Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's so appalling about Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Terry wrote:
    Eviction due to being unable to pay the mortgage.
    Reposssesion of cars, TVs and other material goods.
    Having to leave the country to get any work at all.

Terry: Bleak outlook but possible. There are warnings about that already.

Wonder who will be scapegoated when it happens?
    Not the people who have caused it thats for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

bugler wrote:
    We're in a funny sort of situation at the moment whereby people in their 20s or even 30s have always known Ireland as a place on the way up.

I'm 34, in the eighties myself and a gang of friends hiked in the Wicklow mountains, canoed the rivers and canals, surfed the Atlantic, cycled accross the country, sailed the Irish Sea, went to art gallerys, visited musuems, went out in Dublin, Galway, Belfast, Sligo... and hundreds of other towns. Most of us had crap jobs and three of us were unemployed. We are doing the same things now, we just have better gear and nicer cars (that work) and some of us have our own sailing boats (we used to crew in the eighties)

What was said before, what you make of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

The lack of infrastructure is annoying, because we are now married to our cars.

The fact the we are known first and foremost for being heavey drinkers, and secondly for being Cute Hoores
    who would rob the sugar outa your tea.

The way people say Tirty Tree and Turd (kidding)

.. and the fact that my mate insists in hanging out in Cocoon and Lillies even though they bore the **** out of him, but he is more worried about being labelled lower class if he doesnt (SAD fact of life).

But at least the countryside itself is still nice escpecially places like Kerry and Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

The deco's, paddo's, damo's and tommo's fuk the whole country up with their rotten chavness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Marksie wrote:
    yeah my dad managed a load of em when he was helping to build a desalination plant in Libya.
    He said it was amazing to see em swarm all over the building with those boots with the big toe in em.

He also said, if you changed the plans, they would take time to assimilate the change then of they would go again. but therein lies the problem, the japenese would build it, Its managemnt here that is utter Sh*te they couldnt do anything properly.

Ah yeah, well I'd definetly hire Japanese managers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

bugler wrote:
    Very good healthcare.

Very good transport, in terms of both infrastructure and obviously to aide the general populations movement.
    Why?

Why these two things why not 'very good housing and very good childcare' or 'very low taxes and very tall buildings'.

I don't understand why healthcare is seen as such a big deal. What exempts healthcare from the capitalist paradigm?
    If I have more money I get a better car, why not a better doctor.

By the way that is not a rhetorical question. Why healthcare?

MM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Dun laoire wrote:
    The deco's, paddo's, damo's and tommo's fuk the whole country up with their rotten chavness.

Bleedin' wah-cha!

Wat abouh bleedin' Anto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The lack of intelligent leaders to elect, and the lack of the intelligence of those electing the cretins we do put in charge.

That imho is all that's truly wrong with this country. Every other problem we have stems from this one.

Aside from that, we're a pretty decent country with some beautiful scenery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Plissken1 wrote:
    The way people say Tirty Tree and Turd (kidding)
    Dude listen to your typical Australian ocker or bogan accent for a while and it would drive you frickin crazy. Every vowel is accentuated and ends up sounding as scumbaggy as your everyday Irish chav/culchie accent who can't pronounce their T&H's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Heinrich wrote:
    Bleedin' wah-cha!

Wat abouh bleedin' Anto?

Jesus no thats me bleedin name man. Anto's are sound as a pound man.

Well it's Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

No offense to country people. I meant people from Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Begrudgers, moaners, whingers, me feiners, hand wringers, passion of the Christ protesters, scambots, and the PDs, fook off somewhere else you're bringing the mood down ! Buzzkillers !

Dun laoire wrote:
    Jesus no thats me bleedin name man. Anto's are sound as a pound man.

Well it's Tony

whazza storeee anto? howza buzz?

Heinrich wrote:
    Bleedin' wah-cha!

Wat abouh bleedin' Anto?

and Darren

"Darren !!! come heeeeoorrre"

yeah love, try ****ing ringing him, no need to shout down the street !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Negatives about irl:

1) The weather - the rainiest place in europe (probably??). Going abroad for a hol is a necessity for the majority of people who need an annual dosage of sunny spain or somewhere.

2) Corrupt Politicians - (and the people who vote them in). Cooper-Flynn, Lowry etc etc. Why oh why? We're more interested in people who can seemingly do the job, (even if they lack integrity) just because they've done it before, than giving the new guy a break to see what he can do.

