Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Booze!! Whadda you drink on a night out?

• 25-07-2007 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭

So on a night out we'll have our usual beer but what about other drinks? Certain mixes, shots, your own lil' mix, what do you brothers wet your whistles with?

Besides Guinness and Heineken I usually have Black Aftershocks, Tequilas (with the lemon, salt), Double Vodkas with Blackcurrent & Orange Mi-wadi (What! When you mix it perfectly the taste is bloody nice!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Guinness and Heineken are my mainstays, but I'll often drink a large Tequila (neat), shots of Sambuca, Jemmys, and I'm a fan of those Brain Hemorrage cocktails. I've no idea whats in them, but they look the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭MrSquishSquash

Murphy's or Heineken!

Shots - Tequila = Memory wiped.

Double Shot - Was introduced to a lethal one with nickname: "Flaming Nazi!"

Jagermeister and the drink with the golden flakes in it! (can't remember the name of it). Anyway it'll give you double vision pretty damn quick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

guinness, heineken or bass where i can get it and i might have the odd glass of port

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

it was guinness for me until friday night after which i decided i'm off the booze.

but i'm finishing up my job at the end of the week and am looking forward to falling off the wagon in spectacular circumstances. huzzah!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Well a pint of heineken can't be bet. Apart from that I drink sambuca's, vodka with blackcurrant when the student bars have it going cheap, pernod (though it's been a while), double jameson and west coast cooler (don't worry brothers it's great for getting you ****faced) and absinthe whenever I can get my hands on it. Don't drink the Jameson and west coast cooler that often as it's pricey and whiskey gives me hangovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jagermeister and the drink with the golden flakes in it! (can't remember the name of it). Anyway it'll give you double vision pretty damn quick!
    Ah, Goldschlager! Rough ol' posion that alright! My mates have grown a taste for blue aftershock, filthy bastards!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

the drink with the golden flakes in it! (can't remember the name of it)

Gold shagger I believe.

Edit: Duggy bet me too it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Spoiled for choice here, it's all good!
    If I'm on a quiet night out and just having 6 or 7 then I'll be on the hefeweizen's, otherwise I'll be on one of the many pils that are available here! It's hard to beat the local Astra beer @ €1.50 a bottle when out on a nice long session till 7 or 8 in the morning :D

Edit:
    Forgot the whiskeys, doh!
    I like my lagavulin and macallan when on a quiet night out, otherwise it's a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Guinness with a Guinness chaser.

I can't drink double jameson & west coast Cooler anymore. As soon as I started rigouriously downing the stuff they come out with West Coast Cooler ads aimed at wimmen.

Though it's not so bad, when you ask for a Double Jameson and West Coast I'm sure they assume you're gonna down the Jameson while your bitch gets the West Coast...................hmmm, never thought of it that way!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Although I'm partial to nice cold bottles of Staropramen or Budvar, most places don't ever stock enough to ensure there'll be a cold one for your third beer, so I usually stick to pints of Heineken for convenience sake, or occasionally Guinness if I'm in somewhere like Mulligans. If I'm being a little more sophisticated, or just too full of beer, I drink vodka and tonic. Don't usually do shots, but if I have to, or when I just want something stronger tasting than vodka, Wild Turkey bourbon is your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

Guinness and Heineken with many Jager's in between, straight mind, not diluted with red bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

I've started Drinkin Bulmers...which is really weird for me! even my friend couldnt get used to lookin at me drinkin a pint of something...lol
    I'll never be a beer or Wine Drinker i dont think.

Unfortunately i'm mad into my Fizzy girly drinks but i Drink mostly Vodka and whatever mixer.... AND!!! my Favourtie! Remember those Frosties Sweets??...... Malibu and Red Lemonade!! tastes exactly like them...SSSOOOOOO easy to drink. Too easy. Luverly it is!! :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Bulmers, lovely cold long neck bottles.

or double vodkas mixed with Smirnoff Ice when i'm feeling rebellious and the need to get polluted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

When in: Pratsky*

When out: Guinness

When in a nightclub where the bar is crowded and I'm not arsed q-ing for half an hour for the two pours of guinness which is going to taste like muck anyway and which will probably end up spilled on about 20 people on the way back...(gasp for air)...: Whatever

*after 7 years of dutch gold I fancied a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Beer is Tiger if the bar has it! Have never seen Cobra in an Irish bar, 'twould be a toss up between those too if it were.

Shots/spirits. If I have the money (very rarely) then it's double southern comforts and red with a red aftershock chaser! If i'm poor, just the SC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Bulmers followed by vodka red bulls followed by jagerbombs. A good receipe for a good night.

maple wrote:
    or double vodkas mixed with Smirnoff Ice when i'm feeling rebellious and the need to get polluted.

