Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Rumours And General Discussion 2007/2008

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Nunu wrote:
    I'm just wondering does anyone know how Leto and Lucas got work permits?
    I presume they both hold european passports?

Some youngsters outside the EU get special work permits because they are thought to have such good potential. Im not 100% sure how it works but its something along those lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

darkskol wrote:
    Fowler scores for cardiff after 4 mins!

He got 2 at the weekend aswell. I think he's proper off and running now. My guess is he'll bang them in this season.

EDIT, he got another now.:) Go Robbie.Big money move on the cards for this up and coming star?:D

Only just in the door and saw the replay of the Reading goal.:eek: how many players does the ref want offside before he gives it? The offside rule is a load of ****, much better when offsid ewas offside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

First goal conceeded in open play this season :( Listening to it, it sounds lively after a slow start.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Melion wrote:
    Some youngsters outside the EU get special work permits because they are thought to have such good potential. Im not 100% sure how it works but its something along those lines

I don't know about that. It came to mind because I don't remember hearing anything about having to get permits for them and Utd had to appeal a rejection for Anderson who had already played for Brazil, and similiarly Everton for Yakubu.

They must have EU passports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Lucas has his from being part Italian, full name Lucas Pezinini Leiva (dodgey about the pezinini spelling!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Readings strikers had to have been obstructing Itjande for their goal and therefore were offside, no?

Yep, there were 3 of them offside but Lita was the only one really obstructing Itandje. Definitely offside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

Another goal for Fowler (penalty)...on for the hat trick :)

Looking at the reading goal about 4 players offside lita being the main one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I was so close to backing Benayoun for first scorer. :(

Melion wrote:
    Typical of this place, i swear to god!!!

People give out when he doesnt play Torres and then give out when he does play him.

Quit the moaning, the whole point of what everyone was saying was that he should have been playing saturday ad not today.
    Melion wrote:
    for this read "the FA make it up as they go along.

The ref is a bit crap tonight, doesnt know a foul from a good challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

eirebhoy wrote:
    I was so close to backing Benayoun for first scorer. :(

I backed Bobby Convey at 33-1:eek: ...so fecking close!

Jesus, they are all over Torres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

mike65 wrote:
    If you have access to fivelive extra its on there.

Mike
    Mike, who is commentating there?

Bobby Convoy, wtf?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Midfield sound like they are doing alright.

How do yee think Arbeloa is doing at CB lads? Watching on a dodgey enough stream and having a little trouble making who's who when they're not rigidly in their positions. Finnan, Carra, Arbeloa and Lucas are all causing me a little trouble from the far away cams! Lucas seems to be doing his usual thing of keeping his passes simple and making them all count. Sissoko as always looks grand at times and then other times just makes a haimes of things. Would love to see a Lucas and Masch/Alonso partnership at some point, wih lucas allowed to push on a bit. Torres looks great, very strong on the ball when constantly surrounded by 2, 3 or even 4 players. Leaves a lot of room for everyone else. Leto is deceptively fast!

DesF thats a good question! David Oakes and Leroy Rosenior

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

2-1 torres

Super goal fromTorres. Thats why he should be playing all the PL games.

He's so much stronger than he looks. I love the way he runs. His legs look like they are moving slow but he takes these long strides and just eats up ground.

Goal for Torres, great goal.

Strong running from Torres, great play from Leto

Goal Torres!!! Good work by leto makes up for that shot a few minutes ago.

jesus Torres really is quality! We should make a petition for him to start every premiership game unless injured!

<EDIT> Its great to have a striker who you can nearly bank on scoring in that position. Its been a while!

Lucas reminds me so much of the way Xabi played in his first season.

Best thing to do is get Rafa sacked ;) any other manager would play him every league game!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Jesus Mike...relax a minute ;)

This is the best performance by a Liverpool striker in many years(well, up there with Crouch against the Arse last season)

mike65 wrote:
    Best thing to do is get Rafa sacked ;) any other manager would play him every league game!

Mike.

Actually first time I've heard the crown sing "Raafa Rafael" in a while.

Defo peno for torres there

Someone care to explain how the fúck that isnt a penalty? This ref is having a shocker

Torres is being absolutely hammered by the Reading players

This ref is an bsolute israe theesoo chance Torres will end up seriously injured and he's doing **** all. How can you get hammered so many times and not get a free?

BTW what the **** was Crouch at with that shot after Torres got taken out? He got within 25 yards and just cracked it at the defender. Tool. It was like watching Ciise again.:rolleyes:

Might be a good idea to start marking Convey at this stage,he's far too involved.

****. 2-2. What was the keeper at?

Itandje had a shocker, 2-2

:mad:
    All to do again.

jesus itandje isnt looking too good..

Sissoko readin the ref's mind?

~Rebel~ wrote:
    jesus itandje isnt looking too good..

Every corner or set piece reading get is a worry with him tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Nice 3-2 ;) Torres

Riise sets it up, Torres makes em look like a fool and then stick one inside of the right foot around the keeper.

Absolutely cracking goal, brilliant play by Riise but an even better finish by Torres

darkskol wrote:
    Every corner or set piece reading get is a worry with him tonight

He said that after tonight he wants to give Rafa a selection headache. Well he has. Whether to have someone else on the bench for the weekend!

Another super finish.3-2

Great play from Riise. "NUTS":)

I assume torres wont even be in the squad at the wekend now.

Goal who else but Torres!

Rafa really must see now that Torres should be one of the first names on the team sheet every week. If he wants to rotate then rotate his strike partner but not Torres himself.

Stekellys typing skills collla spsee......! :p

Cracking game if at times for all the wrong reasons.

I love a cup run! *cough* :o

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Torres looks like he can take an elbow and keep going, something very important in the PL

mike65 wrote:
    Stekellys typing skills collla spsee......! :p

Mike.

The batteries on my keyboard are dieing. If I type quickly, the above happens.:D

Great bit of wing wizardry by Finnan.

PHB wrote:
    Torres looks like he can take an elbow and keep going, something very important in the PL

Thats what a lot of people thought would hinder him in the premiership, he's proving them wrong tonight. Duberry and Bikey have been all over him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I thought he had showed he was well able to handle himself before now, in particular in the Chelsea game when he kept getting involved with their central pairing.

Christ Lita looked a bit like Bikey for a second there! (Ba Dum Tish!)

PHB wrote:
    Torres looks like he can take an elbow and keep going,

You had to say it didnt you.

The ref obviously thinks Torres is indestructable and doesnt need free kicks.

Gerrard on for Crouch, I thought it would of been Lucas that would have been off but Rafa must be shoring up the midfield.

Really wish Torres had come off, can see him getting injured in this game..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Stekelly wrote:
    You had to say it didnt you.

lol, gona try it again, Torres looks like he could take a kick in the balls.

Now we play the waiting game...

PHB wrote:
    lol, gona try it again, Torres looks like he could take a kick in the balls.

Now we play the waiting game...

Hunt is on so theres every chance. :)

Poor shot from Yossi, should have finished it,