Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident today... Keep an eye out lads if you will

• 06-08-2007 4:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭

I was driving my dearest to the airport this morning, northbound on the M50, when a black Landrover Discovery (Late model Series II, the one with the facelift - I'm almost sure of it) decided to undertake me as I was finishing overtaking another car.

The LR driver squeezed his Charcoal/Grey/Navy or Black Series II in between my car and the one I'd overtaken, kind of moving from the overtaking lane to the nearside lane, in the 'lead' gap I'd built up before I'd manouvre back into the nearside lane in front of the car I was passing out.

I've been around, and know to keep my wits about me, even at dawn on a bank holiday Monday. I checked my rear view, saw the LR was gone, and then saw him moving at speed on my inside. Then out of 'nowhere' he swung out of the nearside lane, into the overtaking lane, hitting the front of my car in the process. I skidded towards the central median and managed to pull it back left....Alas, too far. I ended up (I think) hitting the 'ditch' after skidding across both traffic lanes and over the hard shoulder. At this point my car flipped and it might have rolled too, but I don't really remember.

Let me tell you something folks - I'm a good guy. I work hard and pay my way. I treat people fairly and generally work to keep my karma in good order. But all that matters F*** all when you're rolling around in a car filled with your nick nacks and junk, Ipods and satnav, tissues and crap, SCREAMING.....And praying to a God you're not sure you even believe in now....

Split seconds. That's all it takes to make the difference - I'm guessing it was over and done with in less than 10 this morning. That split second decision to check the tyre pressure before you drive out of the garage after filling up. That split second decision to shell out for the quality rubber that helps hold you the right way up. That most important split second where you put your belt on.....or decide to just slow down and take it as it comes.

My S.O. was (thank whatever you believe in please) unhurt for the most part and I hope suffering from nothing more serious than a few bruises and bits of buried glass in her hands from where they protected her face from the imploding side windows. She decided to travel anyway as she got the all clear straight away.

I spent a few hours in the hospital getting X-Rays and being checked out by the wonderful A&E staff over in James Connolly Memorial in Blanchardstown. Wonderful people really. Now I'm faced with a world of crap to sort out.

You see, I'm insured. Third party fire and theft, with Quinn. The owner of the LR? Who knows. He decided not to stop, choosing instead to drop the foot and get out of dodge in a hurry. The bastard. He left us strapped into a car that could have gone up in flames (I've been in a car going up in flames before - It's not nice), upside down on the side of the road, so he could get where he was going without being held accountable.....

Nobody got the reg, and to make matters worse, the only witness to come forward can confirm only the same details as I can about the registration - That it was printed on a yellow plate on the rear :o I know it was RHD though, so it limits things to British Isles if we're being practical about it. I hope the Gardaí can do something about it. They were great too, very helpful and kind. Apparently the best shot is for them to get a look at the toll booth footage and see what's what......

Me on the other hand - I like to think boards.ie's motoring fraternity might also keep their eyes open for a dark grey/Navy/Black, UK or NI registered Series II or possibly a series III Discovery with rear offside (right hand side) quarter panel or possibly bumper damage doing the rounds. I don't want any action taken of course - Just a photo if possible showing the number plate and possibly the damage, along with the location of the vehicle if you see it. PM me and I'll pass it onto the Garda who's dealing with it.....

Every little helps and all that. And I'm glad we weren't a bank holiday statistic too of course......

Thanks and stay safe. I'm going to load up on anti-inflamatories and pain killers.

Gil

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've been in a rolled vehicle too, and it's not a pleasant thing. I hope you and your partner get back to 'normal' life as soon as you can, and I'm sure the rest of boards, including myself, will keep an eye out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

Wow , Sorry to hear that but gald ur ok.

Sounds like a right W**ker but dont worry karma will catch up with him/her.

Still good thing you were both alright, Ill keep my eyes out anyway.

Do a google image search on the car and post it up , as a lot of people arent familiar with this car and its not very common.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭MarkN

Sounds like a right piece of scum.

Hope the guards catch him.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

At least you're alive to post. Incredible that the other driver legged it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

Would the landrover be on CCTV going through the toll bridge either before or after the accident.

Good to hear you were relatively unhurt.

Sounds like it could have been a lot worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Celticfire

I really hope they catch him. I hope if they do you take the f***er to the cleaners. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Hope he's found and gets what's coming to him. If all the cameras at the toll bridge are in perfect working order, I'm sure he'll be found. You've given a time frame to the guards, so I'm sure they can get something. Keep us updated, and get well soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Sorry to hear of your accident, glad you're both OK.

Any chance they can check the M1 (Belfast Road?) tollbooth cameras, as it sounds like a possible NI car.

Also, isn't there a fund for insurance for incidents like this, or does that just cover uninsured driver accidents?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

One last thing, any point in ringing the local landrover dealerships? Or crash repair. Suppose around there there would be too many to check though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

Would probably get it repaired in NI or UK with yellow number plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Jesus that sounds mad..

Well NTR can manage to get reg plates of people who dodge the toll so lets see if they can put their cameras to good use (If he actually came through the toll that is)

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭cichlid child

glad to hear your ok i will keep a lookout

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Don't forget the toll at Drogheda as well. He might have gone through there on his way home without thinking that he would be caught on camera.

