Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Rumours And General Discussion 2007/2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liverpool are on 99 goals so anyone fancy a guess who will score the 100th?

I'll go for Gerrard.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Gotta be Nando, although if they are going to try and do a job on Nando and Stevie G then it may well be a surprise like Skrtl breaking from the DC ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

my guess at the line up:
    Reina
    Finnan-Carra-Skrtel-Arbeloa
    Alonso-Macsh
    Kuyt-Gerrard-Babel
    Torres

Reina
    Arbeloa--Carra-Skrtel--Aurelio
    Alonso--Masch
    Kuyt
    Gerrard---Babel
    Torres

Finnan has been out for a month now so I dont see him being thrown back into the action today.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

mike65 wrote: »

Reina
    Alonso--Masch
    Kuyt
    Gerrard---Babel
    Torres

Finnan has been out for a month now so I dont see him being thrown back into the action today.

Mike.

Hopefully thats the team. He may start Riise somewhere in there though. If he starts Riise on the left wing you can safely say Rafa is going there to defend. Kuyt and Riise in the wid positions is very defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

There'll be something in the goal tonight,
    When reds Unite,
    Fernando.....
    ..... is in Rio's pocket??? :p;)

Mike.

there's always one i forget about!

Nailz wrote: »
    ..... is in Rio's pocket??? :p;)
    Unlikely, Rio has not been great of late and Torres has, we shall see Nailz, we shall see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Hey guys is there a game on today?!

1-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Unlikely, Rio has not been great of late and Torres has, we shall see Nailz, we shall see :)
    Yes we shall!!! :D Well I'll be going off to Old Trafford now! :p PORNAPSTER says hi!

Hello Porn, where are you living then Nailz, Cavan ? Is a bit of a trek from there to Old trafford and to do it in two hours is impressive. Have fun anyway, hope that it is at least a decent match, they have been a bit poor of late.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

i'm not sure how many goals will win by . . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

An unchanged team from last game
    Reina, Aurelio, Carragher, Skrtel, Arbeloa, Mascherano, Alonso, Gerrard, Babel, Kuyt, Torres.

Subs: Itandje, Hyypia, Riise, Benayoun, Crouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Liverpool are unchanged:

Reina

Arbeloa
    Aurelio
    Carragher
    Skrtel

Mascherano
    Alonso
    Gerrard

Babel
    Torres
    Kuyt

Excellent stuff. Lucas aint even on the bench..!

God damn if I were still doing Fantasy Rafa I'd finally have a full house! :mad: ;)

Mike.

Shame, I think that he could be useful coming off the bench if any of the lads get injured/tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,081 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

G'wan the Pool!

Have a good feeling...

happy with that team and subs bench. Pennant's getting a bit left out on the cold these days though after an excellent start to the season. Would have thought with Crouchers on the bench that Pennant would be the other attacker.

For when he comes on, Yossi sucks balls! ;)

I'm quite happy with the Utd team to be honest.

Anderson--Carrick

Ronaldo
    Scholes----Giggs

Rooney

v

Masch--Alonso

Kuyt
    Gerrard
    Babel

Torres

Call me crazy but from those 6, I would take all of Liverpools players (bar Kuyt v Ronaldo) over Utds. Really happy Tevez isnt starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,081 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Tusky wrote: »
    I'm quite happy with the Utd team to be honest.

Anderson--Carrick

Ronaldo
    Scholes----Giggs

Rooney

v

Masch--Alonso

Kuyt
    Gerrard
    Babel

Torres

Call me crazy but from those 6, I would take all of Liverpools players (bar Kuyt v Ronaldo) over Utds. Really happy Tevez isnt starting.

thats true, in that team Ronaldo looks like he'd be the most forward a lot of the time, but he's sure to be covered by Masch who kept him quiet at Anfield. Would still be wary of Giggs, but i'm definately positive about the 2 lineups..Big game for Anderson! We need Alonso playing towards his best in both breaking down and creating.

