Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Rumours And General Discussion 2007/2008

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Call_me_al wrote: »
    team for tonight

The Reds 11 in full is: Reina, Arbeloa, Finnan, Carragher, Hyypia, Mascherano, Gerrard, Benayoun, Babel, Voronin, Torres. Subs: Itandje, Sissoko, Riise, Kewell, Crouch, Kuyt, Lucas.

Good side... plenty to come off the bench if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Archimedes wrote: »
    Were you offended?

Nope, I wasn't personally offended. Just thought it was a poor choice of intro. Regardless of the guy in jail, its still a crap segment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

John Giles 'Benitez spent A LOT of money last summer'

hmmmm, someone said here lately that the outlay was £23 million after players sales, which really isn't a whole lot in today's market.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Rafa said that himself in the last week or so Rigger!!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    John Giles 'Benitez spent A LOT of money last summer'

hmmmm, someone said here lately that the outlay was £23 million after players sales, which really isn't a whole lot in today's market.

Yup, thats the exact figure. Its INFURIATING how these figures in the media get paid to spout this crap. Surely they could do a bit of research before making comments like this ? Sunderland spent more than us for gods sake! 23 million is not that much in comparison to other teams.

Also - sky went on and on about Rafas press conference. They say that he said he was going out 'not to lose'. Rafa spoke about winning all through the press conference and made one small comment about us not being out if we draw and so do the French. Hes clearly going out to win.

[edit] I'm amazed by the build up on sky. Souness & Hoddle. So negative. They basically talked about five things.

1) Rafa going out not to lose
    2) Crouch not being in the lineup
    3) Gerrard being bad for England
    4) They dont think Mascherano is worth 17m "the jury is still out"
    5) Porto being a really good side

And to think I watched this so I wouldn't have to look at the doom & gloom pundits on RTE.

When we beat Porto tonight.... ;):)

What is the best result in the other game in the group for us?

When we beat Porto tonight.... ;):)

What is the best result in the other game in the group for us?

Besiktas win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Just like I predicted last time in CL with Liverpool, a banker win for them. Torres will be brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Souness also thinks Mascherano is 25 years old.

This could be a very tricky game for Liverpool, just remember that Porto are unbeaten all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Finnan's 200th game apparently?

Mucho congrats to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Just seeing the teams heading out the tunnel on sky and got a fuzzy feeling when Rafa put both hands up to touch the This is Anfield sign. No idea why :) (the fuzzy feeling I mean).

It's kind of like he feeels a real connection to the club and what its about.

Something I've thought about a few times aswell be it watching on tv or when I've been in Anfield. Surely they could look into some sort of Perspex barrier (moveable abviously) that could seperate the fans and minimise the loss of seats to keep fans apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

could George Hamilton STFU and not shout over the crowd, just let us hear them. Especially the protest.

uberwolf wrote: »
    could George Hamilton STFU and not shout over the crowd, just let us hear them. Especially the protest.

George Hamilton has been silent all night :confused:;)

C'mon Why haven't they scored yet?! This is very poor from Liverpool, dreadful negative stuff!!

[/RTE]

I didn't see them show the Kop with all the Rafa banners, anyone else??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

love the way rte managed to get no footage of the "save rafa" protest and barely mentioned the fans support for him
    in fact Eamonn "Hilton" Dunphy said that "I know Liverpool fans and they dont think Rafa is the bees knees"

they are in an anti Liverpool / anti England stance atm, prob cos England didnt qualify. fair and balanced innit ?

remember we are paying our license fees to line these guys wallets

Jazzy wrote: »
    love the way rte managed to get no footage of the "save rafa" protest and barely mentioned the fans support for him
    in fact Eamonn "Hilton" Dunphy said that "I know Liverpool fans and they dont think Rafa is the bees knees"

they are in an anti Liverpool / anti England stance atm, prob cos England didnt qualify. fair and balanced innit ?

remember we are paying our license fees to line these guys wallets

They are anti everyone unless your team is called Arsenal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

nah, just anti england / man u / pool

everything pool have done so far "could have been far better" whereas porto fluff a chance and it was "great"

why o why cant the BBC (minus John Motson) do every football game ever?

Booooooooooooooooooooooyah

El Ninoooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Nando!!! 1-0

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Torres 1-0

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Fernando off the mark for liverpool in the champions lg

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

uberwolf wrote: »

george isn't even commentating?

besiktas lead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

go besiktas 1-0

Am I right in saying that does nothing as Liverpool still have to beat Marseille eitherway? Infact if anything it brings in another player(Besiktas) which is not good.

This feels like the line up tonight. :D

Reina

Finnan
    Carragher
    Hyypia
    Arbeloa

Mascherano
    Gerrard

Torres

Babel
    Torres
    Torres
    Benayoun

Voronin
    Torres

The boy Torres really is class.

Playing well all around so far, maybe Babel could do with some technique lessons.

:eek:! Goal mouth scramble! SOMEBODY put it in.

Whats with the sudden great passing football thats going on the last couple of weeks and where ahs it been before?:confused:

1-1 . Not good. Arbeloa marking too loose.

boo. ffs.

1-1

great header unfortunatley

Shoulda been 2 :(

What a mad group, Liverpool bottom of group as it stands

Jesus Gerrard, wtf?! Good defending.

I don't believe this. WTF LADS. Horrible play. Chance of 2 for Porto

fúck me this is turning into a shambles

Gerrard with a through ball there he usually reserves for Henry. :)

Shocking miss from Porto.

Torres seems to try too hard at times. Should have hit the one on one with the kepper first time and laid off the ball just there instead of running into the defender.

Bah, a nothing free.

Some pace.

1-1 HT.

Not happy since Porto scored. Playing poor :(

Oh, and I envy each and every boards user in Anfield tonight :p

Time for the RTE lads to announce the closing of Liverpool football club

What happened to all the Rafa banners that are supposed to be on the kop? Haven't seen any....

It's funny to hear Dunphy saying Crouch or Kuyt should be on.

He'd be giving out about Kuyt if he was on.

P.S Do the Hucklebuck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

that must have been the first gal we sored from a corner since houllier days

Liverpool fans booing apparently?

What happened to all the Rafa banners that are supposed to be on the kop? Haven't seen any....

Was wondering that myself. Wheres the 100 foot long one ?

We were all over them until they scored and then we fell apart a bit. I think we've been good going forward but maybe a little too aggressive & rushed which has lead to some bad final balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Gerrard and mascherano are going missing far too often.
    There are holes everywhere and Hyppia keeps getting isolated.
    Babbel and Benayoun not playing well since they switched sides.
    This is on a knife edge.
    Marseilles win and the pool are out!
    Torres is basically going to have to do it on his own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

The ref for blowing up after 44 mins 30 seconds.
    No extra time not even regulation time played

Giving out that despite 2 goals and a few frees, throws, corners etc, the ref blew up before the clock even reached 45 mins, never mind adding anythign on. The fact that Liverpool had just got the ball and were breaking didnt help either.

Cheers for that. Didnt see the end of the half myself. Didnt think ref's could do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

would like to see kewell on for voronin and babel going up front

edit: Rafa must read boards ;)

Babel seems to making every wrong decision.

Were they watering the pitch at half time? Lots of slipping going on in the 2nd half.

Marseille 1-1 :)

What height is Rafa? He looks over a foot shorter than Crouchy!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Marseille 1-1 :)

why the smiley?