3) Lack of an underground rail in Dublin/transport infra in general. Munich has a similar population, and their undergroud takes ten of thousands off the roads every day. We need to build one now, before the roads such as the M50 road/carpark gets any worse.

4) Healthcare is substandard too. The MRSA bug in hospitals is a disgrace.

At least Dublin is getting a Metro, and it doesnt matter how much it costs, because it will make Dublin into a thriving Metropolis, it will bring in more invstement and more new business, finally turning his Town into a proper City. Heres hoping it will improve the boring nightlife too.

Dermot Desmond will even make his money back, when prices hit Manhattan rates. I would certainly like to own some commercial property in the centre anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Ah yeah, well I'd definetly hire Japanese managers too.

Great promotion chances, too many mistakes and they fall on their biros

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ireland isn't really as bad as people are making it out to be. Unemplotment is low, per capita we're one of the richest countries in the world and many other things are what people are forgeting. Also the reason things like health care, telecoms infrastructure and transport infrastructure etc aren't faring as well is because these things take serious capital investment and were left horribly under invested in for years. Why? Because there was no money to invest in these things because Ireland wasn't as wealthy as it is now all that long ago.

These things are getting better though. Health care while there are problems with waiting lists and I know first hand that it is getting better and also that it is faring a lot better than the north (don't know if that compares to the rest of britain.
    Transport - we have the luas and there is talk of extending the current lines and adding new ones. Also iarnrod eireann are introducing new trains soon and I believe are upgrading the Cork-Dublin line so they can put faster trains on the line.

What I'm trying to say is that while things are exactly perfect, they are alot better than they were and are getting better. Some things just take time.

Oh the worst thing about Ireland is the current hair fashion !!

Its ****ing terrible, its ten .. no fifty, a hundred times worse than anything that we had in the 1980's. Everyone is walking around looking like badgers !!, or gay punks. I dunno, they will look back in ten years and go "WTF was I thinking". The hair dressers need a good kick up the hole for allowing people to leave their shops looking like they got half scapled, dragged through a hedge backwards, and then had bleech thrown at them from about ten feet away. ****ing awful awful hair do's !! pure muck !!

Bring back the 80's style all is forgiven !

Actually while I am on the subject, I have realised also that 80's POP is far superior to the **** thats out today.

Plissken1 wrote:
    At least Dublin is getting a Metro, and it doesnt matter how much it costs, because it will make Dublin into a thriving Metropolis, it will bring in more invstement and more new business, finally turning his Town into a proper City. Heres hoping it will improve the boring nightlife too.

Dermot Desmond will even make his money back, when prices hit Manhattan rates. I would certainly like to own some commercial property in the centre anyway.

and the pensioners will be gettin €300 pw. When is the operative word, WHEN!

We have the Dart and the Luas and the M50 traffic jam and the lousy bus services.

The Health Service has has 10 years of Celtic Tiger and is in tatters. We still have those large school classes. Now if we were to pay for all the shortcomings in the infrastructure of the country it would go broke overnight.

The scenery is grand though. Tara comes to mind.:rolleyes:

Heinrich wrote:
    and the pensioners will be gettin €300 pw. When is the operative word, WHEN!

We have the Dart and the Luas and the M50 traffic jam and the lousy bus services.

The Health Service has has 10 years of Celtic Tiger and is in tatters. We still have those large school classes. Now if we were to pay for all the shortcomings in the infrastructure of the country it would go broke overnight.

The scenery is grand though. Tara comes to mind.:rolleyes:

If we don't focus on infrastructure the country is ****ed, because we got this far by relying on the short term gains from the building trade, and cheap credit. Which is what they did in the UK in the 80's. The government knows too well that this was always a short term tactic, it will not last forever. It can also turn around and bite you on the ass.

I know people who are really stretched and really worried, because of the latest interest rate rises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Permanent and pension able, benchmarked protected civil servants who get huge bonuses even when they cannot deliver drinkable water to the people of Galway.

in fairness, its hard to deliver drinkable water to the people of Galway, seeing as its main resevoir, lough corrib is contaminated by sewage - sewage introduced as a direct result of incompetent planning by allowing 400 houses to pump sh1t into the lake. Blame the planners..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Begrudgers, moaners, whingers, me feiners, hand wringers, passion of the Christ protesters, scambots, and the PDs, fook off somewhere else you're bringing the mood down ! Buzzkillers !
    A-****ing-men.

