Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Rumours And General Discussion 2007/2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

D'oeth!

Gerrard
    Babel
    New signing
    Torres/Crouch

Could be interesting. Plenty of attack anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

D'oeth!

Gerrard
    Babel
    New signing
    Torres/Crouch

Could be interesting. Plenty of attack anyway.

swap Gerrard and Babel and you're flying.
    Please sign Benzema, Rafa

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

A letter from Momo

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N158685080201-1313.htm
    Momo wrote:
    As soon as I arrived in Liverpool I realised how much this team meant.

Now, after two and a half years I have to say goodbye and I can't hide the great sorrow I feel in leaving one of the best clubs in Europe.

Liverpool FC as a club, its fans, its coaches and my team-mates have together helped me to become a better player and, above all, a better person.

Liverpool FC is one of the greatest. The Liverpool fans never desert their team.

Even in the worst moments you have a strong sense that the fans are with you, supporting you as much as they can, never giving up, those fans make Liverpool even stronger. I really want to thank them for helping me to feel and to understand what football means in its purest form.

I also think Liverpool FC functions this way because of its leaders; Rafael Benitez works from dawn to dusk, and the players know they must fight for the red shirt in every second of every match.

Now I am beginning a new adventure in another big European Club in Juventus. They have also now put their faith in me.

I shall play to my best in every single match, I shall fight hard for my new shirt to the end, but when every match is finished, I know what I'll do first - I shall ask about the results of Liverpool FC.

Everybody knows the legend "You'll Never Walk Alone" and I shall never ever forget the experience and the team.

I want to thank everyone for the opportunity and wish everyone all the best for the future.

With my best regards,
    Mohammed Sissoko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Fair play to Momo. He'll do well for himself in Italy with the slower pace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Nice to see Momo doing that, Little Luis done the same when he left.

What the hell is wrong with people on here? A few months ago Stevie was being played on the right and people whinged and moaned that he should be in the centre because it gives him more involvement in the game and he was being wasted on the right, now he's back there and people are giving out that he should be on the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Mr Alan wrote: »
    he was only chatting to Alonso for a minute or two, nothing much-just hector acting the goat as usual, Alonso doind a couple of solos with a GAA ball, being asked about his time in meath as a kid.

highlight was when Hector told alonso that he was a Utd fan, and Alonso replied, well in that case you are not welcome here. love it :)

it was also quite entertaining to see him getting punched by the UFC Cage fighter :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Melion you are right to a degree about Gerrard but needs must - he is proberbly the teams most effective right sided player! With Masch on board (we presume) it seems to make sense to use players to form the strongest mid-field unit rather than play someone in thier "best" position as an individual. Also two seasons ago he did score 23 goals while starting mainly wide.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,069 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Melion wrote: »
    Nice to see Momo doing that, Little Luis done the same when he left.

What the hell is wrong with people on here? A few months ago Stevie was being played on the right and people whinged and moaned that he should be in the centre because it gives him more involvement in the game and he was being wasted on the right, now he's back there and people are giving out that he should be on the right.

I think a lot of that had to do with it being Alonso and Momo/zenden in midfield iirc. That was fair enough at the time but with Masch on board, Alonso and Masch is a great midfield so with Gerrards ability to play wide it gives us the possibility of 3 fantastic players in the midfield rather then picking 2 from the 3.

Melion wrote: »

I think people are more pissed of that he complains when he is put on the right. He can play in both positions but sometimes he is more suited to the right side to benefit the team.
    Its very annoying when in post match interviews he mentions that he prefers to play in the center, he should keep his trap shut imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

yom 1 wrote: »

that was a nice gesture from momo,hopefully he can regain some good form and show how good he can be.is the match home or away tomorow?

Spain squad has 5 Reds in it, England has 2!

Mike.

Home...surely we can do the job against Sunderland. Even if our home from and away at this point, is dismal

mike65 wrote: »
    Spain squad has 5 Reds in it, England has 2!

Mike.

