’t like us and we were paying for it, so I’ve largely cut it out myself and am trying to get everyone to do the same. They’re frustrating refs (my pet hate is the push in the back strikers get for every header and cos the ref is sitting on the half-way line he’s never gonna see it), but if we keep moaning they’ll keep consciously going against us...if we leave them to it we’ll at least get 50% of their dodgy decisions going for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

burn them all i say, burn them all