<edit> Im amazed Hargreaves isn't playing actually, thought he was one of Uniteds best players at Anfield..definately fancy Pool's midfield 3 to overcome Uniteds. The wings are where this one could be won and lost though...have a good feeling about Babel today all the same..think the lineups suit him getting in behind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Lads, trying to find a stream on the net. Any joy?

Rockee wrote: »
    Lads, trying to find a stream on the net. Any joy?

try www.football4less.com under the 'live football' forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Brando_ie

I'm truly excited about this game (which for the exception of recent European adventures I have not been for a long time)

My fiance is a UNITED SCUMBAG so one way of another someone will be happy this evening (and for those who say... what about the draw, well I would be happy with that personally. As it may go someway to allowing either Chelsea or Arsenal to overtake MU to the title)

COME ON THE POOL!!!!!!!!!

Brando_ie wrote: »
    My fiance is a UNITED SCUMBAG

:eek: BAHAHA!

wtf is going on? pepe looks a mess, stevie doesnt look like he want to be there, i forgot Kuyt was playing for the first 30 mins, alonso cant make a five yard pass and is trying these 20 yard cross field balls. no body wants the ball but Torres who has to go deep to get it or go out wide and is crossing it into no-one.

ffs liverpool and united aren't exactly playing great either...

now macsh is off for the stupidest sending off i have ever seen

• Registered Users Posts: 34 likeacod

Mascherano is off, 2 yellows

I pray Rafa tears lumps out of the players at half time. what is the official reason for sending off?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 likeacod

Call_me_al wrote: »
    I pray Rafa tears lumps out of the players at half time. what is the official reason for sending off?

dissent i suppose. once he got booked i kinew it was only a matter of time before he got sent off.

10 man second half, change the formation and get Crouch on and Kuyt off?

Reina
    Alonso
    -Gerrard
    Babel
    ---Crouch--Torres

Mike.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

likeacod wrote: »
    dissent i suppose. once he got booked i kinew it was only a matter of time before he got sent off.

The stupid f*****g t**t! Stevie should have been in there dragging Masch away from the ref and telling him to keep his big gob shut for the rest of the match. Alonso gave it a half hearted try, but Stevie really should have snuffed the problem much earlier in the match.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

10 man second half, change the formation and get Crouch on and Kuyt off?

Reina
    Alonso
    -Gerrard
    Babel
    ---Crouch--Torres

Mike.

And then get absolutely destroyed out wide by Ronaldo, Evra, and Giggs? :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

the influence of ferguson absolutely amazes me. bennet has basically given in to him. all the decisions are goin uniteds way. pepe is having a mare, his usual 1 that he has every season in a big game that is always at the worst possible time. where was gerrard of carragher to calm down masch and why didn't alonso try harder to drag him away fro the ref, pure stupidity from all. if it stays this way i'll be less pissed than if it gets worse ie ronaldo or ferdinand score. bring on crouch and take off kuyt.

nice to say andy gray to stick up for us for once. ashley cole screwed us over :D

spockety wrote: »
    And then get absolutely destroyed out wide by Ronaldo, Evra, and Giggs? :\

Gonna loose this anyway might as well go down trying! Gerrard not doing much in the middle.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Masherano will miss Everton and Arsenal games too.:mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

You sure? I thought two yellows meant a 1 match ban...

it is his second suspension though, i think that makes a difference. We need two up top but we would probably concede too like that.

One match ban.

Mike.

would you honestly sit in those united seats if you were on the liverpool team, i certainly wouldnt anyway, wouldnt get into a mates car/taxi with them there either!

besides that official reason for the second yellow card is for swearing, no i am no lip reader but i dont think he swore at all. I'd love if it could be proved and Bennett was exposed as a cheat!!

oh and Yossi is coming on, did i mention he is rubbish.

well thats me done for the day. ffs :(

I'm depressed. I'm off to get pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Bad game. Mascherano sealed our fate. He is a fool. Red mist in his eyes from the first booking. Really fxxked our chances up today. Id have taken a draw before the game. Maybe give Lucas a chance now for the next few games in his place. Let him take the opportunity to settle down.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Call_me_al wrote: »

besides that official reason for the second yellow card is for swearing, no i am no lip reader but i dont think he swore at all. I'd love if it could be proved and Bennett was exposed as a cheat!!