The place is infested with small minded whining begruders.

"Waaa! I hate the working class!"
    "Waaa! The state wont hold my hand through every little facet of my life!"
    "Waaa! Its raining outside"

Stop Whining!

CiaranC wrote:
    A-****ing-men.

The place is infested with small minded whining begruders.

"Waaa! I hate the working class!"
    "Waaa! The state wont hold my hand through every little facet of my life!"
    "Waaa! Its raining outside"

Stop Whining!

It's an Irish thing. That and alcoholism.. and Cowboyism :p

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

gyppo wrote:
    in fairness, its hard to deliver drinkable water to the people of Galway, seeing as its main resevoir, lough corrib is contaminated by sewage - sewage introduced as a direct result of incompetent planning by allowing 400 houses to pump sh1t into the lake. Blame the planners..

The planners are permanent, pensionable and benchmarked public servants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

It's filthy theres rubbish everywhere , in the street and in the countryside and to top it all off it's full of knackers

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

This country is getting better all the time healtcare,infrastructure etc will catch up however there is always room for improvement. One gripe is have is about the people's attitude to drink. There is having a good time and being excessive. You would swear they never had anything to drink in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

I find myself quite regularly alternating between saying "sometime i love this country" and "sometimes i hate this country"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

The standard of living in Ireland, I don't like

I don't like the majority of Irish people. Most people I meet seem very racist and narrow minded.

Also, a lot of people complain of life here, why don't they move

I'll certainly will when I'm done with my education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Creggy, sounds like your hanging around in the wrong circles. None of the people I hang around with are racist and they don't complain, they do something about what's bothering them.

Actually... maybe your not hanging around in the wrong circles at all.. your just complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Nothing.
    Ireland is perfect, yeh bloody besterd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Plissken1 wrote:
    The hair dressers need a good kick up the hole for allowing people to leave their shops looking like they got half scapled, dragged through a hedge backwards, and then had bleech thrown at them from about ten feet away.
    HAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!

its true its true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

creggy wrote:
    The standard of living in Ireland, I don't like

I don't like the majority of Irish people. Most people I meet seem very racist and narrow minded.

Also, a lot of people complain of life here, why don't they move

I'll certainly will when I'm done with my education.

Where are you from creggy? You seem to be abit hypocritical there if you don't mind me saying. On one hand you say that you don't like the standard of living & the majority of people in Ireland then on the other hand you say that people who complain about life here should move? :confused:

In my experience the people who complain the most about Ireland are people from other countries that live here. I'm engaged to an Eastern European girl and I have meet loads of other nationalities through her (her friends are mainly Eastern Europeans) plus we both work & socialise with a healthy mix of other nationalities. The one main topic of conversation that always comes up is; 'How bad Ireland is' and I always seem to be put in a position to try and defend my country as it always seems to get slated.

It seems that most foreigners that come here unfairly compare the good points of their own countries to the bad points in Ireland. Okay, Ireland is not perfect but it must not be that bad if we can attract such a large influx of foreign nationals to our shores. We have problems yes, but name one country in the world that is problem free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Raekwon wrote:
    We have problems yes, but name one country in the world that is problem free?
    Switzerland.

I don't know that for sure, but you never hear anything about Switzerland in the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Raekwon wrote:
    We have problems yes, but name one country in the world that is problem free?

There isn't any countries with no problems. Its just that we have alot of serious ones previously outlined. To those who say Ireland is a great place to live etc etc. You obviously haven't seen the world enough. Our transpoort seriously sucks. Healthcare etc etc but our most pressing problem is our sense of self. It seems our irishness has been diluted by the huge injection of cash into our economy. 5-10 years ago i knew what it was to be Irish. Now i don't and have moved because of it. Our greed and wealth have destroyed a truly unique country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

What's so appalling about Ireland? The only thing I can think of is its too close to england.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭2funki4wheelz

Ireland's not bad at all - I just think so many people are self-centred and greedy and don't know the value of money now. We have it good and people are borrowing like crazy to have it better/flashier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

The nouveau riche. They are awful. No class or breeding in them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

culchies with pedicures, it's just not right.