Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Regular tourney discussion - Who's going and what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

its a €65 round of each game tonight, im heading in

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Cash game final is on in Lukes, will be an extra 5k floating around the omaha game. Double hrs all tonight and tomorrow night for new league.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,341 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

its a €65 round of each game tonight, im heading in

Decisions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 thedrunkleader

Just a quick question, does anyone know the name of the website of the people who used to be Special Days? I think they're based in Athy and they had a stand at the IPO. Looking to get a decent quality table/top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Just a quick question, does anyone know the name of the website of the people who used to be Special Days? I think they're based in Athy and they had a stand at the IPO. Looking to get a decent quality table/top.

www.casinoshop.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

well yeah, deal, but i had most chips, got most money and got the points for winning, so im considering that a win......i took 1200 they took 900 each

You gave Tadgh a chop????? really?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

its christmas

Tadghs out of retirement, it certainly is Christmas!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

I felt like giving him a feckin karate chop when he hit his rag hi flush after he "had to call and hope I wasn't flushing too" for his whole stack in the SE last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I felt like giving him a feckin karate chop when he hit his rag hi flush after he "had to call and hope I wasn't flushing too" for his whole stack in the SE last night.

I almost done something similar Monday night. He spent the whole night with his usual post mortems...i folded 23 would have hit flush, I folded J5 would have hit a house etc. About 12 out, I lost a big hand which crippled me..the boards comes runner runner 8. Tadgh says "Tony, Tony..i folded 83 would have beat yeah aswel". I just lost it and said "Tadgh, i dont give a fck what you folded, neither does anyone else..." Didnt stop him!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Hi gang,
    Is anyone heading into the Jackpot tonight for the charity game for the simon community

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055194671

Myself and Martin are heading in....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Flushdraw wrote: »
    I almost done something similar Monday night. He spent the whole night with his usual post mortems...i folded 23 would have hit flush, I folded J5 would have hit a house etc. About 12 out, I lost a big hand which crippled me..the boards comes runner runner 8. Tadgh says "Tony, Tony..i folded 83 would have beat yeah aswel". I just lost it and said "Tadgh, i dont give a fck what you folded, neither does anyone else..." Didnt stop him!

To keep my sanity and stop myself from skewering him with a rusty spoon last night, I played the delightful game of "count how many times tadgh folds the nuts preflop".

In my scientific sample range of 13 consecutive hands, he said he folded two pair in 7 of the 13 hands. And once would have hit a straight. This is actually true. (Except he folded them all preflop that is).

I really could not cope with it and done my wages in phone credit while onto the samartians suicide hotline all day today.

I feel much better now though.

I could listen to Tadgh all night in a cash game at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

even worse - in dundalk, they allow rabbit hunting . . . which i dont mind the odd time, if ou put it all in with SFD or something of the sort, but norm it does my head in. recently they have removed levels (3 in total) and moved blinde levels from 25mins, to 15 mins. WTF - reasoning is people are annoyed at wasting their whole night for small turn out, yet they still allow rabbit hunting. worse than anything - often the action wont even stray past a button raise, and two folds and the same annoyn fkr will ask to "see the flop, and turn , and river" tadgh would love it. The big problem is that a few months back, someone refused showing the main culprit the flop, he huffed and dint play for awhile - and he's the BIGGEST value in the cash.

what do you do??
    if there wasnt such value id never play

(jus to note, due to complaints, blinds have been put back to 20 mins)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Olly i ended up taking it down :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Olly i ended up taking it down :)

nice one Danny great work. At least I got taken out by the winner. After that nice twix you gave me I went to Lukes in search of food and a game to win my entry fee back in. Mission accomplished I'm glad to say :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

wp jackpot

I have been to the jackpot 3 times, and never made it past level 2 in any of the games, and last night was no better.

its never fun when you run into set over set, sigh... Great atmosphere and great night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

smurph wrote: »
    I have been to the jackpot 3 times, and never made it past level 2 in any of the games, and last night was no better.

its never fun when you run into set over set, sigh... Great atmosphere and great night.

why didnt you play the CHL tournament league game? you'd qualified no problem...

how many runners did the jackpot get?!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,322 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Jackpot got 63 runners.

some of the highlights for people who weren't there.

Gary Clark coming dressed as a Polar Bear,
    A truely sick hand of Set vrs Set vrs Set all-in on the flop. Unlucky smurph
    The draw for a frame of snooker with Ken dotherty was picked from a hat, the winning ticket was owned by . . . . . Ken dotherty. Who had busted and left.
    Atmosphere was great, and was was truely in the spirt of good fun.

My only complaint was the payout structure. Far too top heavy. 9 Paid, first 4 places get money back.
    2300-1300-730-580-360-120-120-110-110...........or similar

I was middle in chips on the final table, and fairly happy with the draw. Some players were getting quite drunk as it was almost 3am and Duke had provided free beer.

I was sitting tight, waiting for a hand, while I did this, the various 3 shorties went all-in a couple of times, everytime the shortie survived. Creating a new shortie, who then survives his all-in.

My busto hand, chipleader raises to 12000 (BB is 4000). I re-raise all-in for 45k, this is almost half the CLs stack. He calls with KJo :o , my AQ is no good with a J on the river

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

The twix was nice alrite. I thought you were goin straight home? You would of nearly had ur entry fee in scalps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

The twix was nice alrite. I thought you were goin straight home? You would of nearly had ur entry fee in scalps?

BCB told me that the main game was playing painfully slow in the SE and had a few pain in the ass drunks (who weren't spewing just slowplaying) so I took my name of the list and said I was leaving. I didn't say home though :rolleyes:. BCB said that.

I bought two of those scalps so I think I only won three.

I should have folded my pocket fives as I was pretty sure you had a good hand but with 8.5 BB's and 5 handed I lacked the discipline to do the right thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Mellor wrote: »
    Jackpot got 63 runners.

some of the highlights for people who weren't there.

Gary Clark coming dressed as a Polar Bear,

Class costume, wp.
    Mellor wrote: »
    My busto hand, chipleader raises to 12000 (BB is 4000). I re-raise all-in for 45k, this is almost half the CLs stack. He calls with KJo :o , my AQ is no good with a J on the river

You were very unlucky there, and played good stuff until then. He used your chips well and me and him chopped it in the end with him getting the bigger part.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,322 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I was shocked when he called 40-50% of his stack with that. Half the table wasn't playing attention at all. The standard was fairly bad though, a couple of times a short stack called, not raised, called an all in with air, only to hit.

A few of the lads didnt want to play hands, so with the top heavy payout i has to be aggressive to make cash, no regrets

Nice chop for you anyway, wp

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Brayruit

Anyone know what is on in SE, CHL's tomorrow night or are they just running their regular Sunday tournaments?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

are all the regular tournies on tonight? Does CHL get many runners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

anyone heading into the SE tonight ? wondering if this will get the numbers.!

Thinking of heading in.... Im not in work til Thursday so It would be a waste not to do something degenerate, besides drinking (like I have done every day since 21st December sigh)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

anyone headin into the jackpot 40FO tonite? or anyone know wat numbers are like these days??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Im playing this tonight. Havent played in about a month but it had been getting about 30-40 runners.