Emmm, thats the recipe for homemade rohypnol. If I was a barman and you ordered that I'd call the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I think we should come up an Atari Jaguar cocktail, and popularise it across Dublin bars and nightclubs, perhaps this mission deserves it's own thread?

Support +/-

Hey, not a bad idea! We should all try and come up with some wacky yet brillian concoction and call or an Atari Jaguar or, just simply, BGRH!

"Barman, get me a double BGRH now!!"

Hmm, has a ring to it. Though the more you drink it the harder it'll be to say!

I think the 'atari jaguar' would catch on better.

Most people wouldn't remember BGRH, even if you tried to explain it to them. (in a loud bar/nightclub)

What would be in this concoction though. It would have to be drinkable to catch on, but not a blatant rip off of other cocktails.

Make it a quadruple sambuca and I'm in.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

J.S. Pill wrote:
    Emmm, thats the recipe for homemade rohypnol. If I was a barman and you ordered that I'd call the police

yes but i'm female so he gladly hands it over.

Suppose the Jag sounds better but I wouldn't be up to explaining to people (or wimmen) what it means. Hell, I've yet to met someone in person who knows what it is. Still, "Can I have a double Atari Jaguar puh-lease?" sounds better.

Now, what to put in it! *pondering immensley*

In all honest, 'give me an atari jaguar' should really probably mean 'give me whatever cocktail you want, I don't care, just give me one now and cut the small talk'.

Which would also be fairly in keeping with the liberal attitude to alcohol this forum promotes. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

Duggy747 wrote:
    Now, what to put in it! *pondering immensley*

Sambuca, Peach Schnapps and Coke all in a pint glass. I came up with it by accident at a wedding when I was trying to get a friend polluted, and they didn't have any of my first choice of Jagermeister, Goldschlager and Bacardi (bah I hate you badly stocked hotel bars). By the end of the night there were loads of people up trying to buy it.

When I'm trying to get seriously sh*tfaced, I've been known to get five vodka's in a pint glass with ice, and top off with some coke to take the edge off it slightly. Or a treble tequila, but that just always leads of mayhem and destruction.

Why not make two different cocktails, atari jaguar and BGRH. Win win situation imo.
    Anyway I would normally drink miller genuine draft, tiger beer, erdinger, hoegaarden, stella artois, rebel lager if its available. Kopperberg mixed fruit cider is divine and at 7% is pretty potent stuff.
    Cant stomach heineken/guinness/murphy's/beamish, rotten muck altogether.

Says the man who drinks Miller "Genuine Draft" :rolleyes:

zaph wrote:
    Each to their own Brother. I'll buy anyone in here a round of aforementioned drinks, I'll just drink something else:D

Ah go on and admit it, you really love Guinnes, don't you? :D

zaph wrote:
    Ah go on and admit it, you really love Guinnes, don't you? :D
    I really really really do not like guinness. Tastes horrible. I've heard it said that its an acquired taste, but not one I could imagine acquiring myself.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

I really really really do not like guinness. Tastes horrible. I've heard it said that its an acquired taste, but not one I could imagine acquiring myself.:D

Depends where you get it from. If its from the right pub, its like pure cream, and a pleasure to drink. From the wrong pub, and its horrendous, and probably what boiled socks taste like.

I don't get the Heineken drinkers here myself. The taste of chemicals off it is something unreal, with explains the hangovers it gives. A friend of mine that didn't drink in college, but started drinking once he'd finished college used to drink it, but nearly gave up drink because of the hangovers he got from it. We converted him to Guinness, and he's well happy out.

zaph wrote:
    I drink Miller because out of all the mass produced piss that most pubs serve, its better than most and its miles better than crudweiser.:D

maple wrote:
    yes but i'm female so he gladly hands it over.

Forgive me for getting your gender wrong - this is afterall a forum for the manliest of manly men.

Jesus woman, drinking homemade rohypnol sends out a very dangerous signal. If they saw you, some of my dodgy mates would call a taxi immediately to ferry you home in (their home of course, not yours)

And why is there so many wimmins in here? Its alright when they have girly names like Irishbird and Happygirl but maple is too ambigious. How are we supposed to know when to stop scratching our balls and talking openly about pornography unless wimmins clearly identify themselves as such??

J.S. Pill wrote:
    How are we supposed to know when to stop scratching our balls and talking openly about pornography unless wimmins clearly identify themselves as such??

These are things that wimmins must simply learn to accept when they set foot in BGRH. Why should we alter our behaviour for them.
    WIMMIN, ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Guinness of course, if I'm in a decent/foreign pub leffe duvel aventinus westmalle triple, if not, carlsberg grolsch sometimes smithwicks. Partial to the odd jameson and if shots are involved tequila it is.

humbert wrote:
    Guinness of course, if I'm in a decent/foreign pub leffe duvel aventinus westmalle triple, if not, carlsberg grolsch sometimes smithwicks. Partial to the odd jameson and if shots are involved tequila it is.

westmalle triple-lovely, but hard to come by most of the time.

