Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

top gear yesterday

• 26-07-2007 8:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭

could someone please tell me how Top Gear ended yesterday, I missed the last part where Jeremy and Captain Slow were only few miles from the North pole,

thanks,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Jeremy won it...amid jokes about the irony that the car is supposedly destroying the ice-caps, and yet it can barely 'scrape the surface'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

cheers! Jeremy actually wins all the time in the show.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

This time he won by miles though, rather than the usual dodgy and probably staged close finish they have.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,464 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Stephen wrote:
    This time he won by miles though, rather than the usual dodgy and probably staged close finish they have.
    True, but they came pretty close to disaster (getting stuck, broken down, falling through thin ice) a good few times, Whereas 'Team Dog' just breezed on through without any incidents at all.

By the way, it was the Magnetic North Pole they went to not the real one, did anyone else notice the GPS reading when they arrived at their destination?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Alun wrote:
    Whereas 'Team Dog' just breezed on through without any incidents at all.

I'd say realisitcally the dog team had a much tougher, pysically and mentally draining time. Its a car show not a dog show! But your right, they made it look easy for the dog team.
    Alun wrote:
    By the way, it was the Magnetic North Pole they went to not the real one, did anyone else notice the GPS reading when they arrived at their destination?

Good point, I'd imagine it was true north, not magnetic north.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,464 ✭✭✭✭Alun

lightening wrote:
    I'd say realisitcally the dog team had a much tougher, physically and mentally draining time.
    Dead right, it's a lot harder than it looks, I've done it myself (not to the North Pole, I might add).
    Its a car show not a dog show! But your right, they made it look easy for the dog team.
    What I meant was that it wasn't quiet as clear cut as they portrayed, and could quite easily have gone completely the other way. They never actually said what the margin was in the end, it all ended rather abruptly, almost as if they'd run out of film or something, I thought, but if Jeremy had spent another hour or so in that boulder field the result could have been quite different.

Plus, I've got a soft spot for those dogs, they're magnificent creatures :)
    Good point, I'd imagine it was true north, not magnetic north.
    From memory it was something like 74 degrees N, 104 degrees W, which is a loooong way from 90 degrees N, <whatever> degrees W which is the true pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

Good entertainment and great advertising for toyota. Felt sorry for Hammond and the dogs though.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,753 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

there is a top gear forum on here (Arts - TV - Top Gear), and a thread in it on the show - there is also a post that, seemingly, explains what the co-ordinates ment, and why they were chosen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

It was so obviously staged though

• Registered Users Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

One of the best Top Gears ever. The bit where they were drinking the G&Ts cracked me up.
    Being a cynic - I have to wonder how much of it is staged, though. Dickhead Clarkson did at least come clean that they were accompanied by a film crew, Icelandic guide and "a soldier". Probably at least the same with the dog group too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

What else was on the show?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

have to wonder how much of it is staged, though. Dickhead Clarkson did at least come clean that they were accompanied by a film crew, Icelandic guide and "a soldier". Probably at least the same with the dog group too.

Yeah... and spare parts, and spare cars....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I thought all their shows were staged. Its more a entertainment prog. with cars in it then a car show.

I still enjoy the show saying all that.

One of the best Top Gears ever. The bit where they were drinking the G&Ts cracked me up.
    Being a cynic - I have to wonder how much of it is staged, though. Dickhead Clarkson did at least come clean that they were accompanied by a film crew, Icelandic guide and "a soldier". Probably at least the same with the dog group too.
    in fairness - if they did not have a support crew - they'd probably have died out there. I'd expect ANY group of middle aged TV presenters with no experience in the task they were attempting, which would be very dangerous for even experienced people to do, to be accompanied by a large support crew.