Nope, the second yellow card was for continous dissent during the half, not just the reaction to torres booking. (And not for foul alnguage- the punishment for that is a straight red card)

All in all he's an idiot and should have controlled himself better and i know (i really do know) it's annoying as **** when a ref is being like that, but he was warned and Torres was book seconds before for the same offence.

Stupid stupid boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Well done ref. Use your last resort as your first. Bullsh1t sending off. Any referee worth his salt can easily avoid a sending off, and match ending decision there.

Edit: I missed the first 25 mins, so didn't see dissent upto then. I still believe a decent ref that commands some respect and authority would of avoided the situation happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

The sending off was unfortunate but Masch put the referee in that position. He really should have stayed out of it. If he did, he would still be on the pitch.

Saying that, the booking of Torres was a complete joke and is what set the whole thing off.

Even when Masch was talking to him, you could see the smile on his face. He was bordering on laughing. It is very different from the dissent that we are used to, i.e. fingers in the ref's face and veins throbbing..

As for the performance up to that point. We just weren't at the races. We were second to nearly every ball. Gerard was also doing little or nothing up that point.

United, regardless of the sending off, deserved the win.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Well done ref. Use your last resort as your first. Bullsh1t sending off. Any referee worth his salt can easily avoid a sending off, and match ending decision there.

Edit: I missed the first 25 mins, so didn't see dissent upto then. I still believe a decent ref that commands some respect and authority would of avoided the situation happening.

If you missed the first 25mins you really missed alot and can't make a balanced decision. Why do you think there aren't a shot load of comments from liverpool fans giving out about it in here?

It's all so quiet for a reason. Totally justified red card. No complaints.

Also it was his last resort as he had warned Masch previously and why should he avoid a sending off if it is deserved?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

The Pool were shocking today. Mascherano a total plonker! I can't remember the last time we had a decent winger in the team, and Skrytel is another brutal benitez buy. Might to sell a rake of players and bring in some proven talent. Also, such a depth of good players at united - very few young players at liverpool who can come off the bench and do the damage of the likes of nani. Any chance of berbatov coming to LFC? Nothing short of a champions league will do this year.

A bit unfair on Skrtl, thought he was okay today.

In other news, colour of magic is on in an hour and a half, that should a decent show, unlike the game today ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

as a team we were second best from the start, had a bit of a push for about 15 minutes in the second half but that ended with their second goal.

2 of their goals were from bad individual errors, alonso and reina

alonso had another poor game, he's just a spectator with the best view of the game.

aurelio was the biggest plus for me today, thought he kept ronaldo in his pocket down the right flank for utd. always had a question mark over aurelio defencively, showed alot of composure and confidence today. hope he stays fit next season for the duration.

united defended from the front, hounded us, first to most balls, pressured us when we had it. basically owned us tbh.

masch was an idiot, when your manager has to come down the line to get you off the pitch you've crossed the line to embarrasing the club territory. wanted to slap the head off him at that stage myself. he's done us no favours, he's a top player and we need him.

having said that, the ref was a joke, mach and torres were booked needlessly, i just hate the reaction, complaining to the point that benitez had to restrain him was immature and unprofessional imo.

my expectations were low going into it, hoped for a draw, a win would have been awesome, but we cant compete with them or chelsea or arsenal on a sustained level right now.

if we sold the amount of players that deserved to be sold in the summer we'd have so many players to replace that it would take years to mount a challenge.

4th spot and at least 1 hole dug in the ground at stanley park would be a good year at this point. we need that stadium.