I drink Miller because out of all the mass produced piss that most pubs serve, its better than most and its miles better than crudweiser.:D

But they sell Stella everywhere now, so you've no excuse. (well, everywhere in Dublin).

For meself, you can't beat a decent pint of oul' Uncle Arthur. Sad thing is that it's next to impossible to get a decent one anywhere in town. Only a select few meet the acceptable standard. 'Tis a shame really.

My theory on this is that it's only the dingy old-school pubs that sell enough of it for it to be fresh every time. A lot of the time i reckon the one keg is sitting there all day (maybe longer). You just wouldn't get that down the country.

So, sadly, I've recently become addicted to Stella. 5.2% rocket fuel.
    For chasers/shorts i'd go between Hennessey, Capt. Morgan's rum, and (budget permitting) Midleton whiskey. Costs a fortune but it's liquid silk.

Was in an early house once and heard a Cork lad order a "cement mixer". Bailey's mixed with Tequila :eek: When i asked him why it was called that he said, "cos it's great at getting everything churning so you can make room for more drink". He then went into the jacks to drink it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i made a lovely cocktail at a party recently - rather inspired i thought but maybe a bit too girlie for you real men

frangelico, coffee, vodlka and milk, loads of ice and wiss it all in the blender - the good about it, is the coffee keeps you awake

i stick with my heino or guiness (depending on what i am in), death chargers, black rum and coke or jd and coke (but this sends me a bit mad)

Had a good, but simple cocktail recently. Its nothing special, but its good. I was at a party at my cousins gaff, and it was about 3 in the morning when someone said hey were getting tired(not me).
    My cousin goes out to the kitchen, empties a big fruit bowl, pours in a bottle of jamesons and a bottle of Smirnoff, chops up a load of limes that were previously in said fruitbowl and squeezed the juice into the mix.
    Lovely sweet and tangy and very strong. Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Guinness or Heineken normally depending on how I feel that night.

I love a nice whiskey but know that I can't drink more that about 2 or they make me go a bit crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

irishbird wrote:
    i made a lovely cocktail at a party recently - rather inspired i thought but maybe a bit too girlie for you real men

frangelico, coffee, vodlka and milk, loads of ice and wiss it all in the blender - the good about it, is the coffee keeps you awake

At least it keeps you in the kitchen :D

I'm a big fan of the Guinness. My local does a lovely pint - thankfully the place is only a five minute walk;) . At this stage I know the pubs that do good and bad pints of Guinness. I just don't go to the pubs that serve bad pints - nothing worse than a bad Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭retrospect

tequila and red bull = funny nite out :cool:

retrospect wrote:
    tequila and red bull = vomiting in the street :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MiniMetro

Pint wise, I've switched from Guinness to Heineken to Bulmers pint bottles in the last few years.

In the days of the Palace(€2 a drink) or Pegs(€1/£1 a drink) it used to be a quintuple vodka with a WKD or a Smirnoff Ice in a pint glass. The barmen used not let you order more than a double so you had to buy it as 4 "seperate" drinks. That's what you call protecting the youth! Luckily our noble Gardaí/court system convinced me to change my ways somewhat.

The old vodka and cranberry is your only man now or a vodka tonic. Especially nice when washed down with ample Rennie or if you are in the know, a simple Zantac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

found bass tonight!! in the newtown house if anyone is interested, god i love that drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,801 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Out: Guinness when it's cold, Bulmers when it's warm. The odd Jemmy to be thrown in for good measure.

In: Corona, red wine, brandy.

So, sadly, I've recently become addicted to Stella. 5.2% rocket fuel.

Used to have many a good night with a crate of stella. I've gotten off the stuff now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dublin's Finest

Stella hangover can be, how should I put it, "aggressive".

Peroni is good...not that common in Ireland yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Ok i'll usually start the night easy on a few bottles of Erdinger where available, possibly dabbling in Tiger or Cobra where found.

After a couple of those im done with beer, move on to the double Southy and limes... over here that's a fair amount of Southy and lime cordial, over in the states that order would be like be getting 5 or 6 shots of Southy and a slice of lime on the side! And at a fraction of the price.

I love american bars... gotta visit the hick towns for the cheap cheap booze though.

Only one place in the world can you get 16 pitchers of beer, 40 random shots (US size shots) and 4 huge home cooked pizza's for $150... yes $150.... thats less than i'd spend on a good night out! I love Wisconsin, wooo!