Ha ha sucks to be Pennant.

Sunderland have just signed Andy Reid so I think we're in trouble.

Seriously though after Wednesdays dismal showing I'm expecting a backlash.

Mike.

Seriously though after Wednesdays dismal showing I'm expecting a backlash.

1-0 (Gerrard '85)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Opps, my bad :)
    Yeh Alonson instead of Mascherano.

I think if Liverpool do sign Mascherano it is a sign of support for Rafa, that's true.
    There's no doubting that Mascherano is indeed an excellent player, it's just about where you put your limited resources.

Imagine if United have exactly 30 million to spend, and Hargreaves was on loan. We could either spend the 30 million on him, or we could buy Benzema. What do you think we should do?

If Gerrard is going to be pushed to the right, absolutely, sign Mascherano right up. But if Gerrard is going to continue playing in the middle, it just seems like bad use of resources. Cause then you are filling the gap in terms of a winger, and you are effectively spending on where you need to, in a round about way. But if Gerrard is going to stay in the center, you are adding extra depth to an already strong position, instead of adding quality to where it needs to go.
    Maybe Gerrard will be pushed to the right for some games, but we know that for the majority he's gona be played in the middle. As such, even if you buy a new winger and you play a 4-3-3, with Alonso-Gerrard-Mascherano, and Babel-Torres-New Guy, you are still gona have to rely on Kuyt, Crouch, Pennant, Yossi throughout the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Reid's out with a knee injury. We should win tomorrow, but we should have won alot of our games this season. I reckon Sunderland come to town and keep 10 men behind the ball, and LFC fail to break them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

One thing that will happen if we fail to beat Sunderland is there will be an outcry of supporters calling for Rafa's head........I'm afraid to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Can't see Sunderland winning or troubling Liverpool but can easily see a 0-0.

Benitez should shake things and show some of the non-performers they are not droppable. Kuyt,Kewell etc. Trouble is who do you replace them with?

PHB wrote:
    As such, even if you buy a new winger and you play a 4-3-3, with Alonso-Gerrard-Mascherano, and Babel-Torres-New Guy, you are still gona have to rely on Kuyt, Crouch, Pennant, Yossi throughout the league.

I think thats ok though. I think they're all good enough to be in a title challenging squad, they just shouldn't all be in the same first team. But bringing in Yossi or Pennant in for one of the wingers occasionally looks fine, once the team as a whole stays strong. Kuyt is useful in certain games with his running and endevour and Crouch changes the approach of the team, gives different options etc, its just once we dont have to rely on them week in week out against unsuited opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Reina
    Finnan/NS*---Carragher/Skirtle--Agger--Arbeloa
    Mascherano
    Alonso/Lucas
    Gerrard
    Babel/NS*
    Torres/Crouch

* New Signing

Benitez will just have to be firm with Gerrard and put him out right. We cannot afford 2 new wingers so we should splash out on a proper left winger (if we can get one who can play both sides even better).

Say if we sell-
    Kyut, Voronin, Pennant, Rise, Carson we should get maybe 20m - 25m and if the yanks throw in another few quid we could do well in the transfer market.

So much wrong with that post. First of all, why would we sign another right back when we already have Finnan & Arbeloa and you are planning on selling Riise. That would leave 3 right footed fullbacks (one who can fill in on the left but is much better on the right - Arbeloa) and one very injury prone natural left back, Aurelio. If we sell Riise we need to sign a LB, not a RB.

Also, it seems you only have 10 players on the pitch.
    PHB wrote: »
    Opps, my bad :)
    Yeh Alonson instead of Mascherano.

I think if Liverpool do sign Mascherano it is a sign of support for Rafa, that's true.
    There's no doubting that Mascherano is indeed an excellent player, it's just about where you put your limited resources.

Imagine if United have exactly 30 million to spend, and Hargreaves was on loan. We could either spend the 30 million on him, or we could buy Benzema. What do you think we should do?

