Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Handicapped parking spaces?...

• 05-08-2007 12:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Why are they free?.

Seriously, is it not good enough that there's ample parking available to people with impaired mobility?.

Myself, well I never thought about this until the other day when a friend mentioned it to me. Then I was thinking, yea, why ARE they provided with free parking?.

I know this may sound terribly mean, but I rarely see an old banger parked in these spaces so I was thinking, if not free maybe they sound at least pay a little less than able bodied driver's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

"Sometimes I park in handicapped spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces."
    - Denis Leary - 'Asshole' (It's a song. Google it.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Terry wrote:
    Sometimes I park in handicapped spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces.

Oh, thats nasty!. But I laughed at it, so 'tis off to mass with me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

AFAIK the disc thing entitles the holder to park in any (legal) parking spot for free, meaning you can just pull in and park in any disc/ticket parking zone without having to display a ticket, there doesnt have to be an actual disabled space marked out.

Stekelly wrote:
    AFAIK the disc thing entitles the holder to park in any (legal) parking spot for free, meaning you can just pull in and park in any disc/ticket parking zone without having to display a ticket, there doesnt have to be an actual disabled space marked out.

Wow, never heard of that one. Wait until I hit the mate with that, it'll fvcking kill him!.

I'm also told, by the same chap, that handicapped people don't pay VRT on their car's, is that right?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

Terry wrote:
    Sometimes I park in handicapped spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces.

You're an asshole

Yeah a guy in work has a wheelchair bound daughter. He has the disc on his car as she cant drive.Very usefull for parking around town while working (he also drops his daughter to work in town every day so it'd be parked there one way or the other)

Photi wrote:
    You're an asshole

A real ****ing asshole. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Terry wrote:

You're going straight to hell

A mod eh, if I wrote that I'd be already banned. Double standards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Mairt wrote:
    Wow, never heard of that one. Wait until I hit the mate with that, it'll fvcking kill him!.

I'm also told, by the same chap, that handicapped people don't pay VRT on their car's, is that right?.
    Some details here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The word "handicapped" suggests someone unable to take care of themselves, having to beg with cap in hand and is actually quite offensive. The reason why these parking spaces are free is to give disabled people the ability to come into town and get on with life. There are still so many Dublin buses without wheelchair access. Hardly any taxis are wheelchair accessible. Some trains barely have room for people standing, never mind wheelchairs. And the selfish people in this city would not give up their seat to someone on crutches. Disabled people simply don't have the transport options open to the rest of us. And to make them pay ?3 an hour to get to a job in the city centre? Wise up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

jaysus i didn't know they got anything free, even parking.

they've got a handy number though with this...

* You are entitled to claim back the Value Added Tax payable on your new car.

* You are entitled to claim back the Vehicle Registration Tax payable on your new car.

* Your will be entitled to free road tax.

* You are entitled to claim back the excise duty on up to 600 gallons of fuel per year.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

micmclo wrote:

I guess that Dennis Leary quotes are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Mairt: Although I normally agree with the majority of your posts, I must disagree with this one.

Basically, I am sure those with physical disabilites would choose full mobility or free parking if they had the choice.

Regardless of what anyone says, impaired mobility is a blow to them and will make their life more difficult.

Free parking is just one way to lighten the burden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I've no problem with free disabled spaces that are off limits to regular drivers.

However on that premise I think the rules should work both ways.

So if lets say there's a instance in a carpark with all disabled spaces occupied and 100 'regular' spaces still empty then said driver should be expected to wait or turn around and go home.

In order to assure clarity all regular spaces will be painted with signage akin to that on the door of a typical mens room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Cremo wrote:

* You are entitled to claim back the Vehicle Registration Tax payable on your new car.

* You are entitled to claim back the excise duty on up to 600 gallons of fuel per year.

Madness. Do handicapped people earn less or something?

Stekelly wrote:
    A real ****ing asshole. :D
    And I'm proud of it.
    micmclo wrote:

If you wrote it and I didn't get the joke, I'd question it first.

