Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setting up a new marine aquarium ...help!

• 22-08-2007 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭

Hello folks,
    I'm starting to set-up a marine aquarium (240liters) and I'm a noob, so I'm hoping someone can help me out.
    I've bought the salt and sand, so this weekend I'll rinse the sand and fill the tank. What I really want to work out is where I can cut costs.

I'm going to set up a reef tank, so I'll be buying live rock. Thing is, do I really need "ocean rock"? or an Eheim Canister? or for that matter a protein skimmer?
    And any pointers on how much these would cost would be great, or if they can be sourced on-line cheaper.

Other than that, any general advice would be greatly appreciated - experience is invaluable.

Thanks!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ekaterinaotoole

I won't pretend to be an expert but I'll try to help.
    First thing, you ideally need to filter any water before it goes into the tank. Either using reverse osmosis or nitragon or API Tap water filter. This will make it easier to keep any algae in check.