If Gerrard is going to be pushed to the right, absolutely, sign Mascherano right up. But if Gerrard is going to continue playing in the middle, it just seems like bad use of resources. Cause then you are filling the gap in terms of a winger, and you are effectively spending on where you need to, in a round about way. But if Gerrard is going to stay in the center, you are adding extra depth to an already strong position, instead of adding quality to where it needs to go.
    Maybe Gerrard will be pushed to the right for some games, but we know that for the majority he's gona be played in the middle. As such, even if you buy a new winger and you play a 4-3-3, with Alonso-Gerrard-Mascherano, and Babel-Torres-New Guy, you are still gona have to rely on Kuyt, Crouch, Pennant, Yossi throughout the league.

But all this is based around the presumption that buying Mascherano will stop us getting who we want in the summer. It may not be a one or the other situation. I think we will get both :)

Tusky wrote: »
    So much wrong with that post. First of all, why would we sign another right back when we already have Finnan & Arbeloa and you are planning on selling Riise. That would leave 3 right footed fullbacks (one who can fill in on the left but is much better on the right - Arbeloa) and one very injury prone natural left back, Aurelio. If we sell Riise we need to sign a LB, not a RB.

We need a new right back cos Finnan is getting on in years as is Carra. Since we now have Skirtle(sp) we have the possibility of forming a new partnership on the right hand side if we get a right back.

Granted Aurelio is injury prone but hopefully he can get past that. I am also considering the fact that we have a number of promising reserve players who can play in that position
    Also, it seems you only have 10 players on the pitch.

Ahem, yes. I have fixed it now.

We need a new right back cos Finnan is getting on in years as is Carra. Since we now have Skirtle(sp) we have the possibility of forming a new partnership on the right hand side if we get a right back.

Finnan is getting on in years but has probably got at least 2 years left in him to play a part. He'll prob get moved down from 1st choice to 2nd next year with Arbeloa becoming the main RB, but Finnan would be enough cover. Wouldn't class RB as a problem position we'll say. LB depends on Riise leaving and Insua making the step up, which im reasonably confident of.

Id really love us to still go for Garay though over the summer for CB, unless Skrtel looks fantastic. Solid, talented, you, goalscoring CB.

Granted Aurelio is injury prone but hopefully he can get past that. I am also considering the fact that we have a number of promising reserve players who can play in that position

Finnans is getting older and will need to be replaced but he will still be here next season. Its not as urgent as left back is if we sell Riise, which we should.

Finnan - rb
    Arbeloa - rb (but can fill in lb)
    Aurelio - lb
    new leftback

Ive posted the stats on Aurelio before.

Games started over the past 5 years :

07/08 - 12
    06/07 - 14
    05/06 - 11
    04/05 - 17
    03/04 - 0

I've posted the stats on Aurelio before.

Games started over the past 5 years :

07/08 - 12
    06/07 - 14
    05/06 - 11
    04/05 - 17
    03/04 - 0

That's poor to be fair.

Thats on average (rounded up) 10 starts per season. I like Aurelio but he should never, ever, be relied upon.
    LIVERPOOL SUPPORTERS UNION

"The socialism I believe in is everyone working for each other, everyone having a share of the rewards. It's the way I see football, the way I see life" (Bill Shankly)

Where we are now : Well we've set up a working party that will meet shortly to discuss the issuing of a statement to the supporters on behalf of the group, tentatively titled 'The Sons Of Shankly ',. We have also agreed a strategy to conduct elections and the creation of formal committee to take the group forward . A meeting will be called within the next few weeks to allow all interested parties to attend and contribute to the creation of the new group.

In the interim , Nicky Allt has agreed to stand as chairman, Neil Atkinson as spokesperson, with Giulio Canneti, Andy Heaton and Alan Kayll filling all other administrative roles in the interim.

We intend to contact eveyone who expressed an interest in getting involved last night . Please bear with us, as the response last night far exceeded our wildest expectations, it could hardly have been more of a success, but we will get back to you as soon as we can .