Also take note that if I drove I would probably be entitled to one of those stickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Cremo wrote:

Why don't you go out and ask any of them what they would prefer, to be able bodied, or to have the "handy number" you think they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Madness. Do handicapped people earn less or something?
    Well its most likely because using public transport isn't an option for a lot of them so they have to buy a car which might be very expesnive for them.

And yes, statistically if you're disabled you are less likely to be employed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

Who cares tbh.

Allowances are made for people with impaired mobility or functionality. I would not regard it as warranting discussion unless it is a discussion to increase the number of benefits they should receive.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Cremo wrote:

I'd give my right arm for this stuff.

Oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭looksee

What a pathetic thread, be grateful for your health and mobility you begrudgers, and find something else to carp about.

looksee wrote:
    What a pathetic thread, be grateful for your health and mobility you begrudgers, and find something else to carp about.
    LOL any hints then ? what can we carp about instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

We could carp about carp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I wonder why the OP didn't take it to the Disability Forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

A while back I was driving around with someone who had entitlement to park in one of these spaces. Gosh, they are SO handy. Right at the front doors of everywhere. Brilliant idea. But in no way would I like to be in a position to use one myself.

Mear wrote:
    Mairt: Although I normally agree with the majority of your posts, I must disagree with this one.

Oh, its not my opinion. This came about after a discussion with a mate whose opinion it is. But I thought it was worth a discussion here.

Personally I can see where he's coming from, but to me there's enough people freeloading off our very generous country already who annoy the fvck out of me so I'm not letting this one annoy me further.

Having said that what does annoy me is the amount of handicapped car park spaces in Tesco's (ClareHall S.C.), its like bloody Lourdes there and hardly any used.

Someone here said something about using the term 'handicapped', I mean't nothing bad by it. I could use 'mobility impaired', 'special needs' and I guess a whole load of other 'nicer P.C.' term's but I don't go out of my way to be P.C. everyone know's what 'Handicapped' is and thats good enough for me.

Btw, I'm on crutch's for the next few weeks, could I claim free parking and a VRT rebate?... Just kidding, however I am on crutchs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

if they are claiming disability and are unable to work then they should get to park free and claim the tax back on their car and other things people have mentioned.

if they have a regular job like everyone else then they should pay their way like everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

@Mairt: Make up your mind - every second sentence contradicts your previous. Freeloaders?! You're calling (Or even comparing?!) people with disabilities or people with family members that have disabilities "freeloaders"?
    I hope you realise how difficult it is to get around while on crutches. Then, imagine it being more severe and permanent. Let's see you begrudge parking spaces near the entrance of a shop or work (Many of them will be part-timers, trying to contribute to society and lead a 'normal life') and some reduction in expenses that maybe go towards silly things like healthcare and living expenses, and the vehicle itself which must meet certain requirements - yes, there concessions made for these too - I hear the government gives them free cars, and free mobile phones - but only if they're black and disabled.

So, is this the new hate? Are the Roma old news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

As someone who has this sweet deal its not quite as straight forward as is made out. The VRT and other concession are applicable to an adapted car which will typically have to be large to accommodate the alterations needed (ie. specialised seating, hoist etc) wheelchair and equipement.

The wheelchair sticker is separate to this and not all holders of the sticker will have been able to avail of the concessions detailed before by Cremo.

As for terry's joke I found it funny, if not a little raw to the bone :)

Karoma wrote:
    @Mairt: Make up your mind - every second sentence contradicts your previous. Freeloaders?! You're calling (Or even comparing?!) people with disabilities or people with family members that have disabilities "freeloaders"?
    I hope you realise how difficult it is to get around while on crutches. Then, imagine it being more severe and permanent. Let's see you begrudge parking spaces near the entrance of a shop or work (Many of them will be part-timers, trying to contribute to society and lead a 'normal life') and some reduction in expenses that maybe go towards silly things like healthcare and living expenses, and the vehicle itself which must meet certain requirements - yes, there concessions made for these too - I hear the government gives them free cars, and free mobile phones - but only if they're black and disabled.