There was also at least a film crew with Hammond, given the fact there were multiple angle shots of his adventure. Would be very surprised if there was not a similar support crew for him too.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

It was classic TG TV but why does Clarkson always let somebody else (JM in this case) do all the donkey work?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭blastman

I liked the way Clarkson kept driving off with May perched on the toilet on the back of the truck! :)

Any idea when the next series starts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

Ah come on, don't be bitchign about the load of spares they brought with them, yo ucan be sure the sled had spare runners, leads, etc with them., It's just double redundancy when planning stuff like this.
    Some of it was laugh out loud stuff alright, with the G&Ts yeah, and Jesus riding shotgun with them.
    I bet Toyota creamed themselves when they heard about the plan, did you see the one shot of the cars entering the ice field? Three fully pimped out hilux's. They were eager to add to the great rep they got fro mthe earlier hilux feature.
    Great telly all the same, but I did feel for Richard, he was left with this wan he didn't know and was grating on his nerves, he had a gruellign few days, but I guess he was the only one physically able to take it, the other farts were too past it to try.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

The other great moment was Jeremy "I'm the biggest-headed twat in England, and that's really saying something" Clarkson being pushed into the ice-cold water. :eek: :mad: :D
    That looked like a potential heart-attack to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

That was cool, fair play to yer man for doing it, but all of them should have experienced it. All hte ****ehawking went out of him when he had to get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

They appeared to have a few Icelandic ice driving specialists with them.

There was at least two more hiluxs, one with a trailer in the convoy.
    So it was the usual TV thing about how the two guys did it, but no mention of who actually helped get them there.

It was meant to be the magnetic north pole approx. 82 degrees north that is somewhere north of Canada's Sverdrup Island.
    Their compasses appeared to be reading 78/79 degress odd when they were raving that they had reached the pole.
    Actually in last few years it has been calculated to be moving further north and is about 82 degrees according to Geological Survey of Canada.

Most of media and people on various car forums appear to think they got all the way to 90 degrees north.

Still good program but one thinh I am wondering is what happened to the jeeps and pickups?
    The other point is they did not show if the Hamster made it or not?

BTW anyone fancy a trip to pick up few hi-luxs, one careful owner

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

The credits at the end were great too. Everyone was Sir Rannulph from Clarkson. Hammond, May through to the tea lady. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭wexford12

I cant belive i missed it does anyone know is there a repeat on its way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

wexford12 wrote:
    I cant belive i missed it does anyone know is there a repeat on its way
    Sunday 29 July, 8.00pm, BBC2.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭afatbollix

all tv is staged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Wait a minute . was this top gear on UKgold or BBC?

it was on BBC.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭wexford12

Rovi wrote:
    Sunday 29 July, 8.00pm, BBC2.

Thank you very much for that i have it saved on sky now thanks again

• Registered Users Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭positron

Watched the repeat last night - it was brilliant!

Its a pity they didn't show Hammond getting to the pole - he did it the right way and I wanted him to win! At least they should have stayed till

Clarkson and James May just sat there pushing the pedal and they had support teams to do most of the hard work, other than eating 5000 kcalories a day perhaps! And yeah, with the sort of funds available to them, they should have had a go at the current magnetic north pole - may be Toyota knew Hilux's weren't that good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

It was fun, entertaining stuff, but a load of bollox. I don't recall seeing the sled being pulled out of the snow or using chainsaws to get through the ice. I did once see car tracks through the snow ahead of Clarkson and May - suggesting the path had been cleared for them.

May is a class act. G'n'Ts and foi gras - hilarious.

nipplenuts wrote:
    It was fun, entertaining stuff, but a load of bollox. I don't recall seeing the sled being pulled out of the snow or using chainsaws to get through the ice. I did once see car tracks through the snow ahead of Clarkson and May - suggesting the path had been cleared for them.

May is a class act. G'n'Ts and foi gras - hilarious.
    I don't remember seeing the sled getting stuck so that it would need to be pulled out. If they had gotten in to trouble and needed help from the support crew i am in no doubt was on hand they would have gotten it.

Maybe you noticed may and Clarkson having to get themselves out of a number of problems. They were helped when there was nothing they could do themselves.

As for May being a class act, not according to people i know who have met him.