The outcome of the meeting last night was that the fans stand united behind two aims :

* Firstly, the short term aim of getting Hicks and Gillett out of our club. Its not just about the debt; there's their lies, deceits and lack of respect for us. We hit them in pocket and we do so noisily but peacefully. We will start with a boycott of the club Shops - persuade people not to buy from official outlets; making LFC a less attractive financial proposition for G&H. We are also calling for a 15 minute post-game protest immediately after the final whistle after the Sunderland game. Stay in your seats and make your views known loudly.

* Secondly, the aim is to set the 'Sons Of Shankly ' group up as a subscription based trade-union style movement , similar to continental socio groups, based upon one-member one-vote principles which can stridently represent our interests, i.e. the interests of every Liverpool supporter.

We acknowledge we need mainstream support and that many supporters do not go on internet forums or websites. The support of these supporters are crucial to our goals. If we stand united and speak with one voice both of these goals are possible. It was acknowledged that any alternative to the current ownership will not be benign and that we'll need to stand together and voice our common goals not just for six weeks but for sixty years, not just with 400 but with 4 million. We can use the brand and its popularity against anyone who tries to exploit us.

"We see this the ''start'' not the end, after the re-package deal finally went through.

People will criticise, bemoan and be cynical to what we are trying to achieve, but we feel that Liverpool people are leaders, and only followers when a cause is right.

The clubs owners, at this moment in time, are simply not right.

They have made ''false'' promises, so now, as the ''true'' spirit of the club we aim to make ourselves heard."

Nicky Allt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭lpool2k05

Justified IMO..he aint good enough to start for liverpool!!I even drop him in Pro evo cos he does my head in!

By the way I was chatting to a few mates who say Kuyt is a centre forward and not a striker like Torres!I thought centre forward is a stiker??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

But all this is based around the presumption that buying Mascherano will stop us getting who we want in the summer. It may not be a one or the other situation. I think we will get both :)

That would be nice :)
    However, I think it's unlikely that Rafa will be allowed spend 20-30 million on a new striker and a new winger.

PHB wrote: »
    That would be nice :)
    However, I think it's unlikely that Rafa will be allowed spend 20-30 million on a new striker and a new winger.

I agree. But if you add player sales of Carson, Riise, a winger & at least one striker, he will. 15m would get you a pretty good winger anyway.
    lpool2k05 wrote: »
    Justified IMO..he aint good enough to start for liverpool!!I even drop him in Pro evo cos he does my head in!

By the way I was chatting to a few mates who say Kuyt is a centre forward and not a striker like Torres!I thought centre forward is a stiker??

A striker is a general term. Kuyt, Crouch, Voronin, Torres & Babel (when he plays up front) are all strikers. Kuyt hasnt been played as a center forward for Liverpool, hes been played in the hole,between midfield and Torres.

Telegraph report that Mascherano will be formally signed in the summer for 17.1

Mike.

Holy crap we fell off the front page.

Danny Guthrie to sign for Bolton in the summer if Gary Megson has his way (2 million mentioned).

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Thats on average (rounded up) 10 starts per season. I like Aurelio but he should never, ever, be relied upon.

rounded down i think you'll find :D

any other info on the supports union? a website or something?

my predicted line up for today:

Reina
    Finnan-Hyypia-Carra-Arbeloa
    Gerrard-Alonso-Masch-Babel
    Crouch-Torres

unless Pennant is fully match fit then i would love to see

Reina
    Finnan-Hyypia-Carra-Arbeloa
    Alonso-Masch
    Pennant-Gerrard--Babel
    Torres

Reina is a crap right back to be honest (better in midfield). ;)

More "DIC to buy" stuff in the papers today. I'm starting to ignore such articles cos they do my head in at this stage.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

lpool2k05 wrote: »

Haha thats just Football Manager rubbish.

just thought finnan has looked a bit dodgy of late....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Hopefully there's some truth behind this story. It's a Tony Barret 'Exclusive' and they tend not to be works of fiction.

