Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

more aggressive when drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,213 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

No, from 1977 Misuses of Drugs Act, s3

(2) A person who has a controlled drug in his possession in contravention of subsection (1) of this section shall be guilty of an offence.

The 1984 acts specifies the penalties for cannabis.

( a ) where the relevant controlled drug is cannabis or cannabis resin and the court is satisfied that the person was in possession of such drug for his personal use:

(i) in the case of a first offence,

(I) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £300, or

(II) on conviction on indictment, to a fine not exceeding £500,

Has your dealer being spreading lies?

Anyway, this is WAY OT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Sangre wrote:
    Has your dealer being spreading lies?

iv never bought drugs in my life i bum off my mates and then offer them money but they never accept.

back ot; op try and go out one night with no drink and make a consious effort to do the exact same things you would while drinking(besides the fighting) you prob will feel a bit wierd at first but you soon get over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

To the Op it would appear to me that the alcohol is only facilitating your aggressivity, there is an old joke in psychoanalysis that the super ego is that which dissolves in alcohol. I deal with a lot of this in my work, I would really suggest that you consider some form of psychological therapy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

PeakOutput wrote:
    thats all in the head otherwise i agree with what you said
    edit; except for recommending mdma i draw a line at hash
    That is fair enough, I am just throwing it out as an option. Some people can get a good supply of cannabis, i.e. straight from a grower or their own plant so they know what is in it, unfortunately you do not know where the majority of chemical drugs have originated from. And "irish hash" is full of all sorts of crap too- not recommended.

I am only talking threshold doses here, not heading out raving, even though it is cooked up in an illegal lab a 1/4 of the average E is probably doing less harm than 5 pints.- maybe not. It is a shame that current laws reduce peoples choice for pure substances.
    I just think it's a sad reflection of Irish society if you have to lie about having a non-alcoholic drink.
    It is, but I wouldnt take it too seriously, I think it was a light hearted comment, to avoid light hearted jibes from your mates.

I hate getting into the "round culture"- esp. as I usually drink strong lagers while others can be on spirits that contain only 1/2 the alcohol "per round"
    i know there is a limit but i thought if, for example, you had less than an ounce of hash it was grand.
    You will read of people done for 0.5g of hash- usually it is a known dealer who has evaded arrest up to that point. If you have 1oz on your person and it is a first offence and you are "respectable" it could be a caution. If that 1oz is cut into 10 "deals" and you are a scumbag you are going down big time.

The cops usually only bother with kids & dealers. People smoke in the beer garden in my local in full view/smell of the local sergeant who couldnt care less. Nobody is stoned out of their heads or even laughing too much..

4) Beer is better than spirits and of all the spirits stay away from whiskey.
    debatable- spirits diluted to beer strength will almost always be a purer drink than beer- less hangover and easier on the liver. But with the price of mixers all my mates split a 200ml bottle of coke, sometimes over 4 people, so they are drinking close to 20% drinks. You should keep up the water to dilute it down that way. Also stick to diet mixers which increase alcohol absorption meaning you need to drink less overall. Of course you must be fully aware you will be pissed on less. (maybe not advisable for the OP!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

woah a lot of replies here. Well, basically my social life revolves around the sauce. I'm a student in Galway and we go out regularly. This year will be different though as it's my final one and I'm going to try and chill it a bit.
    Basically, I don't have the time to respond to everybody who gave me advice, but Odysseus - I understand what you're saying with regards the ego. It's not the drinking that's the problem it's my ****ing cockiness when I'm scalded...it only really tends to come out when I'm REALLY pissed and I rarely can get that drunk. I tend to stick to beers as shorts dont agree with me. Although I might mix the pints, start off on guinness and end on lager...sometimes I have a few whiskies and I think therein lies the problem. The whiskies/shots put me (like a lot of other people) into a bit of a stupor.
    I've decided to take up MA again as an outlet. I'd been planning this for ages but never got around to it, now I will because I'll be going out less. It will also maybe give me some discipline which I've seemed to lose lately. Thanks for the replies, I'd write more but I just don't have the time tonight, exam in morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭maxi-twist

walt0r wrote:
    I get rages sometimes when drinking. I just got in another bit of hassle a few weeks ago and it ended up costing me a big chunk of cash (in order to stop it going to court). I've been in a fair few fights over the last few years of college, but some have been very bad. One cost me 5000e and others were close to court. Basically I had been quiet enough until recently when I started lifting hard again. I've been seeing a pattern of this for a while. I'm grand and mellow when not training hard but then I get some sauce into me and I'm a walking lunatic.
    Basically I know what you're all going to say, it's the drink. But then why can all my friends go out and they're as relaxed as **** and I'm always the one on edge. I've decided to cut my college drinking to a bare minimum this year. It really has to be a combination of both. But I'm not gonna give up lifting, I'd rather give up the sauce completely (which is unlikely). I just have to learn to moderate.
    Are there other lifters of you out there with this problem or am I the only one?

Yeah,happens all the time im quite the agro when drunk,but only if i have redbull for some reason. get about 8/9 beers into ye and you wont really have the same problems.

Actually now that i think of it its more been about me not backing down rather than actually starting a fight. e.g. someone knocks into me on a dancefloor i say sorry they say **** off, then it escalates. I wont really back down though.

maxi-twist wrote:
    e.g. someone knocks into me on a dancefloor i say sorry they say **** off, then it escalates. I wont really back down though.

nothing wrong with not backing down imo as long as you didnt start the trouble in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Vegeta wrote:
    I never get this.

Most people here are disciplined enough to work out regularly and eat correctly but wont give up the sauce.

I have never had a legal drink in my life. i.e. gave up drinking at 17

Its easier than you think.

Why give up alcohol? Taking it to excess is a problem but a few pints/shots/glasses now and then isn't going to put you firmly on a path to ill-health or anything. Good for your heart too. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

PeakOutput wrote:
    nothing wrong with not backing down imo as long as you didnt start the trouble in the first place

I disagree. Sometimes you really should back down, like when not doing so will get you and your mates into a fight over something trivial.

nesf wrote:
    I disagree. Sometimes you really should back down, like when not doing so will get you and your mates into a fight over something trivial.

ye i agree in general but i know at least for me i get pissed of having to all the scumbags around dublins **** so sometimes i just cant do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Think you should cop on. Judging by how you bit the head off someone in another thread its not the drink thats your problem, you have anger issues.