So, is this the new hate? Are the Roma old news?

What are you getting your back up for?.

And whats this about the Roma people again for?.

This is just an open discussion on car parking for disabled people, nothing else. I'm not trying to incite hatred of anyone, and some view's here have been informative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Feckin handicaps coming into our country and stealing all our parking spaces.

Rabble!

boreds wrote:

For crying out loud give it over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Mairt wrote:
    Someone here said something about using the term 'handicapped', I mean't nothing bad by it. I could use 'mobility impaired', 'special needs' and I guess a whole load of other 'nicer P.C.' term's but I don't go out of my way to be P.C. everyone know's what 'Handicapped' is and thats good enough for me.

I wouldn't worry about it. I imagine the issue arises with the perception of those who read it, as opposed to the intentions of the one who wrote it.

"Handicap" is often used as an insult, "mobility impaired" is not. If someone see's the word "handicapped" and instantly see's it as an insult then that is there issue, not yours.

boreds wrote:
    sorry I feel so bad but I laughed out loud when I read that.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Cremo wrote:

? Handy number? who are 'they'? you fcuking idiot. a lot of the posts on this thread are sickening.

As for the 'entitlements' you are posting, they are only applicable to specially modified cars. The modifications typically cost more than the tax relief.
    The Disabled Drivers and Disabled Passengers Scheme provides a range of tax reliefs linked to the purchase and use of vehicles by disabled drivers and disabled passengers in Ireland. Under the terms of the scheme, you can claim remission or repayment of vehicle registration tax (VRT), repayment of value-added tax (VAT) on the purchase of a vehicle and repayment of VAT on the cost of adapting a vehicle, up to a maximum of 9,525 euro for a disabled driver and 15,875 euro for a disabled passenger.

Relief is limited to a vehicle that has been specially constructed or adapted for use by a disabled person and that has an engine size of less than 2,000cc in the case of the driver and 4,000cc in the case of the passenger.

If you qualify for tax relief under the scheme, you can also claim repayment of excise duty on fuel used in your vehicle for the transport of a disabled person, up to a maximum of 600 gallons per year. In addition, if you qualify under the scheme, your vehicle may be exempt from the payment of annual road tax on application to a Motor Tax Office. Visit Citizens Information for more information on the Disabled Drivers and Disabled Passengers Scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Dragan wrote:
    I wouldn't worry about it. I imagine the issue arises with the perception of those who read it, as opposed to the intentions of the one who wrote it.

"Handicap" is often used as an insult, "mobility impaired" is not. If someone see's the word "handicapped" and instantly see's it as an insult then that is there issue, not yours.
    Right on ma nigga!

copacetic wrote:
    ? Handy number? who are 'they'? you fcuking idiot. a lot of the posts on this thread are sickening.
    Banned.

@micmclo: See? Context, m'lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

PeakOutput wrote:
    if they are claiming disability and are unable to work then they should get to park free and claim the tax back on their car and other things people have mentioned.

if they have a regular job like everyone else then they should pay their way like everyone else

How do you expect them to get to work? Public transport in Dublin is bad enough for the able bodied and many people have quite a walk to go to to get to a bus stop or railway station. The alternative then is to stay in the house. By allowing a disabled person to park for free, they are able to contribute to society by paying taxes instead of surviving on social welfare.

Any society should be judged by how it treats its most vulnerable members and I think that allowing disabled people to park for free and give them special spaces which make buildings more accessible is a fantastic scheme.

Heaven forbid anything should ever happen to you to put you in need of the few concessions afforded to the disabled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I agree with giving disabled people some extra privileges and help. But what does piss me off is "parent and baby" parking spaces. Why should someone get special treatment just because they choose to bring their little brat to the shops. I will not park in one of these spots if there is another one free - but if the only spot left is a parent and baby one I will park in it and if anyone says anything they can **** right off.