Summary - Gillet to join up with DIC to oust Hicks.

http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0500liverpoolfc/0100news/tm_headline=dubai-bid-to-divide-liverpool-fc-8217-s-american-owners%26method=full%26objectid=20428419%26siteid=50061-name_page.html

Start saying novenas now :rolleyes:

zing wrote: »
    Hopefully there's some truth behind this story. It's a Tony Barret 'Exclusive' and they tend not to be works of fiction.

Summary - Gillet to join up with DIC to oust Hicks.

http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0500liverpoolfc/0100news/tm_headline=dubai-bid-to-divide-liverpool-fc-8217-s-american-owners%26method=full%26objectid=20428419%26siteid=50061-name_page.html

Start saying novenas now :rolleyes:

Ian Doyle & David Bartlett wrote the article not Tony Barret apparently

also not one word of support for Rafa from Gillet what makes anyone think he is more equipped to run the club than Hicks. Especially considering he is pi$$ed that Hicks told the press about Klinnsman, implying he has no 'regrets' about the approach in the way Hicks seems to.

forgot arbeloa was injured, so can we expect to see Riise? :(

Call_me_al wrote: »
    Ian Doyle & David Bartlett wrote the article not Tony Barret apparently

also not one word of support for Rafa from Gillet what makes anyone think he is more equipped to run the club than Hicks. Especially considering he is pi$$ed that Hicks told the press about Klinnsman, implying he has no 'regrets' about the approach in the way Hicks seems to.

forgot arbeloa was injured, so can we expect to see Riise? :(

From reading that article, its a good sign at least that there was no comment from Gillett's crowd as if it was all hot air you'd expect a very succinct NO on the whole affair. Silence speaks louder then words ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,698 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

More "DIC to buy" stuff in the papers today. I'm starting to ignore such articles cos they do my head in at this stage.

Mike.

Didnt Reina play for us in midfield in a 3-2 defeat to FC Kaiserslautern?

He came close to scoring too if I remember correctly

Didnt Reina play for us in midfield in a 3-2 defeat to FC Kaiserslautern?

He came close to scoring too if I remember correctly

pretty sure that was the implication!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Goalkeepers can be good footballers too.

The couple of times I was at Anfield when Carson was in the squad and was warming up with Reina before the games he looked very competant with the ball at his feet. Pinging in quality crosses and talking some very tasty shots.

So that where Rafa has been going wrong, employ 10 keepers to play outfield with Torres in goal. Its so mad it might just work.

Mike.

So that where Rafa has been going wrong, employ 10 keepers to play outfield with Torres in goal. Its so mad it might just work.

Mike.

Front 3 of Carson Reina and Intandje. It's so crazy it just might work. :D

If nothing else, whoever he picked them against would be caught by surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Stekelly wrote: »
    Goalkeepers can be good footballers too.

The couple of times I was at Anfield when Carson was in the squad and was warming up with Reina before the games he looked very competant with the ball at his feet. Pinging in quality crosses and talking some very tasty shots.

anyone can take decent shots and put in great crosses tho, thats not what makes a footballer

its easily done when youre essentially just having a kickabout with no opposition, and theres no stuff like positioning, runs, losing markers, tracking back correctly involved. thats stuff thats totally alien to keepers

He'll turn it around today, i can feel it. 20 quid on Dirk to score first at 11/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

against the might of a Sunderland defence... :p

Honestly i think he needs 1 goal from open play to get his confidence up and running again.

Helix wrote: »
    anyone can take decent shots and put in great crosses tho, thats not what makes a footballer

I didnt really mean it in the sense playing them and tbh it was 2 different points I was making. Probably should have made it clearer. I just meant that in general a goalkeeper could be a good footballer. Then just used carson as an example of a keeper that had decent ball control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

I think the stick he's gotten has been largely unfair. Ok, I know he's had a bad run of it but we've seen what he can do (in the past), he's a good player.