Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick accents! oh yes!

• 08-08-2007 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

ok i was wondering if anyone has any links to a "how to speak Limerickish" as you see so many for dublin and belfast, also if someone has any lists of all the slangs and what they mean would be cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 beanflick

Please come here, - C'mere I want ya.

Excuse me have you got some change ! - Oi got 2 bob hive ya !

My runners smell, - Naful smill auf me tackies

Sorry I didn't quite catch that, - Oi wat ar u sayin.

I was slightly drunk, - I was langers last nite.

How are you ! - How's it goin sham !

You silly person - Ya goul ya

You really are a silly person - Ya goul bag.

I'm afraid that I can't go for that, - I will en me ring

let's go out and get drunk - will we go on the batter?

may I have a bag of chips with garlic dressing - can I have a garlic chip and cheese

you unlawful person - ****in' scobe

there was quiet a lot of people - there was a rake of people

he is a homosexual - he's a steamer

running up the street - burning up the road

will you make love to me - gifs the ride

do you understand me - nowah mean man

I will fight you - i'll claim ya

theres a swimming pool in the house - poolinall !!

please leave now - goway ou avit

run away now - do a legger man

have you got a cigarette - giz a fag boss

be quiet - whishtt

can you ride a horse - canya jock a horse

How are you keeping? - How roo?

You are foolish- Go way you Handicap.

wwwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!

This is a lovely house- Pure like mtv cribs
    ;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Lets drive our cars around Limerick looking at women and playing some very loud ****ty music:

Mon we go cruisin round for beores and bate out some daycent choons

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

The Shams have a great "speaking Limerick for outsiders" track!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

The Shams have a great "speaking Limerick for outsiders" track!:D
    how do i find that!

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭cmurph

heres their website..you may find something here...

http://www.geocities.com/theshamslimerick/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

you forgot a big one

"I would like to ask you something" = "Come ere i tel ya a question"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

gifs the ride

Ah !!!!! ......

so that's what she meant ...... :p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

wait up - shtawl de bawl man

you're talking crap and you know it- c'mof it now u tool

I wasnt really drinking lastnight - I only had 3 or 4 vodka and cokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭boardsdotie

Not to mention...

Please wait - Wait up

I believe you know that you do not know what you are talking about - you're talking crap and you know it

:p

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

This is really good. - Daycent
    Is there a nightclub nearby? - Any 'aul toons around there boss, know what I mean. *boom de de de boom*
    I am unhappy with you - I'll stab you in da head

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

And the word "boss" or "kid" at the end of every sentence. Eg. What's the story kid? or What's the story boss?

The classic lingo from some young one called Jacinta, pushing a pram :- "What r u lookin at? Am I wear'en somethen belong to ya?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

bazz26 wrote:
    And the word "boss" or "kid" at the end of every sentence. Eg. What's the story kid? or What's the story boss?

It's not 'kid' , it's 'keeaaddd'

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Ok, I got confused with the translation.. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

or " U hannnnnnnndiiicaaap" = Person with Limited Intelligence

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

yayamark wrote:
    or " U hannnnnnnndiiicaaap" = Person with Limited Intelligence

*shudders* i hear that around william street from little howiya's!

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

lets steal this automobile for some jollies- "ahhhh cmon boys we rob dis civic for the snaaare!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

***Limerick dictionary!!! ***

>Please come here, - C'mere I want ya.

> My runners smell, - Naful smill auf me tackies,

> Sorry I didn't quite catch that, - wat r u sayin.

>If you continue talking to me like that i will hit you - keep gettin smart n i'll dig d face off ya

> I was slightly drunk, - I was langers last nite.

> How are you ! - How's it goin sham/cuz/kid/love/beure/feene !

> You silly person - Ya goul ya

> You really are a silly person - Ya goul bag.

> I'm afraid that I can't go for that, - I will en me ring

> Let's go out and get drunk - mon we go lushin

>Im afaird i cant do that - i will in my hole u mad bastard

> May I have a bag of chips with garlic dressing - givus a garlic
    chipancheese

> You unlawful person - f*ckin' scobe

> Running up the street - burnin' up the road

> Will you make love to me - gifs the ride

>There was a quite a lot of people there - dere was bout 40 million people dere sham

> Do you understand me - nowah mean man

> I will fight you - i'll claim ya

> Theres a swimming pool in the house - poolnalnit

> Please leave now - goway ou avit

> Run away now - do a legger man

> Have you got a cigarette - giz a fag boss

> Be quiet - whishtt

> Can you ride a horse - canya jock a horse

> Hello, I met you before in a pub but I can't remember your name -
    How we doin Bud.....

> Sorry, I didn't quite catch that - whatru sayin.....

> How are you doing - Well, ow we gettin on

> You are a silly person - u lala

> You really are a silly person - your some lala

> Jennifer, would you come here please - Jen-Fer cmere i
    > wan cha

> Lets drive up and down O'Connell Street in our Johnny Go Fast cars at
    3.30am with the 1 petrol we have in the car - mon, we go cruisin'.

> If you continue to talk to me in that tone of voice I will hit you
    -cape it up now and I'll bust you.

> I can't think of anything to slag you about, but your last comment
    was very funny and everyone is now laughing at me - yah, like ur muther!!

Found this on bebo, remembered this thread so came back and posted as hole, sorry if some have been posted before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 goth_detective

hahahahahhaa this is excellent sham!!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭LambDave

Thats surprising - ah here!

she's not a very attractive lady - bad beour

Your a very boisterous person - youre some schmear

I had an enjoyable time - bad aul craic

Did you kiss that girl? - D'you(Jew) get the feek?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Aboy da kiiiiiiiiiiiiiid. - Hello

Here come the shades, scatter!!! - It's the Gardai, lets split up.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Cateym

To hear any of the above expressions stand at the bus stop outside the chipper on William street and just wait. Hilarious!!! :D