Indeed. Childhood obesity is a growing problem as is.
    It wouldn't kill the child to walk an extra few yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

BrianD3 wrote:
    I agree with giving disabled people some extra privileges and help. But what does piss me off is "parent and baby" parking spaces. Why should someone get special treatment just because they choose to bring their little brat to the shops. I will not park in one of these spots if there is another one free - but if the only spot left is a parent and baby one I will park in it and if anyone says anything they can **** right off.
    Do you really want a little brat opening the door next to you car? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

looksee wrote:

Those lucky disabled bastards! (begrudgery) :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

my mother has on many occasions parked in a mother a child space, claiming she should be aloud, seeing as i'm her child (i'm almost 22)
    tbh they are pointless.
    disabled spaces make sense tho

Victor wrote:
    Do you really want a little brat opening the door next to you car? :)
    Best argument for these spaces ever!

Second being: It's not for parents with kids that can walk but for parents that need to put a child (Read: Baby) into a buggy or whatever without having every single muppet in the car park driving around them.

We digress...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

'Mother & Baby' parking is what most of my local supermarkets label them,
    what a fine example of sexual discrimination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I see very little to get worked up about in this thread as regards disabled people being allowed free parking privilages. Don't agree with the "freeloaders" comments-it doesn't seem that fair to be saying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

ill give you an example i saw a few weeks back.

dungarvan shopping centre. i was working as security there.

2 cars were in the disabled parking spots.
    both had stickers in them.
    both were in date. no problems.

i was in the car park locking the shutters down when a few people came out.

1 person was pushing a wheelchair with a very elderly woman sitting in it. he picked her up, and put her in the car. obviously she cant walk.

the second car with a disabled sticker belonged to a mid 30's male.
    he had a cane. but he was wearing a high vis vest, very dirty clothes, and had a pair of snickers on. ( snickers = work pants )
    he opened his boot, and what was inside? loads of tools, pipes, etc. the stuff a plumber would have.

i found out, he's a self employed plumber.

now im my opinion, i think he doesnt need the disabled permit.
    if he's a plumber, then he works some what hard, and does physical duties.

i saw he had a cane, and walked with a slight limp. but does this allow him to use this facility???

i dont think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Cremo wrote:

As great as that is, i dont think i would trade my mobiltiy for it :) or indeed the health of anyone in my family!

However a friend of the family is elderly and has a disabiltiy parking permit, she has no vehicle so her daughter in law has it on her car, the fact that her daughter in law is rarely the one to drive her is a bone of eh contention in the family, but meh some people are just like that.

Doesnt bother me unduly, figure that what goes around comes around and that all of disabled people i have met and worked with are deserving of as much help as we can give them! Sure there are some people who may not need it but i'd imagine its a small minority

the second car with a disabled sticker belonged to a mid 30's male.
    he had a cane. but he was wearing a high vis vest, very dirty clothes, and had a pair of snickers on. ( snickers = work pants )
    he opened his boot, and what was inside? loads of tools, pipes, etc. the stuff a plumber would have.

i found out, he's a self employed plumber.

now im my opinion, i think he doesnt need the disabled permit.
    if he's a plumber, then he works some what hard, and does physical duties.

i saw he had a cane, and walked with a slight limp. but does this allow him to use this facility???

i dont think so.

Sort of along the lines of a follow on with the mates in the pub tonight.

Sry, I've a few beer's on board, but fine.

Ok, one of the lads work in Dublin Corporation, Fishamble St and gave an example of a lady he works with. He didn't say what her disability was.

She earn's more than he does, and parks on Fishamble St from 8:30am to 6:00pm for free. If he parks on the same street its €2:50 per hour. He say's that €100 per week free parking for the lady. Which is all well and good, but since she's in full time employment why isn't her free parking mean's tested?.

Dunno, so far I can see both side's of the argument.