Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Rumours And General Discussion 2007/2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Did RTE get the right to any games this year?
    No live Premiership games on RTE this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

The more I think about it the more I reckon it'll be a slightly mixed team with the likes of StevieG, Torres, Kuyt on the bench for if things are going wrong. Reckon Hypia could start. Babel & Yossi are very likely & Crouch/Voronin up front. Maybe even play a 4 3 3 with a very solid defense and the likes of Momo, Masch & Lucas or Leto in front of them.

But sure we'll find out in a few mins one way or the other..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Reina
    Finnan
    Carragher
    Hyypia
    Arbeloa
    Benayoun
    Gerrard
    Mascherano
    Babel
    Voronin
    Crouch

Subs:

Itandje
    Agger
    Riise
    Torres
    Alonso
    Kuyt
    Sissoko

Damn only 9 in fantasy rafa. Voronin and Hyppia. Still, a strong side.

Close enough to what I was thinking yesterday ('cept I had Agger & Riise instead of Hypia & Arbeloa) but then maybe I started thinking a bit too much about it :(

Good strong side capable of either 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 depending on how the game is going. Looks like Rafa is taking no chances with this one which is good to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Looking forward to seeing Voronin and Babel . . . good chance to impress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Presumably this good Swedish striker Toulouse have isnt blessed with pace...

Happy enough with the team. Delighted that Mascherano is in. I'd prefer Torres to Crouch but can't complain with the big stick getting a chance.

Anyone know if Lucas or Leto have even travelled to either Villa Park or France?

The team for Chelsea will be very similar to Villa. Except Gerrard will be on the wing to allow Mascho in and the position on the other wing is wide open (probably one of Yossi or Babel depending on who plays well today)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 933 ✭✭✭dardoz

guys does any1 know if theres a radio stream of this anywhere?

I don't suppose 5 live flew over to cover it :p

dardoz wrote:
    I don't suppose 5 live flew over to cover it :p

Indeed they did - http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/listings/day.shtml?day=today

haha, classic! cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Anyone wanna take odds on Setanta not being broadcast in widescreen? Most (read all) of their Le Championnat coverage is in 4:3 so they'll prolly use the same agency or whatever. I hate them stoopid big black borders.

Still looking forward to the game. We should win, but the heat will be a massive drain on the players fatigue, especially so early into the season.

I wonder will it be uk only on Five Live. That would be very annoying. Probably not since its not the premiership.

Right lads, coverage is beginning. See ye all at half time. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭wanabe

no coverage on bbc5 for us! sum legal problem with broadcasting rights!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm listening to fivelive online right now but it could cut off at kick-off if we're unlucky. That said I though UK only rights were for Prem games.

Anyway Crouch and Voronin lead the line.

Reina
    Finnan-Carra-Hyypia-Arbeloa
    Benayoun-Gerrard-Masch-Babel
    Voronin-Crouch

I think that gets me 9 points!

Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! They just said online rights UK ONLY! :mad:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Another 10 pointer for me! Pretty happy with that, never would have predicted Hypia.

Quite a nice flowing attacking team, bit of cleverness on one side in benayoun to dictate play and play the ball around, direct and quick on the other with Babel - who i tip to get his first goal today!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

any streams for it?

If worst comes to the worst, Football 365's text commentary isn't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

BBC - Shower of bastards.

The-Rigger wrote:

keep trying, if you keep reloading it sometimes seems to forget you aren't in the uk and will load. No promises though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

keep trying, if you keep reloading it sometimes seems to forget you aren't in the uk and will load. No promises though.

Not working, you guaranteed me results. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Fairly dull game so far. It looks scorching hot though so I cant see too many pacy attacks coming. I think they look funny without Carlsberg on their jerseys, the ALL red strip kinda reminds me of 70's vintage matches.

Crouch is a foul magnet! Continantal refs are hopeless.

Everyone drinking water as and when they can.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Benayoun showing some nice dedication there trying to win the ball back. good to see he's taking it seriously.

Those Setanta commentators are so annoying. Think I might just turn the sound down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

The-Rigger wrote:

bit of a henry sellars quote there from father ted :D

following it on text by football 365

Nice goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

mother of christ 25 yard screamer from Voronin

1-0

Voronin :) Legend! ;)

Half-time then with the perfect scoreline esp as the heat sounds like its killing.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭rahim

zing wrote:
    Nice goal

Please elaborate.

Edit: just saw the other posts now, sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

mike65 wrote:
    Voronin :) Legend! ;)

Mike.

He is gaining quite the cult status alright:p

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

lovely finish, sat up for him well. toulouse are a bit sharper than I expected though..

i wonder how long it will take someone to get it onto youtube...

Voronin with an absolute rocket of a shot. This lad will be good ;)

The defence is looking pretty solid, Arbeloa is impressing me every time I see him. He doesn't offer as much going forward but he's solid at the back. Babel is doing great when he gets the ball, i suspect his name will grace the back of my European jersey :p Benayoun is showing why he should start on Sunday.

Overall we're the better team, but don't count Toulouse out they could still nip a goal back and give us a nervy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

It was a cracking shot from Voronin. As soon as the ball broke to him I was thinking "Take it on and have a go". Happily he did! Toulouse haven't been up to much but having said that, both Hyypia and Carragher have had interceptions to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

great goal, cheers reactor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Hell yeah :D

What a cracker!! 2 scorchers by the 'Pool in the last few days.

Forgive including the 'scorcher' word...looks like an oven on the pitch in Toulouse today.

what a fekn bullet!!

cheers reactor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

dardoz wrote:
    i wonder how long it will take someone to get it onto youtube...
    About 20minutes by the looks of things.

I aims to please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

God the commentators are bruuuuutal on Setanta. I think Dean Saunders is jarred! Every now and then he keeps on going on solo runs of sheer shíte and nonsence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Looks like we've gone ultra defensive. Momo and Riise on for Stevie G and Benayoun.

from bbc
    Steven Gerrard hands the skipper's armband to Jamie Carragher and troops off and straight down the tunnel as Momo Sissoko comes on. No dissent from Gerrard in going down the tunnel. He's in need of shade and maybe a bit of treatment to a knock he took to his foot.

Mike.

Setanta channels breaking up pretty badly in the rain on me. Guess I need to go realign the dish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/popup/football365/

good ticker site here.funny little comments aswell:
    "Crouch causes problems for Fofana and Mathieu with his height, but he's penalised rather harshly. Not for the first time, Crouch appears to have incurred the wrath of the referee for being tall and looking strange."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/popup/football365/

good ticker site here.funny little comments aswell:
    Not for the first time, Crouch appears to have incurred the wrath of the referee for being tall and looking strange."

Classic :p

Torres is coming on.

Mike.

Was just thinking that Rafa would prob bring Torres on to try breath some life back into the game and there he is getting his instructions from Rafa

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

mike65 wrote:
    from bbc

Mike.

he did limp off a little, but only slightly. didn't look like too much to worry about, touching wood. (pfnarr pfnarr etc)