There's cameras all over the place these days, the M1 is laced with them, I'd say the guards will get them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Just added two pictures now of the Series II (2002-2004) model LR that I believe hit me - Maybe someone with tech smarts will do the thing to show them in the post? Just to reiterate, if you see it, all I need is the location and registration number - The Gardaí are more than happy to do the rest on this one ;)

Gardaí will be checking toll booth footage from NTR, but that won't necessarily give them a location of the vehicle. Don't worry - I have friends in all the LR clubs in Ireland, they'll do their bit I'm sure to help spread the word to specialists and dealers.....Even if I was silly enough to drive a Suzuki ;-)

Thanks for the kind words lads,

Gil

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭tvr

Thank God your OK mate. I'll put the word out as best I can. Yeah hopefully they might get him at the Drogheda tolls aswell. Another one would be to drop the PSNI a line at Newry as the yellow speed camera (ie.. the timed ones from point A to B) are always on recording reg's just as you come into Newry , this might be a better bet in case he was smart enough to get off before the toll at Drogheda and get back on after.

NI Club is http://www.landrover-club.com/

Dealers are below:

Dealer name Contact details Sort by town/city
    Available services
    Distance
    Links
    Charles Hurst, Belfast 62 Boucher Road
    Belfast
    County Antrim
    BT12 6LR
    Phone: 02890 381721
    Fax: 02890 383592
    email: salesmanager@landrover-belfast.co.uk
    Sales Dealer
    2.55 Dealer website
    View map

Donnelly Bros, Dungannon 59 Moy Road
    Dungannon
    County Tyrone
    BT71 7DT
    Phone: 02887 722887
    Fax: 02887 726262
    email: salesmanager@landrover-dungannon.co.uk
    Sales Dealer
    55.03 Dealer website
    View map

I love a good witch hunt.

800px-LandRover-Discovery.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Glad to hear you are fairly ok Gil. Jasus it must be terrifying thing to happen. Will keep my eye out - I drive the M1 everyday. I'll be examining every Rover that comes into sight! Good luck with the investigations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nasty. I rolled once, luckily it was over before I knew it had happened and no harm came of it.

There are now so many cars going around with UK plates that are kept in the ROI he may well still be in the state.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,499 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Jesus, Glad to hear you;re somewhat ok Gil. I hope you can get everything sorted. Will the Independant Insurance board (or whatever they are called) not be able to help in this matter? Surely they can?

Plus, assuming he continued speeding, he more than likely went through a few speed cameras. If so, his reg should hopefully be caught on camera. I hope you can get it all sorted out. I drive alot up north and back so I will keep an eye out :)

Thanks all. I'm sitting here trying to decide should I order a curry now or just keep going at it with the penknife, picking shards of glass out of my hands :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

One of the starkest posts I've read on boards.ie in a long while. Well written too. Just reminds us all that a serious accident is only a split second away.

I hit a large, heavy object on the road one day. Serious damage to the car, but no injuries. But what I remember is that I went from cruising along, listening to music, to accident aftermath (and how the f**k am I going to get home now?) in ten seconds flat.

Hope they catch the toerag. Keep us posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭what_car

he is bound to be on camera somewhere, i rekon the drogheda toll booth might have caught him , he prob tore up the motorway....
    give them a shout see if they spotted anything..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭2stageturbo

MarkN wrote:
    There's cameras all over the place these days, the M1 is laced with them, I'd say the guards will get them.

Lets hope so. A proper border crossing would also be good seeing that it was most probably a nordie who's the culprit. This cross border madness must end:mad:
    We need proper protection at our border for these kinds of situations

• Registered Users Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Fey! wrote:
    Also, isn't there a fund for insurance for incidents like this, or does that just cover uninsured driver accidents?

It's called the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland, and as well as uninsured vehicles it covers unidentified and foreign vehicles. Everyone who pays an insurance premium in Ireland contributes to the fund and its general raison d'etre is to put a person in a position they would be in if the other vehicle was identified and was insured. In other words, as far as I understand it, it has to be demonstrated that fault can be attributed to the uninsured or unidentified vehicle. Most solicitors will be able to fill you in on the nitty gritty.

Claim forms are available on the website; http://www.mibi.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭MAKE MY DAY

I've just read this thread and I'm in shock, OP I'm so glad you are ok. I can't believe that someone would drive off it makes my blood run cold. I hope the driver is caught and some justice is done. Again, all I can do is repeat what others have said, hopefully in time you will get back to "normal". \wishing you all the best for the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

What a scumbag, here's hoping he gets his come-uppance, the prick. Hit and runners are pure, 100% scum.

/sharpens knives

• Registered Users Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

a ford escort about 98 i would say l.h.d.weaving in and out both lanes on the limerick to shannon road yesterday afternoon, nearly needed a change of undrewear after the b*st*rd put me up against the divider with a full load on board, further on there was a traffic management vehicle, euro reg italian i think, 3 cameras high up on the back, driver and a guy using what appeared to be an on board computer,

old boy wrote:
    a ford escort about 98 i would say l.h.d.weaving in and out both lanes on the limerick to shannon road yesterday afternoon, nearly needed a change of undrewear after the b*st*rd put me up against the divider with a full load on board, further on there was a traffic management vehicle, euro reg italian i think, 3 cameras high up on the back, driver and a guy using what appeared to be an on board computer,

Sorry, a bit lost there old boy....What you talking about? I don't see what this has to do with my request. I'd rather this thread stays O.T. if at all possible... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 65,397 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Thankfully you're both mostly uninjured!

Where exactly did it happen? And can anyone confirm all car regs are recorded by CCTV on the M50 toll bridge?

Anyway, I'm on the M50 / M1 regularly and I'll keep my eye out...